La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Back 18 Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Lesser of Two, But Still a Gem

2-4    8/6/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great course design, allows for lots of different shots. Plenty of "grip it and rip it" holes, as well as holes that are more technical and require some finesse.

- Serene setting. The course is very well-maintained, grassy, and plays like a ball golf course.

- Cement tees with great signage on every hole.

- Pro shop on site. Has a small quantity of discs for sale, as well as cold drinks and snacks.

- Another immaculate course on the same property if you're up for two-round day!

Cons: - Parts of the property play along a neighborhood road, so be careful (it's OB, anyways!).

- The neighboring school often has activities that can get in the way. Last time I played there were groups of cross country runners cutting across multiple fairways throughout the course.

- It's a public park, so there are occasionally park patrons that are oblivious to the DG course and can get in the way. It's easy enough to get them to move, though.

- The start and finish of this course are a good ways from the parking lot.

- A few holes play near a waterpark, which can be pretty loud and distracting.

- Several holes play right next to each other, with fairways essentially overlapping.

- Navigation. Like the other course on site, it is occasionally tricky to find your way to the next hole. If no locals were around I would never have found a few of the holes.

- Not particularly different from the lakeside course.
Other Thoughts: Like the other course on site, the backside at La Mirada is a highly enjoyable course. Both courses are well-designed, serene, top-tier disc golf experiences. If you're in the area, do yourself a favor and make time to play them both. If you only have time for one, though, I'd recommend the lakeside course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

1    8/8/2018   8/8/2018
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the terrain and obstacles.
- Concrete tee pads on every hole with tee signs showing a layout of the hole and distance.
- Landscape maintained well enough.
- Restrooms on site.
- Pro shop on site.
- Layout wasn't too difficult to follow.
Cons: - Tee pads were pretty short.
- Baskets were in okay condition, quite a bit of wear and tear on them.
- Baskets weren't numbered.
- Could use some next tee indication.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the Back 18 a little more than the Front 18. Fun course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

La Mirada DCG Back 18

1    7/5/2018   7/5/2018
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 32.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent use of the land available to add another 18 hole course on site
-concrete tees on every hole, great signage as well
-fair but challenging layout uses the terrain, trees & OB very well
-newer Discatcher baskets on every hole, all numbered
-fairly easy navigation; I played an early solo round and used the DGCR map to avoid getting misled
-fantastic addition to the existing Lakeside course, providing two challenging 18 hole courses on site
-course is well-maintained, and there is a pro shop between the courses also
Cons: -there are a few holes that play along roads/parking areas that could have cars coming into play
Other Thoughts: After playing the Lakeside course yesterday with some locals, they suggested I hit the Back 18 today and I'm very glad I did. La Mirada boasts two amazing courses that share some commonalities, but each have their own character. The Back 18 has much less traffic from pedestrians, far more trees to shape shots around, and a bit more length to challenge your game. I'm hoping to play both at least one more time before we head back east, because they are both fantastic courses that seem to exemplify SoCal disc golf!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic course!

1    3/29/2018   4/3/2018
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 51  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -La Mirada Backside is located on the back side of the huge, beautiful La Mirada Park. The rolling, green grass hills and mature trees make it a one-of-a-kind course in Southern California. What this course lacks in lake views, it makes up for in fun challenging shots.

-Some outstanding holes:
Hole 1, a long downhill shot with both a hyzer and anhyzer route.
Hole 3, a shorter downhill shot with the basket perched on a hillside under a huge, flowering tree.
Hole 17, a long anhyzer shot with the basket in a bowl.

-All shots are required. Touch shots, crush shots, hyzers, anhyzers, and rollers are all key to a good score.

-Interference from pedestrians is minimal, unlike the Lakeside course.

-Excellent tee signs showing all pin placements, as well as OB and mandatories.

-New Innova Discatcher baskets.

-A well-stocked pro shop, with all the latest Innova releases.

-Another wonderful, 18 hole course on site.
Cons: -It's rather easy to throw into the road and/or the parking lot on several holes on the back nine. Three baskets are located within a short distance of parked cars.

-Most of the tee pads were excellent. However, three share space with a pedestrian path and are uneven and slick.

-The first tee is about a half mile from the parking lot. I suggest Hole 13 become the new Hole 1, as it's only 50 feet away.

-No practice baskets.
Other Thoughts: -It's a lot of fun to throw the same shots seen on CCDG.

-The course routing must have been changed at some point. The last few holes on the map are in a different position.

-This is a splendid course, one of my favorites in Southern California. With two fabulous courses on site, this is certainly a must-play if you're in the Los Angeles area.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent use of vacant area behind baseball fields

1    2/3/2018   2/5/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 47  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2018
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More trees in play than it's front 18 counterpart. Very well designed, O.B. And mandos make open shots more difficult. Every inch is used to perfection here. Very easy to navigate with no hold ups. A lot less crowded than lakeside course. The desciption says this is the best course in SoCal, I have only played these two La Mirada course in SoCal, but I can really see why they are considered to be the best. This course is also much less crowded than the frontside. Much more wooded also.
Cons: Road comes into play a lot, with more trees a bad kick is a looming possibility. Tee pads are not as obvious sometimes as they are on the front 18. Before coming here I wondered why it was two 18ers and not a 36er, the two courses are very far apart, and it is a long walk in the heat to get to the next course.
Other Thoughts: Bring a map for this course, it isn't that hard to navigate but better safe than sorry.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Backside La Mirada!

1    11/29/2017   11/30/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played the front 18 at La Mirada quite a few times, but I've always been told that you HAVE to try the bask-side too. That's why when I had a few hours to kill one morning, I decided to play all 36 and finally get a round in on the back 18. I started by playing the familiar front side to get warmed up, and I'm glad I did!

The back at La Mirada is a longer, more technical course than the front. The front has more hills, and more baskets sitting on hills, but the back does a good job of making you feel like you're not on a typical socal course. First off, it's quiet. Unlike the front where you have joggers, homeless, people fishing, and other randoms... the back was almost entirely disc golfers. It made the round feel more private, and that's a rare thing around here.

My favorite stretch was holes 1-4. This felt like world class disc golf. The hills, the manicured grass, the lines... it was awesome. Holes 5-9 wind through a wooded section (not east coast wooded, but more open), and holes 10-18 wind back around some baseball fields toward the pro shop.

You'll throw just about every shot in your bag out here. Big hyzers, placement straight shots, annys, and I even threw a couple of thumbers over blind hills. It was fun!

Each hole had a concrete teepad (or shared a sidewalk), mandos were clearly marked, and all the baskets were in decent shape or better.

Add in he fact that La Mirada has a pro shop, bathrooms, and another 18 holes on site... and you're gonna have a good time out here.

Summary:

- Concrete pads
- Nice baskets
- Pro shop
- Practice area
- Two 18 hole courses on site
- Variety of shots and lines
- Variety of distances
- Elevation!
- Well maintained park
- Fun factor!
Cons: My first gripe about the back 9 is the layout. It took me a while to find hole 1 (even with the map), and once I got going I found the actual layout differed from the map I had in my hand. This probably isn't an issue for locals who know their way around, but for a newbie out-of-towner like me... I was lost. Some of the baskets are close together so I had to figure out what target went with what hole, and this required me to walk ahead a few times to scout.

Hole 10 seemed out of place between the parking lot and the road. Another one (maybe 14 or 15?) was right up against the parking lot as well. One bad throw and you can smash a car pretty easily.

Finally the walk from 1 and 18 to the car is looooong. Had I known this before I started I probably would have parked closer, but it's a hike.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this facility is a must visit for any disc golfer in the area. Both the front 18 and the back 18 are incredible courses. Against popular opinion, my favorite was probably the front. It just fits my game better I think. Even so, the back is a monster. Park in the lot next to the tennis courts if you want to visit the pro shop, or maybe park in the north lot near the baseball fields if you strictly want to play the back. Have fun!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course, a moment of nature in LA

2-4    3/27/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: geodude
Played: 40  Reviewed: 38
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Almost nobody but disc golfers, a few walkers etc. Trees, hills, small valley that has a wow I am not in LA feel, clean park, grassy City park for rollers, clean park, variety of backhand and flick, one 'roller hole' ( hole 6, nice tees, free. Challenging yet doable for an older player like me.
Cons: No water fountains on course, bathrooms only at tee 4 and they were closed and kind of run down.
Other Thoughts: Loved it, played it 3 days on a row while staying in Garden Grove.on business. Locals told me I had to play this instead of the front course so I did. Will be back for sure. A hawk nailed a pigeon in mid-air at hole 4 right over head, Closest thing to an Ace I will ever see on that hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  best for weekends to go backside

5+    3/22/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: bigdonuno
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: playing here on weekends is the way to go.
much less people in the way of shots
layout is great, all the tee pads are long, only a couple of them are on a sidewalk.
baskets are in great condition
multiple pin locations on every hole.

a lot of variety of shots, with many long range
not all hyzer bombs, so it challenges your accuracy
course and park is perfectly manicured
course moves well, most of the holes are close to the last basket
every hole has a sign and is marked for current location with tape
pro shop with plastic, snacks, drinks and maps
Cons: no bathroom in the back that is open
numbers on baskets are off by a number or 2
Other Thoughts: this course is historic! by far this is the best place to play in the area, 20 minutes on the freeway to LA or OC.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A full day of disc golf awaits

1    7/1/2000   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 29.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses onsite. Beautiful rolling green fairways, concrete tee pads, excellent local golf scene. Variety of shots and distance requirements multiple basket positions on every hole. Relatively dedicated disc golf with few park goers on the back 18
Cons: Some of the holes on this side are to close to street and just ask for trouble. Definitely an advanced players side do to those few holes.
Other Thoughts: Take a lunch break and come back for the front 18, what more can you ask for.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome!!

2-4    6/8/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Azpostal
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. Good elevation changes. Nice grass and trees.Playing around the lake/pond was very cool.
Cons: First time had trouble finding a teepad, towards the end. Maybe 17 or 18.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived closer! No course is even in the same league here in Phx area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.