Franklin, TN 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Why you hating?

2-4    5/19/2018   5/19/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two bigly concrete tees per hole, pretty decent wooden tee signs with pin position indicators and Discatchers in overall good shape, though a few are starting to rust. Benches and bag stands at every tee.

Awesome use of elevation (the whole course is built along a hillside) to augment the already decent challenge of fair but tight wooded fairways. Every hole has a defined line to the pin, and they're all reasonable - designer had clearly thrown a disc once or twice. There's also a huge downhill putter shot coming back down the hill that I love (hole 6). Probably the only time I've used the words 377' putter shot anywhere. (Spoiler: it plays closer to 250') One bomber hole (3) adds some nice variety to an otherwise very technical course with a more spacious, but still defined, fairway.

Mulched greens and fairways (!) prevent bad luck roots etc. from being a factor - disc is pretty much going where you threw it, good or bad.
Cons: May be somewhat physically tiresome for those not accustomed to hills.

A few baskets are starting to show rust, presumably because the course stays rather humid. They still catch like new for now, but they won't long-term. Tee signs are surprisingly not rotting in the wet conditions, but they have a couple drawbacks: namely, questionable scale and crude depictions of the lines.

Ultimately, a 10-hole course just can't have the variety of a full 18.
Other Thoughts: Seems to be somewhat ignored by regional disc golfers - I've played here four times now and never encountered another person on the course bar runners.

White and red tees don't play THAT much different, but of course they don't - they're white and red, not red and blue or white and wannabe red. They seem to match their target skill levels fairly well, though white plays if anything maybe on the slightly lower end of intermediate in my opinion - a smart rec player could probably take or break par from the whites now and again, but a rec player with an ego and an itchy driver finger could easily go ten over from the reds also.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and unforgiving

2-4    4/18/2018   4/20/2018
Review By: gamegenie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. The entire course (except for Hole 3) is heavily wooded. If you are a lefty, you will find a few holes that favor you.

Hole 1 is an extreme dog leg left. Better to angle your disc to get a pretty hard draw left. Pretty short hole.

Hole 2 is straight and slightly left. Narrow fairway.

Hole 3 is pretty wide open. Hole is fairly far ahead and then to the right a little. There are some trees blocking the basket so throw to the left of it to get a better approach. This hole might be good for a lefty with a natural fade.

Hole 4 is fairly steep. It is to the left a little from the tee box, but you will have to keep to the right to throw around some trees blocking the basket. Elevation adds a challenge too, taking away distance on your throw.

Hole 5 is further uphill. You might need a breather by the end of 4 and 5.

Hole 6 is my favorite. It is downhill with a straight and narrow fairway. Long hole. I drive with a putter here for accuracy, the downhill throw helps make up the distance.

7-8 slog through the woods with lots of trees in the way.

9 is a little wider fairway and has some distance to it.

10 also has a fairly wide fairway. Shorter hole than it appears.
Cons: This course is too challenging for most players. You're going to end up hitting a tree on your drives, or losing a disc in the weeds. Be sure not to use green discs, they're extremely hard to find on most holes.

Only 10 holes but I think that is actually a good thing. I really don't like the design of this course, and the elevation on several of the holes will be challenging even for people in good shape.

The maps on each hole are extremely unhelpful. The amount of draw/fade on each hole is far more than the sign would suggest.
Other Thoughts: I've never seen a single other player here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best 10 Hole Course Ever.

1    1/15/2018   3/29/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 313  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.196 Rating) A demanding heavily wooded course on a hill side.
- CHALLENGING - One of the more challenging courses I've played with this small of footprint, but not oppressive tough. Plus, for those that want to dial the challenge back a bit, the red tees appear to play 3 or 4 throws less difficult than the White tee layout. I looked at posted scores of those that threw the red and white tees back to back to come up with this conclusion. The White tees read as lower advanced level and the front tees read as recreational level.
- CHARACTER - Just about all the amenities you'd expect from a well established course with a club. To start, effective course map on the way up to tee (1). There is also a mail box at the course map location stuffed with well done scorecards (scorecard has map print) and pencils. If I recall correctly, there was seating at just about every tee.
- TEES - Two nice sized concrete tee pads per hole labeled Red (front tee) and White (back tee).
- NAVIGATION - Even though this course is heavily wooded, it's really easy to get from one hole to the next due to the free scorecard with map.
- UNIQUENESS - About average. For being a course with just 10 holes, I was really surprised by the variety. A few up shots and a few down shots. One shot kind of goes over a swallow valley and a couple are rather flat. I'd label 9 of the 10 shots as fully wooded tunnel shots with hole (3) being a moderately wooded hole with a wide fairway. A decent mix of lengths, from 500 feet to sub 200 depending on the tee and basket combination. The most noticeable missing element is water. There is some indicated on the course map but I never saw any. Perhaps after a heavy rain or an extreme misfire a disc will find the drink. Also, no par 4s or 5s, although the back tee on (3) is definitely long enough to be a recreational par 4.
- QUICK PLAY - I spent 40 minutes on this one, and ten minutes of it was looking for a disc that I lost in the dead leaves. The courses appears to flow really well from one hole to the next. Solos should typically have this one wrapped up in 30 to 35 minutes.
- RAW BEAUTY - I loved the fully wooded fairway lines running up and down the hillside on a January afternoon. This course must look epic sweet in mid April when all the trees are in spring form.

Cons: There really aren't any flaws with Liberty Park. Below are some preferential and site issues that some may be concerned about.
- FORGIVENESS - Although the red tees are short enough for recreation players, for those that can't hit 10 to 15 foot lanes consistently, this course could become very self-defeating. In addition, regardless of skill level, players will hit trees several times out here. When there's a ricochet in the wrong direction, scrambling for par may become unachievable proposition.
- TERRAIN - If you have bad knees or ankles I'd stay clear of this course. There are lots of rocks and roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Probably not the best course for the disc golf cart, you'd need some big wheels.
- POISON IVY/OAK - Although I didn't see any poisonous plants during my January round, this course looks like an offender and its mentioned by a couple other reviewers. I did however run into several thorny areas and I'm glad I was wearing pants.
- TICKS - Again, although I didn't observe any, several reviewers call it out.
- NOT 18 HOLES - I'd be willing to bet that there are a lot of players that come here and have visions on how to make it a full 18. I checked Google maps and the park boundaries seems to extend another 700 feet up the hill side. Eight more holes of a similar caliber makes Liberty a solid 3.5 course.

Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting this course to be this good. If I grouped Liberty Park in with all of the other 9 hole courses I've rated, this course would be among the top five. I really hope to read in the near future that the course has been expended to 18 holes. I will also note that this course appears to have seasonal enjoyability. I'd hate to be out here during summer peak overgrowth. Probably best enjoyed from middle fall thru late spring.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up, down, up down and around

1    12/3/2015   12/29/2015
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 126  Reviewed: 40
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Family friendly park with play structures for the young kids. Play a round and then reward the kids with some time on the play structures.

Dual tee pads allow for a round of 20 holes. Alt tee pads allow for a different look at the basket, not too much difference in the distance between the dual tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Played course after a good amount of rain had fallen and with one day of dry weather and thought the course was in really good shape. I did not find any of the slick spots mentioned in a different review.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Play Is Seasonal For Sure

5+    1/19/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: MiddleTNOldGuy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was not crowded on this unusually warm winter day (January 19, 2015 - 62 degrees and Sunny). I was one of only 3-4 groups on the course.

#9 and #10 are the most enjoyable holes on the course. #9 is quite long if the basket is placed in the "A" position, and #10's roller-coaster terrain is pleasingly different.

No water holes, except for the creek alongside #3.
Cons: Very Very Hilly. #4, #5, #7, and #8 are very steep uphills holes and will have you huffing and puffing unless you are fit.

Only one open hole (#3) that allow you to wind it out a bit, but even it's fairway is not very wide. Be wary of the creek running along the left side of #3.

The dual tee boxes are worthless. Only 3 holes offer a significant difference in distance to the basket between the white and red tee.
Other Thoughts: I will not play this course between late April and late October due to the extremely heavy foliage, poison oak, ticks and mosquitoes. You can easily spend half your time on the course searching for disks under the heavy ground cover in the summer, and you will come out with poison oak on your hands and legs along with a handful of wood ticks .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sad waste of money

5+    11/28/2014   12/17/2014
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 162  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mulitple concrete pads, cool looking signage, new baskets, free pencils and scorecards. Holes 3,9,10.
Cons: Elevation is intense and unnecessary. Poor layout; #1 goes down a hill, #2 is a climb back up to the top of the hill, from #4 to #8, the holes are up and down the same steep incline. Also the pads, while well constructed, weren't very well thought out in terms of flow or difficulty. Walking paths to holes cross fairways, and navigation can be confusing from 6-8. Ticks are a problem from spring to fall. Dense brush throughout.
Other Thoughts: This course has so much potential. There is a bunch of useable land in the park, but they crammed it in the woods on one hill, instead of zig zagging or just wrapping it around more of the park. They put a bunch of money on concrete pads (Crockett is still carpet), and baskets and signage, and it came out super disappointing. I still have hope they will expand, but as it is now, its just a frustrating example of builders not getting better design advice first. For me, it's not worth the effort to hike it. It is a bit challenging finding the park, too. There's better courses close enough to skip it.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A good mini-course

1    7/19/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Liberty Park fills the niche of "short, technical forest course" very well. The course consists of nine forested holes and one hole in a relatively open clearing. While the fairways tend to be straight or gently curving, most of the pins are tucked off to the side, requiring the correct fade for an ace run. It's a great course for less experienced players because of the short distances and clear, well maintained fairways. Experienced players with accuracy can easily rack up the birdies.
Cons: The course has dual tees, but the second set of tees was so short it didn't seem to add much to the course. Some of the tee signs were either abused or missing; however, thanks to the gigantic bulletin-board map at hole 1, navigation was still very easy. Finally - this course has more ticks than a clock. You will want to inspect yourself after you play.
Other Thoughts: I came to this course because I had a Z-Comet and an hour to burn, and this course fit the bill perfectly. It's not the course to satisfy your everyday disc golf needs because it's only ten mostly short holes, but if you're looking for a short, quick, or quiet game by yourself, I would definitely recommend this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Steep and Technical

5+    1/27/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to work on your short technical game. There is a lot of elevation change here as it plays along a steep wooded hillside for most of the course. One long fairly open hole plays along a creek for some much needed variety. There are Red and White tees for each hole that provide some varying difficulty for different skill levels. The concrete tee pads are large and in excellent condition. The baskets are nice/new and there are well-made bag holders and tee signs for each hole. Even though most holes are similar, the designer(s) did a good job of providing some variety with this less than ideal piece of land. The lines are well thought out with some straight, right, left, uphill, downhill, etc. Most holes are short but there are a few longer holes mixed in as well. There are some fun shots here for sure - but I could play it with just a stable driver, midrange and putter and score about the same as if I had my entire bag. Fairly often I'll just carry those three discs and think of it as a nice challenging hike while I fling some discs along the way. This course is never crowded - very often I'm the only person there. You can play this course really quickly and get some good exercise while you're at it. Liberty provides a nice contrast to the open/long/windy Crockett Park down the road.
Cons: There are only 10 holes - which leaves much to be desired, especially with the lack of variety of terrain. Sure there are Red and White tees and I usually play one round from each ....but, in most cases, I feel like the two different tees don't really do much to change the line/difficulty of the hole. It's best to play here in the colder months - ticks and chiggers abound. It's also really easy to lose discs when the rough is grown up. The trees are almost too tight on some holes which will leave beginners frustrated - some holes are "poke and hope" at best.
Other Thoughts: Keep your eyes peeled for a family of wild turkeys living here. I see them most of the time I play. I feel like the two separate tees are a waste of resources - they are really nice and well done but I think they would've been better served to wait until additional holes could be added somewhere in the park. Eight open holes would make this a really complete course - but there is probably nowhere they are allowed to put them in. Then they maybe they could have just saved the money for another future course in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unfinished Business & Hiking

2-4    9/20/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great place to practice midrange, tight lines, & upshots. You may even turn into a mountain goat. It's situated on a hill & beside a creek, providing steep elevation in a tightly wooded setting. Wonderful exercise! If you play it daily, your Zumba buddies at work will say, "How DO you do it?"
Cons: 10 holes? Crikey, after all that hiking I felt like I put in 2 rounds. The baskets hide from the tee pads, & the signs, although nice & legible, resemble a 4th grader's scale more than an architect's. If you're not beat from the hiking up & down, over & over, on this poorly laid out course, you'll fight the urge to throw all your drivers in the parking lot bc unless you're new to the game, you won't have many opportunities to pull them out of your bag otherwise.
Other Thoughts: I hope this course is merely unfinished business. I doubt that I'll ever play it again as is. Careful to watch your disc the whole time bc you'll lose 'em in the nasty rough even if it doesn't roll out of sight. It's in Williamson County, the RICHEST COUNTY IN THE ENTIRE NATION per capita. I expected more.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fall/Winter Course

5+    5/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: kingje1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a very tight wooded course with some extreme elevation changes and is very challenging. There are no really open shots although there are some with some good distance. It will force you to be accurate with your discs. This course has taught me how to use my discs better. You will need every type of shot with this course. There are pro and am tees. Number 9 is amazingly challenging at the end of the course. You have to see it to believe it. I have only hit par on it when it's in the long position once having played the course some 100 or so times.
Cons: This course is practically unplayable in the summer. There are an abundance of ticks lurking everywhere. Even if you hit fairway on every hole you will walk away with one on your clothing. Then there's the brush, the course is dominated by small plants that do a great job of hiding the ground. Then there's the piles of sticks and logs that look like snake nests.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome in the fall and winter. I play this course over and over in those months especially when Crockett is crowded. Six is one of my favorites. It shoots steep downhill fading slightly to the right all the way down about 300 feet.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.