Newbury, OH 
Friends of Punderson DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Short Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A Punder-Rated Course!

1    8/2/2017   8/16/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2017
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The peak of a three course day trip was here, Friends of Punderson DGC, a course that is secretly hidden away in the northeastern part of Ohio.

The course at Punderson is not on most people's radar as a destination course. I mean, why would it be? 3.8ish rating, kind of in the middle of a dead zone for courses, and not overly reviewed. I'm here to tell you to play it.

First off, the amount of amenities for this course is just great. There were the three concrete teepads, one large descriptive tee sign per hole (with small plaques at every tee), and baskets in good condition.

Navigational signs were abundant, with red, white and blue arrows with hole numbers on them pointing you to the respective tees. These were both helpful and well done, adding a professional and clean look to the course.

The design itself was well done, with tight gaps through trees being the main factor, as well as small creeks playing as OB, but there were a few holes, mainly the newer ones, that played along the lake's edge, with the water definitely in play.

The amount of variety in the course as far as shot shaping and distance goes was well used too, with the long and short holes, the left turning, right turning holes, tunnel shots, you name it.

One of my favorite holes in disc golf is the new hole that plays off a dock, slightly downhill with a 300 foot water carry, with the basket 20 feet off the coast. It is a great hole to test accuracy, distance, and control, all in one.

With the addition of new holes, and the possibility to play different tees, there are many, many different options for someone to play.
Cons: My first con is the lack in creativity. Not in hole design, but in the ability to take different lines on each hole. When playing a course, or watching people far better than me play a course, it is nice to see one person throw a backhand, one throw a thumber, a forehand, maybe a roller, who knows. At Punderson, every hole has one really distinct line, and you take it, as does everyone else on the card. The opening of more lines may come in time, but for now, it is pretty cut and dry. (Thanks for the idea to include this in the review, BigAl)

All of the holes are through the woods, which, I personally love, but I also like to air out every once in a while, so if there was an added grassy field hole, or even just a wider fairway-ed hole, it would be extremely awesome.

The added holes at Punderson are hit or miss. There were some great holes, and some so-so holes. There were maybe a total of maybe 5 holes that were, in my opinion, kind of duds, that easily could have been extended and transformed into a multi-shot par 4.

Navigation was nice, but again, with these added holes, they were not all included in the signs, and I got confused along the way, trying to remember what hole I had played last, or which hole of the 27 hole layout I was on, rather than the others. I think as a whole, the course signage could be completely redone to include these new holes in the map, and add full color tee signs on all holes, and hopefully all tees. I know that is hard, but it really needs to be done.

Some certain holes play quite close to each other, with no crossing fairways, but maybe a hole that runs parallel to the other. These can't really be avoided, but just be careful and aware of your surroundings and you would be just fine.
Other Thoughts: The course at Punderson is very well done, and is currently seeing a lot of changes that are being put in by the local club.

I cannot wait to come back to this course and try to take in every new change that they have to offer. In the current transitional phase, this course continues to get better, but you have to wait until it is over before it gets to it's best, so for now, I give it a 4, but I strongly believe it can be upgraded to a solid 4.5 course.

This course is underrated, that is what it comes down to. Outdated reviews bring the score down, but if you are a person who truly enjoys fine disc golf, play the course at Punderson. You won't regret it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Punderson gets better and better, now with Island Hole!

5+    10/10/2016   10/22/2016
Review By: rickgz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where do I start? Excellent signs. 3 Extra large Tee Pads for every hole. Each one changes how you play the hole. Long baskets on several holes including the new Island Basket for Hole 2. This is a true island shot, throwing to an island in the middle of the lake! There is a walking bridge over to the island to hole out and retrieve your discs. Funding has started to build a platform for an alternate tee for Hole 3. A permanent restroom building is also on the drawing board.

The challenge for this course is high, where a score of 90 for 18 holes from the longs is still a 900 rated round! But it is Lots and Lots of Fun! My favorite course and I have played over 50! Beautiful scenery with hardly a sign of civilization makes for a peaceful round.
Cons: Fairways can get sloppy during wet weather. Still too many tree stumps in the fairways making for easy tripping when walking. The rough is really rough making errant drive retrievals difficult in some areas of the course. Not much else in the way of negatives. BTW more tree stumps have already been marked for removal. Like I said, it keeps getting better and better.
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy a challenging but fair course that will test every throw and disc you got, Punderson is for you! If you want an easier Par 3 type of course there are others in the Cleveland area that will fit that bill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome woods course

5+    4/17/2016   4/17/2016
Review By: Cdocks
Played: 63  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2017
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. Challenging but fair, makes you think about what you're going to throw. Huge fairways cut out in the woods, and you're punished if you miss your lines. Elevation used well. Three sets of teepads which change how each hole plays. Course is secluded in the park. Island hole and platform tee are epic.
Cons: Some of the long tees are placed in spots where it's more challenging than it is good - not really golf shots, a couple are tough to make any shot down the fairway. For example, hole 6 - awesome downhill dogleg left, but the blue tee is tucked on the left side of the fairway only leaving a layup to the bottom of the hill. There are several others.

The addition of the 27 hole layout made this course worse. There's teepads and baskets everywhere now. Adding a pitch and put course into a near championship level design detracts from the course. Anyone who comes to play here from out of town will be utterly confused.
Other Thoughts: There aren't really many aggressive lines here. The risk pretty much always outweighs the reward. Good rounds from the long tees can be kind of boring, throwing your layups on most holes. This could be a top level course with a few small tweaks. Difficult does not equal good.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Technical Gem

5+    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Baskets: Nice Mach III's, multiple baskets on four holes (9,12,14,15), alternate pin locations on a few holes (4, 11, and 17).

+Tees & Pads: Three sets of concrete tees, all have tee color and distance on a brick embedded in the pad. The whites just recently got poured.

+Memorable Holes: This place is packed with memorable holes.

+Challenge: This course takes the term "technical" to a new level.

+Scenery/Terrain: There are some really nice views of the lake. Nice use of elevation throughout the course.

+Misc: There are garbage cans and benches around the course.
Cons: -Navigation: There are a couple holes that could present navigation problems, but with signs and a map you should be okay. Not a major con by any means.

-Bugs and Mud: The course can get pretty buggy. There seems to have been a lot of effort put towards drainage control, but there are still some spots that get pretty muddy. It's mostly just the nature of the land.
Other Thoughts: I've played Punderson on two occasions. Once as part of a birdie bash and for a three round tournament. The whole course is a very challenging technical course. About half of the holes give nice scenic views of the nearby lake with four holes presenting a water hazard risk. Since it is such a technical course there are a lot of risk/reward options available. A couple good throws can build you up and one bad throw can bring you crashing down.

Almost every hole here is memorable in some way. Some of the highlights for me were 4, 8, 10, 15, and 18.

Hole 4 presents a lot of OB to simulate an island green. I think I'm just a sucker for this type of challenge. It can be a nice easy birdie, but it can be a bogey just as easily.
Hole 8 has elevated tees that look out towards the lake and requires a long sweeping anhyzer shot.
Hole 10 give a look that just begs you to attempt a throw down the neatly lined pines.
Hole 15 is among the most challenging holes I've played. It takes a straight, downhill drive to get into a good position and have a look at the baskets. Oh by the way, there's the lake at the bottom of the hill and all along the left side of the fairway up to the baskets.
Hole 18 is a beast of a hole. It demands pinpoint accuracy and a big arm. It would be tough without trees in the middle of the fairway, but they are there just waiting to send your disc shooting off into the rough.

The course is still being tweaked in some places and it seems that the people who work on it are always looking to improve. As it is, the course is worth the trip. Make a day, or camping trip, out of it. The park offers several other ways for the whole family to have a fun!

If you're a fan of wooded courses: go to Punderson. You can take your drivers, but you may just end up leaving them in your bag. There is a great range of challenge with the easiest being the reds to shorts. It's a beginners set up but beginners might not feel too welcome. If you think you've got a stellar technical game, step up to the blues and play to the longs, only the best will score well here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  A Technical Challenge

5+    4/28/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: ultimatediscman
Played: 166  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An overview:

I have played "Pundi" well over 50 times since its inception. This review is for the blues tees to all long baskets. There are five holes that have two baskets: 9, 12, 14, 15 & 18. (18 second basket fairway is not complete) I played each stage as it has evolved into a technical championship course. It was carved out of a heavy forested rolling terrain. There is a nice lake seen by many holes with only two risky shots on 1, 3 and 15.The course in not finished. It will take a few years to break in the new holes.

It is a very scenic setting with rolling hills, water, heavy forest and only car noise on the back few holes. This course is road worthy. It will test the best players on every hole. The second shot has to be a solid as the first or it will be difficult to par on most of the holes. It is a long course. Expect to play 2-3 hours the first time through. You will be tired when done. Most of the holes are tight fairways. Most of them are fair but brutal if you miss early. Even with a good drive, many times the disc hops of line a little. If it doesn't, your setup to make another difficult shot.

Signature holes:

1 - having played over 1000 holes, there is none like this one. It is not the best but very unique and tricky. (through something flippy and slow of the tee)
2 - second shot is harder than the 1st, birds can be made on the par 4. Rumor is they want to put a long basket on the island adjacent to the pin. ( about 100 feet over water)
4 - very scenic but not signature quality
8 - which I hate but its awesome down hill with the lake in sight
12 - if you don't mind throwing up hill over 300' the second or third shot it a stunning, narrow, fading hole the the long.
15 - down hill around a tough bend, water invites a backhand approach to a difficult to reach long basket.
18 - reminds me on hole 6 (I think) of Morraine. I am not liking the second shot though.
Cons: There is not really any shots to air it out without risk of losing a disc to the forest on every shot. This is not a fault of the designer. It is the lay of the land. Yet, there are many areas that need to be worked in.

My only issue is there should be a few trees removed on several holes. This would allow stronger arms to shave a few strokes and it wiould increase the pleasure and rating.
Other Thoughts: If you can through a controlled drive 300 - 350', you can score here. If you have a big gun, your not going to have a chance to show it. Your approach shot has to be good. A forehand comes in handy. You must be able to through 200' where you want it. If not, play the reds. They are fun with good challenge on half the holes.

In my rating the course is a 4. It really is a 3.75 because its not complete but I know it will be in the next couple years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.