Milan, IL 
Camden Park - II Share
Uploaded By: Sprague16425 Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
phenomenal!

1    9/27/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -best tee signs i have ever seen. pics of hole, distance to every basket placement. colored washer indicates which basket in play.
-best tee pads i have ever played on, extra width allows for ability to attempt the line YOU see rather than the designer.
-incredible, incredible layout hole after hole.
-elevation changes aplenty.
-tight course, but multiple lines on most holes.
-incredible attention to detail.
-benches, trash cans, brooms.
-every shot in the bag will come into play.
-incredibly well cared for, clearly loved course.
-very fun to play and potential to score around par if you have "A" game going, under par is doable but will require "A+" game. i am an advanced player, but really far from pro.
-steps, ropes, everything in excellent repair.
Cons: can get buggy, muddy, but soooooo worth it.
not cart friendly (so what!)
Other Thoughts: i have only seen one course with a better layout (wildcat bluff) but only because 2 holes there are so blow away, the rest are extremely comparable.
this course is more fun because it is a little more forgiving, but not much.
spoke to a couple locals who told me that mondays are work days and the dg community in the area spends time caring for the course. for example, there are new slats on benches that have either rotted or broken, there are ropes tied to trees to help you get out of creeks or ravines where steps would be pointless. this place is super duper cared for. it looks like everywhere your disc can land, someone has been before and given you a reason to be less frustrated after an errant shot by helping you out.
you get out of the car and jaw drops on the first tee. this course is LEGIT.
i would not recommend this course for the casual round with your girlfriend (unless you are dating paige pierce&#128513;) but the beauty of that is there is another course on the same property that is perfect for the beginner or the date night.
do yourself a favor and make a destination trip to northeast iowa/ nw illinois and play here, wildcat bluff (urbana ia) and shaver park (cedar rapids ia)
to have 3 courses in this level all within about 2 hrs of each other is truly incredible.
DO NOT MISS Camden Park II!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course ... thanks for all of the hard work

2-4    7/18/2017   7/24/2017
Review By: kbeetdigger
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing. It is carved (probably the best way to describe it) out of a very dense forest in the hills of Camden Park. Some holes you have to hit a very tight line through the trees. Some holes you have a little bit more generous fairway, but it is still a forest course. Elevation is used marvelously where the holes have such a wide variety of shots you have to throw. When you do have a steep incline up or down, volunteers have put in stairs to assist you, as well as bridges and other terracing. You absolutely won't believe the amount of work that has gone into making this course and great terrain playable and user friendly. Truly one of the best courses I have played.
Cons: Not cons ... but be warned this course is not beginner friendly, and you do need to be in shape to play it. It is built in some rather demanding terrain with steep ascents and descents required.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course ... thank you for all of the hard work making this beauty possible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The best that only gets better

2-4    10/11/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: Bgso
Played: 114  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played CII twice so far, the first was for the rumble in April. The course is in the "Meat Grinder" layout. All long pins. What a challenge! Par 3s, 4s, and 5s all over the course! A lot of tough decisions to be made with regards to risk/reward and at the outer limits of the park the OB really challenges your shot selection. The second time the course was in a slightly easier layout, with a few shortened pin positions. The shorter pin positions still provide unique challenges that are not any easier to conquer!

-Tons of elevation. Downhill shots, uphill shots, shots that go downhill and then uphill.

-All sorts of shots required. Every hole poses a new challenge whether it's a unique line or pin position that is 2-3 shots away.

-Different pin positions on each hole. The layout we played the second time was a little easier than the rumble layout. But every pin position poses a new/different challenge than the others.

-Amazing Tee signs! Every tee sign has a washer to tell you the pin position. There are also points where they show you pictures of the blind fairways on the par 3s and 4s. Finally, photos of the "Camden Crew" are shown on the tee signs from the courses earlier days. Gives the tee signs some character!
Cons: -Not Cart friendly (is this really a con?)

-The ravines (don't throw into one, or prepare to get muddy)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in "Illinois," a must see if you are visiting the quad cities to golf. The crew that made and works on this course is amazing and is constantly making changes to improve the course. Compared to my home courses in Northern Illinois CII provides a variety of challenges and golf scenery that is almost alien in its nature.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gem Of A Course

5+    9/14/2016   9/17/2016
Review By: GoneDiscN
Played: 91  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Phenomenally crafted fairways with little to no chance of losing discs. Course flows very nicely. Not once did we get lost the first time playing. Seems like they're enhancing the course everytime I'm there. Overall a great course through and through.
Cons: None

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

MUST PLAY

5+    4/27/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: BuiltTooLong
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely one of the most memorable courses you will ever play. This course has obviously had more man hours put into it than I can even comprehend. The creative gusto exhibited on this course design is unparalleled. The elevation changes and tight lines will challenge even the most seasoned players, without impeding the more recreational players' fun. It seems that every hole has it's own unique twist that will leave you coming for more. Truly a work of art. Bravo!
Cons: While the teepads are incredibly wide, a lot of them are not long enough for me to complete my normal run-up. However, I know that their dedicated staff has been working on extending a lot of these pads and I am eager to put them to the test.

This entire course is in a heavily wooded forest, so in the middle of the summer it can understandably get pretty hairy in areas leading to some lost discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a gold level course that I feel will soon be mentioned with some of the top courses in the country. Add this course to your bucket list, you won't regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 C2 The Other Side

5+    7/5/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: ABrown4444
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Always changing Pin locations. Holes are fair yet still challenging. We have a local work crew that meets every Monday night and tackles various projects around the course. The amount of work and dedication put into this course really shows. The creativity is really unmatched and is a true one of kind course that when it's in the long pins it gives the best of the best a run for their money.
Cons: Summer time does tend to get thick in areas. The locals refer to it as the green boom. Also the creek running through the middle of the course and be like quick sand in places.
Other Thoughts: If youre near the Quad Cities check this place out. Also make sure to stop into our local pro shop Iron Lion with one of the best selections in the country with a ton a knowledge of the game and the discs they sell with competive prices too.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Who does this stuff???

5+    10/13/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: XylaZoo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Playing Camden Two is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're going to find. Nougat, creme or mint. Except you are guaranteed a chocolate! Three pin locations in all but 5 holes (to date- more coming) means a varied golf experience. Par could be anything from 54 to 63 with a slope rating from easy to hard. The thing that does not vary is the beauty, and most importantly, the uniqueness of the course. Benches and trash cans at every tee. Almost litter free. There is a long standing volunteer group that has constructed dozens of unique features that you seldom find elsewhere. Walls, bunkers, carvings, stairs, plaques and terraces abound. Thorny bushes and trees have been removed and replaced with other types of trees and bushes to ease play without making play easy. There are protocols adopted by the course builders years ago and they are beginning to take hold. With a work day every week, the saying, "there's always something happening at Cam Two" is oh so true! This course is still evolving, and being close to Interstate 80 worth a stop for any cross country disc golf adventure. The course has both a website and a Facebook page run by course designer Chris Sprague. Remember camdentwo.com worth a look.
Cons: Fewer than yesterday, fewer still in the future.
Other Thoughts: As a retiree, I spend a lot of time at the park and have personally met dozens of out-of-towners who have used DGCR to plan stops along their route. Have never spoken to anyone who was disappointed they had Camden Two on their schedule.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

A work of Art.

2-4    3/21/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: AHagglund
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2016
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is absolutely beautiful. In terms of scenery, it is the best that I have played. The deep ravines and near-100% woodland cover make it seem as if you're walking through a rain forest.
-Lots of different pin placements, and from what I understand they rotate through fairly often.
-Very efficient use of space. Even though the holes look and feel remote, they are surprisingly close together. If you don't lose any discs, the course can be played in about 45 minutes. Great for multiple rounds!
-I have never played a course with better signage. Pictures, diagrams, etc.
-Custom woodworking, custom benches, flags on the baskets,stylish foot bridges...tons of attention to detail. Everything seems unique and original.
-10x10 teepads which are a godsend on a course like this. They help to ensure that there will be a decent line off the tee on every shot.
-Probably the best thing about this course is that even though it is nearly 100% wooded, every single tee shot is fair with a distinct line to aim for. This means that you can score well if you hit your fairways. But if you don't....

Best holes: Geez. #1 is cool, #2 is cool in the B placement, #3 is a lot of fun, #4 is a signature hole...you know what, just play it for yourself!
Cons: -You could probably lose a few discs here during summer.
-Some would argue that some of the holes are too short for a course of this caliber? I see it as a plus though--it keeps the course playable for intermediate players even though it's ideal for advanced and above.
Other Thoughts: I created an account here specifically to praise Camden 2. The amount of work that would have been necessary to carve this course out of the woods is mind-boggling.
It's only rated 4.3, so there MUST be better golf out there to be had somewhere, but I am having a hard time imagining how.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 "The Other Side" that Jason Derulo was really singing about.

1    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 96  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - What a gorgeous piece of land for disc golf! Secluded from all other park activities.
- Multiple pins for every hole - at least three, sometimes four. Great varieties of layouts available. Makes for good distance variation, as well as shot variation. I drove FH, BH, hyzer, and anhyzer multiple times all over the course.
- Benches at every tee pad. Some made of logs and stumps, others are obviously whatever the Camden Crew could get their hands on. Love it.
- Good signage. Looks very new, and has a lot of thought put into them. Each sign includes par and distance for each pin placement, along with a map of the hole. Also, pictures of what the hole looks like from the pad or fairway, with the pin positions indicated. So if you can see the basket, you can see on the picture which pin position it is. Very nice.
- HUGE tee pads. Like, 10' x 10'. This is great (and needed), since there is such a variety of pin positions, on some holes a normal 4 ft wide pad just wouldn't cut it.
- Massive elevation on many holes, as the course cuts along/through/across two ravines with deep creek beds at the bottoms. I played the day after a heavy rain, and the water in the creek beds was manageable when discs made their way down there. I was not afraid of losing a disc under water, or it being washed away.
- Great upkeep on the whole course. Can't say enough about it. Lots of underbrush is obviously kept clear. I would not call any of the underbrush dense, in the slightest.
- Great bridges, walk-overs, and steps in most of the right places. With so many holes crossing the ravines and swells, they've taken the time to put in log and paver steps to get you down into the creekbeds, which I'm sure get a lot of use. There's also evidence of spade-cut steps as well, directly into the sidewalls of the ravines.
- Fantastic warm-up area with putting-accuracy baskets, and regular baskets.
- Many memorable holes, and a handful of epic ones. A strength of this course is that there really are no true filler holes. Each one seems to have been designed with specific shots and shapes in mind.
- Just entering the woods, and seeing hole #1 in front of you is a grand experience. You suddenly realize the type of course you are about to encounter. Fantastic starter hole over a deep gully. Number 10 is a similar hole, but does not feel in the least bit repetitive.
- #4 is the signature hole on the course in my opinion. Long, downhill shot over the ravine, but wonderfully green, and open enough to let you see your disc flight the whole way. Etched in my memory.
- #7 is a daunting hole from the bottom of the same gully up the hill right next to #4. Easier than it looks, but there is always the chance of a roll-away if you hit something.
- #8 is a nice long hole that finally gives you a chance to grip and rip without too much chance of hitting a tree within 100 feet of the pad. Still plenty of timber guarding the last half of the hole, but a clean, powerful drive can get you a long ways on this hole.
- #12 may harbor the steepest of descents of any hole on the course. Many pin positions here, allowing for short ace-runs at the bottom of the hill, or longer rips to get across the valley.
- #13 is the only wide open hole on the course, but that doesn't make it a cake-walk. Massive downhill par 4 that requires a huge 400 foot left to right turning shot to get even a look at an open approach.
Cons: - My list of qualms, that obviously don't bother me all that much, but should be noted:
- Navigation can be a bit tricky if you don't pay attention to the tee sign. There are a few 'next tee' signs by baskets, but since there are so many pin placements, they're not always near the pin. If you make note of the indicated path on the tee sign, you'll have no problems.
- On some blind/longer holes, it can be difficult to tell which pin placement is in. The signs have done a pretty good job of making this obvious, but from time to time it takes a little dissection.
- I played the day after a heavy rain, and well-worn paths on hillsides were definitely slick. Fairways were all still in great shape, however.
- Just one porta-john on site in the parking lot, and no water available.
- As with all damp, wooded courses, I imagine bugs are a major issue in the spring. And of course poison ivy, which will never be eradicated from any wooded course.
Other Thoughts: - I played on a mixed pin set-up, including some very short A pins, as well as a few of the longer C/D pins. It made for a wonderful round. I imagine this course would be very arduous if in a completely 'long' layout.
- While I found the course highly demanding, I did not find it ridiculously punishing. Losing focus could mean a wayward shot or inopportune deflection into the woods, but all were reasonably recoverable. Yes, it is a high-level course, but not just for the sake of being as difficult as possible. Players with just one solid BH or FH hyzer drive will struggle here, however.
- Finally, kudos to the Camden Crew of volunteers who keep this free course in tip-top shape. The obvious upkeep on this course is what pushed this course to the max rating for me, my small qualms aside. Well done.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tee Signs IN

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 519  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tee Signs: In.
Tee Pads: In.
Well Marked navigation: yes. Who ever said it was hard to figure out is directionally challenged. Super easy to get around on this course.
Challenge: It's going to take all you got to make par here.
Visuals: Hell yeah. This is a well-loved course. How many other courses have their own four man team working this hard week in and week out to improve the course? And it has its own website. That' pretty bad ass.


This is a complete course and it's not easy. It employs tight lines, elevation, blind shots and extreme greens. It's not a course you want to play if you have a tough time staying on fairways. This is a PRO level course and anyone shooting under 900 is probably going to struggle.
Cons: Mud. There is a creek that runs through a good portion of the course and with heavy rain this course is a swamp.

Bugs. There are a lot of them.

Poison Ivy. Stay on the fairway. That's my advice.

Sight lines. You won't always be able to see the basket. Not even walking up the fairway is going to help on some of these holes. Just go straight and pray you don't kick off the fairway.

Other Thoughts: This is not cart friendly. There are a lot of stairs and muddy hills which you must cross or climb.

Take brightly colored discs because if you get off the fairway too far, you won't have enough time in your day to find the disc.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.