Oak Harbor, WA 
Fort Nugent Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #15 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 296ft.   3 / 178ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Youth Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0


Park hours: 5am - 10pm" />
Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
All's Well That Starts Well and Ends Okay

1    8/20/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 46  Reviewed: 32
Pros: Great signage, both the overall course map and the individual tee signs.

Fairly easy to navigate without referencing the course map, which is always nice.

First 13 holes are mostly wooded shots, with what I would call "average" width fairways. I enjoyed the fairway widths, I've played much narrower and much wider fairways in wooded courses and most of these holes are nice middle ground between being pure luck to get through and not much challenge because they clear-cut the fairways.

Nice mix of short to average length Par 3s, with a few different looks. I had reason to pull out a thumber shot, couple of tomahaks, backhands and flicks.

Some short ace runs, but still pretty technical shots, not just a wide open field with a basket 120' away. That said, some of the holes are very short.

Good cement tee pads.

Good course if you use a cart, no issues pulling one.

For a forested course it's about 4/10 on my scale of losing disc crappiness. Definitely a few spots to lose discs, especially if you don't have much control off the tee or get a wicked early bounce, but way better than a lot of forested courses (e.g. we played Rotary in Anacortes before playing this course, which really isn't a fun place to look for discs).

The first part of the course is a dedicated disc golf course with a sign at the entrance saying "You are Now Entering a Disc Golf Course".
Cons: Last 5 holes are very repetitive hyzer shots to baskets nustled up against a fence at the edge of sports fields. If you go for the pin and put it over the fence it's pretty annoying. Not a great last few holes, but better than being a 13 hole course I suppose.

Very little elevation on this course, almost none.

Last 5 holes are around a potentially very busy sports field that imagine would be almost unplayable at peak times.

Other Thoughts: This isn't an overly challenging course, as an average intermediate player I was just under par. Advanced/Open players may not find this all that enjoyable, nowhere to open up big drives and only 3 or 4 holes they'd likely find technical enough to interest them.

Not a whole lot memorable about this course, but glad we stopped to play it. Would be interesting to see what sort of alternate layouts the locals do here as there's some good potential.

Ten times better than Rotary Park in Anacortes, which we played before hitting this course. We would stop in and play this one again, not so much for Anacortes.

 Nice Course if you're in the neighborhood

1    7/15/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: bleds
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice practice space next to #1.

The signage, tee pads, and baskets are all top notch.

Some nice tight, fun holes to test your accuracy.

Plenty of birdy and ace possibilities as many of the holes are reachable even with modest driving skills.

Solid local group keeps the course it great shape.
Cons: There are ball fields adjacent to the course so you have to be careful to avoid those areas with your throws.

Holes 14-17 are pretty repetitive, straight shots along the fence line.

Some more experienced players might want more length to the course.
Other Thoughts: Given the space they've done a nice job with this course. Great to have one up on Whidbey Island.

Definitely give it a try if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty par course

2-4    10/28/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Variety of tight technical shots and some open ones as well
Excellent Tee pads and Signs
Great Baskets and sweet practice basket
Some really difficult narrow fairways
Awesome chipmunk houses and really sweet local wildlife ( the chip munks are brave here!)
Beautifully groomed park with a good place to practice your skills, fun for a beginner or more advanced player
Cons: Can be busy , like un playable busy if soccer or football pratice is in the way 4-6pm
Field looks are repetitive hyzer shots
No real change in elavation which is always a bummer to me.
Lacking the adventurous feeling i tend to gravitate tword
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good course, and to be fair they used this land very efficently IMO. However that dosnt mean it really satisfies my discgolf craving to the fullest. Its a great technical pratice course with opportunities to play the wind, however lacking epic holes to make it a great course puts it at a 3. They have done with good with what they have however, i just wish they were given a little more!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Was Nice to find

1    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice park type course. They use all the land around the fields and play though the woods too. It was a nice find when I was out on a family trip to find a course near by to play. It has a great flow to it too.
Cons: The basket are mostly right next to the next tee, some times only 20 feet or so on a few. All of the back 9 pretty much play around the ball fields and all the baskets from 13 on are next to a fence. Some of the lines to the baskets are way to twisty to get disc's through. 13-16 all feel like the same hole, short and up against a fence.
Other Thoughts: This course is a RHFH or LHBH course all the way through. There are not very many holes that are for RHBH throws unless you like a lot on an-hyser and play that way.

I was really glad to find this place while I was up here. I did not think I would get to play while I was on the family vacation but then I found this place. It was not the best I have ever played but it was very nice to find. It is also in very nice shape and I was the only one playing, when I was there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.