Oak Harbor, WA 
Fort Nugent Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #13 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 139ft.   3 / 139ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0


Park hours: 5am - 10pm" />
Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course for all

1    8/20/2017   10/11/2017
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: Wonderful mix of holes, space is used well. Scenery is great. Very fun to play in any conditions. My favorite is hole 7 which goes right next to a creek. Very challenging course over all, but that's what makes it fun.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc. Most tees are not maintained, and there is the occasional mom and her 2 year olds going for a walk through the course. After hole 13, the course deteriorates and becomes flat and straight along soccer fields.

All's Well That Starts Well and Ends Okay

1    8/20/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 46  Reviewed: 32
Pros: Great signage, both the overall course map and the individual tee signs.

Fairly easy to navigate without referencing the course map, which is always nice.

First 13 holes are mostly wooded shots, with what I would call "average" width fairways. I enjoyed the fairway widths, I've played much narrower and much wider fairways in wooded courses and most of these holes are nice middle ground between being pure luck to get through and not much challenge because they clear-cut the fairways.

Nice mix of short to average length Par 3s, with a few different looks. I had reason to pull out a thumber shot, couple of tomahaks, backhands and flicks.

Some short ace runs, but still pretty technical shots, not just a wide open field with a basket 120' away. That said, some of the holes are very short.

Good cement tee pads.

Good course if you use a cart, no issues pulling one.

For a forested course it's about 4/10 on my scale of losing disc crappiness. Definitely a few spots to lose discs, especially if you don't have much control off the tee or get a wicked early bounce, but way better than a lot of forested courses (e.g. we played Rotary in Anacortes before playing this course, which really isn't a fun place to look for discs).

The first part of the course is a dedicated disc golf course with a sign at the entrance saying "You are Now Entering a Disc Golf Course".
Cons: Last 5 holes are very repetitive hyzer shots to baskets nustled up against a fence at the edge of sports fields. If you go for the pin and put it over the fence it's pretty annoying. Not a great last few holes, but better than being a 13 hole course I suppose.

Very little elevation on this course, almost none.

Last 5 holes are around a potentially very busy sports field that imagine would be almost unplayable at peak times.

Other Thoughts: This isn't an overly challenging course, as an average intermediate player I was just under par. Advanced/Open players may not find this all that enjoyable, nowhere to open up big drives and only 3 or 4 holes they'd likely find technical enough to interest them.

Not a whole lot memorable about this course, but glad we stopped to play it. Would be interesting to see what sort of alternate layouts the locals do here as there's some good potential.

Ten times better than Rotary Park in Anacortes, which we played before hitting this course. We would stop in and play this one again, not so much for Anacortes.

 Ft. Nugent DGC

1    8/9/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: ampmtnbkr2
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Great signage. Holes 1-13 good looking. Need to use most of your bag.
Cons: Still way too much thick underbrush (looking back on reviews from 6 years ago) -- to the point of almost walking out after holes 4, 5, and 6 (didn't get much better, I just resolved to never come back without a spotter or three).

Short holes

14-17 extremely boring and only challenge is to not hyzer a disc over the 6' chain link fence into private property.

18 boring as well, with a road taking the place of the fence -- longest hole by far, but even with my weak arm, I bogeyed it with a 2-putt.
Other Thoughts: Not much has changed since The Valkyrie kid reviewed this SIX years ago! Only think that may have changed is holes 2 and 10. 2 is now a toss onto a ridge separating two ball fields, and I don't recall 10 as being long or anything special.

I usually throw 18 holes at 9-15 over par, and since I was playing this course for the first time, I think my +6 pretty much says that this course is not too difficult. The thick underbrush really annoys me on any course (I don't mind tough holes, but prefer being able to find my disc if I do throw off-course), and this may make beginners really dislike the game, and frustrate those who have to spend long periods of time trying to find their $20 discs......

 durby800

2-4    6/20/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: durby800
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course. All par 3. Short but technical shots trees little water hazard swamp on 4 or 5 . Good mix of wide open shots too. Course has some dog legs right and left. So it can allow players to try different throwing styles. I plan on playing it every time I can when im here.
Cons: The undergrowth on hole 2 and some of the others can swallow your disc and you'll never find them. So use a spotter to help see when one goes in the rough. Hole 2,4,5 use spotter .
Also the mosquitos come out like crazy in the evening. If you want really long shots this is not that course.
Other Thoughts: Fun time will play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another "if I lived here" course

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: b-mart
Played: 60  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One thing that I love about this course is how it manages to play around a potentially busy sports park. Fort Nugent has football fields, soccer fields, a baseball diamond, basketball courts, and a giant playground, but the course doesn't really interfere with any of these. Lowell Shields did a great job with the land available to him and managed to fit 18 holes into a pretty condensed area. It doesn't look that condensed, but considering how narrow the area available to him was it's actually pretty impressive. Having played several of his courses now, I'm starting to see a lot of similarities.

The baskets, while not in "like new" condition anymore, are still in solid shape and catch just fine. I'm not a big fan of DiscCatchers, but they work really well on this course because you can pick them out amongst the trees. The teepads are in solid shape as well and are plenty grippy (although they're unnecessarily long).

The navigation is relatively easy. Each teepad has a sign showing possible routes, basket placements, and lengths. Tape on some of the baskets would have helped, but overall the flow was easy to follow.

The variety of shots here was decent. There are opportunities for tomahawks, thumbers, flicks, and backhand shots. Even on the short holes in the woods there's opportunity to throw shots you aren't used to throwing if you go off of a tree and into the rough. I have to give credit where credit is due on this, because any time that you're forced out of your comfort zone? The designer did his job.

Favorite holes: 1 and 18. 1 is a fun little shot from the field into the trees. 18 is a good close to the round by finally allowing you to air one out for 472', but it's still narrow enough with the road and soccer fields that placement is extremely important.
Cons: I just couldn't fall in love with this course. The lines were there, the shots were there, and the fun factor was there, but it just didn't feel like it was worth the drive.

The worst part of the course had to be the length. Holes 1 and 2 make you think you're going to have to work for your pars, but after that you settle into a nice run of short and technical holes. Some of these are even laughably short. The course flow here is kind of messed up as well. No disrespect to Lowell, but this seems to be his biggest weakness. You can see this at Terrace and North Park as well. You hole out and then have to walk back across your fairway, or up it, or find some other way to expose yourself to throws from other holes. There are even holes that throw back toward the previous teepad with very little protection other than a few trees. Why there aren't any mandos here is beyond me. You run into this through most of the wooded holes starting with the clash between 5 and 6.

Then you get to hole 14, and it just gets repetitive. Throw 250' or so with a fence 10' to your left. Then do it again. And again. And again. And again. Hole 16 was kind of interesting due to the low ceiling directly in front of the tee, but other than that there's zero variety to the field holes. They're really a lot shorter than they need to be too. This is evidenced by the walkout from 17 to 18 that is longer than two or three of the preceding holes combined. I'm thinking that this 18 was added later, as there's an unused teepad along the fence between 17 and 18. Hole 18 does finally let you air one out for about 425'... With a road on your left. But at least the road is farther out than 10', and it adds a nice challenge.

Least favorite holes: All of the ones under 200'. I landed some birdies on these and I guess it forced me to throw in ways that I wasn't accustomed to, but it just feels like you're being cheated when you play an 18 hole course with 133' holes on it.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy this course, and if I lived on Whidbey I'd be here every day. It's a great "tweener" course for people who are ready to step up their game a bit from the easy nine holes of the state, but don't think they're ready for the "tougher" courses out there. But it's so far away from everywhere else and it's not that challenging, which keeps me from wanting to go back. It's a fun course and is definitely worth a stop if you're in the area, but don't make a day trip of it unless you plan on hitting other courses or going somewhere else along the way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Boring for experienced golfers

1    6/1/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: akoenig
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Treed
- Nice park with a big playground for kids
- Clean bathrooms
- Well marked, good signage
Cons: - Repetitive: The first 12 holes were all basically the same shot
- Short holes: Nothing to really air it out on until the last 6
- Poor flow: It's easy enough to walk between holes, but one hole doesn't flow into another
- Blind holes: Almost all of the first holes with the layout I played were blind. I like having a few blind holes, but every hole just gets frustrating
- Thick bush: Spent lots of time looking for discs, even when I thought I had a good shot
- Wide open holes in the back have little thought put into them
Other Thoughts: - My wife thought this course was OK, but she only plays once or twice a year. I play once a week or so and have been for 10 years and I was bored by the third hole.
- Definitely not worth going out of your way to play

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Nugent DGC

1    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very sports-centered park in Oak Harbor. The park seems very well established and busy with people there for activities besides disc golf. Disc golf is also quite established and seems to be a well-received addition to the park. There are signs around some of the busier parts of the course warning about flying discs which is nice to see. Tee signs are pretty nice. They show a map of the course and the distance of the hole. I will say that sometimes the scale of the map seems hard to follow on some of the very short holes; it's hard to describe. Concrete tee pads are great and all angled in the right direction. Baskets are DISCatchers and seem to be in great condition. The practice basket has a circle of logs around it (although I'm not sure what the circle is for. It's definitely not the 10 meter circle). Most of the holes are short and wooded and are a good introduction to wooded holes. Even though you are playing in pretty thick woods, the fairways are actually pretty wide compared to other wooded courses I've played. Almost all of the wooded holes can be reached with a putter or mid range at the most which is another good intro to wooded courses.
Cons: The flow of the course is weird. There are quite a few holes that make you throw really close to the next tee pad. Some backtracking in places. The course smacks you with ALL of the wooded holes at once and then gives you the open holes. After hole 12 the course gets very boring. It's all just about 300 foot open shots to the basket. I will give them credit for utilizing the hills near the soccer field, but that's still not enough to save this boring trek back to the parking lot. The walk from 17 to 18 is pretty lengthy and it really just seems like they're trying to get you back to where you started. I felt like there was no variety in the holes. It's either a typical wooded turnover shot or a wide open hyzer shot. I just felt like the design wasn't very creative in this course. I felt like they were just trying to shove a course in here, and they did an okay job, but I think it could have been done much better.
Other Thoughts: I was very conflicted with the rating of this course because I really didn't like the design much at all. I felt like they could have made a challenging wooded 9 holes, but instead they shortened all the holes and shoved 18 in. With that being said, all the amenities are what made this course enjoyable. Who doesn't like bright tee signs and excellent baskets? Overall, I really did have fun here and I would definitely make a trip back if I was in the area again.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course if you're in the neighborhood

1    7/15/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: bleds
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice practice space next to #1.

The signage, tee pads, and baskets are all top notch.

Some nice tight, fun holes to test your accuracy.

Plenty of birdy and ace possibilities as many of the holes are reachable even with modest driving skills.

Solid local group keeps the course it great shape.
Cons: There are ball fields adjacent to the course so you have to be careful to avoid those areas with your throws.

Holes 14-17 are pretty repetitive, straight shots along the fence line.

Some more experienced players might want more length to the course.
Other Thoughts: Given the space they've done a nice job with this course. Great to have one up on Whidbey Island.

Definitely give it a try if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage.
Easy navigation.
Front half is mostly wooded which adds to the challenge - I really liked it.
Baskets were all in great shape.
Concrete tee pads
Bag hooks on most signs
Plenty of trash cans
Cons: Back nine runs along a fence on the left, which makes it harder for left hand players.
Other Thoughts: The front half really challenges you to make tight shots, and stay in control at all times. Lose focus and your digging through the underbrush for your disc.
Lots of activity, great to see folks playing!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/1/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: medikated
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs, cement tee pads, nice baskets and good practice basket. Not hard to navigate. Good for all skill levels. Nice clean park with other decent ammenities.
Cons: Some holes are so short they seem like nothing more than challenging putts. Last few holes are squeezed in along the property line along soccer fields. Would like to see more trash cans and benches.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this cousre.

Even though a good number of holes are less than 200' you still need to be accurate to avoid getting into trouble.

When football practice is going on holes 2 and 6 may have to be skipped.

Also watch out when teeing of on hole 3, there is a blind path leading from the housing area to the park about 10' in front of the pad that people will take, I almost let a drive rip into someones grandpas head.

No really elvation changes but that doesn't bother me since the course has a good number of holes in the woods forcing you really on accuracy.

Finally I've played this course on a regular basis since it's opened, it has come a long way and in a completely postive manner. I can't wait to see how much more this course will improve.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.