Lewes, DE 
Cape Henlopen State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #2
3 / 181ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Unique,a must for vacation...

1    8/20/2019   8/21/2019
Review By: DrunkenSailor
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique course, sand dunes throughout and a very "beachy" feel to it.
Two tees, two baskets per hole.
Steady Ed original, historic course.
Mats on the wooden tees were in good shape and offered ample traction and space.
Makes best use of the available terrain, Ed's trademark.
Clean, no trash, where there was vegetation it wasn't overgrown.
Great, mostly accurate signs at tees, most baskets have wooden arrows to guide you along.
Cons: The baskets, Mach IIs?, are in deplorable, barely serviceable shape. Chains are severely corroded from the ocean air.
Park admission is kind of steep for out of state visitors, coming from Pennsylvania, paying to get into a state park is unheard of, but it is what it is.
With the admission price being what it is, how hard would it be to replace the ancient baskets? I imagine the course brings in enough players to make it worthwhile. Judging from the boards at the beginning of the course, there looks to be a local club or T.O who could maybe make that happen in the future?
A few holes play very close to a road and walking/biking trail.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cool park that could be wayyyy better

1    5/25/2019   6/4/2019
Review By: SillyPeddy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 7/26/2019
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Way different from other DE courses because of the landscape
- Tight and open shots give a nice variety
- Very beachy feel
- Very hard to lose a disc
Cons: - Signs and navigation are not too accurate
- Not really any other negs
Other Thoughts: - It could be such an awesome place if more effort or help was added.

- Playing in the sand was a lot of fun.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'll have a better opinion of it over time

1    10/7/2018   11/17/2018
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 37  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 1.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Something extra to do at the beach. And quite different than most beach affair. You can bike, hike, play disc golf, and then throw yourself into the ocean. Make your entry fee (DE resident and especially if not) pay!

The dunes and pines make an interesting landscape for a disc golf course.

Compact which could also be perceived as a con on a busy summer day, if such happens. Good (I think) though for 18 holes and if you cannot do alot of walking.

Can park near the basketball courts and start at no. 1 or can park at the beach and start at no. 13 or 14.

The 14A hole for variety is a good idea if going around more than once. Or if 14 is unplayable.

I like 11 and 12 because I scored well (smile).
Cons: Elevation change on hole 13 (I believe) is tough. Totally throw blind. Now that I know where the baskets are, this will be less of an issue next time. Hole signs with diagrams would be helpful.

Another uphill throw on 15 is even steeper and narrow. Between trees.

Not tremendously maintained, but not a dump either. Tees are in bad shape.

Only one really open hole (18). There is though a practice basket in the open near no. 1.

I believe 17 was flooded in places when I went.

If you are a beginner, use the forward pads. Especially on the reed holes. Why lose a disc?
Other Thoughts: When I am a better player, I will enjoy it more. And I come to Cape Henlopen fairly every summer, so will always also play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    9/9/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: Radarx
Played: 60  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not and probably will not play another course like it. This is what makes the course well worth visiting. Requires different disc selections and shots your not use to and that adds to the challenge along with navigating winds. Long to Long offers a challenge to above average disc golfers. Plays well in the summer, not to much overgrowth.
Cons: Aging tee signs and some navigational confusion. Aging baskets. $10 out of state park fee, $5 in state. Some broken wood tee pads and unleveled. Minor flooding in just a few fairways. Needs some summer trimming on a few holes (5, 11, 14)
Other Thoughts: Considering the age of the course its held up rather well. Obviously work gets done on it. Was well worth the trip up from OC MD. Hate or Love it you want to try this course, after all its an Ed Headrick design!. I happen to love the challenge because it was so different. Consider the old baskets as part of that challenge being that the course is not that long. I hope my $10 went towards course improvements as this course needs and desirves to be preserved. Its vintage Historic in my book and nothing like it anywhere. $10 not more than price of OC mini golf to keep it in perspective. I gave it .5 more just because of its uniqueness.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sands of time

1    8/27/2017   8/27/2017
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 196  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like a course that shows me something I haven't seen before, and this entire course was something different. It was wooded but played entirely on sand. I don't think I've been in this sort of habitat before, let alone played disc golf. Picture sandy dunes with sporadic grass and small plants under gnarled coastal pines.

The land is old and the course is old. The park was declared public land by William Penn, back before he signed the endorsement deal with that oatmeal that your parents used to eat. The course is probably the oldest one I've played, and it was created by Steady Ed himself. The distances are unsurprisingly pretty short, with most holes under 300 feet. Even when my disc only made it halfway up the fairway (see below), I could usually recover.

You can run every putt and know that it will stick. Rollaways are impossible.

Tee signs were prevalent. Tee pads are rubber set on top of the old wooded planks.
Cons: The course was created in 1978, and so was I. Fortunately I can say that I'm holding up better than it is. The baskets are old contraptions with rusty chains and shallow baskets. The tee signs are cracking and tough to read. The rubber mats on the tee pads look like the only thing on the course that has been touched in 40 years.

More than the equipment, the lines to the basket are not always realistic. In some cases it appears they are overgrown. Hole 10's sign makes it look like there is a path to the basket that avoids the bike trail, but right now your only shot is to hang a RHBH hyzer out over the path, which isn't that safe. For other holes I can't tell if there ever was a better line. If you have a big arm (I don't), you are almost always better of going over the top of the pines.

Despite being short, walking this course is more tiring than most since it's all sand. The baskets on at least half the holes are not visible from the tee, so on your first time you're walking a lot of fairways before you even throw.

There was a lot of standing water in the middle part of the course, so bugs were bad.
Other Thoughts: I really like what I saw from the park, and setting foot on the course put me in a good mood. What a cool location! Feeling the wind blow through the pines and across the grassy dunes felt like a perfect way to spend a summer day. Unfortunately, the course didn't measure up. As a piece of history and a true novelty, you really should play here once. But probably only once.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sandtastic!!!

2-4    3/20/2016   3/25/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Cape Henlopen is one of those courses where a list of pros and cons seems irrelevant as the same items can easily end up on either list depending on reviewer preference/bias, and in some cases both... "Pro: You get to play in the sand" and then, "Con: I got sand in my shoes." "Pro: Cool throwing over the dunes" and then, "Con: Blind tee shots over the dunes." It's the kind of course you're most likely either going to love or hate. I'm one of the people that loves to play Cape Hen. I played a couple of rounds here almost two years ago and played it again last weekend. The new trex tee platforms are a huge improvement over last time! I love that they only attach the back side of the fly mat so you can lift up the front to clean the sand off. The wind had them cleared off when I was there.

There's always a special feeling to a Steady Ed course and Cape Henlopen is no exception. He somehow found a way to cram more course into a small area than should be possible while at the same time picking out the most interesting terrain features to highlight. When I heard about the course at the beach I wasn't expecting the amount of elevation that plays on almost every hole. And it's not just the rolling hills that the dunes create, the trees and scrub pine play as elevation unlike any other course I've ever played. In fact, my first time here I had to learn a new way to throw, namely up and over everything. Most of the wooded courses around place a premium on keeping your shot low to fly below the branches and leaves on the trees. For the most part, this one is the opposite, often the smart play is to throw over the trees that stand between you and the basket. Learning to work a disc that you are sending 30-40' higher than usual in gusty swirling shoreline winds can be a lot of fun, or I suppose quite frustrating. For me it was A LOT of fun!! But it's not just a bunch of up and overs all day, there are some tunnel shots through the woods and throws from an open area through an opening to the green. Hyzers, annies, flicks, hammers, thumbers, bring 'em all to Henlopen because you'll need 'em. There's even a 500' wide open bomb to finish up with.

If you're traveling and playing courses on the road, I would say Cape Henlopen is a MUST PLAY because of its uniqueness. It's not the best course, nor the most challenging, but there's really nothing else like it that I've seen up to this point and it's just a ton of fun! Plus, how can you pass up a chance to play a course that is almost 40 years old and was designed by the guy that invented the game and built the first course? (And yes, I've played that one too) There's a pretty well made 2 tire basket hanging from a tree in the middle of the course... wonder if it was one of the originals?
Yes, Delaware charges for their state parks... But this one is at the beach! Make a day of it! Heck, buy the pass here and then go play Killens or Trapp or any of the other courses in the state if you want. At some point I'm definitely going to stay at the campground here, I can't think of a better day than waking up at Cape Hen, drinking my morning coffee while throwing a round and then playing in the ocean all afternoon when it's hot. And then an absolutely perfect course for a moonlight glow round!!!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Beach Course

1    6/30/2013   11/30/2014
Review By: WeirdBeard84
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location with the old military base and the campground. Challenging terrain with the dunes and pines mix.
Cons: Overall, poorly maintained and poorly labeled. Another drawback was that many of the holes were completely flooded with shallow water. Also, ticks. If you are a fan of ticks, you'll love this course. There's alot of thick, knee high grass and retrieving a disk in this space will definitely result in finding ticks on your person. be cautious in these areas.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very fun course

5+    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads for players of all levels. Distances ranging from 200-500 feet. All types of shots used on the course. Very unique terrain to play on. Rubber mat on tee pads is only connected on one end to allow clearing any sand off. Many elevation changes throughout.
Cons: Many baskets can not be seen from the tee pads making it difficult to know where to throw. Tee signs are not 100% accurate. Some show a straight shot when it actually turns at some point. The sand makes for a tiring walk up and down the many dunes. The mats on the tees are heavy and if by yourself makes it difficult to clean off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course and a must play for all disc golfers. Played my first round alone and had some difficulty locating a couple baskets and tee pads, however, the course flow is very good for the most part. Located right next to the beach with campgrounds within walking distance. I always look forward to every round I play here...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: CheerHannah
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun and variable course! Many holes with challenges, but also holes with wide open shots! Many birdie and par shots throughout the course! Beginners may want to wait and play smaller courses that can build up to this course, but all-around very fun course!
Cons: I played from Red tees and they were worn down and looked very torn.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, so very easy to lose a disc

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging to build power as well as not slip in the sand. Unique course with tons of overhand and grenade shots(short). Not tons of traffic.
Cons: To scared to play long and middle tees and lose a disc. Sometimes signs missing or tee pad broken. No water spouts.
Other Thoughts: Had fun at this course. With a little love this could be a well rated course. Surely one of a kind

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.