St. Augusta, MN 
Hidden Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 389ft.   4 / 507ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    8/30/2017   8/30/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 268  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 13.4 Years
Pros: This is a very nice course only a few minutes outside of St. Cloud. The course is permanent and free which is always nice. The baskets are mach 3's with the number plates on top. These are nice and helped us realize we accidently played hole 4 after hole 1.They are in solid enough shape and caught well. There are all kinds of different shots here. Uphill, downhill, left, right, straight and a water carry (possibly 3 water carries if the water is high). A good variety in distances too. The shorts range from 202 ft. to 510 ft. and the longs being 245 ft. to 670 ft. There are 2 tee pads on the majority of the holes as well. The tees are natural but were all very level and worked out really nicely. There are signs at both sets of tees. The ones by the shorts are the better of the two. They have a basic hole diagram, hole number, par, and distances from both tees. These are serviceable for sure. The ones by the longs just have hole number, par and distance. The course was also very clean and fairways were in great condition. I also doubt that the course is ever really too busy. We seen 2 other groups of 2 out there and that was it. The course is very beautiful and serene as it's in the middle of nothing. A very relaxing place to golf for sure. As mentioned earlier this is probably not the best course for newer players. I've been playing for over 10 years and this place beat me down pretty good not that I'm great or anything. Advanced players will really like this place and leave satisfied though.
Cons: The navigation for new players is very confusing in quite a few spots. You'll need to pull up the map on your phone to avoid needless wandering around. Not very intuitive at all. After hole 1 there is a sign that points to hole 2 but the first tee you'll see is actually 4. You have to walk past that and you'll see two. Also 7 to 8 is not obvious as you'll see nine's first. Then after 9 you'll see 16. You actually have to walk about 100 ft. back down 9's fairway to a path on the right for hole 10. Kind of a strange set up. The rough is rough here. If you end up off the fairway you could be searching for a while. Also there are a lot of thorns so shoes and pants are recommended.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a very fun and pretty challenging course, especially from the longs. Definitely worth a spin if you're in the area or just passing through as it's only a short drive off of I-94. If they addressed the navigation and tees this is right up there with some of the better courses in this area. Speaking of that this is also a great destination area with all of the other excellent courses nearby. We played this and sportsmans hill on our way up which made for an awesome day of golf. And we'll be able to hit up River's edge, Millstream, Riverside and Calvary Hill tomorrow which are all very close and should be awesome. That's not even all the courses nearby so an awesome disc golf area for sure. But this will be a tough course to top.

Extremely well done course, but beware.

1    8/16/2016   3/12/2017
Review By: SpencerK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful use of the lakes and terrain to provide some exciting, memorable shots that reward skill and accuracy, and punish errant drives. The scenery on the entire course is beautiful, but especially when you get back to the lakes tucked away on the back nine, it's a very pretty area.

Great variety and challenge. Some tight shots, open shots, long shots and short shots, they did a great job keeping this course interesting, and ensuring that it was enjoyable and challenging for players of a range of skill levels. Not something I would easily recommend to beginners, but it would not take a high amount of experience or skill to enjoy from the short tees.

Some extremely memorable holes through the course, with the beautiful lake shots, tightly wooded fairways, and challenging and well built par 4's and 5's. The first par 5 stands out to me as unique from the long tees, with elevation change up, then down and to the right, it provides an interesting feel and fairway, with an option off the tee for bigger arms to take the risk of cutting the corner and going for the eagle opportunity. You will need both control and power for this course at different times, more heavily weighted towards control/accuracy.
Cons: The rough is very punishing. There are stickers that will cling to just about anything that goes in there, sometimes the entire plant coming back out with you. It's thick, with lots of undergrowth, so it would be easy to lose plastic on a bad shot, but this can be avoided by discing down and playing safe and straight. Par is still very much attainable by playing the small-ball fairway game.

The mosquitoes. Holy moly the mosquitoes. I've lived in a couple states with mosquitoes, and played plenty of courses with them, but this was something special. Even with high grade, 98% DEET bug spray, it was like they didn't even noticed. We played this course starting at about 8am in August, and they were all over the place, the entire time. There was no escape. Cover up and be ready, those mosquitoes are not messing around.

Between the rough and the water shots it would not be difficult to lose plastic on this course, so beginners may want to skip 1 or 2 of the water shots, and everyone should be trying their best to keep it in the fairway and play smart.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful, well designed and maintained course. While the rough is rough, the fairway were perfect the whole way through. The scenery is awesome, and the variety and challenge on the course is enough to make anyone happy. If I'm traveling through again, I will make time to go out of my way to play this course. An absolute gem, and if it weren't for the briars and mosquitoes I would have nothing bad to say about it at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Some great holes, but ...

1    8/21/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, some of which are really great. Good variety, some fun elevation changes and panoramic holes.

The pads were a bit rough, but very usable even in wet conditions. You have to be very straight and pretty long, but if you are it is rewarded.
Cons: Upkeep is rough, but still serviceable. The flow of the course is not ideal, if it is your first time check the map - there are some signs but still it is easy to get turned around.

There is fairway and a horror show of thorns and nettles.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Best in St. Cloud

1    2/5/2016   2/8/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is long and technical, heavily wooded and yet featuring fairways that are...fair (unlike a place like Mississippi River Park).

The first half dozen holes feature moderate elevation changes and exceptionally well guarded greens, with enough distance that deuces are still very hard to come by. The 7th is a spectacular 711' downhill hole that even a modest arm can bomb 500' and get an easy par.

The course just gets better from there. The 8th is a mando that this lefty loved and righties will hate. The 9th was an uphill 510' (am tee) hole that, owing to the snow, took me three shots to ALMOST reach the circle.

The rest of the course winds in and out of heavily wooded areas, over a small lake, cattail swamps, and other treacherous terrain. This is not for the faint of heart. Hole #12 from the pro tee was my favorite and I'd call it the signature hole (though there are far too many to choose from, as either 7 or 15 could also stake such a claim, and the almost blind hump shot on 14 is amazing).

It's simply one of the 10 best courses I've ever played.
Cons: I have a surprising amount of cons for a course I rated so highly, but here they are:

The first tee you see upon leaving the 1st green is the tee for #4. Backtracking and crossing other fairways is one of my pet peeves. #4 is actually easier from the pro tee--it's a straight shot down to the landing zone and then an easy lay up for par--and the short tee would suffice as the only tee here because of its extreme curve (an almost impossible anhyzer for a lefty to get to the landing zone and make par).

Hole #9 is simply a little too difficult, though I understand why the designer wanted the green to sit atop the hill you've just climbed. The real problem, however, is that you exit the green and see the tee for #16 and the green for #15. There are often good signs directing a player to the next tee, but there are none here. You have to backtrack about 50 feet to a small path to find #10.

The pro tee for #12 is the signature hole and the most beautiful on the course. The unfortunate aspect of the hole is that you have to play directly at the Am Tee about 200 feet away. Very hazardous and not easily re-designed.

The problem with the best hole on the course is exacerbated when you play the Am Tee. Less than 50 feet from the tee is a sign pointing to a path on the right for #13. This makes a player believe that he must finish the hole and then backtrack 250' to get to the next hole. I threw a 250' drive, a perfect 75' lay up, and then LEFT MY BAG BEHIND when I went to clean up my par. I then found a sign indicating an exit from the green to the next tee, so I had to walk back quite a distance to retrieve my bag and move forward.

The first sign should be eliminated. It's nice for a local to know an early escape route, but this sign just baffles anyone else. It's a mistake.

We also have to backtrack across the fairways of 16 and 17 to get to the tee for #17. 16 and 17 are only slightly different versions (distance is 30' different) of the same hole, so it seems as if a re-design of that area might be in order. I was able to backtrack across an area that didn't cross either fairway, but it was winter and the summer photos showed me that it is a cattail swamp that can't be navigated in summer.
Other Thoughts: The directions on this site are terrible! There's a reason this is the Hidden Lake.

If you are coming from the south on 75, as I was from Sportsman's Hill, you will not see a sign for 115 and end up at the truck stop by the freeway after 75 curves to the right. When coming from the south on 75, take 245th Street from 75 and it becomes 115.

When coming from the north and taking the 75 exit from the freeway, you will also believe that you must take a curve to the left for 75. This is also wrong. This will simply take you down 75 and along those high numbered streets of St. Augusta. Keep going straight on what is now County Highway 7. You will soon reach 115 to the right (245th Street to the left) and it's very simple from there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota's Best Course!

5+    4/29/2015   4/29/2015
Review By: khengxiong
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. Extremely challenging
2. Technical
3. A lots of Par 4's which courses need more of
4. Fairways play very nice
5. It's beautiful
6. Dirt tees make it less harsh on your knees
7. Best course and hardest in MN.
Cons: 1. No cement tees
2. Dirt tees get uneven over time
3. Ruffs are really ruff(thrones)...
Other Thoughts: This course is not for a beginner inless you really enjoy a challenge. Its the kind of course that you will need almost every shot in the game to play. Hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, side arms, backhands, thumbers, tommys. It's the hardest course in MN and every year I look forward to playing only this course in MN. Who cares about cement tees when its the course and how it plays that matters most.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great but could be better

5+    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: BirdieMachine
Played: 47  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, elevation, challenging, unique layout
Cons: Thorns, overgrown in spots, no paved tee pads. Par is too easy on some holes (420) foot 16 Par 5 for example.
Other Thoughts: With a little bit of trimming on many holes and paved tee pads this would score a 5.0. However the thorns and some ridiculous windows (some holes have 6-8 foot gaps with tree limbs hanging across make me deduct a point. Still a fun challenge, not a beginner course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course You Never Heard Of

1    4/16/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is my third favorite of all time. I've played hundereds of courses, but this is why I think this is one of the best.

1. The wildlife is amazing. The course skirts a nature trail that is truly awesome. Also the fact that it is still a fairly new course helps. The deer, coyotes, and birds have not been scared off yet and the lack of foot traffic over the very slow course as helped with that.
2. The shot variety is incredible. I literally brought my entire bag and played almost every disc. you will play shots from 200' straight shots to 711' bomb drives over an open field to 350' tight hiezers through the woods. I promise you will use every disc in your bag when playing this course.
3. It is very well marked. Though I think the layout could be improved on, there are signs for every hole that tell you where to go.
4. It is pretty slow. Because the course I kind of in the middle of nowhere I strongly doubt you will run into a lot of foot traffic. In fact we were the only pair on the course for 36 holes!
5. The elevation changes are awesome! Though the course is only moderately hilly, they do an awesome job with these hills. You basically throw up and down on about half of the course and the elevation will really throw you for a loop.
6. This course is incredibly challenging! I Have played hundreds of courses and this course challenged me more than most of them. It is very tight and the woods are pretty tight. Normally I post very consistent scores, but here it could go many different ways depending on the day.
7. They allow drinking! No distributing of alcohol is allowed but there is an awesome new liquor store about two miles away with a great variety of craft beer. The course has plenty of garbage cans and no one will bat an eye over a twelve pack of beer.
8. Alternative tees! Every hole has two tees to throw from. We played all 36 holes (if you count the alternative tee pads) and it really was two different courses. Each tee pad shows the distance from the tee and most are very different shots.
9. You get to throw over water. Enough said. I love those shots!
Cons: 1. The tees are not cement. They are gravel tee pads, and they were a little muddy when we played.
2. The layout could be better. You walk backwards on several holes to get to the next tee pad which could result in backups if the course was busy.
3. During the summer the course would be very overgrown. It's wooded, and nature filled. Buckthorn has overrun the trees and is annoying. Watch your disc! It could get lost.
4. Some holes are stupid. There are a few holes that aren't exactly unmakable, but are just too difficult to be fun. Some trimming may need to be done on a few holes.
5. Some ass holes ripped off the hole signs on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Honestly this course is one of my favorites ever. you honestly feel as though you're playing in nature. It is almost like you are playing in the middle of a nature preserve, but really you're just in the middle of nowhere. If you ever get the chance to play the course, DO IT!!! You will not regret this awesome experience.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Difficult

5+    10/15/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 80  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a wide range of holes on this course. The layouts/obstacles each hole presents are different throughout the course. It starts in the woods, at times requiring ridiculously tight shots to hit sliver gaps between trees. Clearly there must be a plan to clear things out just a bit more, or perhaps maybe not. The holes in the woods not only require tight lines, but also will require you to throw those tight lines up hill and some distance. Now for those of you that get good distance this shouldnt be a problem, but i lack good distance, however, have the technical aspect of my game in tact. The distance makes those holes extremely tough for me to get a 3. Once out of the woods the course gives you a bit of a break and opens it up outside for a few holes, allowing the largest of arms to give it full throttle. Then back into the woods for more tight lines with some fun throws. There are several water holes throughout the course including a monster of a section of a lake/pond to a gap on the other side. I played this course for the first time last year and must say with continued work and growth this course really could make a top list in MN.
Cons: Beginners/learners beware of this course. It will discourage faster than it excites you.
-some of the lanes are just too tight out here considering the distance included in the shots.
-in general this is a great course for
Other Thoughts: This course is a pro level course in my opinion. I have played quite a few years, however, dont seem to be able to put up good numbers out here Experienced players will leave enjoying and appreciative of the course, but likely feel defeated and wanting revenge. Pro players will leave challenged and satisfied. Beginners will leave half way through unless their pride gets in the way.

Update: I took an out of town friend up to play this course and must say I was completely unimpressed with the lack of maintenance out here. The first I believe 6 holes were so overgrown it was unbearable for us to play. We decided to skip 6 even, which I rarely am willing to do. The fairways had closed in so far with extremely thick underbrush that every throw, even good throws, typically resulted in either a long search or a lost disc. It appears they may have bit off more than they can chew while trying to maintain this very long course/park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Easier in late fall

1    10/29/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: dpduncan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well wooded, mix of left and right doglegs. Well covered by other reviewers.
Cons: lots of thorns off the fairways, yet another motivator for accuracy vs. distance.
Other Thoughts: In late October the water levels were down a lot, I estimate 6-8 feet. This, together with the bare trees, made the course a lot easier than I guess it would be in the spring or summer. Some of the holes have too high a par for late October conditions.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Expert

1    7/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on a large piece of land, with lots of hills, woods, and a good sized lake. The area appears to be completely devoted to disc golf, with a walking path being the only possible source of conflict.
- Lots of tight, tough wooded holes here that force very, very accurate shots off the tee. #1 is a straightish tunnel shot uphill, #2 is a downhill hyzer with a very tight tunnel finish to the left. #3 is a tight uphill gap from the long tee, #4 is a long dogleg left with a flex shot off the long tee, #5 has a two-tree gap up the fairway, which then curves down and to the left. #6 is a steep uphill to the short pad, then another tight uphill hyzer to get to the pin. #8 is a very sharp RHBH anny or a RHFH flick shot. #10 is a nice little hyzer shot, a little easier. #13 is a tight uphill valley shot, with a nasty pinch point to hit off the long tee. #14 is a VERY tight downhill tunnel shot; with the option to go way over everything. Lastly, #18 is a tight uphill shot, with a few different routes including a RHBH hyzer.
- Most of these wooded holes are tough. Especially from the long tees. The lines are pretty much clear in that there are no trees splitting the fairways, but the pinchpoints are non-negotiable, and there is some truly horrible rough off the fairway. A nice mix of flat, uphill, and downhill, left and right, long and short, tough and a little easier. Laying up might be a wise choice in many spots... but not necessary.
- Other holes don't have quite as many trees, as least not so close to the fairway. But there are still windows to hit with some other hazards to worry about. #11 plays into some woods, over a smaller valley with a swamp on the bottom. #12 plays to a small gap, over a nasty, deep valley with all kinds of nastiness. It then has a sharp dogleg right into a low ceiling tunnel. #15 is a big downhill shot over the lake from the long pads, into a gap way on the other side of the lake. The short pad is much more forgiving, just a RHBH anny through the same gap. #16 is a pretty steep downhill shot, with a patch of tall grass/swamp before the gap to get to the green. And #17 plays over a marshy area with another gap to get to the green.
- These holes are more open than those in the woods, but are definitely no walk in the park. #12 is a true par 4, just getting to the landing zone to see the second leg takes a very good shot. #15 is a true bomber shot over the lake, playing from the short pad might be necessary for the smaller arms without conceding a lost disc. #16 is pretty straightforward from the short pad, but the long pad again takes some good distance to reach the pin. #17 isn't too bad, but it does shoot over the water again.
- The last two holes that haven't been mentioned yet are different - fairly open bomber holes! #7 is a big downhill shot at 711', a chance to air one out after being in the woods. There are some trees halfway down the hill to snag the rec player's short shots, and some woods behind to offer a tricky approach. #9 is the return shot back up the hill, with some grass on the right, forest on the left, and a few trees on the fairway. Mostly just a test of raw distance.
- Practice basket in front, good baskets overall. Signs are good, with maps at the short tees. Navigational aids help to get around, the only tricky spot is a little backtrack after #9, and maybe #16. Tees were in immaculate shape when I was there in July.
Cons: - A few spots with some weird navigation. Walking back from #9 and #16, for instance. I may have just completely missed the path to #17's basket, but I ended up walking back on #16's fairway. Kind of a pain if that's the only way to go, but I am not positive on that.
Other Thoughts: - Wow. This is a serious course with some major difficulty, plenty of hazards, tight lines, places to bomb, places to lay up, places to really think about what shot to use. Short and long pads are both high quality layouts, for sure. Beginners will want to stay clear of here unless they want a real challenge; it is definitely better suited for expert/advanced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.