Superior, WI 
Mont du Lac - Eagle's Peak Share
Uploaded By: Surlydrinker Hole #12
3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Setting the bar for ski area disc golf

1    7/22/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 37  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees on most holes - they are quite narrow, but this didn't present me with many issues

-Chainstar baskets on all holes, caught great, as to be expected w/Chainstars

-INCREDIBLE scenery - the views off the back side of the mountain are just phenomenal - you can see all the way along the St. Louis river to the Bong Bridge near the mouth of Lake Superior on a clear day, and the views down and over the valleys of the ski runs are astounding

-Great use of elevation - almost every hole has MAJOR elevation change, as it is a ski area. Hole 1 starts it off with a bang, throwing a big hyzer steep uphill to a flat green area about 80-90 feet higher in elevation, and it only continues from there.

-Signature holes - hole 5 is a nice ace run that shoots from the top edge of a bowl type ski run into the middle of the bowl. You're gonna want to empty the bag on that one. Hole 9 or 10 or something (lost my map, and DGCR's info is out of date to the current course layout), is now a multishot, par 4/5 which runs along the road and the top of the ski hill, and hooks around to a basket by the summit lodge. The next hole plays from a teepad at the highest point of the course, down over the chairlift, to a basket on the open face of the main ski run, with drop offs on both sides. Hole 19 shoots 500+ feet across the main face of the hill, to a basket on an elevated grass mound (presumably for terrain park jumps?), and 20 shoots all the way down the hill. Another empty your bag type shot, just remember where they land. One of the wooded holes in the very middle of the course qualifies as a sig as well, shooting a nice long hyzer all the way down into a deep valley.

- Great greens - Most baskets were placed in very strategic and "puckering" positions. Hole 2 is just inside the trees, but about 30 feet up a very steep hill. A hit off the cage is almost a guaranteed rollaway. Hole 4 is literally two feet from the edge of a cliff - I got greedy and ran it, and paid the price - but not full price. I got lucky and caught up in a tree, but had to use the ladder to climb to where the tree was. If I had missed the tree, the ladder would have ended, and I would've said bye bye to my putter.

-Plenty of opportunity to air it out - I LOVE wooded courses, but Eagle's Peak really does a great job at making every open shot feel awesome, and lets you just rip it on many occasions. About 65% of the course is open, and it never left me bored.

-Variety - although I just highlighted the openness of the course, the designer also did a swell job implementing trees intelligently when he did. Hole 3 comes to mind - you're throwing up a huge ledge, but you throw through what is basically a fence line of trees, forcing you to hit the window to get up the ledge, and I believe it was mando to go through it. The middle of the course throws in a handful of heavily wooded holes off the west side of the property as well. Many ups, downs, many lefts, and a few right turning holes
Cons: -Teesigns - the teesigns are also a con right now. As I stated, I believe the course is going through some sort of transition period, with the changing of some holes, etc. This has left most holes with only laminated signs with hole no. and length. Although most holes are pretty intuitive, without my friend who had played there before, I might have not known what gaps to hit, or what direction to go, even with the maps available at the pay area.

-Not all teepads are concrete - the holes that only have natural dirt with colored blocks marking them, are the worst ones to not have concrete, as they are the steep wooded holes off the west side. I definitely felt a little nervous about slips and falls off a couple

-The water holes where not in when I played. What gives??

-Very challenging hiking - I personally don't take this as a con, but this is not the course you'd want to play heavily drunk, or bring small children to. The walk from 17 - 18 comes to mind - you must ascend a steep, thin ridgeline, while holding onto ropes tied between the trees. Be very careful or you could slip down some seriously steep and deep ravines. Again I thought it was pretty neat, but this aint no walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: Out of the two main courses onsite, I liked this one the best (even though they get the same rating from me). I feel like this course does best out of any in making open throws very special and unique. Don't get me wrong I'm not a wooded course hater, but I LOVED the wide open, crank it type holes on this course. The views are unbeatable, each hole makes you say "wow" for different reasons, and the challenge is abundant. If they get all concrete tees, get better signage, I can bump the rating to a 4.5. If they re-add those two water holes, I could see justifying this course as a 5. Either way, this course is the best example of what amazing ski hill disc golf should be.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential....

5+    8/8/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging greens
-Great elevation
-Some signature shots
-Risk Reward
Cons: -Not all holes have T pads, and the ones that do are often to short and narrow or uphill
-holes 9 and 10 were unplayable from construction
-grass was cut, but sometimes you can spend a long time looking for discs if it is long
-all but 3 holes can be shot with a righty hyzer...nature of an open hill course though I suppose.
Other Thoughts: There was a tournament happening on the Cedar course the same day (tournament pace is soooo slow). A wedding was happening in the afternoon so that closed down the top of the mountain for part of the day. Still was charged 7 bucks to play despite these factors.

There are some holes, that if you "go over the edge" of the green...you will not get your disc back...ever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cut the grass!!

1    6/10/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: dethyr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long shots to test out your arm. A great mix of up, down and across hill shots and a pretty damn cool layout. A lot of work was put into the pin locations. Great staff and great food at the chalet.
Cons: The grass was very long on the ski hills and it made finding discs a serious pain in the ass. I realize that grooming eagle's peak and white cedar must be a lot of work but alas, it is what it is, gotta maintain it if it's a pay to play course.
Other Thoughts: White cedar is the tech course and eagle's peak is more for the guys that wanna stretch out the arms. The terrain is less challenging than white cedar but absolutely not a picnic. Bring bug dope and water,, lots of both.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not worth the price of admision

1    5/24/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: deadbody
Played: 146  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes, significant use of elevation, and good use of trees/bush where they could.
Cons: Lets see, tees are way too small, especially on longer holes where the teebox end in a drop off, just asking for an injury or a super abbreviated run-up.
Pins have no marking. They are using chainstars, nice baskets, but they really need a number plate or something so you can make sure you are aiming at the right hole.
Elevation is used as the main difficulty. If you can throw and walk uphill you will do well here.
Signs were ok at best. the vague arrow telling you where the next tee is on the map is nice, but some better signage would go a long way.
No top of the world shot. You get to the top at hole 12 or so, and then shoot across, and somewhat down. A huge ski hill needs to end with a top of the world shot down, not a boring open flat shot.
Other Thoughts: Really not great. For a pay to play course I was not that impressed with the little things. Maybe I am spoiled with Blue Ribbon Pines and The three rivers parks close by.
The short tee pads are a huge issue, there were at least 3 holes where I had to shorten up my run to avoid falling, and on long holes that robs distance.
If you are making the trek here, play WHite Cedar. Then play the goof Ace Run Course. If you want the challenge of going up and downhill again, play white cedar again. This course is just not very good.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start to the Day

5+    9/13/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a perfect warm-up or cool-down course for the White Cedar. It offers you many different shots especially uphill and downhill, but gives you hyzer and anhyzer opportunities as well. Though many shots are open they still require the ability to hit a line to sink birdies. You can feel good or bad about your round and respect the layout equally on this great course on site.
Cons: Again not having full cement tee pads is disappointing, but when you consider the location it would be hard to get everything in place...
Really its a great course to compliment the White Cedar.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who is in the area is a fool to not play these courses. They are not for rec players, but pay to play courses really shouldn't be. With the amenities on site and the dual courses plus cheap camping it blows me away there aren't more people doing weekend getaways here. Do yourself a favor and take a full day or two and enjoy the best that the northland has to offer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Northern MN Course

2-4    6/14/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: a.bergal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/7/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would say this is the best course in the Twin Ports area. When I have been there the grounds have been well maintained. The tee boxes and pins are well marked as well as the signage to the next hole. The course is built on the ski hill so be prepared for VERY hilly and steep terrain that makes for a great challenge. Great service at the chalet before and after rounds with refreshments and a small selection of discs.
Cons: This course doesnt have many negatives, only things that i can think of are muddy conditions and the construction. Playing over the 2012 summer there is some construction going on at the top of the hill so there is some traffic of workers and machines on the course. And one of the holes is currently torn apart from this construction. Also after rain since some of the holes are heavily shaded or in the trees it can take a while for the course to dry out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: keepDGobscure
Played: 94  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The previous reviews refer to the old layout of the two courses. Eagle's Peak is now a self contained 18 hole course independent of the White Cedar course (though they can be played together if you skip to White Cedar after hole 9). Eagle's Peak plays up and down the ski slopes, whilst traversing steep valleys and wooded areas along the way. It does not play terribly long, I think there is only one hole over 600ft, and there are a few shorties in wooded areas. It is very well designed though, taking advantage of every hill, peak, patch of trees, etc. The view from the top of the hill is absolutely amazing, and it is very relaxing shooting down the hill on the last stretch of the track.
Cons: Signage could use a bit of work, I missed a few holes on the front nine and had to find my way back to play them. I could not find tee 16 to save my life, so skipped it and played the pond shots. There is a map of the course at the bar, but one is not allowed to carry it with them (bring a copy machine?). I do wish for the course to be longer and have a bit more on an 'extreme' feeling to it. It pairs very well with the White Cedar course, but would compliment it more if there were some 700ft shots.
Other Thoughts: Although the ski hill looks massive and like quite an undertaking, it is still a walk in the park compared to the White Cedar course, where you must hike very steep ravines and strenuous trails on and in between holes. The bar at the bottom of the hill offers very reasonably priced drinks and totally sick flat screen to 'watch the game'. Enjoy a refreshment here before going into the extreme fairytale-like course: White Cedar.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

2-4    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 77  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is sick. Long mix of every thing left, right, up down, woods, water and open. This is a hard course that will test any player. Great use of a ski hill in the off season. They have a bar and a pro shop. The people are friendly and helpful. The course is five dollars to play but it is well worth the money. You can camp there and play the course all weekend. This course also over looks a state park and is very beautiful. The lay out is great and it is an excellent work out going up and down the ski hill. Very challenging and well thought out. They have a great cannon hole that is absolutely amazing & is a tribute to the old kaposia hole but its better. Defiantly one of the best course I have ever played. Almost a perfect course.
Cons: The only two things that could make this course better would be having cement tee pads on all the holes and being better maintained as in trails, stairs and bridges. This course will test you physically and mentally I think this is a plus but some might see it as a con.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course again. I will try to play it anytime I am in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the experience

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 44.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenry is fantastic. To enjoy it, you gotta earn it. I enjoy a good hike, but holy cow. Many different shaped holes to force every shot in your bag. The amount of work that goes into the course is amazing. Played here on the way back from Highbridge and the natural tees were a welcomed perk. I'm a casual player and would prefer natural tees, I can see if money was on the line that concrete is better but....anywhoo, the course has it all..... all but the....(see cons)
Cons: The walks/hikes between holes were long, dangerous, and abundant. The flow is fine and finding your way is fine, but it seems to never end. It didn'tt really have the feel of playing disc golf, it was more hiking. I understand that it's a ski hill, but it seemed like way too many uphill holes. Fast greens are nice, but a few were out of hand.
Other Thoughts: The course is not for me. I enjoyed many of the great holes and apprectiate the work that has been done. Its great to see another pay to play private course pop up. It's apparent that the owners did not design it for the average joe who plays occasionally. Be prepared for a long grueling round. Take a few discs out of your bag and bring more water and snacks, gonna need em. I recommend trying atleast once to have your own opinion. Great in many ways!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome & challenging, best $5 I ever spent

5+    9/30/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Surlydrinker
Played: 215  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a little of everything you could ask for in a disc golf course. Up's, down's, left's, right's, straight's, tunnel's, and open holes. Very good mix. B pins on over half of the holes. It is a 24 hole course that plays half on the mountain and the other half in the white cedar forest. A natural spring feeds a creek on a couple of holes in the forest. O.B. on 7 of the holes. Holes 12 - 14 have a old Kaposia layout feel to them. Holes 19 - 21 start at the mountain summit and are hugh down hill bomber shots. Awesome views from up there. You finish the course with 3 water holes that shoot up to and over a spring feed pond. Great for taking a swim after a hot day. Course has many birdie opportunities if you can keep it in the fairways and make your putts. Very challenging in the B pin positions. Garbage cans and water coolers on almost every hole.
Cons: Tee boxes are natural and some of them can be pretty slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: Not too many places I know of that you can sit down at the club house and get a beer and pizza after you round. The course is always expanding. Talking with Logger the course designer, he told me that next year the course is going to expand to a 27 holes layout and by 2011, they plan on splitting the course in half and making it into two 18 holes courses and have a camping facility as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.