Valdosta, GA 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: toad1212 Hole #6
3 / 305ft.   3 / 362ft.   3 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 White Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Lots of Older Outdated Reviews

1    6/30/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.897 Rating) A well executed course.
- CHARACTER - Everything that you'd expect from an established course with a bunch of amenities and disc golf comfort items. To start, a community board with course map next to the practice basket. A locked disc return box is located below the community board. Seating is at a good 75 percent of the holes and a few tees also have garbage cans. In addition, the three items listed below, that are especially well done items relating to course character.
- TEEING EXPERIENCE - Freedom's tee setup is among my favorites. To begin, three sets of nice concrete tees (Blue White and Red) at a majority of the holes. I am a big fan of this because it allows every type of player to have the opportunity to play at their appropriate skill level and also allow newer players to push their level. Most tees are shaded well and as stated above, most have seating.
- TEE SIGNAGE - Effective. The tee signs are color coded along their border by tee difficulty (Blue, White and Red). Signage, shows the layout of the hole, all the tee locations, the multiple hole placements and the direction of the next tee. Each sign also gives the distance for every basket/tee combination.
- NAVIGATION - The course map only shows 18 holes (no 5a or 8b). Yet despite not having a map of the full layout, I successfully found the two bonus holes with not too much trouble. There are just enough directional cues along this layout to keep you on track. I still peaked at my map about 3 or 4 times to verify by bearings, and so I would still advise downloading or printing the map before playing.
- CHILL AREAS - My favorite seating arrangement was hole (5a), which had several two foot high by two foot in diameter logs, circling the back side of the tee box.
- CHALLENGING - Not championship difficult but advance players will be able to test their skills here. I think your typical advanced player (950 rating) will average a couple down from the Blue tees. Playing above your skill level can be punishing, especially if your aim is suspect.
- SHOT SHAPING - Not quite as much as nearby Magnolia, but being able to perform magic tricks will be beneficial to one's scoring. Fairways bend in both directions, sometimes it's just an abrupt pocket towards the end, but other times its a gradual long bend. Some holes will require a disc to "S" out and also others you'll need to hit a down fairway window to leave a shot for birdie.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms of variety are well above your average 18 hole course. No two consecutive holes have the same feel. Really the only thing that's missing is a par 5 and a parallel water feature, ie creek play. Number (10) is a really fun bullet tunnel shot down a planted pine tree line. There are bomb-it opportunities on (5), (11) and (18). Several of the pin locations are guarded well and/or are pocket type shots. The list goes on. This layout is quite thee engaging mix.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - It's a nice looking course. Not bombshell level looks, but I'd give it a rating of a 3.5 out of 5. Hole (1) starts off as an eye pleasing open water clear shot. After that, a majority of the holes are fully wooded. The drawbacks include the power lines running thru a few fairways and the unnatural manmade pine rows which are not as appealing for the drop back views like that of natural woodsy areas.
Cons: The biggest gripes from the earlier reviews is the lack of hole signage and no concrete tees. Since both are non issues now, it's hard knock Freedom Park for anything of substance.
- ELEVATION - A very flat course. Holes (10-11), change by about 15 feet each. Holes (2 and 13) during my round had the basket placed on top of a manmade mound. Perhaps there are a couple other similar locations with this set-up, depending on the basket placement. There really isn't much else worth noting regarding elevation at Freedom Park.
- TIME PLAY - Not a terribly long course, but it will take longer than your average course. It took me over an hour to complete this course solo and I ran between many holes. Plus I never had to wait for other groups. So don't expect some quickie round here. I going to guess that running all 20 holes will take a group of 4 at least 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete their round.
- FORGIVENESS - Having an off accuracy day here could be quite punishing. Not the tightest course around but when you get off fairway the vegetation will start to eat you up. Ricochets in the wrong direction will likely end in boggy. However no major disc loss opportunities other than maybe hole (1) if the water level is high.
Other Thoughts: Lots of outdated reviews knocking Freedom Park for lack of hole signage and no concrete tees. Both have been fixed now. If every reviewer updated their review of this course, it would probably be over a 4.00 rating. I was personally not expecting this course to be as great as it was. (currently 12th in my ratings system out of 143 courses). I'd play this one everyday if I could and its now one of my favorite Georgia courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great use of property, fun course

2-4    4/8/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 43  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course does a great job utilizing the property it's on with minimal alterations. It plays around the exterior of park with some ball fields and through a power line corridor. Based on that I was expecting some pretty open holes, maybe a few tree lined fairways, etc... but I was quite wrong.

First up, hole 1... you drive over an OB pond to what I describe as an island green. OB right, rolling down to OB behind, OB in front (again rolling down). I threw a big spike hyzer and it stuck, but that sets the tone for the rest of the course.

Instead of all big open power-line shots, the course wraps through the woods and into dogleg left, dogleg right holes. There are multiple lines to attack each pin, then your kicked back out across the power lines. Not with them, but across them. The rest of the course ended up being a great mixture of service roads and wooded holes, all coming back to 18 where we finally got the long open power-line hole. I was happy to see it... oh but again there's an OB pond in front of the green. Throw carefully!

So yes, this is a great course. There are a wiiiide variety of holes out here. Some elevation comes into play about halfway through the round, but not much. Most of the ponds were dried up when we played so thankfully no plastic was lost.

There are multiple teepads per hole and each are clearly defined. There are even a few alternate (extra) holes in the back to make it a 20 hole round.
Cons: I think the course is pretty solid here. Some of the greens are fairly tight, but it fits in well with the design. One of the holes in the back (I think either 7 or 8) was pretty much a throw and pray kind of hole. There wasn't much of a defined fairway and you just had to get lucky.

Being in the south Georgia woods, there's also the risk for wildlife. Snakes, spiders, etc all live out there... so watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: If you're anywhere near Valdosta and looking for a place to play, you'll enjoy a round here in Freedom Park. There aren't many other courses in the area, so thankfully this place is good. Park in the southwest corner of the parking lot, head up to hole 1, and enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Visited GA, had to stop and play!

1    2/27/2017   3/2/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. I was in-town visiting w/out any discs, so I went to the local Academy Sports and picked up a DD Lucid Sheriff, Big Z Buzzz and a Judge and played this course.

- Variety- Not only do most holes have 2-3 tees each, but the actual holes themselves offer a great mix of variety, including multiple doglegs, technical and open holes, crazy long and short.

- Cleanliness- The whole park seems very clean, but I'm moreso talking about the holes themselves. The lines to and through the fairways are very clean. The fairways often are unobstructed and the rough is punishing enough.

- Signage- Many holes have signage pasted to the trees around the green areas to direct players to the next holes. I wasn't lost once during my round. Also w/ multiple tees, it's nice to see the distances from each

- Baskets- All Innova discatchers in great shape. Also there is a practice basket available, which many courses don't offer.
Cons: Not much to complain about, but for what's keeping it from being perfect:

- Elevation- there isn't a ton of variety. This isn't as much a bad thing as moreso just a reflection of the area being very flat.

- Signage- eventually the paper signs on trees will need to be replaced. Maybe a more reliable material signifying the next tee will be placed here. Although it wasn't needed for me, it could improve the overall quality

- Seating- Approx. half of the holes didn't have a spot to sit. Many benches were available, but premier courses usually have plenty of seating for spectators and those waiting to tee off

- Proximity to Pro-Shop: Granted, I was visiting and this was a spontaneous trip to the course (so I couldn't bring my own discs) but it would be nice to have a discgolf-exclusive shop nearby. Academy was a bit overpriced (although I was surprised at the availability of some brands!) I think that would also #growthesport in the long-run as a nice tandem to a great course
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It's actually closer to a 4.5/5 on my personal rating system, but more of a 3.5 for DGCR's ratings. I think this is a cant-miss course, especially with the lack of courses in the south Georgia area. I posted a +2 with discs I've never thrown before, so for intermediate to advanced players it can be a bit easy; however, the technicality on many holes can't be taken for granted! Great course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

High Cotton!

1    11/16/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 145  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 42.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun scenic challenging course with a wide variety of hole types. Long open holes with nicely manicured fairways to tight pinball style holes in the woods. Multiple tee pads and pin placements allow for more skill levels to enjoy and a greater variety of play. The course is of the somewhat harder type, but also of the very fun type. It looks like the course is well maintained and is big on making improvements. The course is somewhat rustic, though, which is a plus for me, and I would recommend wearing sturdy shoes and long pants.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about here. The difficulty and distance might be a little too much for beginners, but that is what you get from a modern course of this level.
Other Thoughts: This course will put a smile on your face even if it whoops your arse. It's a little way from I-75, but worth the stop if driving by and have the time. Plus you get to drive through cotton farming areas on the way to the course that you just can't see from the interstate.

Why do so many of our courses have holes underneath high power lines? Maybe that's what is wrong with us (DGers)! :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/1/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest strength of Freedom Park is definitely variety. The course transitions from wooded holes to wide-open fairways seamlessly. The wooded holes very wooded. There is one hole that would make a Carolina course jealous. It really hugs that line where it's almost to the point of, "this hole is stupid," but it stays on the side of, "this hole is awesome." It's a very narrow fairway between two lines of trees but where many holes like this are straight, this one curves sharply, almost to the point where it would be a nags but this one is just far enough and broad(arc-wise) enough to make you think, "I can do that." Great hole.
About a third of the holes here are across open terrain, mostly using a power corridor to create fairways. The best of those is probably 18, but only when it is in the far position. The far pin is just on the other side of a dry lake. It's a long drive from the tee and then either a layup to the short side of the lake or a risky attack on the pin. In the shorter layout, this hole would be a dud but I loved the decision it forced me to make today.
The rest of the holes fall somewhere in the middle. There are wooded holes with more generous fairways and open holes that force at least some sort of turn in the flight path. If you take variety to mean the most different fairway widths on a course, Freedom Park may be the most varied course around.
Currently, there are three sets of tees. The white and blue are cement and feature tee signs that show the location of all tees and baskets. Frequently bit not always, the blues provide a significantly different challenge. The red tees are often much shorter. They sport rubber mats and do not have signs. I'm sure that they provide a solid option for beginners but I personally did not spend much time investigating them.
There are two basket locations, marked by A and B position on the tee signs. I'm fairly certain that when a basket is in A position it is marked by a yellow flag and when in B position, a black flag.
Cons: Quite a few NAGS shots. Just some weird angles that force layups at very short distances. Also a few fairways that are essentially throwing down preexisting paths. ( I know that these might be fine holes but they are just features I don't care for.)
For the most part, what keeps this course from the elite is that the wooded holes aren't wooded enough. Even if they aren't traversing service roads, they are frequently too wide and not all that interesting. The open holes, with a few exceptions, don't ask for too much from a player.
It's also true that some of the basket locations are inferior. There are several times where I putted out, looked to see where the other potential pin was and said, "Man, I'd have like to throw to that one.
Other Thoughts: Spectacular, must-play course? No. Great, everyday, league course? Absolutely. Worth playing for travelers? Very much so. After writing this, and reading some other reviews, it looks like it has improved significantly since 2011.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 one very fun course

1    1/20/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: Chuck6995
Played: 241  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1 concrete tees on every hole
2 great tee signage letting you know where to go after you hole out
3 all the fairways are manicured and cleaned of debris
4 the local players are very friendly and willing to let you play thru if you are moving fast than they are.
5 to the next from any green was a short distance this also made my 2 rounds play very quick
6 the balance of woods and open holes made this course flow nicely, if you throw strong and far in the open you can bet you try to throw strong on the wooded holes with a good deal of confidence you might get an ace
Cons: only one con here hole 18 though wide open along the power line if you hit one and you can will turn a 3 into a 4 or 5 on your card
Other Thoughts: I look forward to coming back to this course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    7/20/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: Triple_Bogey
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on every hole. Practice basket. Nice DisCatcher baskets, including a practice basket right next to the parking lot. Well thought out course that uses natural obstacles to shape the holes. Lot of different shots required. Pin positions change often.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes are bordered by a swampy lake, so bring plenty of bug spray in the spring and summer. Tall grass on hole 5 makes it easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, and the only course in the area. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes, with a few birdie opportunities (holes 1, 4, 7, 12, 14, 16). Power throwers will love hole 18. The next time I visit Valdosta, I plan on playing a few rounds. Overall, a fairly difficult course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/12/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: simon14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very unique course.Open and wooded fairways, this course is very challenging with a nice mix of different shots.
Cons: Easy to lose disc in tall grass.Course will sometimes become flooded.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course!!!It is the best course I have played besides T2.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads for different skill levels. Decent mix between open and wooded holes. Some tight fairways and multiple pin placement keeps a good variety. Lots of distance on several holes. A number of tucked pins and hard right/left dog legs that'll test you for sure. There's a course map across from the practice tee and the course if fairly easy to navigate. A lot of the course is in the shade which makes it a great course to play year round. 18 is a sick ending to an awesome course! I think the best feature is the variety, it's never a boring course to play and you have to be consistent in order to score well throughout the entire course. Not really any "gimme" holes on this course, you've got to work for birdies and know when to lay up for par.

Cons: There's really not much to say...power lines make two of the holes a little tricky but that's not a design flaw. There are multiple pin locations and maybe having a marker somewhere to indicate whether it's on the right/left, short/long would help.
A few places where it's possible to lose a disc, I'd put a spotter on hole 9 just to be safe.
Other Thoughts: You've really got to have all parts of your game to score well on this course. And at the same time it's beginner friendly and a great place to learn how to play, because if you can play here you can play almost anywhere.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: lofton2107
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where to begin....First thing that i must say about this course is the varitey that you have with each hole. Most of the time you will not have the same kind of shot over and over again. The course is difficult but also makes you a better player due to the tight shoots that you have to make on a consistent basis. Overall the course is tight, wooded, some open holes, uses every bit of elevation that is out there to use. So if you like a good challenege and better your playing this is a great course. Its always puts me to the test.
Cons: Tee Signs. But I have talk to the club pro and they are in work as of now.
Other Thoughts: The atmosphere around the course is awesome. Everyone out there is friendly and willing to help each other out. The club is really involved with the local community. Since I have lived in the area I have notice that the club out there really listens to the community about what they can do to improve the course and it is working. The Tee pads added a lot to the course and everytime I go out there they are improving something else about the course. Can't wait for the Tee Signs to get in!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.