Archdale, NC 
Creekside Park - Main Loop Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #3b (Taken 6/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Visitors View

2-4    8/26/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Tripper
Played: 143  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots needed.
Park and course are immaculate.
Excellent signage.
Benches & trash cans on many holes.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Woods clear of debris.
Short course for beginners.
Cons: Some tees difficult to find.
Course crosses walking path several times.
Some blind holes a spotter is helpful.
Strong sewage smell on several holes.
Hole 10 "fairway" is muddy.
Short course is too short and tight for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I play a lot of courses in NC and this is one of the best maintained I have seen. There was not a bit of trash anywhere.
The course has a good flow with a good mix of shots. The water indicated on the signs seems to be intermittent as a couple of the smaller creeks were dry. One of the few wooded course that still has mostly grass fairways. Not a very long course, probably should be all par 3 but still challenging and fun.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tough yet enjoyable

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: cafenc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Large teepads
Well marked course
Difficult
Has been continually becoming a better course
Has beginner course
Cons: Difficult and can be frustrating but I see it as a challenge
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for quite a while, even before it was finished. I enjoy the course and commend the hard work that has been put into it to make the course better. It has been widened in some areas and plays better than in its earlier years. I suggest that anyone who didn't like the course the first go round give it another try because it has become better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

5+    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: keltik
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage
- Challenging
- Multiple tees
- a few split fairways
- Secluded feeling
- nice scenerey
- Beginner/Pitch&Putt loop
- benches on many holes
- close to where I work (just my luck)
Cons: - Some of the holes still don't have a "fairway"
- some of the short tees are silly short (< 150')
- park has a lot of non DG traffic
- course is intersected many times by a paved walking trail
- course can be hard to navigate even with the really great signs
- not quite enough trash cans
- hole 18 (I just don't like it's just a big semi circle to the left)
- hole 10 doesn't really have a fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is a really pleasant surprise for the tiny town of Archdale! It's only 5 mins. from where I work so I can play the little pitch and putt loop on my lunch hour if I get the itch. I have played the whole 18 on lunch but it takes the whole hour. Playing the longs on a Saturday takes about 2 hours. This course is long and wooded and will test your skills (even some of the shorter holes). You also can't just play 9 holes unless you want to hike out.

On the weekends the park is crowded with families and other people using the other amenities available. It can however make DG frustrating when you have two people holding a long conversation in the middle of your fairway not realizing what you are doing. But I'm a patient guy. But for the most part the DG course is it's own entity.

Some of the holes haven't been tuned yet (like number 10 and even number 1.) but they are putting an effort into the course. while playing today I ran into the park manager over the DG course and he is a player and is actively working on the course. He even hinted that they may add another 9 full holes to the course (pending budgets etc.) The chamber of commerce of Archdale even sponsors the annual tournament here. This is the best course in the Triad that I've played and from the looks of other reviews I may be on to something. I hope they keep this course up. It could even rank up there with some of the Charlotte courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 125  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Multiple tees
- Great tee signs
- A beginner loop of 6 holes (I've never seen this anywhere else. Phenomal idea).
- Great baskets
- Easy to navigate
- Some very beautiful holes on a creek
Cons: - A few bad holes that need some tweaking
- The course really never lets up - can be a bit frustrating
- The park has amazing land that isn't used
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty good woods course and is a good challenge. If you like wooded courses, stay away! But if you like a good challenge and course that never lets up, this is a good course.

Courses this wooded almost always have bad holes, but there really were only 1 or 2 that I would consider unfair, which for the density of the woods, really says something.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Major and Minor

1    4/1/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 521  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A 6-hole loop suitable for beginners, and an 18-hole loop for those ready for the next levels.
Cons:
Walking paths comes near/into play on a few holes.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays on the thickly-wooded slopes, through the openings created by utilities right-of-ways, and often near a creek at the back of a multi-purpose park. Most throwing paths are fair, although a couple could be confused with walking paths. A few holes (6, 11, kinda 10) provide you with a choice of fairway. Over/misthrows could find water (small creek) on about 1/3rd of the holes. Elevation-wise, flat/subtle is most prevalent, although a couple holes have short, steep drops.

Holes 1-2 are shared by both the 6-hole loop, and the 18-hole loop. As part of the beginner-loop, these holes are the most challenging, as they are fairly tight. The remaining beginner-holes are more open, although only number-6 is wide open. Unlike many beginner courses, which are typically wide-open, all of these holes but the last introduce that control and line-shaping is a necessary part of the game.

There are two tee location on about 1/2 the holes, found more frequently on the back nine. The tees are concrete and plenty long-n-wide. Tee-18 is "misaligned", as the basket is way to the left. There are teesigns at every teepad, even those that have two.

The long tee dramatically increases the difficulty of the hole, adding not just length, but also forcing you to hit a challenging window before you even reach the short tee location, which will typically have its own tough window to hit in order to reach the basket.

The course was a cinch to navigate - my first time here, hardly had to refer to the map. When the next tee isn't obvious, there will be extra signs offering directions.

Good course, providing you with several choices of how to challenge yourself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in Triad

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: kvillegreek
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2017
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a tremendous course which offers a great layout, helpful signage and is in pefect condition. I have played there several times and it has never been crowded. Plenty of holes for lefty's which are rare. I also enjoy the fact that each hole feels isolated from all the rest.
Cons: Huge difference in red and blue. Some the reds seemed a little short while the blues were a bit long.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

1    1/6/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great markings on each pad at each hole. A beautiful creek winds through property and is a water hazard on a few holes. Good combination of hyzers and anhyzers. Easy to navigate and go hole to hole. Hole 18 is not a dog leg. It is a very wide path to the basket that is long and virtually a semi circle. No way to shortcut unless you can do 40 foot high accurate shots.

In a beautiful park with lots of recreation facilities inside and out.
Cons: It had not rained any significant amount in several days. Some of the holes were still a little muddy going hole to hole and a few fairways.

Let me say if you want natural outdoors you will on occasion find similar places.
Other Thoughts: Saw none of the extra holes indicated on this site. Did not really look for them. If you go into the creek in summer I would guess a "Cotton Mouth" might enjoy your company. On one latter short hole you shoot and cannot see the basket as it is down a slope. If you throw 150' you will be in the creek.

Met a local you played round with me. Great guy and he really spoke well for the local club.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well done

1    11/3/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big concrete tee pads from both short and long positions. Great signs at pads showing pads, baskets and lengths. Some good signs for navigation where needed on the course also.

Course is in the back of a large community park. It does a decent job of keeping you away from other park users. 18 nice, new baskets in a mostly wooded, technical layout.

Some nicely designed holes. This course plays almost completely in or around the woods, and makes nice use of the terrain for the basket positions. Baskets are located on hill sides, near creeks, and tucked back into the trees on more open holes. Or placed in the open on heavily wooded holes. It's a pretty nice mix.

Course also uses elevation where possible. There are a couple decent downhill throws for your enjoyment.
Cons: A walking/biking path comes into play on a few holes. It would have been a nice thing to avoid when designing the course. A couple pads play from the path or over it. Not my favorite feature in a course.



Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this course. I went in with low expectations, and discovered a cool little course right off I-85. I guess you never know.

Some highlights include #3 that plays from a hill, forces a tee shot between 2 trees and goes steeply down to the basket 260' away placed right in front of the creek. Pretty shot.

I also really enjoyed the twists and turns of #14 and #18. Both holes made in necessary to play smart and hit some spots off the tee. #14 also has a basket at the bottom of a small hill in front of the creek, making your approach shot a little interesting. Nice design.

#16 is down and up with a tight little gap to hit. I could see where that one could give people problems. But hit the gap and you've got a decent chance at a birdie.

While there really isn't any amazing holes, or epic bombs here, there really aren't any bad holes either. It just has a nice mix of technical holes that require you to throw a lot of different shots. There are some very tight holes that make you do a double take on the pad, and there are some more open holes that give you some room to err. Don't be lulled into thinking this is just a short little wooded course either. There are several holes over 400' including a 480'. Overall, this course has some decent length for a wooded course.

I'd highly recommend stopping for a round if you're making your way up or down I-85

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Course improving every time I play it

2-4    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty course with nice mix of shots and distances.
Water in play behind several holes makes for a little more challenge
Several tight lines and elevation changes
Cons: Some heavy growth on the sides of several fairways
Has a lot of walking in between some holes
In heavy rain some holes have severe drainage issues, although the last 2 times I played there was no problem at all
Other Thoughts: Look to the right after number 2 because if you go to the tee/basket you can see, you will get stuck on the beginner loop and never find the rest of the course.

Overall this course is one of the best in the area and is rarely crowded, so you can take your time and enjoy it.

Seems to be improving as more people play it as saplings and brush are beaten down a bit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Surprise

5+    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic layout and variety. I felt like I need to choose a different disc for each shot. I thought the different pars and distances made the course more interesting, fun, and challenging than a course that has all par 3's.

I looked at the earlier reviews for this course and it seems they have added plenty of signs and tee pads since those reviews. I thought it was well marked and the tee pads were definitely long enough. Also, I noticed in earlier reviews, people thought it was too narrow or wooded on some holes. On the holes that were more narrow, the par was greater (a more open 320 foot hole was a par 3 and a thickly wooded 320 foot hole was a par 4); therefore, I generally thought the pars were fair, aside from 1 or two holes (see cons), and these kinds of holes made the course more interesting.

Overall, the course was well maintained and beautiful. I will be back to visit this course!
Cons: The only con I have is more of a personal preference. I think the pars were mostly appropriate, and were very suitable for intermediate level players. I kept trying to figure out what the pro par would be for each hole, if they were playing a PDGA tournament. The hole I took the most issue with was a 480 foot hole was listed as a par 5; most advanced players would be approaching or jump putting for double eagle - which is exciting but not realistic. =)
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course for all levels of players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.