St. Augusta, MN 
Hidden Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #17 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Over marsh and water to basket on other side (center of photo)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Hidden, for a reason

1    6/30/2019   7/2/2019
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm giving this a 3 because the layout was decent and kinda fun . Its a neat course for sure. A lot of fun holes. Some bombs some technical. Some water (A few holes play over the water) - This would be a great course if maintained a little more and if it were the fall or winter as the layout is decent
Cons: Ivy, Thorns, thick. My legs are still burning. Mosquitos galore. Swampy areas. Natural Tees but they weren't too bad.
Other Thoughts: Decent course layout but Mach 3's and Really rough rough makes this one tough and not fun in July when its full of stinging weeds and bugs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/30/2017   8/30/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 471  Reviewed: 262  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course only a few minutes outside of St. Cloud. The course is permanent and free which is always nice. The baskets are mach 3's with the number plates on top. These are nice and helped us realize we accidently played hole 4 after hole 1.They are in solid enough shape and caught well. There are all kinds of different shots here. Uphill, downhill, left, right, straight and a water carry (possibly 3 water carries if the water is high). A good variety in distances too. The shorts range from 202 ft. to 510 ft. and the longs being 245 ft. to 670 ft. There are 2 tee pads on the majority of the holes as well. The tees are natural but were all very level and worked out really nicely. There are signs at both sets of tees. The ones by the shorts are the better of the two. They have a basic hole diagram, hole number, par, and distances from both tees. These are serviceable for sure. The ones by the longs just have hole number, par and distance. The course was also very clean and fairways were in great condition. I also doubt that the course is ever really too busy. We seen 2 other groups of 2 out there and that was it. The course is very beautiful and serene as it's in the middle of nothing. A very relaxing place to golf for sure. As mentioned earlier this is probably not the best course for newer players. I've been playing for over 10 years and this place beat me down pretty good not that I'm great or anything. Advanced players will really like this place and leave satisfied though.
Cons: The navigation for new players is very confusing in quite a few spots. You'll need to pull up the map on your phone to avoid needless wandering around. Not very intuitive at all. After hole 1 there is a sign that points to hole 2 but the first tee you'll see is actually 4. You have to walk past that and you'll see two. Also 7 to 8 is not obvious as you'll see nine's first. Then after 9 you'll see 16. You actually have to walk about 100 ft. back down 9's fairway to a path on the right for hole 10. Kind of a strange set up. The rough is rough here. If you end up off the fairway you could be searching for a while. Also there are a lot of thorns so shoes and pants are recommended.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a very fun and pretty challenging course, especially from the longs. Definitely worth a spin if you're in the area or just passing through as it's only a short drive off of I-94. If they addressed the navigation and tees this is right up there with some of the better courses in this area. Speaking of that this is also a great destination area with all of the other excellent courses nearby. We played this and sportsmans hill on our way up which made for an awesome day of golf. And we'll be able to hit up River's edge, Millstream, Riverside and Calvary Hill tomorrow which are all very close and should be awesome. That's not even all the courses nearby so an awesome disc golf area for sure. But this will be a tough course to top.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely well done course, but beware.

1    8/16/2016   3/12/2017
Review By: SpencerK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful use of the lakes and terrain to provide some exciting, memorable shots that reward skill and accuracy, and punish errant drives. The scenery on the entire course is beautiful, but especially when you get back to the lakes tucked away on the back nine, it's a very pretty area.

Great variety and challenge. Some tight shots, open shots, long shots and short shots, they did a great job keeping this course interesting, and ensuring that it was enjoyable and challenging for players of a range of skill levels. Not something I would easily recommend to beginners, but it would not take a high amount of experience or skill to enjoy from the short tees.

Some extremely memorable holes through the course, with the beautiful lake shots, tightly wooded fairways, and challenging and well built par 4's and 5's. The first par 5 stands out to me as unique from the long tees, with elevation change up, then down and to the right, it provides an interesting feel and fairway, with an option off the tee for bigger arms to take the risk of cutting the corner and going for the eagle opportunity. You will need both control and power for this course at different times, more heavily weighted towards control/accuracy.
Cons: The rough is very punishing. There are stickers that will cling to just about anything that goes in there, sometimes the entire plant coming back out with you. It's thick, with lots of undergrowth, so it would be easy to lose plastic on a bad shot, but this can be avoided by discing down and playing safe and straight. Par is still very much attainable by playing the small-ball fairway game.

The mosquitoes. Holy moly the mosquitoes. I've lived in a couple states with mosquitoes, and played plenty of courses with them, but this was something special. Even with high grade, 98% DEET bug spray, it was like they didn't even noticed. We played this course starting at about 8am in August, and they were all over the place, the entire time. There was no escape. Cover up and be ready, those mosquitoes are not messing around.

Between the rough and the water shots it would not be difficult to lose plastic on this course, so beginners may want to skip 1 or 2 of the water shots, and everyone should be trying their best to keep it in the fairway and play smart.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful, well designed and maintained course. While the rough is rough, the fairway were perfect the whole way through. The scenery is awesome, and the variety and challenge on the course is enough to make anyone happy. If I'm traveling through again, I will make time to go out of my way to play this course. An absolute gem, and if it weren't for the briars and mosquitoes I would have nothing bad to say about it at all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Some great holes, but ...

1    8/21/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 82  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 25.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, some of which are really great. Good variety, some fun elevation changes and panoramic holes.

The pads were a bit rough, but very usable even in wet conditions. You have to be very straight and pretty long, but if you are it is rewarded.
Cons: Upkeep is rough, but still serviceable. The flow of the course is not ideal, if it is your first time check the map - there are some signs but still it is easy to get turned around.

There is fairway and a horror show of thorns and nettles.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in St. Cloud

1    2/5/2016   2/8/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 27 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is long and technical, heavily wooded and yet featuring fairways that are...fair (unlike a place like Mississippi River Park).

The first half dozen holes feature moderate elevation changes and exceptionally well guarded greens, with enough distance that deuces are still very hard to come by. The 7th is a spectacular 711' downhill hole that even a modest arm can bomb 500' and get an easy par.

The course just gets better from there. The 8th is a mando that this lefty loved and righties will hate. The 9th was an uphill 510' (am tee) hole that, owing to the snow, took me three shots to ALMOST reach the circle.

The rest of the course winds in and out of heavily wooded areas, over a small lake, cattail swamps, and other treacherous terrain. This is not for the faint of heart. Hole #12 from the pro tee was my favorite and I'd call it the signature hole (though there are far too many to choose from, as either 7 or 15 could also stake such a claim, and the almost blind hump shot on 14 is amazing).

It's simply one of the 10 best courses I've ever played.
Cons: I have a surprising amount of cons for a course I rated so highly, but here they are:

The first tee you see upon leaving the 1st green is the tee for #4. Backtracking and crossing other fairways is one of my pet peeves. #4 is actually easier from the pro tee--it's a straight shot down to the landing zone and then an easy lay up for par--and the short tee would suffice as the only tee here because of its extreme curve (an almost impossible anhyzer for a lefty to get to the landing zone and make par).

Hole #9 is simply a little too difficult, though I understand why the designer wanted the green to sit atop the hill you've just climbed. The real problem, however, is that you exit the green and see the tee for #16 and the green for #15. There are often good signs directing a player to the next tee, but there are none here. You have to backtrack about 50 feet to a small path to find #10.

The pro tee for #12 is the signature hole and the most beautiful on the course. The unfortunate aspect of the hole is that you have to play directly at the Am Tee about 200 feet away. Very hazardous and not easily re-designed.

The problem with the best hole on the course is exacerbated when you play the Am Tee. Less than 50 feet from the tee is a sign pointing to a path on the right for #13. This makes a player believe that he must finish the hole and then backtrack 250' to get to the next hole. I threw a 250' drive, a perfect 75' lay up, and then LEFT MY BAG BEHIND when I went to clean up my par. I then found a sign indicating an exit from the green to the next tee, so I had to walk back quite a distance to retrieve my bag and move forward.

The first sign should be eliminated. It's nice for a local to know an early escape route, but this sign just baffles anyone else. It's a mistake.

We also have to backtrack across the fairways of 16 and 17 to get to the tee for #17. 16 and 17 are only slightly different versions (distance is 30' different) of the same hole, so it seems as if a re-design of that area might be in order. I was able to backtrack across an area that didn't cross either fairway, but it was winter and the summer photos showed me that it is a cattail swamp that can't be navigated in summer.
Other Thoughts: The directions on this site are terrible! There's a reason this is the Hidden Lake.

If you are coming from the south on 75, as I was from Sportsman's Hill, you will not see a sign for 115 and end up at the truck stop by the freeway after 75 curves to the right. When coming from the south on 75, take 245th Street from 75 and it becomes 115.

When coming from the north and taking the 75 exit from the freeway, you will also believe that you must take a curve to the left for 75. This is also wrong. This will simply take you down 75 and along those high numbered streets of St. Augusta. Keep going straight on what is now County Highway 7. You will soon reach 115 to the right (245th Street to the left) and it's very simple from there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of Minnesota's greatest course!

5+    4/29/2015   4/29/2015
Review By: khengxiong
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2020
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1. Extremely challenging
2. Technical
3. A lots of Par 4's which courses need more of
4. Fairways play very fair
5. It's beautiful
6. Dirt tees make it less harsh on your knees
7. Great course design
8. Elevation
9. Long and medium range placement shots
Cons: 1. No cement tees
2. Dirt tees get uneven over time
3. Getting off fairways it gets really ruff with thrones.
4. ticks and mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: This course isn't beginner friendly unless you really enjoy a challenge. The course is mostly wooded with tight fairways and you'll need almost every shot in the game to score well. (Hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, side arms, backhands, thumbers, and tomahawks). This course is definitely one of the toughest MN has to offer. IMO a great course doesn't have to look like the Hobbits homeland in LOTR. It's all about course designs with multiple par 4s, 5s with tough approach shots. Pretty courses will feed people mentally, a well designed courses give a real testament to your game and it will make you see your mistakes and want to improve. This course is what keeps me coming back for redemption.
Warning! Avoid course in summer. I only come here in spring and fall to avoid the bugs.
Also the only thing negative about the course is the 18 hole, 3000 ft course players complaining about it. Go play the Hobbit course! No offense..

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great but could be better

5+    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: BirdieMachine
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 29.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, elevation, challenging, unique layout
Cons: Thorns, overgrown in spots, no paved tee pads. Par is too easy on some holes (420) foot 16 Par 5 for example.
Other Thoughts: With a little bit of trimming on many holes and paved tee pads this would score a 5.0. However the thorns and some ridiculous windows (some holes have 6-8 foot gaps with tree limbs hanging across make me deduct a point. Still a fun challenge, not a beginner course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course You Never Heard Of

1    4/16/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is my third favorite of all time. I've played hundereds of courses, but this is why I think this is one of the best.

1. The wildlife is amazing. The course skirts a nature trail that is truly awesome. Also the fact that it is still a fairly new course helps. The deer, coyotes, and birds have not been scared off yet and the lack of foot traffic over the very slow course as helped with that.
2. The shot variety is incredible. I literally brought my entire bag and played almost every disc. you will play shots from 200' straight shots to 711' bomb drives over an open field to 350' tight hiezers through the woods. I promise you will use every disc in your bag when playing this course.
3. It is very well marked. Though I think the layout could be improved on, there are signs for every hole that tell you where to go.
4. It is pretty slow. Because the course I kind of in the middle of nowhere I strongly doubt you will run into a lot of foot traffic. In fact we were the only pair on the course for 36 holes!
5. The elevation changes are awesome! Though the course is only moderately hilly, they do an awesome job with these hills. You basically throw up and down on about half of the course and the elevation will really throw you for a loop.
6. This course is incredibly challenging! I Have played hundreds of courses and this course challenged me more than most of them. It is very tight and the woods are pretty tight. Normally I post very consistent scores, but here it could go many different ways depending on the day.
7. They allow drinking! No distributing of alcohol is allowed but there is an awesome new liquor store about two miles away with a great variety of craft beer. The course has plenty of garbage cans and no one will bat an eye over a twelve pack of beer.
8. Alternative tees! Every hole has two tees to throw from. We played all 36 holes (if you count the alternative tee pads) and it really was two different courses. Each tee pad shows the distance from the tee and most are very different shots.
9. You get to throw over water. Enough said. I love those shots!
Cons: 1. The tees are not cement. They are gravel tee pads, and they were a little muddy when we played.
2. The layout could be better. You walk backwards on several holes to get to the next tee pad which could result in backups if the course was busy.
3. During the summer the course would be very overgrown. It's wooded, and nature filled. Buckthorn has overrun the trees and is annoying. Watch your disc! It could get lost.
4. Some holes are stupid. There are a few holes that aren't exactly unmakable, but are just too difficult to be fun. Some trimming may need to be done on a few holes.
5. Some ass holes ripped off the hole signs on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Honestly this course is one of my favorites ever. you honestly feel as though you're playing in nature. It is almost like you are playing in the middle of a nature preserve, but really you're just in the middle of nowhere. If you ever get the chance to play the course, DO IT!!! You will not regret this awesome experience.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Difficult

5+    10/15/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a wide range of holes on this course. The layouts/obstacles each hole presents are different throughout the course. It starts in the woods, at times requiring ridiculously tight shots to hit sliver gaps between trees. Clearly there must be a plan to clear things out just a bit more, or perhaps maybe not. The holes in the woods not only require tight lines, but also will require you to throw those tight lines up hill and some distance. Now for those of you that get good distance this shouldnt be a problem, but i lack good distance, however, have the technical aspect of my game in tact. The distance makes those holes extremely tough for me to get a 3. Once out of the woods the course gives you a bit of a break and opens it up outside for a few holes, allowing the largest of arms to give it full throttle. Then back into the woods for more tight lines with some fun throws. There are several water holes throughout the course including a monster of a section of a lake/pond to a gap on the other side. I played this course for the first time last year and must say with continued work and growth this course really could make a top list in MN.
Cons: Beginners/learners beware of this course. It will discourage faster than it excites you.
-some of the lanes are just too tight out here considering the distance included in the shots.
-in general this is a great course for
Other Thoughts: This course is a pro level course in my opinion. I have played quite a few years, however, dont seem to be able to put up good numbers out here Experienced players will leave enjoying and appreciative of the course, but likely feel defeated and wanting revenge. Pro players will leave challenged and satisfied. Beginners will leave half way through unless their pride gets in the way.

Update: I took an out of town friend up to play this course and must say I was completely unimpressed with the lack of maintenance out here. The first I believe 6 holes were so overgrown it was unbearable for us to play. We decided to skip 6 even, which I rarely am willing to do. The fairways had closed in so far with extremely thick underbrush that every throw, even good throws, typically resulted in either a long search or a lost disc. It appears they may have bit off more than they can chew while trying to maintain this very long course/park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easier in late fall

1    10/29/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: dpduncan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well wooded, mix of left and right doglegs. Well covered by other reviewers.
Cons: lots of thorns off the fairways, yet another motivator for accuracy vs. distance.
Other Thoughts: In late October the water levels were down a lot, I estimate 6-8 feet. This, together with the bare trees, made the course a lot easier than I guess it would be in the spring or summer. Some of the holes have too high a par for late October conditions.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.