Salt Lake City, UT 
University of Utah Share
Uploaded By: bdubya Hole #16 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 U of U! Course

1    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amazing course. Out of the courses I have played in the few states, this was really enjoyable. I am from out of state but finding the course was easy.
- ^^ just take the TRAX on I believe red and you'll be there. And I don't believe I paid but if you do, its only 2.75 for the ride up.
- Apparently it was an old regular golf course but this makes more use out of it. Perfect land.
- Good challenges, right off the bat you might have to hyzer or anhyzer.
- No water hazards, but with some serious uphill and downhill usage due to mountains.
- Great concrete pads (very long and wide, just how I like them [: )
- Chains are just as good, college I guess took part of the course (back or front 9) down... bummer
- Pretty simple course, can be done with a easy drive or long mid, but not for a beginner. Although 300ish holes, the changes, high and low areas and trees can really made it difficult. Otherwise fairly amazing! Did not lose a disc
Cons: - Signs are horrible, just paper in a plastic sheet, though with that, they are accurate then some I have seen in a long while.
- No public bathrooms
- No water, but there are plenty of trash cans
- Watch roads and throwing discs, and it is a bit of a workout
Other Thoughts: - No real problem, an over-well nice course, very enjoyable
- Simple but fun course, a little challenge, and a nice course to play on my vacation! :D
- Not busy, and please, do not bring drugs or alcohol. It is a college but I know how easy it is just to hold back and wait till your done to drink. Do you really have to?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great campus course

5+    10/17/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite a few trees. Holes of varying lengths. Great course for beginners and people wanting to work on their game without the risk of losing discs. Usually isn't very busy. Easy to find your way around the course.
Cons: Only the front 9 has concrete tees. The back 9 is rubber.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty fun course and a great course to fine tune your game for those more difficult courses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 University

2-4    7/3/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice location. You get a good breeze at the higher elevation and a great view of the valley. The course is a great one for beginners and usually there is no wait time to play. Great signs and benches every so often.
Cons: No hazards really (other than the train tracks and parking lot). It's on an old ball golf course and it feels like it.
Other Thoughts: Nice alternate if your home course is Creekside or Valley Regional. Nice views.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It looks like a ball golf course

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: it is a fun course with alot of lefty shots that benifit me :) and alot of fun midrange shots and fun cources for beginners or a fun midrange with cement teepads on the front 9 and rubber teepads on the back 9 with signs on ever hole
Cons: it gets very windy and there is no where by the course to get water so bring water
Other Thoughts: come play night rounds it is the funnest courses to play night rounds on
i hold the course record -12 so let me know if u beat this
and i have aced hole 12 on the old teepad with a champ monster on 2/22/10 for my 11th ace

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Exceptionally good use of available space and features
Some of the best signage I've seen anywhere
Awesome tees
Good quality baskets
Beautiful views of the valley and mountains
Entire course is on grass and is well-trimmed, almost manicured
Awesome use of available elevation changes (serious up and downhill shots here)
Some shorter and longer holes, but all easier par 3s
Can ride TRAX to the course very easily
Won't lose discs
Easy to get in 9-18 holes between classes
Cons: Unfortunately, you don't need a lot of tricks in your bag to score well here since it is pretty open.
Pretty easy to throw into a street, onto train tracks, or into a car (although harder than it used to be)
You really end up going up and down a lot, so although you can do a stroller, you'll find yourself leaving it as you go off to play 2-3 holes and then coming back to it. Don't even think about trying to push a double stroller up some of those hills.
Nothing else to do at the course but disc golf
No pro shop, no water available, parking would be limited when school is in session
Other Thoughts: The area this course sits on used to be part of an 18 hole golf course. As the University and its medical campus required expansion, that was gradually cut to 9 holes. I cut my teeth playing ball golf on this course years ago. Apparently, since that time the University has needed to buy more buildings and put in more parking, so 3 of those 9 holes were taken out. But, kudos to them, they made the wise decision that 18 holes of disc golf is a much better use of space than 6 holes of ball golf. Probably safer too. For those of you who think accidentally hitting a car or a road with a disc is a big deal, you should have seen how it was when you sliced a ball into the street. The land is also an arboretum with some particularly rare trees on it, so hopefully that will help persuade the University to not tear out the disc golf course any time soon when they need another building.

At any rate, after moving back to Salt Lake I went and played a round. I had a smile on my face the whole time. It was truly a pleasure to play a first round here. You look at the sign, and it perfectly maps out the course and the holes. The distances are accurate, the trees are actually where they really are on the course etc. The tee pads are long enough, wide enough, and perfectly level. Although the back nine isn't concrete, that was only a problem on one or two holes that got a bit sandy and slippery on the mats. After 9 holes, you circle back to the TWO practice baskets and then move onto hole 10, so playing 9 holes is very easy. The back nine was even better. My favorite hole is a long, long downhill where the danger is a street on one side and a parking lot on the other. The basket is hidden from the tee, but you can see the trees that stand directly over it. Aim for those, and once you hit the foliage, it'll drop right down next to the basket for a long birdie. The next hole is only 180 feet or so, but it must be 40 or 50 feet above you. Very cool. There are several holes that approach 400 feet long, so you'll need to be able to throw that distance to birdie those, but most holes are between 250 and 300.

I scored a minus 7 on my first outing (I was +1 at Creekside the first time), so it is definitely an easier course, but the positives make it a must-do Salt Lake course anyway. It isn't necessarily a beginner course, my wife didn't make par on it, and you won't either if you can't throw 250-300 feet routinely.

It is really everything that Creekside is not:
It isn't busy
It has beautiful views (and plenty of sunshine)
You won't lose discs
You won't get lost and play the wrong holes
The baskets won't move on you every day
You won't have to go swimming every other round
You'll feel good about your score at the end of the day
The course won't get flooded out
The course is reasonably stroller friendly
And you won't hit very many trees

Also, a few people complained about being very close to cars. I think some of that was addressed by moving a couple of baskets (especially 10). There are a couple of signs that haven't been updated since then, but it was definitely a wise change. Putting a basket 10 feet from where a car was parked probably wasn't such a good idea.

The main challenges are wind and elevation, not trees, and on a calm day if you know the course you could shoot a score in the 30s, but I wouldn't miss it if you're local, or if you have time to play more than one course in SLC.

Please don't bring alcohol or pot to this course, it is liable to get the course ripped out.

For the course designers:
Ways to improve the course- Plant a few more trees, put in concrete tee pads on the back, fix the 2 or 3 signs now that the holes have changed, and put a sign next to the trax station that warns people to watch for flying discs as they walk across the course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Field trip anyone?

2-4    5/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two practice baskets near hole #1 and large concrete pads for the front 9 and a portable restroom on site.Fairly easy to navigate holes #1 thru #9. Close to school and student housing.Looks to be maintained well and its free.
Cons: Rubber tee pads on holes #13 thru #18. Hole #9 can be difficult to understand cause the tee sign is faced wrong and when you look towards the basket there is three in sight.No water available
Other Thoughts: Flow of course favors a left-handed thrower with a few straight shots Hole #13 is a blind pin placement, from the tee look down the hill with the parking lot on the left the pin is to the right in the trees. This course has little obstacles and lots of open shots giving it a great place to learn or teach. With a view of down town Salt Lake City on one side and the beautiful Wasatch Mountains on the other, this alone is worth the trip.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A good but short 18 hole course

2-4    3/12/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: NWcityguy2
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New baskets, concrete tee pads and some well placed trees
Cons: The course is pretty short and quick to play, don't think you are going to make a whole day of this unless you want to play it 7-8 times. One of the baskets is missing. There are close by parking lots, but if you are smart and throw a conservative shot you will be fine. The only shot for concern involving a parking lot is a down hill shot from the tee where you can't see the basket and it is 30 feet from both a parking lot and a road.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course but is borderline pitch and putt. Only a few holes are more the 300 feet. Some of the holes are guarded by trees, some are shooting uphill or down and several are just simple straight shots. Some people will love that, others will find it boring.

Honestly though I was hoping for a bit more then was there. I used to golf here as a kid and didn't realize how little land they set aside for the course compared to new buildings. In the end though if you got a couple free hours and live in that part of town it is a good place to spend it at.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course at the U

5+    9/13/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: NothinButChing
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course for beginnners.

Elevation, trees, and distance are integrated very well into the courses natural design.

Sits on an old golf course, so some holes naturally sit on green or near bunkers.

Great View of the valley when playing the back 9.
Cons: Some holes could be longer.

Needs more trees planted throughout course.

College campus so the restriction of alcohol is much stricter (course may get taken down if alcohol continues to be present).

Parking for non-college visitors is a HUGE problem at the University. One would think that with all the extra parking they just added some of it would be for VISITORS?!

Parking lots are really close to too holes, and even the expereinced thrower could chuck one right into a car.
Other Thoughts: If alcohol issue can be resolved (since alcohol will prob always be present, since non-college adults play the course all the time) and nets can get put up to protect the parking lots this course can really flourish.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must admit I'm partial to open grassy courses with lots of elevation changes. Just enough obstacles to make it interesting, but yet non hazardous. Rubber mats and concrete tees, benches, signs, this course is great.
Cons: A little conflict with a parking lot on the back 9. I would have liked to have seen a 600 foot par 4, but still, very much my kind of course.
Other Thoughts: Great view of downtown, and a light rail station next to the course (university hospital).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 University of Utah

2-4    8/21/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: successwarrior
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun little par 3 course with lots of chances for birdies (not that I managed to take advantage of that fact very often but still . . .).

The tee pads were great and they were putting up new signs when we were there. I read in other reviews that the old signs weren't waterproof and were getting ruined. The new signs are metal and are very nicely done.

The front 9 have a lot more trees and the back 9 deal more with elevation.

The course used to be a golf course so by basket 2, we were already commenting on the fact that we wouldn't be losing any disks. 2 weeks ago, we played Solitude, which is just the opposite.

We were the only 2 players on the whole course, which was very nice.
Cons: There are several baskets that were pretty much a straight shot with no trees or elevation to add to the difficulty. Not that I couldn't find ways of screwing that up. #11 (I think it's 11) is just a simple straight shot along the top of a little hill. We played the course 3 times and every time I managed to either fade or skip my disk to the bottom of the hill. What should have been a simple 2 always ended up being a 3 for me as I had to take a recovery shot up the hill.

Parking, which has been mentioned in the other reviews, wasn't an issue for us because school wasn't in session. I can see how it would be a problem though where everything was permit parking except for 4 spots that had meters.
Other Thoughts: The university was doing construction the day that we were there. Baskets 6 - 9 were gone. Supposedly they were going to be back up by 8/14/09 but that wasn't the case.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.