Franklin, TN 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 284ft.   3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
10 Holes of Hilly Woods Fun

1    11/7/2020   11/30/2020
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 125  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Noted in the title of the review.

-Amenities: Two sets of concrete tees, two sets of tee signs with map and pin position indicator, solid baskets, some benches, course map at start.

-Terrain: Hilly and mostly thickly wooded. Hole (3) is the main exception, being flat and more open. This is really good grounds for playing golf with constant elevation change and moderately thick undergrowth that makes scrambling challenging but not impossible.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: A nice collection of various shapes and various approaches to the terrain. There are some shorter par-3s, medium length par-3s, and some long ones that could arguably be consider short par-4s. Knowing your discs is essential on downhill and uphill woods shots, and knowing your boundaries is essential when deciding how aggressive to play. Shapes vary from left to right to twisty to straight.

-Multi-Tees/Pins: The two sets of tees I think are appropriately rated at red and white level. The pin positions are also variable, though I don't know how big a difference that would make.
Cons: Not quite enough holes to be really good.

-Length: At 10 holes, Liberty doesn't have enough to leave me fully satisfied. (To clarify, I'm not an 18-holes only kind of guy, but I think you need at least 13-14 to have a well-rounded course.)

-Terrain Variety: With the exception of (3), Liberty only really has one biome. To be a very good course, to me, requires some level of variety.

-Visibility: It's hard to scope out fairways and find baskets from the tees.

-Fairway Overlap: In the middle there are a couple fairways that could bleed into each other.
Other Thoughts: Liberty Park offers 10 enjoyable holes of golf. None of it is spectacular, but it is a very solid, hilly woods experience. Great for a short round, and if I were local I'd be here all the time enjoying the diverse lines.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Up-Down Up-Down

2-4    11/2/2019   11/4/2019
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees: It's not often that you see two tee pads per hole on a shorter course like this, but Liberty Park has it. Both tee pads always have a sign showing distance and which pin is marked, and most of the pads have a pole for hanging bags and a bench to sit on. Additionally, the pads are often set up so that the angle of the shot is altered by the tee you pick: I liked this aspect more than one of the tees just being "longer" than the other.

Pins: The baskets were fine, nothing spectacular, but it was nice to see a short course with two pin locations per hole. Most of the time, the variation was sideways (straight vs dogleg finish, for example), but a couple pins were spaced 100' apart or so to give some variance in distance.

Woods and Terrain: What difficulty this course loses because of the shorter pins is made up due to the heavily wooded holes and drastic elevation changes. The windows are often tight and the holes typically have a curve or dogleg in them, forcing the thrower to shape their shot to get the birdie. The elevation is constantly changing - at least half the holes are major uphill/downhill shots and really make you control the power you put on a disc.
Cons: ...Woods and Terrain: Yup, this is also a con, for a few reasons. The woods are tight. I was fortunate to play my last round after the leaves had fallen for the most part, but in the summer I could see the windows being incredibly tight, possibly too tight. The uphill holes were almost too uphill, and there were more of them than I would prefer on a course like this. Most importantly, though, it just felt like I was throwing a tunnel shot about 250' in the woods on almost every hole, and for a course with this much elevation and this nice of "extras," a boring layout stands out even more.
Other Thoughts: I treated this course as a 20-hole course, where I played the layout twice and switched teepads halfway through. I don't think this will be a course I will frequent, but I will consider a round if I find myself in the Cool Springs area. It's a fun course with some natural beauty, but it being only 10 holes takes away some of the draw. If they had room to add 8 good-sized holes, I would possibly put it in Tier 2 of Nashville area courses. Right now, though, it'll do as one of the better short courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shelob's Lair

5+    12/18/2018   12/18/2018
Review By: Dingus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very good use of available land
- Challenging for every aspect of disc golf other than pure distance
- Plays quickly with intuitive and safe pathfinding
Cons: - Short; only one shot allows a max drive (and you probably shouldn't)
- Rough is very rough. Bad shots are punished, and so are unlucky bounces off fairway trees. Bogeys happen on seemingly easy 200' holes
- Spiders! Millions of spiders!!
- Parking lot will pop your tires (I park across the street)
Other Thoughts: I play this course as 20 holes, alternating red/white tees. The teepads are fantastic and the placement gives truly different looks to each position.

I like to think of each hole as a 400' hole that I griplocked on the drive and am now scrambling to save par. There are few standard shots on this course, with most holes requiring a creative line to get at the green. The great and infuriating part about it is that you can probably reach each position save long #3, but you won't, and you will put up at least a couple bogies along the way.

I really like this course and I consider it as a great skill building course. The dense rough completely covered in spiders will make you really focus on hitting the fairway. Nice teepads, signs, and bagholders are a plus along the way. I rarely play Crockett any more.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Why you hating?

2-4    5/19/2018   5/19/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 52  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two bigly concrete tees per hole, pretty decent wooden tee signs with pin position indicators and Discatchers in overall good shape, though a few are starting to rust. Benches and bag stands at every tee.

Awesome use of elevation (the whole course is built along a hillside) to augment the already decent challenge of fair but tight wooded fairways. Every hole has a defined line to the pin, and they're all reasonable - designer had clearly thrown a disc once or twice. There's also a huge downhill putter shot coming back down the hill that I love (hole 6). Probably the only time I've used the words 377' putter shot anywhere. (Spoiler: it plays closer to 250') One bomber hole (3) adds some nice variety to an otherwise very technical course with a more spacious, but still defined, fairway.

Mulched greens and fairways (!) prevent bad luck roots etc. from being a factor - disc is pretty much going where you threw it, good or bad.
Cons: May be somewhat physically tiresome for those not accustomed to hills.

A few baskets are starting to show rust, presumably because the course stays rather humid. They still catch like new for now, but they won't long-term. Tee signs are surprisingly not rotting in the wet conditions, but they have a couple drawbacks: namely, questionable scale and crude depictions of the lines.

Ultimately, a 10-hole course just can't have the variety of a full 18.
Other Thoughts: Seems to be somewhat ignored by regional disc golfers - I've played here four times now and never encountered another person on the course bar runners.

White and red tees don't play THAT much different, but of course they don't - they're white and red, not red and blue or white and wannabe red. They seem to match their target skill levels fairly well, though white plays if anything maybe on the slightly lower end of intermediate in my opinion - a smart rec player could probably take or break par from the whites now and again, but a rec player with an ego and an itchy driver finger could easily go ten over from the reds also.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and unforgiving

2-4    4/18/2018   4/20/2018
Review By: gamegenie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. The entire course (except for Hole 3) is heavily wooded. If you are a lefty, you will find a few holes that favor you.

Hole 1 is an extreme dog leg left. Better to angle your disc to get a pretty hard draw left. Pretty short hole.

Hole 2 is straight and slightly left. Narrow fairway.

Hole 3 is pretty wide open. Hole is fairly far ahead and then to the right a little. There are some trees blocking the basket so throw to the left of it to get a better approach. This hole might be good for a lefty with a natural fade.

Hole 4 is fairly steep. It is to the left a little from the tee box, but you will have to keep to the right to throw around some trees blocking the basket. Elevation adds a challenge too, taking away distance on your throw.

Hole 5 is further uphill. You might need a breather by the end of 4 and 5.

Hole 6 is my favorite. It is downhill with a straight and narrow fairway. Long hole. I drive with a putter here for accuracy, the downhill throw helps make up the distance.

7-8 slog through the woods with lots of trees in the way.

9 is a little wider fairway and has some distance to it.

10 also has a fairly wide fairway. Shorter hole than it appears.
Cons: This course is too challenging for most players. You're going to end up hitting a tree on your drives, or losing a disc in the weeds. Be sure not to use green discs, they're extremely hard to find on most holes.

Only 10 holes but I think that is actually a good thing. I really don't like the design of this course, and the elevation on several of the holes will be challenging even for people in good shape.

The maps on each hole are extremely unhelpful. The amount of draw/fade on each hole is far more than the sign would suggest.
Other Thoughts: I've never seen a single other player here.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best 10 Hole Course Ever.

1    1/15/2018   3/29/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 478  Reviewed: 456  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.196 Rating) A demanding heavily wooded course on a hill side.
- CHALLENGING - One of the more challenging courses I've played with this small of footprint, but not oppressive tough. Plus, for those that want to dial the challenge back a bit, the red tees appear to play 3 or 4 throws less difficult than the White tee layout. I looked at posted scores of those that threw the red and white tees back to back to come up with this conclusion. The White tees read as lower advanced level and the front tees read as recreational level.
- CHARACTER - Just about all the amenities you'd expect from a well established course with a club. To start, effective course map on the way up to tee (1). There is also a mail box at the course map location stuffed with well done scorecards (scorecard has map print) and pencils. If I recall correctly, there was seating at just about every tee.
- TEES - Two nice sized concrete tee pads per hole labeled Red (front tee) and White (back tee).
- NAVIGATION - Even though this course is heavily wooded, it's really easy to get from one hole to the next due to the free scorecard with map.
- UNIQUENESS - About average. For being a course with just 10 holes, I was really surprised by the variety. A few up shots and a few down shots. One shot kind of goes over a swallow valley and a couple are rather flat. I'd label 9 of the 10 shots as fully wooded tunnel shots with hole (3) being a moderately wooded hole with a wide fairway. A decent mix of lengths, from 500 feet to sub 200 depending on the tee and basket combination. The most noticeable missing element is water. There is some indicated on the course map but I never saw any. Perhaps after a heavy rain or an extreme misfire a disc will find the drink. Also, no par 4s or 5s, although the back tee on (3) is definitely long enough to be a recreational par 4.
- QUICK PLAY - I spent 40 minutes on this one, and ten minutes of it was looking for a disc that I lost in the dead leaves. The courses appears to flow really well from one hole to the next. Solos should typically have this one wrapped up in 30 to 35 minutes.
- RAW BEAUTY - I loved the fully wooded fairway lines running up and down the hillside on a January afternoon. This course must look epic sweet in mid April when all the trees are in spring form.

Cons: There really aren't any flaws with Liberty Park. Below are some preferential and site issues that some may be concerned about.
- FORGIVENESS - Although the red tees are short enough for recreation players, for those that can't hit 10 to 15 foot lanes consistently, this course could become very self-defeating. In addition, regardless of skill level, players will hit trees several times out here. When there's a ricochet in the wrong direction, scrambling for par may become unachievable proposition.
- TERRAIN - If you have bad knees or ankles I'd stay clear of this course. There are lots of rocks and roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Probably not the best course for the disc golf cart, you'd need some big wheels.
- POISON IVY/OAK - Although I didn't see any poisonous plants during my January round, this course looks like an offender and its mentioned by a couple other reviewers. I did however run into several thorny areas and I'm glad I was wearing pants.
- TICKS - Again, although I didn't observe any, several reviewers call it out.
- NOT 18 HOLES - I'd be willing to bet that there are a lot of players that come here and have visions on how to make it a full 18. I checked Google maps and the park boundaries seems to extend another 700 feet up the hill side. Eight more holes of a similar caliber makes Liberty a solid 3.5 course.

Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting this course to be this good. If I grouped Liberty Park in with all of the other 9 hole courses I've rated, this course would be among the top five. I really hope to read in the near future that the course has been expended to 18 holes. I will also note that this course appears to have seasonal enjoyability. I'd hate to be out here during summer peak overgrowth. Probably best enjoyed from middle fall thru late spring.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Up, down, up down and around

1    12/3/2015   12/29/2015
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 156  Reviewed: 42
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Family friendly park with play structures for the young kids. Play a round and then reward the kids with some time on the play structures.

Dual tee pads allow for a round of 20 holes. Alt tee pads allow for a different look at the basket, not too much difference in the distance between the dual tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Played course after a good amount of rain had fallen and with one day of dry weather and thought the course was in really good shape. I did not find any of the slick spots mentioned in a different review.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Play Is Seasonal For Sure

5+    1/19/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: MiddleTNOldGuy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was not crowded on this unusually warm winter day (January 19, 2015 - 62 degrees and Sunny). I was one of only 3-4 groups on the course.

#9 and #10 are the most enjoyable holes on the course. #9 is quite long if the basket is placed in the "A" position, and #10's roller-coaster terrain is pleasingly different.

No water holes, except for the creek alongside #3.
Cons: Very Very Hilly. #4, #5, #7, and #8 are very steep uphills holes and will have you huffing and puffing unless you are fit.

Only one open hole (#3) that allow you to wind it out a bit, but even it's fairway is not very wide. Be wary of the creek running along the left side of #3.

The dual tee boxes are worthless. Only 3 holes offer a significant difference in distance to the basket between the white and red tee.
Other Thoughts: I will not play this course between late April and late October due to the extremely heavy foliage, poison oak, ticks and mosquitoes. You can easily spend half your time on the course searching for disks under the heavy ground cover in the summer, and you will come out with poison oak on your hands and legs along with a handful of wood ticks .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sad waste of money

5+    11/28/2014   12/17/2014
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 241  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Mulitple concrete pads, cool looking signage, new baskets, free pencils and scorecards. Holes 3,9,10.
Cons: Elevation is intense and unnecessary. Poor layout; #1 goes down a hill, #2 is a climb back up to the top of the hill, from #4 to #8, the holes are up and down the same steep incline. Also the pads, while well constructed, weren't very well thought out in terms of flow or difficulty. Walking paths to holes cross fairways, and navigation can be confusing from 6-8. Ticks are a problem from spring to fall. Dense brush throughout.
Other Thoughts: This course has so much potential. There is a bunch of useable land in the park, but they crammed it in the woods on one hill, instead of zig zagging or just wrapping it around more of the park. They put a bunch of money on concrete pads (Crockett is still carpet), and baskets and signage, and it came out super disappointing. I still have hope they will expand, but as it is now, its just a frustrating example of builders not getting better design advice first. For me, it's not worth the effort to hike it. It is a bit challenging finding the park, too. There's better courses close enough to skip it.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A good mini-course

1    7/19/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Liberty Park fills the niche of "short, technical forest course" very well. The course consists of nine forested holes and one hole in a relatively open clearing. While the fairways tend to be straight or gently curving, most of the pins are tucked off to the side, requiring the correct fade for an ace run. It's a great course for less experienced players because of the short distances and clear, well maintained fairways. Experienced players with accuracy can easily rack up the birdies.
Cons: The course has dual tees, but the second set of tees was so short it didn't seem to add much to the course. Some of the tee signs were either abused or missing; however, thanks to the gigantic bulletin-board map at hole 1, navigation was still very easy. Finally - this course has more ticks than a clock. You will want to inspect yourself after you play.
Other Thoughts: I came to this course because I had a Z-Comet and an hour to burn, and this course fit the bill perfectly. It's not the course to satisfy your everyday disc golf needs because it's only ten mostly short holes, but if you're looking for a short, quick, or quiet game by yourself, I would definitely recommend this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.