Milford, MI 
Kensington Black Locust DGC Share
Uploaded By: dalenoel Hole #27 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 634ft.   4 / 507ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #27 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Not bad... For a lefty

5+    3/13/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: ViolaBouquet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice length.
Nice variety of open, and wooded shots
Cons: I like a course that has a variety of shots going right, left, and center.. (6 of each to mike a nice 18 holes) but this course just goes insane with putting baskets on the right. Most of the holes that could be straight shots have the baskets along the right side of the fairway too. It was designed by someone who threw forehand, and it shows.
Other Thoughts: The course is not bad, but instead of challenging me to throw many different shots, I just found myself working on my anny shots.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Still missing Tunnel

5+    12/4/2010   12/10/2010
Review By: dagwood112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really solid hardware. The concrete pads are all in good shape and large. The baskets are adequate and above. The signage could be better in terms of hole diagrams. But, the important information is made clear in aesthetically pleasing fashion. Sadly, vandals' penises adorn some of them.

The course is well-maintained and fairly free of trash, but not immaculate. Bottles and cans are occasionally present to trick your eye while looking for plastic. They do a nice job of keeping the pads clean.

The course makes good use of a mix of holes from the old Tunnel course and newly built holes. Navigation is primarily smooth (excepting the Black Locust cherries who without fail head towards the wasteland/dirtpile/old Tunnel teepad after #5). The course flows well and has numerous spots to take a sit at a picnic table and rest. Many of these spots offer some welcome seclusion.

The holes are varied in both distance and shot requirements. Pro and Am teepads on many holes add more variety. The first 18 doesn't have any huge holes, but there are a couple opportunities to let fly. And, the pros add some length. The first 18 does a better job with wooded finesse shots and ace runs, which are plenty. The all-new 19-27 (the back) add substantial length, especially from the pros. The back offers more isolation as well. The holes are interesting and challenging, and include wooded finesse and open power shots.

Black Locust is in a strong facility. There are port-a-cans onsite at the course. Running water can be found across the street at the beach complex and also at a blockhouse of bathrooms near the ballfields. I think the beach complex has a snack bar that is open seasonally. I've never eaten there.

Holden's near the Milford Rd. park entrance is the joint for discs and provisions.

The course is pay to play.
Cons: Although the back adds some length to the course, there is a shortage of holes that permit a power shot.

Most of the greens are fairly pedestrian. Other than #27, none of them really punish aggressive misses at the pin.

If you don't have a shot that can reliably handle left to right lines this course could get frustrating. Some complain that the new course favors lefties and rhfh too much.

Peak summer hours can be dreadful for crowds. Large groups of people tend to proliferate, each possessing only the thinnest connection to this concept 'disc golf.' The advent of pay to play has whacked some of these fools, but not all.

It's not free.

There are no water hazards.

Course lacks a signature hole.
Other Thoughts: Kensington is my home course and I have deep affection for the entire park. It's beautiful in all seasons.

I was bummed when they moved the course and I still miss a couple of the old holes. I believe that in the moving process Kensington lost its signature hole, #14.

Despite this loss, the new design and new holes come together to produce a very strong course. If I included in this review the amount of fun I've had at Kensington, it would have been a 4.5.

As for the crowds, timing is everything. Early = good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Kensington

5+    9/21/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: bartman0118
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2010
0 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: This is the best course ever made! (in michigan) it is a lot of fun. i go almost everyday
Cons: the entry fee is the worst part even though its not much at all
Other Thoughts: i love this course more then any other course ive ever been to

0 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best.

5+    3/18/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course maintained, combination of tight woods shots or wide open bombs. Technical, Chainstar Baskets.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and absolutely love it. With the hilly terrain and tight woods shots this course will force you into taking the right shot or you may pay dearly.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, short and long. Pro tees offer the allowance of testing your arm strength and other holes test your technical ability
Cons: if you throw into the woods on some holes you may not find your disc
Other Thoughts: bug spray

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Challeng worth your time

5+    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Ghostrunner
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This course will teach anyone how to be the best disc golf player you can be. It will test and challenge the best of the best but is still attainable by the new. The front 18 will allow the finesse player to shine while the back 9 allows the power to show through.

This is my home course and I wouldn't want any other course to be so.
Cons: The pros and also the cons. This course can be VERY frustrating. Other than Hudson Mills this course is one of the longest I have ever played, but the short holes are equally as challenging.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and everyone who is willing to travel should come play asap.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 more variety than the old Tunnnel course

1    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 345  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 31.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played the old Tunnel course in 2000 and liked it yet this new configuration provides much more of a challenge. Two sets of cement tee pads on most of the holes along with tee signs made it easy to navigate. Lots of variey such as open, wooded, up and down.

27 holes.

Lots of picnic tables near the tees act as benches.


Cons: Mostly lefty friendly, a lot of holes started out straight (as most do in Ann Arbor) but a majority of them ended up left to right.

Tall grass can make the course rather wet and mud can be found in places. After paying $5 to enter the park and $2 to play, I excepted better maintenance.

Other Thoughts: The last 9, 19-27 were longer and geared to the experienced player which I enjoyed, this is why I bumped my rating up to 3.5 as the first 18 is only a 3.


Drinking beer is allowed, simple rule per the
starter "no liqour".

This course gets crowded despite the pay to play, get there early!




5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 101  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *27 holes
*Excellent large, concrete teepads
*Located in huge park, set off in its own area, nice wooded setting
*Easy to navigate 1st time playing
Cons: *As noted in the other reviews, the course is biased to a lefty ... not a problem for me as I have a good forehand, but if you don't, you'll notice
*It seemed like every hole was blind. Not every hole, but like 20 of 27 .... why??
*Many unlegit fairways, especially from the long tees ... no reasonable flight path. I played shorts on a lot of the holes because the shot from the longs was ridiculous. Or maybe it was supposed to be a par 4 on those ... wouldn't know as par wasn't on the sign?
*Crowds - even midweek there were lots of big, slow playing groups .... the guy i was playing with said it gets completely jammed up on nice days
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to play, but definitely not as good as expected from reading the other reviews. I wouldn't go out of my way to play unless you are in the area, as i was.

Having 27 holes is nice, but it seemed like 1-18 were crammed in pitch n putt shots with repetitive holes. Heavy schule on both sides, you can't see the basket from the teepad on most holes, and there was a long stretch of holes in the middle that were all 240' ... in short, a bit boring. I enjoyed the back 9 more, but several of the holes had ridiculous lines from the long tees that really didn't follow a realistic flight path.

Also it gets really crowded. I went middle of the week on a cold, wet day and there were 40 cars in the lot.

Erosion issues everywhere from the heavy foot traffic ... i bet it gets muddy when it's raining.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: pickman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The biggest Pro - Kensington is almost in my backyard! Great for people who throw both fore-hand and back-hand, favors lefties and fore-hand in my opinion.
Cons: I miss the old course!
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course alot, I throw both fore and back hand, that's a HUGE benefit here, the extras are great!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great distance, great variety, great elevation (for SE Michigan anyway), blends old with new, very challenging. 27 Holes. 19-27 will bring your score back down to earth.
Cons: Can't really think of any, but if I had to pick something, it's the number of left to right holes. There are plenty of righty hyzer shots, too so it's not a huge problem. Maybe the rough can be unruly at times. I think that will get better with time.
Other Thoughts: Great new course. This plus the Toboggan, Independence Lake and Hudson Mills will make the Ann Arbor area a prime location for Worlds. You could even work Lakeshore in. Can't wait.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.