Milford, MI 
Kensington Black Locust DGC Share
Uploaded By: dalenoel Hole #19 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 619ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    10/18/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent up north feel. The view from the first tee pad (long) is incredible. Because of the location of this course within the park itself it has an isolated feeling. Nobody who is not playing frolf is gonna get in the way. This course is getting a reputation for being too hard for beginners which keeps the course moving right along.

The course is very clean, which is something to be said for a course in southeast michigan.

From the shorts, this course is very technical. Par is not hard to achieve if you can throw it 200 ft. and land in the fairway (at least for the first 18).

The extra nine offer a completely different experience than the first 18 (read much more difficult). It is like a completely different course. Even landing in the fairway is not a guarantee for par, because of the technical nature of the course. Sometimes it pays to lay up!

Makes excellent use of the land that I used to gaze out at before the course was 24 holes. Everything is easy to find, with the exception of hole 6. The pathway directly behind the basket is way more clearly defined than than the new pathway to the next basket. Maybe some shrubbery behind the basket would prevent any confusion.

From the long tees this course is probably the best I have played in Michigan. You don't have to be able to throw it 400+ in order to par every hole, though it helps. A solid 300 ft. drive, with accuracy, is all you need to have a chance at par on every hole. The longest holes don't play as long as they are due to elevated tees.

Cons: WAY too many rhbh anhyzer, or forehand shots for a righty. This is the most friendly course for a left handed thrower that I have ever played.

The short tees could stand to be a little tougher. Most of them are pretty short/easy. Would be comparable to the old Kensington course before it had cement tees, with the original pin positions, and only 18 holes.

Other Thoughts: In another year this course is going to be the best around. I imagine a slight adjustment of the pin positions, in order to compensate for the drastic lefty bias, and some thinning out of the rough due to more play making the course a little bit more forgiving to errant drives.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I thought this course was great. You have to utilize all sorts of throws. Almost every hole has two pads to throw from. Great pads, concrete, and very long. Score cards/maps,and pencils were available. Very easy to navigate through the course.
Cons: The only con I can really think of is that you have to pay to get in, but I think it was worth every penny. This course was very clean and well kept.
Other Thoughts: Saw lots of people, all of them friendly, and even had a group of guys help us look for one of our discs. I really enjoyed all the different ways the holes were set up, doglegs left and right, some straight, some with trees in play, some wide open, and many with changes in elevation. I thought the basket that was mounted on the stump was real cool too. I will play again anytime I have a chance.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

2-4    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: IamtheWandering1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging tee placement if your playing the pros
-Spreadout layout so your never really on top of other players
-Big enough where my dog can go nuts and run non stop
-Challenges to throw many anhyzers when most courses do the opposite
-Score Cards w/map
-Terain comes into play
-Technical Design
-Well maintained
-Enough Trash Cans
Cons: -Metro park staff are standoffish
-Mesquitos
-Toilets needed service
-Random Rocks in tall grass my friend completely ate it going for a disc
Other Thoughts: The pay to play thing kind of sucks because I am cheap person but it shows on the course that are like this one. Also it being so new makes it a joy to play and it is clean. I would recomend it, it is as good as Hudson Mills.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

27 Holes worth of Seriously Good Discing

5+    9/13/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 214  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2016
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fairly complete course featuring elevation changes, short techinical holes, longer winding holes, and a couple of nice bomber holes that have you throwing from elevated tees. Course challenges all aspects of your game.
- Nice mix of flat and gradually sloping fairways, a few small valley-like dips and a couple of serious hills thrown in for good measure.
- Great shot variety: Excellent mix of L & R dog-legs, tunnel shots, and holes that really reward a good S-shot. The thick brush may favor a Tomahawk or Thumber, or other creative escape shot when drives stray from the fairway (and sooner or later on this 27 hole behemoth, they will). Several baskets are tucked away off the fairway and well guarded by trees. Up-shots that don't land in the sweet spot where basket comes off the fairway may require straddle or hyzer putts.
- Spacious dual concrete tee pads on most holes. Long and short play differently, even when the change in hole length is minimal.
- Fairways clearly defined and neatly mowed.
- Navigation may be a bit tough for first timers, but most paths are obvious.
- Decent tee signs with distance and crude (but effective) hole layout (same as Hudson Mills & Willow).
- Scorecards with maps, pencils.
- Course comes back to parking lot after holes 15 & 18 for abbreviated rounds.
- Party store across from north entrance (Milford Rd.) has a nice assortment of discs.
- Pay to play: If you saw how run down the previous course was, you'd understand. This course pays for itself and it's maintenance. The $2 fee keeps DG from being a cash drain on the park and filters most of the trouble that ruined the old course. Park presence helps to keep trouble from happening.
Cons: - Could use more variety in distances from the Am tees, and many of the Long tees are really nothing more than the same look with another 60 ft tacked on.
- Would benefit from rotating, alt pin placements.
- Elevation only a comes into play on
- Park entry fee for cars in addition to the fee to play disc golf (annual car pass is good at all the metroparks).
- I've heard park will charge pedestrians to enter the course because local kids say, "I'm just walking along with him," but play anyway
- Grass just off the fairway is extremely tall and thick, Shots just off the fairway can be tough to find.
- Rough is thick and hungry for discs (especially the last 9 holes). I recommend "safety in numbers" because of this. If you plan to play solo however, it's a busy course, and there's a very good chance you'll be able to hook up with a group of locals who will be happy to let you play in with them.
- Bugs can be a nuisance on last 9.
Other Thoughts: I delayed writing this review because I needed some time to let my bias for the old course fade, and wanted to judge this course on it's own merit (or lack thereof) after having played a few rounds here, and... I really like this place.

This course will expand your game. I throw mostly RHBH, playing here has helped me improve my FH shot, develop control on annie releases, and use understable discs to turnover then fade back to carry S-shaped fairways.

- Glass containers are not allowed, but dogs, beer and wine are.
-Many blind holes.
- They just put a few neat branch and rock lined paths between a few holes on the final 9 to make it easy to find the next hole.
- Basket for 18 is mounted on a large tree stump - looks cool.
- This is essentially Discraft's home course. It's only 10 miles from their building, and Jim Kenner and Discraft Pros heavily influenced its design. The first 18 are challenging, the last 9 were meant to be championship caliber.
- Course's hunger for discs has diminished; it has become a bit more forgiving now that it's "broken-in."

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cry-babies stay home...

2-4    9/6/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 78  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee-pads and signs at every hole. Well defined fairways. Great baskets. Easy to follow from basket to next tee. The course is spread out very well, nullifying most waits. A wide variety of shots, short to long, open and closed fairways, hyzers and anhyzers galore. The maintenance is immaculate. Utilizes the terrain and the scenery very well. Lots of hills and valleys.
Cons: No water holes. The signs at the tee-boxes could be a little more helpful. Better than nothing, I suppose. Very easy to lose a disc in the rough bushes and high grass. Still has a lot of casuals roaming around. That should change due to the challenge of playing here. It needs tissue paper at the tee boxes due to the constant crying of some players.
Other Thoughts: They really did a great job with this course. The changes to the old holes, while minimal, sets the bar high for the rest of the course. Lots of variety and plenty of what makes a golf course great- a challenge for all. Both pro's and am's will find this place very demanding and will want to play more than one round just to try and conquer this place.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  "Re-Design" half ass at best...

5+    8/12/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: bjanego
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Holes 1-3 are incredible from the longs. Holes 19-27 are simply amazing. The new holes represent what I'm sure the old kensington course looked like before the hordes of graffiti and underage drinkers took over the course.
Cons: The holes that we all grew to love, the "old holes" are now the same exact tee pads with the pin moved over to the RIGHT. I'd say that 70% of the holes on Black Locust, the pin is located off to the right. Not being a forehand thrower, this became increasingly aggravating and painful from having to carry my 20 disc bag around the long course when all I needed to use was my Valk. and flip it on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Its a Lefty's dream, or a forehanders dream for that matter. Backhanded flip-discers, prepare for a sore shoulder.

2/10

I'll stick to Hudson Mills.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Black Locust + Tobaggon = A tourney I'd like to play

5+    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: phipps
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Locust is a great course which offers a variety of hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots for lefties and righties alike. The front 18 are a real confidence booster, even from the longs, with lots of birdie runs (and even a few ace runs), and the champion 9 really bring even the best players back down to Earth.
I played the tunnel course for the last 7 years or so, and I love the pay to play, it really thins out the crowds and keeps the course much cleaner. The crew even carries a broom on their golf cart for clearing those sandy pads!!!
I must confess, I love this course because it has helped me to develop my backhand, forehand, and thumber shots.
Cons: Very few... I've lost a few discs (which, sadly, have not been returned, even with my name and number on them).
My score has suffered 4 or 5 strokes, but that has made me a better player and put me in the mindset to par every hole rather than going for birdies on every drive.
Other Thoughts: Once the Toboggan course is up, I cannot imagine a better place to play a weekend tournament.
Also, don't expect to shoot the round of your life out here. I've only played from the longs, and a 4 over was my best round on 27, averaging more like 8 over. The front 18 are great (not too hard to shoot an even, which is about what I avg) and the back 9 are as challenging as any holes I've ever played (avg about 7 over).
Great job Mark and the Discraft crew!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the new Kensington - better

2-4    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: atassac66
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A huge departure from the previous course. Although the original was a nice play, it was far to easy and allowed for bloated scores. The new layout boasts consistent elevation changes without just throwing off a hill. Plays through hills and valleys.

The distance doesn't need to be increased as the vast majority of the holes are more technical than anything. If you shoot an errant shot you will be losing an extra stroke the majority of the time.

Heavily wooded. Technical. Challenging. Unforgiving.

Great mix of hole styles with the last 9 being more of a pro caliber layout.... even from the am tees. I would say the majority of the holes are blind.
Cons: Not too many. SInce the course if brand new, the rough is VERY rough. I have played two times and have bled both times. Hardly any grip and rip holes. Gets a bit tiresome when you really want to utilize your max distance throws.
Other Thoughts: People came on immediately dubbed this a course that favors lefty's. This is a major cop out. There are a good deal of right turns but this only makes you reach in your bag more for understable, roller, and towahawk shots. THose who depend on throwing a desroyer/Surge type disc may be sour but it makes for a far more interesting round. Also, over time the course will ease as branches and trees are removed. Overall a big time pro caourse from the longs and the shorts are super challenging as well.

Hole 18 is affixed to the top of a massive stump. My first play through was plus 15 through 27 holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

now a legit course

5+    10/25/2013   8/6/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 71  Reviewed: 18
This review was updated on 5/23/2016
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Flowing layout with great use of new and original holes. Tee pads can be dusty sometimes but always in great shape. Short pad on the front 18 offer many ace runs while the longer layout offers a better challenge. The final 9, short and long, provide an entirely different and more challenging experience.
Cons: Gets very crowded during after-work hours and on weekends.
Other Thoughts: I think its a huge misconception that this course (first 18) heavily favors lefties or RH forehand shots. Most holes do finish right, but take a closer look. I used to resort mostly to my forehand until i realized a lot of the "lefty" or "forehand" holes merely require a more effective mild to moderate righty anhyzer backhand shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 112  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
--The course is maintained very well. There are both am and pro concrete tee pads on most holes, and every tee pad has a sign with distance. The new booth that says "Black Locust" where you play to play, next to hole #1 adds to the professional appearance of the course.

--Black Locust is layed out on some nice land with decent elevation hear and there. With 27 holes the lay out conveniently comes back to the parking lot after the first 18 (so you can stop by your car if need be, or just choose to play front 18 or back 9.)
Cons:
--Theres a somewhat lack of variety here. It feels like theres too many holes with open fairways and unforgiving brush on both sides. Also the course was just built and hasnt been walked on much, so theres gonna be some lost and found discs.

--Also I didnt like was how they changed the pin placements on some of the old holes, a couple nice runs got taken away with the change.
Other Thoughts:
--Alot of tight long distance shots and blind baskets make this course very challenging and demanding.

--The course is patroled by staff on golf carts who will randomly drive around hole to hole and check for passes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.