Milan, IL 
Camden Park - II Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
phenomenal!

1    9/27/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -best tee signs i have ever seen. pics of hole, distance to every basket placement. colored washer indicates which basket in play.
-best tee pads i have ever played on, extra width allows for ability to attempt the line YOU see rather than the designer.
-incredible, incredible layout hole after hole.
-elevation changes aplenty.
-tight course, but multiple lines on most holes.
-incredible attention to detail.
-benches, trash cans, brooms.
-every shot in the bag will come into play.
-incredibly well cared for, clearly loved course.
-very fun to play and potential to score around par if you have "A" game going, under par is doable but will require "A+" game. i am an advanced player, but really far from pro.
-steps, ropes, everything in excellent repair.
Cons: can get buggy, muddy, but soooooo worth it.
not cart friendly (so what!)
Other Thoughts: i have only seen one course with a better layout (wildcat bluff) but only because 2 holes there are so blow away, the rest are extremely comparable.
this course is more fun because it is a little more forgiving, but not much.
spoke to a couple locals who told me that mondays are work days and the dg community in the area spends time caring for the course. for example, there are new slats on benches that have either rotted or broken, there are ropes tied to trees to help you get out of creeks or ravines where steps would be pointless. this place is super duper cared for. it looks like everywhere your disc can land, someone has been before and given you a reason to be less frustrated after an errant shot by helping you out.
you get out of the car and jaw drops on the first tee. this course is LEGIT.
i would not recommend this course for the casual round with your girlfriend (unless you are dating paige pierce&#128513;) but the beauty of that is there is another course on the same property that is perfect for the beginner or the date night.
do yourself a favor and make a destination trip to northeast iowa/ nw illinois and play here, wildcat bluff (urbana ia) and shaver park (cedar rapids ia)
to have 3 courses in this level all within about 2 hrs of each other is truly incredible.
DO NOT MISS Camden Park II!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course ... thanks for all of the hard work

2-4    7/18/2017   7/24/2017
Review By: kbeetdigger
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing. It is carved (probably the best way to describe it) out of a very dense forest in the hills of Camden Park. Some holes you have to hit a very tight line through the trees. Some holes you have a little bit more generous fairway, but it is still a forest course. Elevation is used marvelously where the holes have such a wide variety of shots you have to throw. When you do have a steep incline up or down, volunteers have put in stairs to assist you, as well as bridges and other terracing. You absolutely won't believe the amount of work that has gone into making this course and great terrain playable and user friendly. Truly one of the best courses I have played.
Cons: Not cons ... but be warned this course is not beginner friendly, and you do need to be in shape to play it. It is built in some rather demanding terrain with steep ascents and descents required.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course ... thank you for all of the hard work making this beauty possible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ADV REVIEW. IGNORE IF YOU SHOOT >930

2-4    10/11/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 77  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2016
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Again this in advance styled review.Very technical ,a lot demanding left and right hand throws, flick ability for both left and right backhand is almost required to score low. Oh... and ability to throw An-hyser's with power was fun, and not something I usually get to contribute in the woods when it's this tight, in some spots.
Cons: Only that I can't play it everyday.
Other Thoughts: None. Perfect course, could use bathrooms that are closer. #1stworldproblems

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The best that only gets better

2-4    10/11/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: Bgso
Played: 114  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played CII twice so far, the first was for the rumble in April. The course is in the "Meat Grinder" layout. All long pins. What a challenge! Par 3s, 4s, and 5s all over the course! A lot of tough decisions to be made with regards to risk/reward and at the outer limits of the park the OB really challenges your shot selection. The second time the course was in a slightly easier layout, with a few shortened pin positions. The shorter pin positions still provide unique challenges that are not any easier to conquer!

-Tons of elevation. Downhill shots, uphill shots, shots that go downhill and then uphill.

-All sorts of shots required. Every hole poses a new challenge whether it's a unique line or pin position that is 2-3 shots away.

-Different pin positions on each hole. The layout we played the second time was a little easier than the rumble layout. But every pin position poses a new/different challenge than the others.

-Amazing Tee signs! Every tee sign has a washer to tell you the pin position. There are also points where they show you pictures of the blind fairways on the par 3s and 4s. Finally, photos of the "Camden Crew" are shown on the tee signs from the courses earlier days. Gives the tee signs some character!
Cons: -Not Cart friendly (is this really a con?)

-The ravines (don't throw into one, or prepare to get muddy)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in "Illinois," a must see if you are visiting the quad cities to golf. The crew that made and works on this course is amazing and is constantly making changes to improve the course. Compared to my home courses in Northern Illinois CII provides a variety of challenges and golf scenery that is almost alien in its nature.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wow

1    9/30/2016   10/7/2016
Review By: DiscHuker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't be scared off by the "wooded course" reviews that you see. In my opinion, this is not a wooded course, rather, it is a course in the woods. When I think "wooded course" I think 10' gaps, thick underbrush and being frustrated for most of the round. Camden II is not that.

It has everything you need to have fun and at the same time to be tested. Every hole has a fair way in the truest sense of the word. You don't need to thread a needle 100' away at any time. There are landing zones that put you in good positions or there are aggressive shots that can yield birdies or bogies.

Plenty of elevation without feeling like you need an oxygen mask to finish the round. However, lots of elevation usually mean lots of awful roll aways. Not here. The stewards have put in an unbelievable amount of time manicuring this place to include logs to stop those rolls in the most strategic locations.
Cons: This isn't a "con" per se but rather an observation. Because they are constantly improving the course, there are always areas that are being worked on. I can see the things that were installed 6 months ago and I can see the things that will be great 6 months from now.

There is one tree that I dislike and Sprague knows which one!
Other Thoughts: I was hosted by the course designer so I got to hear the stories of each hole; what they used to be, what they have changed and what they will be doing next.

This place is incredible and it made me want to be a part of this disc golf community.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gem Of A Course

5+    9/14/2016   9/17/2016
Review By: GoneDiscN
Played: 91  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Phenomenally crafted fairways with little to no chance of losing discs. Course flows very nicely. Not once did we get lost the first time playing. Seems like they're enhancing the course everytime I'm there. Overall a great course through and through.
Cons: None

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one

5+    7/13/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: ALitt
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love a good hike in the woods? This course is for you!
The ever-changing bridges and decorative features are great.
The course is a challenge with several pin locations, it's rarely the same thing twice.
The maintenance crew for this place are creative workhorses who have gone out of their way to add directional signage to keep you on course.
Cons: The underbrush gets thick in summer. Discs are easily lost. Wear some pants if you plan to go digging for yours or you'll meet up with the poison ivy and itch-weed.
Other Thoughts: We are lucky to have this place so close to us!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

MUST PLAY

5+    4/27/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: BuiltTooLong
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely one of the most memorable courses you will ever play. This course has obviously had more man hours put into it than I can even comprehend. The creative gusto exhibited on this course design is unparalleled. The elevation changes and tight lines will challenge even the most seasoned players, without impeding the more recreational players' fun. It seems that every hole has it's own unique twist that will leave you coming for more. Truly a work of art. Bravo!
Cons: While the teepads are incredibly wide, a lot of them are not long enough for me to complete my normal run-up. However, I know that their dedicated staff has been working on extending a lot of these pads and I am eager to put them to the test.

This entire course is in a heavily wooded forest, so in the middle of the summer it can understandably get pretty hairy in areas leading to some lost discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a gold level course that I feel will soon be mentioned with some of the top courses in the country. Add this course to your bucket list, you won't regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 C2 The Other Side

5+    7/5/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: ABrown4444
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Always changing Pin locations. Holes are fair yet still challenging. We have a local work crew that meets every Monday night and tackles various projects around the course. The amount of work and dedication put into this course really shows. The creativity is really unmatched and is a true one of kind course that when it's in the long pins it gives the best of the best a run for their money.
Cons: Summer time does tend to get thick in areas. The locals refer to it as the green boom. Also the creek running through the middle of the course and be like quick sand in places.
Other Thoughts: If youre near the Quad Cities check this place out. Also make sure to stop into our local pro shop Iron Lion with one of the best selections in the country with a ton a knowledge of the game and the discs they sell with competive prices too.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Who does this stuff???

5+    10/13/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: XylaZoo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Playing Camden Two is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're going to find. Nougat, creme or mint. Except you are guaranteed a chocolate! Three pin locations in all but 5 holes (to date- more coming) means a varied golf experience. Par could be anything from 54 to 63 with a slope rating from easy to hard. The thing that does not vary is the beauty, and most importantly, the uniqueness of the course. Benches and trash cans at every tee. Almost litter free. There is a long standing volunteer group that has constructed dozens of unique features that you seldom find elsewhere. Walls, bunkers, carvings, stairs, plaques and terraces abound. Thorny bushes and trees have been removed and replaced with other types of trees and bushes to ease play without making play easy. There are protocols adopted by the course builders years ago and they are beginning to take hold. With a work day every week, the saying, "there's always something happening at Cam Two" is oh so true! This course is still evolving, and being close to Interstate 80 worth a stop for any cross country disc golf adventure. The course has both a website and a Facebook page run by course designer Chris Sprague. Remember camdentwo.com worth a look.
Cons: Fewer than yesterday, fewer still in the future.
Other Thoughts: As a retiree, I spend a lot of time at the park and have personally met dozens of out-of-towners who have used DGCR to plan stops along their route. Have never spoken to anyone who was disappointed they had Camden Two on their schedule.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.