Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #11 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee: Position B



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Solid Course

5+    4/30/2021   5/4/2021
Review By: theskulls
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a busy park it has everything you need to put together a decent course, elevation changes, multiple pads & pin placements, a mix of open & wooded holes, etc. A few holes have trees acting as gates or goal posts you need to throw thru to get to a more open area, which is a nice touch.

The course is well maintained even for how busy it is, with no trash & signs that limbs, fallen trees, and other debris get removed for the most part.

Besides the water hazard on 17, you're not likely to lose a disc here unless you're well off the fairway or overshoot the basket.
Cons: The popularity of the park and the course are the biggest cons really. Any day or time I've played there have been players and other park goers randomly wandering around the fairways. I'll usually see people picnicking on the sides of fairways or setting up canopies in the middle & they don't seem to care about the courtesy or the danger, even when its explained to them.

Because its a busy course, give yourself some extra time to play it, with waiting for others to be finished or park goers to get out of the way.

Other than that its a serviceable course, no holes are really great but no holes are really bad either. A few baskets & signs could be maintained better with rusty chains or other cosmetic issues, but overall its not bad.
Other Thoughts: To me this is a course that if someone wanted to play it, I wouldn't say no, it just wouldn't be my top choice. Compared to others in the area its a decent course, just nothing really memorable about it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Alexander The "Not Quite" Great

2-4    1/13/2021   1/18/2021
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 232  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Alexander's higher rating is probably a result of it being a crowd pleaser. There is a good variety of holes and none of them are too difficult. I saw many people playing the course and they seemed to be having a great time. Most holes here I would say are "goodish" and do require a variety of throws whether you play the short pads or the longs.

-Most holes have two or three pin locations. I actually spoke with the guy that moves them and it seems that he moves them at least every now and then.

-The usual. Great tee signs. Superb tee pads.

-The conditions were excellent. Course looked fantastic in regards to appearance. Alexander seems to be a course that's always kept in high quality shape. Nothing dense, messy, or overgrown.

-Nice retention wall separating #8 from #9's tee area. Holes are very close but safety seems to be a priority.

-Hole #13 was my favorite hole. Nice tight and slightly wooded downhill par three. Many trees in the middle of the fairway creating two challenging available lanes. #17 was a cool par four around the pond. Your drive has to be deceptively further than it would appear on the tee. I lost a gladiator in the water because it turned too quickly and didn't go far enough.

-Two nine hole loops. #1 and #9 end in a circle and #10 and #18 end in a circle right next to the circle that #1-9 creates.
Cons: -Lacks Originality. Many open holes without much character. Only hole you might wake up the day saying "That was really a great hole" would be hole #13. Most of them were just pretty good without leaving me intrigued. Flawed marketing approach. Excellent presentation, decent design.

-A bit of a walk from the parking lot to the disc golf course. Not very far, but you won't see it from where you park. Walk past the ball field down the walking path and you'll see it. Leaves you with a bit of a walk back to the parking lot after #18.

-I spoke to the guy that moves the baskets and he said something about the parks and rec department not liking it when he moves the baskets. Seems like they are making it more difficult than it needs to be. I think it's very important for pins to be moved in their different locations to keep the course interesting.

-#17's pond is a disc eater. Not only is the "no wading" sign an inconvenience, but the tee shot is very misleading. I lost a gladiator in the pond. There was a huge headwind that compelled me to throw a very overstable disc and it looked like it was going to go far enough past the pond, but the wind made a severe hook with my disc's flight and now it's lost because it landed in the water. I threw a boatman the second round and barely made it across when it looked like it was going to go further. Deceptive in a very aggravating way.
Other Thoughts: -Alexander is a course that I probably would've enjoyed more if I played it six or seven years ago. I've played over 200 courses and have played some epic courses pretty far away that I wouldn't hesitate to go back to. Alexander is pretty unadorned and relatively pedestrian, even though its presentation is a high. Just goes to show that presentation is more of an extra. It doesn't seem that the whole "make a valid point" motive was present here. It has some pretty good holes but I thought it was going to be better. Elevation is present but limited. That's fine; I've played courses with more limited elevation that had some real standout holes.

-If you are looking for a course that would well suit a crowd, then Alexander would probably bring the best results. It's very fair with lots of forgiveness and some separator potential. The first two are very open and offer the most forgiveness by not imposing a penalty after a subpar tee shot and some players could really appreciate that whole concept. Experienced players will more likely be indifferent about Alexander if they are under the age of fifty. I think this is a real demographic course. If you are the age of 18-24, or 25-35 and over 920 rated, you'll probably prefer to play Little Mulberry, Parker's Pasture, or Indian Creek. It's worth a go to though.

-I'm giving Alexander a 3. Just know though, this is solely my perception. I like to heavily lean towards my personal opinion and what I think about the holes rather than presentation even though it's important to acknowledge it and allow it to have some sort of impact.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Balanced Park Course, Great for Learning

5+    8/15/2020   12/20/2020
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 183  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 2.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My home course: a well-groomed park course with all the basics and good variety.

-Amenities: I got a bit spoiled learning the sport at Alexander. 36 concrete tees, 19 DISCatchers (one is a practice basket), tee signs with map and pin position indicator, copious benches, trash cans, next tee signs.

-Multi-Tees/Pins: Two tees per hole. I'd label them red-level and white-level difficulty. Also, most holes have 2-3 pin positions that get changed regularly, which really freshens up the course.

-Variety: There's a very balanced mix of open, moderately open, and wooded holes. Also a wide swath of distances, from about 180' to 590'. Elevation isn't extreme on any one hole, but there are plenty of substantial downhills and uphills.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: A great intermediate challenge. A handful of open field holes with well-placed trees and elevation, several shorter tight woods shot that require technicality, and, depending on pin placements, one to four par-4's working into or out of the woods. There are many ace runs (I would nominate the 280' field (1) and short bend right (8)), some tough rough (if you drive poorly on (5) or (14)), and great placement shots (for long positions on (3), (13), and (17)). A very fair teacher of risk, reward, needle-threading, bombing, and wind and elevation management.

-Surrounding Park: It's in the middle of suburbia, but Alexander isn't an eyesore. Rolling hills and woods make it enjoyable, especially at sunset. The park has miles of walking trails, a playground, a dog park, and much more if you want to make it a family excursion.
Cons: The park gets a little too much traffic, and lacks the appeal to make it a top-level course.

-Busyness: This is one of the most-used parks I have been to in the city. There are usually a couple or more groups of disc golfers, and the trails are packed with walkers and joggers. Other than having to wait on larger groups to throw sometimes, this is an issue mainly because a lot of people think the open fairways are a great place to picnic/play catch/walk the dog/make out. Often they're willing to move, sometimes they're not--but do you really want to be the person walking 300' down the fairway to tell the family they need to move the picnic so you can play the hole in 5 minutes?

-Openness: There are a lot of holes that are quite open. That was nice as a beginner, but nowadays I tend to feel a little bored by the time I've played (1), (2), (7), (9), (16), and (18) that all throw through the same big meadow.

-Limitation of Variety: (3) and (17) are great par-4s, with (16) and (18) both acceptable, but otherwise no multi-shot holes to make this a true top-notch course.

-Pond: I know many discs that have found a watery grave on (17). A year ago they posted a "No Wading" sign to dissuade retrieval.
Other Thoughts: I guess it's probably always hard to rate a home course objectively. At one point I had Alexander as a 3.0 due to the open fields, but in the last while I've come to regard it as a true 3.5, a Very Good course that does everything right and has maxed out on the resources available to it. Great park to learn on, always feels safe, has great recreational to intermediate variety, and the pin positions change constantly. An excellent home course to learn and practice on, and worth a quick stop on the road.

-Highlight Holes: I couldn't just review my home course without sharing some of my favorite holes. Skip this paragraph if you're not interested. (3) in the two long positions is a great par-4 with 230' of trees on the right that you want to throw to the left of and around to set up the approach through a woods tunnel. (5) starts in the open but hits a tight gap into the woods, with different pin positions requiring different levels of right turn but allowing for an ace run. (8) is the best ace run, a 180' right-turning downhill hole that requires great touch on the forehand or backhand. (13) long is a great choice: downhill bomb 330' while working around 3 mid-fairway trees and finishing right, or lay-up to the right to a straight tunnel and trust your approach touch for a difficult par-3. (17) long is another par-4 with a 300' straight shot (pond on the left) leading to a wide and straight tunnel with a sloped green filtering away from the basket.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Alexander the Great?

5+    7/9/2020   8/16/2020
Review By: Reno
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Couldn't help but notice this course hasn't had a recent comprehensive review in years, and since I cut my DG teeth on it, I thought I'd take the time....

Alexander Park has indeed grown up in the last 10 years to mature Into a solid course that provides a fair challenge to golfers of all types. There are two park entrances now (Scenic Hwy and Old Snellville Rd), more parking, and plenty of amenities. Bathrooms, Blue And Red concrete tee pads, accurate tee signs, benches, next tee signs, garbage cans, even brooms.... Most importantly the course has excellent variety, with open and wooded shot opportunities aplenty, good use of elevation, both ace runs and bomber fairways, left and right shot-shaping variety, and multiple pin placements to keep things fresh. Beginners to Advanced players can enjoy the course together, and the Saturday random draw doubles scene is well-attended.

Losing a disc is hard to do except in a couple places (like the pond on 17), the setting is very park-like and laid back, and course navigation is a breeze.
Cons: The course can get crowded, and not everyone knows how to let others play through. And in a couple places (like the tee boxes on 3, 8, and 12), a little more protection from other holes' errant tee shots would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Some really accomplished and/or up-and coming pros have spent a lot of time at Alexander Park, for whatever that's worth. Come on Saturdays at 10am, and you might even partner with one!

Make sure you ignore the hole pictures here at DGCR. All those "Charlie Brown X-Mas trees" have been growing for 10 years now, and present much more significant obstacles today than what existed then. Maybe some nice local could even have DGCR updated?

Lastly, additional (third) pin placements exist for holes 3, 5, 10, 13, 16, and 17, all in longer / better protected locations. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I can see why this is a popular course

1    7/12/2020   8/11/2020
Review By: wingmanatl
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a very popular course for several reasons.
This course offers tee pads for all skill levels of player.
Very creative lines for wooded play, offering some very challenging shots.
17 has a water hazard, but it can easily be avoided.
Cons: Super busy park with LOTS of players.
We encountered a family ahead of us that didn't understand course etiquette (not a knock on the course but c'mon people, if you're a family of 5 just throwing discs for fun, let players/groups play through...)
Parking does fill up quick.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great all around course

5+    8/11/2018   8/17/2018
Review By: yungfiji
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and slightly wooded holes.
Good for all skill levels. The course is usually always very well maintained.
Cons: Parking can be a pain. The park in generally can be pretty busy with other park goers

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Park for every kind of player!

1    10/22/2017   10/26/2017
Review By: contactpolo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course and easy to follow. The flow was perfect and even though it was full of people it went very well. Clean park with great thought and lots of work put into every tee. Lines are quite creative and challenging. Elevation use was awesome but attainable. Lastly, the mix of open and technical shots make it easy to fall in love with!
Cons: Only con is you have to drive by an amazing playground so cover your kids eyes if they are joining you.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Park

5+    4/23/2016   4/26/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 228  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for both tees

Has nice tee signs with most indicating basket placements

Multiple basket placements on every hole

Has many benches and trash cans throughout course

More open than wooded fairways will be appreciated by the beginner

Most holes have changes in elevations

Well-maintained

Free parking
Cons:
Hole #12 blue tee could use some protection from drives on Hole #18 blue tee like #9 has from #8

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are awkward transitions between holes 6&7 and 17&18

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with the locals
Other Thoughts:
This is a good multi-use course that I enjoy playing. The walking path that meanders throughout the course doesn't affect play at all but it's not uncommon for parkgoers to walk through on some of the fairways to access the path. The course is mostly wide open so you can expect wind to be a factor on most holes on any given day here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just Enough Challenge To Be Interesting

5+    7/25/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: lukethenuke
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Most holes have some challenging aspects. Some holes are very interesting/fun to play. The holes in the woods really get you to make accurate drives, but they're not terribly unforgiving like some courses in the woods can be.

Frequent switches between wooded holes and open holes make for a nice mix while you play, and are great for getting in and out of the sun during the summer.

Cons: Typically the most crowded course I play at. There are frequently fairly large groups (4+), which can be frustrating for smaller groups especially during the busy weekends.

A few paths between holes aren't well marked/are easy to miss.

Has a few spots where it's surprisingly easy to lose discs.

A few holes feel rather pointless/filler, such as 16 and 18, which are just really long and are fairly uninteresting.

Lots of the park is close to the road, so you don't get the feeling of being out in nature quite as much as some parks.

 Great Beginners' Course

5+    2/16/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - The Front Nine holes are the best I've ever seen for working on one's game and improving. Both open field holes and technical tight holes in the woods, fairly flat. One can test new discs, work on technique and different shot shapes, and/or just go for the best score possible.

- The Back Nine holes are a bit more of a challenge, more uphill and downhill, etc.

- Course offers holes where one can bomb it and challenging tunnel shots through the woods.

- Course is in excellent condition. Grass is mown, baskets and chains in very good shape, concrete tees and brooms on most of them.

- Practice basket with stepping stones showing various yardages out to 10 meters. Really good place to practice putting and shorter approach shots.

- There are front and back tees to choose from.

- Course is very well marked, with signs pointing to the next tee box. Very easy to navigate.
Cons: - Restrooms are nowhere near the course.

- Yes, that basket one sees to the right on the No. 3 tee is the No. 4 basket, and the No. 3 basket might not be easily visible (it's inside the woodline).

- Path from No. 14 basket to No. 15 tee is not obvious (one walks down the walking path to get there).

- Course can be very busy in the warmer months and at peak times. There are people walking, biking, etc. in some areas that one has to be careful and watch for.

- Both No. 9 and No. 18 end near the No. 1 basket, not the No. 1 tee box, so there's a bit of a walk back to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: Parking - go all the way through the paved parking lot to the gravel road that leads to a gravel "overflow" parking lot. This gravel lot is close to the practice basket and first tee and will save considerable walking distance.

Pro Shop - Disc Stalker is no longer near the course, as it has moved into the downtown Lawrenceville area. Check their website for the address.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.