Plainview, TX 
Running Water Draw Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #13 (Taken 4/2010)
-- / 320ft.   -- / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee: Up from shelf, assorted trees, to basket, only mando on course is the very large flagpole



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Decent course

1    3/20/2018   3/29/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs
Kiosk with good map of the course
Man made hills in use on several holes
Natural fairways used on several holes
Cement tee pads on both Red and White tees
2 pin positions on every hole
course has bathrooms by the playground
Course was pretty easy to follow.
Cons: White tees are long, but not long enough to be par 4 holes and too long to be par 3.
Very long walk from 17 to 18, sort of a long walk from 13 to 14.
Other Thoughts: After playing several West Texas Courses, I am glad to see a course with some elevation, even if it is man made.

The course winds it way around the park, 9 holes are to the east and 9 hole flow clockwise around the west/north side of the park.

Hole 1 tee's off from the top of the hill on the East side of the parking lot down to some tree's.

Hole 2 is sort of an uphill shot with a few tree's to navigate on the way to the basket.

Hole 3 has the baseball fields on the left and a parking lot on the right. Long hole with some trees on the right.

Hole 4 tees off from near the parking lot down a row of trees to the basket near the edge of the park.

Hole 5 is very similar to 4, just a longer shot. This hole has a pin position around the edge of the park.

Hole 6 throws back parallel to hole 5, then 7 throws back towards the flood plain area.

Hole 8 is interesting, using the flood plain hills, up and to the right in among a few trees.

Hole 9 throws back towards the parking lot

Now 10, you can throw from the White tee up from the or throw from the Red tee by the parking lot. This hole has a long pin position out in the flood plain, nice raised green area.

Hole 11 has you throwing up to the side of the man made hill.

Hole 12, you throw from the top of the hill down to the basket hiding behind a tree.

then walk out to the open to towards the street to throw 13 that was a longer hole with several small trees in the fairway. Blind shot at the basket, but the hole is long enough to throw hard, then walk down to see the basket.

Longer walk to hole 14, this one has you throwing from under some larger tree's across a wash to a hidden basket behind some bushes.

15 is a longer shot down though some larger trees to the basket in the corner of the park.

16 has you throwing back along the road towards a building.

17 is to the right of the building.

Then a very long walk across past the tennis courts to either a longer flat tee white, or up the hill to a shorter elevated shot down to the basket that is on the RIGHT, there is a practice basket on your LEFT. I sort of played this hole wrong :P

Would I play here again?

Tough call, the longs were not all that fun for me, it was throw hard, up shot, putt on almost every hole. Too short to be a par 4 and too long to get a 2 for me. I would like to play the red's next time I am in the area, I think they would be more fun than the whites


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tee pads (great for people who take long steps on the run up). Baskets in perfect condition. Signs at each tee pad telling the distance to the basket. Tape on each basket pointing the way to the next tee pad.
Cons: The only cons I could see are that there are not many technical shots. The other is of no ones fault but the drought that has been going on the last couple of years has taken its toll on the course, but they do have some younger trees there that should make it great in a few years.
Other Thoughts: It appears like the Rotary Club built this course. Kudos to them they did a fantastic job. This course is much much better than many on this site that have a higher rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 High Plains Disker

2-4    3/31/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: QBeaver
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course. Having grown up in Plainview, I was much relieved to see they installed such a quality course. This one has some holes for those big arms, # 3 and # 15, especially from the pro tees, are quite long. Great use of the trees, and the limited elevation changes in the park, they provide for some challenges and opportunities for technical shots. Nice long concrete tees provide ample take-off space, and the pro tees are marked with signs showing the hole, alternate tee locations, and distances. The layout is great, and for the most part, leads you around and away from the more commonly used areas of the park. The playgrounds don't really factor in. A good course for all ability levels.
Cons: WIND!!!! This part of the world is windy, if you want to play this course you'll have to deal with windy conditions. The soccer field towards the end of the front nine, and the baseball fields at the beginning of the front nine can come into play when games are going on. The holes toward, and in, the draw can become flooded after big rainfalls. If there's water in the draw, don't forget mosquito repellent.
Other Thoughts: Don't live in that area anymore, but come to visit family often and when I do, I love to play this course. For those that live in the area, even Lubbock, it's worth a visit. Thank you Plainview Rotary Club.
P.S. When playing don't forget to say hey to the Jackrabbits, I haven't played this course yet when one didn't jump out of nowhere in the middle of a fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open course and well maintained. Concrete tee pads with signs that were the most helpful signs I've seen on a course around Lubbock. Tx.
Cons: Water sprinklers flooded two holes but still could play. Grass could be kept a little lower.
Other Thoughts: Will play the course again and the local club has a fun mixed doubles on the 2nd Sat. of each month.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice

1    6/20/2009   4/1/2010
Review By: westxdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice open area to play. Good amount of trees for west texas.
Cons: No teepads when I played. I know they have them now, so that is a definite step up.
Other Thoughts: I started playing in college at the University in town and am super excited there is a legitimate course there now. Looking forward to playing often.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Now worth the drive!

5+    4/12/2010   11/4/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 131  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 24.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a very well maintained park with trees planted in rows and "front lawn" type grass. The baskets are new and in very good shape. Hole numbers are clearly marked on top of the basket. Very good use of trees and what elevation changes there are available.

The course has brand new concrete tees! All have pro tees also. There are signs at the pro tees. This eliminated the cons in my first review. You can see the baskets from the tees, so the course is very easy to follow. Nice long holes. Very high fun factor. Keep your throws out of the baseball and YMCA fields and you won't lose a disc.
Cons: No water hazards... you could make some of the drainage areas out of bounds, but you won't lose a disc. The sign on #10 states that the draw running from the parking lot is OB. No "rough" to play from. It's all short grass.
Other Thoughts: What an improvement the tees have made. This is a very fun course. Certainly not easy, considering the frequent wind, but not so hard that a beginner can't have fun, too. The only ace run from both tees is the 1st hole. 9 is possible from the short tee. I can't wait to bring my discs back to this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/11/2010   9/27/2009
Review By: Iman522
Played: 84  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course. Well designed. It uses the given area very well. It includes a few elevation changes, several good trees, challenging shots around the trees, and a very good layout that covers a large area. The course is very smooth to play through. It has both pro and rec concrete tee pads with vertical tee signs helping with the navigation.
Cons: It seems like people will have parties or something in undesignated spots that are in your fairway. It can be annoying.

On Sunday afternoons a local soccer club has their matches in the park. The soccer players are fine but the spectators tend to get in the way makng holes #1 and #2 nearly impossible to play.

After a big rain Hole #8 and sometimes #5 and #7 can be underwater.
Other Thoughts: Great course which people of all skill levels can enjoy. It has many challenging shots that tests your game and it utilizes the terrain really well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.