Las Vegas, NV 
Red Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great stretch beginner course

1    3/17/2023   3/17/2023
Review By: MakeItMali
Played: 162  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You will not lose discs
Very easy to follow signage and course layout
Ability to play OB or full course to your preferences
Cons: Can rh hyzer basically every shot if you have a strong arm
Not a ton/any obstacles
Other Thoughts: Great short run

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun 9-hole course, though with some safety issues

1    2/12/2023   2/12/2023
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 98  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.8 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clean, open park with 9 holes of good length.

Big tee pads, though well worn and slippery in spots. We ended up using grass after one fall.

Easily walkable, very accessible, good for carts.

Able to bomb some long throws on a couple 500+ holes.

Lots of parking and public amenities.

For being a flat course without a ton of trees, the rocks between fairways and sprinkling of trees makes it feel like more than just a simple open field.

Played Sunday at 10am at not many people on course, maybe 4 groups.
Cons: Major issues with course design on two holes in particular. Public walking trails run right up the side of 300+ holes.

Fairways very narrow and adjacent to each other, lots of opportunities to throw into each other.

Tee pads worn to the point of being sloppy.
Other Thoughts: Completely flat, no elevation.

Would have give this a 3 because itís just a nice course with good baskets to bomb some long drives on inside the city, but the safety issues dinged it a half point.

Overall enjoyable 9-hole course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rocky Beds

1    8/25/2022   9/21/2022
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 290  Reviewed: 281  Exp: 4.5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A mostly open 9er that nonetheless presents reasonable challenge, considerable distance, and distinctive hazard areas.

-Amenities: Concrete tees, numbered DISCatchers, signs with all info and good maps. Some caveats on the signs - they're fading, the pars are quite high, and some of the distances seem a little on the short side.

-Maintenance: Well-trimmed, green grass. Clean tees. Additionally, the course's signature feature - lined beds of pebbles with trees in them - were immaculately kept. It has the feel of a golf course. Well done, local crew.

-Flow: Logical transitions minimizing between-hole walks.

-"Friendly": Easy to play, and hard to lose discs. Well, unless you go dead straight 320' into the dumpsters instead of turning right on (4), but *I* wouldn't know that.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Mostly straight shots, but made difficult by the signature rock beds. Most holes are coming in over 300', which requires a decent rip on a driver for most players. The shapes are gentle bends or straight shots, but things are complicated by the continual presence of OB rock beds that will take any errant throw. It's hard to play it safe here often, and the penalty strokes will come for almost anyone. The back four have some good multi-shot opportunities to stretch it out. Thanks to the rock beds, you'll have to curve gently and control the skip on these holes, but a bomber could easily go over top and spike hyzer everything to eliminate that aspect of challenge. As a player that throws about 300' average and prefers fairway drivers, this was a really nice point of difficulty for a lighthearted but slightly challenging round.
Cons: Several small-to-medium things throughout.

-Elevation: Dead flat. So very flat. This place makes my homemade pancakes look like the Himalayas.

-Artificial OB: I know there are varied opinions on this. I actually didn't mind the OB per se (the short trees help with the appeal), but the course definitely loses points for having a poor risk/reward factor. You should almost always go for the bigger shot, because it's really hard to lay up confidently with skippy grass.

-Baskets in Danger: There were some baskets throughout that were in harms' way of future teepads. Nothing egregious, but it would pay to know if there are any beginners on the course as you're navigating greens.

-DX Destruction: A lot of reviewers have commented on the pebble gardens chewing up discs. I had zero issues, but I'm sure baseline plastic takes a beating here.

-True Shaping: With the trees so short, and the fairways being defined by organically curved pebble beds, there isn't the kind of shot shaping that a technical player would enjoy.

Other Thoughts: As a bagger, I play so many lousy nine-hole courses that it's easy to dismiss the idea as a whole. Red Ridge dispels that feeling, affirming that nine-hole courses can fill a very nice slot in a city's lineup. If you take the artificial OB seriously, it's an intermediate-level challenge that will keep you on your toes throughout while not being too demanding. It's got great infrastructure, and it fills something of a void in the sparse Las Vegas scene. That said, it's dead flat, mostly very open, and features no obstacle that a power thrower couldn't go over. On the whole, it gets a Typical rating - nothing too special, but very enjoyable.

~Similar Courses: This one is pretty unique for the golf vibes and signature rock beds. It's vaguely similar to other tracks mainly in its predominantly straight and flat play with a modest number of avoidable objects. Consider Frog Rock (Austell, GA), North Midway Park (Broomfield, CO), and Henry Horton SP (Chapel Hill, TN) to be as similar as they get.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Quick round on decent course

1    11/17/2019   6/15/2022
Review By: bneffer
Played: 56  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 23.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Fun layout encouraged use of multiple throws
-Pretty scenery
Cons:
-Faded signage
-Flat setting
Other Thoughts: This did not take too long to play and was in a nice setting. Not a very difficult park, for those who are looking to be challenged, i'd look elsewhere, but this is a nice light play otherwise.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

2.3

2-4    4/2/2022   4/2/2022
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 167  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 18.8 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red Ridge is my practice course of choice when I'm in town. Here's why I choose to come here over some of the other courses in the area:


*Beautiful views of the mountains. As a non-local I love looking around and seeing scenery surrounding this course.
*The rounds here are quick - you can finish a round here in under 45 minutes
*Equipment is in decent shape (see note about signage below)
*Decent shot assortment - I found myself throwing drivers, mids, forehands, and backhands throughout the nine holes
Cons: This course is nothing to write home about, and is not worth going too far out of your way to play. Here are some of the things holding it back:

*Non-disc golf traffic can be abundant. This is especially true during the school year when the neighboring elementary school lets out for the day. The walkways around the course come pretty darn close to the targets, so I found myself needing to be extra careful of pedestrian traffic on 4 of the 9 holes.

*Signage is almost completely faded. If you look really hard you can see the hole numbers and distances

*The main obstacles at this course are trees planted in man-made continuous "plots" of rocks and stones (think a winding river throughout the course, but made of rocks instead of water). While these add a bit of challenge to the course, they are all over the place, so there's no real rhyme or reason to where they are placed. The rocks can be very damaging to your discs so be careful!
Other Thoughts: Don't go too far out of your way to play this one, but if you're just looking for a quick round to stretch out your arm, this is a solid choice.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quick round while visiting

1    9/12/2018   9/20/2018
Review By: TheQuietCroc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course map by the restrooms is in good shape.
-Teepads on every hole.
-Baskets catch well.
-Despite the openness of the course design, the trees in the rough actually pose a challenge on every hole.
-This course definitely tests your distance, a lot of holes were above 400 ft.
-More intermediate friendly than beginner friendly, we had two beginners with us and even though the holes are very open we all still threw into the rough.
-You're not gonna lose your disc in the rough/OB areas.
Cons: -Hole 1 isn't exactly near the edge of the course, you have to walk more inward before finding it.
-Despite the different hole designs for each hole, they all felt the same to play.
-The tee signs have maps but some are faded.
--It seems some players have tried to fix this with sharpies but it'd be better to have them replaced outright.
-Rocks in the rough/OB areas will eat your cheaper plastic.
Other Thoughts: Pokemon Go: Stops and a gym in the parking lot and other park areas but not on the course itself.

-Be careful and look out for loose dogs and dog poop.
-Despite the trees on the course, there's actually not a lot of shade.
-Also, despite the 90 degree heat, we didn't really break a sweat (compared to the humidity of Texas).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I Feel Fortunate To Have Missed The Dog Poo!

1    3/24/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1561  Reviewed: 1506  Exp: 44.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2016
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Red Ridge is a nice sized park with all the usual trappings, BB courts, ball fields, play areas, etc. The DGC occupies an area that seemingly is only used by folks walking and dog people being walked by their dogs. It's a fairly small, flat area with lovely green grassy fairways which are separated by curved, landscaped desert areas filled with desert plants and smallish trees. The result is, to quote previous noted reviewer Hector Chain, "is like someone created the park around a disc golf course". This is exactly what I was thinking.

There is an almost equal division of straight, hyser and anhyser holes here. Some of us with puny arms actually have to follow the fairways rather than simply throwing the big annie over the top of the trees.

I think Red Ridge leaves the player with an interesting option. You can either play just the walking paths OB and play the landscaped desert areas as roughs OR if you can play anything off the grass (This would include the landscaped areas and the concrete walking paths) as OB. Obviously playing the course under this second option makes for a must more challenging round.
Cons: I didn't encounter any dog poo. Had I found any, I would've first smelled it: secondly, tasted it, and thereby verifying what it was; I would have then been totally relieved that I didn't step in it.

The grass was wonderful to walk on during the early hours (not wet and marshy).

Stay on the grass so as not to grind up your disc on the rough desert landscaped areas.

The tee pads, in my experience, were quite adequate. Once again, I played in the evening. DRY!

Other Thoughts: I agree with some that Red Ridge lacks a signature type hole. That all felt eerily similar. They were all basically the same length. But the course and park were both lovely, especially compared to a few desert terrain courses. I'd play this course if I lived close.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 An Oasis of Disc Golf

1    7/13/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 379  Reviewed: 233  Exp: 19.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, great tee signs, good baskets, great grass and almost impossible to lose a disc. This course is laid out like a miniature golf course in its own section of the park. Each fairway is separated by concrete borders lining rocks and small trees.

Great course for beginners or others that don't want to go hiking through the woods on their round. Pretty tough to get lost as you can see the whole course at any time.

Holes go left and right and varied distances. (This is also a con.)
Cons: While this course seems to be geared toward beginners, it finishes with some long holes, the last 4 are 400' (or just under) to 575'. Most beginners are not going to enjoy that distance, especially with the wind that is common here.

Since there is no elevation or significant obstacles, none of the holes really stands out.

The course does have a second group of users, dog walkers. I saw a few when I was there and a few of their calling cards. I can't blame them, the grass is great (rare in the desert) and they can see the discs coming. I'm sure they feel its an oasis for their walks as well.
Other Thoughts: All in all, not a bad course for the right players, beginners and families. I can't see more advanced players playing here more than once, unless they needed to work on their accuracy, in the wind. I would only play it occasionally if I lived here, but fun to try once.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ok park course

1    1/24/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 831  Reviewed: 777  Exp: 21.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through an area of a multi-use park. The fairways are nice short grass with rocky ob areas surrounding the holes and some small trees lining the fairways. This is a shot placement course, you have to be fairly accurate to stay on the grass and out of the trees and rocks. There are a couple shorter reachable holes, several in the 300-400' range and a couple long holes where it's tempting to air it out and risk the ob. The signage is good, and there's a nice course map by the bathroom.
Cons: The course plays pretty wide open, there's a hyzer route on every hole with only small trees in play and no low ceilings or tight gaps to hit. The course is too long for beginners, but too open and monotonous to be a popular course for more experienced players. Several of the holes play near one another, it's a little too easy to end up throwing into another group. The tees look like nice concrete pads, but they have no texture at all so even a tiny amount of moisture makes them unusably slick.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the challenges of staying on the fairways, though the length could be a little frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of variety here, if you have a big hyzer shot it's easy to just go over the trees on every shot. Don't go out of your way to play this one, it's best as a place to practice throwing drives and sticking them in the landing zone you're aiming for. Don't expect any technical skills to come into play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  1st time in Vegas.

1    10/21/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: Larrycivic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the first course I have played that looks like a ball golf course. Nice manicured grass with rocks and trees defining the fairways.

If you play the rocks islands as OB this is a great course.

I visited Vegas for vacation and a fellow golfer picked me up and told me we should try red ridge. I was hesitant because it was a nine hole course, but was impressed. We played the OB and it was a technical little course.
The wind was blowing so there was an added difficulty. Course requires ever shot. Flick, anny, hyzer, spike hyzer, tomahawk. All in nine holes.
Cons: Being from DFW Texas I am use to elevation change.

This is a multi use park and there was dog poo on the course so be careful.
Watch for other people when you throw because the fairways are close to each other
Other Thoughts: I am glad we played this course. Short enough for me to play and get back to the family. I wish they a had a nice looking course like this in my neck of the woods.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.