Flushing, MI 
Flint YMCA Share
Uploaded By: Beastman Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket is 120' behind the brush island.


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
For beginners only

1    12/21/2016   12/21/2016
Review By: nemdisc7
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are all in good shape.

I really liked the second hole- the basket was on top of a small hill.

It was a quick round with a couple fun shots.

The course was cleared out pretty well.
Cons: From the first tee you can see three different baskets. Might get confusing on where to throw on those holes.

Tee signs- They were wooden posts with black sharpie written down on them with a rough outline of the route and distance. Amazingly the distances seem accurate, I am surprised someone took the time to measure.

I could not find the fourth tee so I made up my own tee box.

Distance- Yes, like everyone else said... it's too short.

It took me awhile to find where the first tee was. I walked around the wrong area of the park for 10-15 minutes, got in my car to leave and then finally saw a couple baskets.
Other Thoughts: I have seen far worse nine hole courses.

I played in the winter, I think I was the first person to play since the snow was on the ground.

The designer intended this course for kids and those new to the sport. I think it is perfect for that.

What about the woods behind the playground area? Seems like a good spot to put nine more (and hopefully longer) holes.

This is a pretty short review... because it was a pretty short course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 there is one decent dg hole here.. that's it....

1    1/13/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through the side yard of a ymca in a not nice part of a not nice town.

Baskets-- all there and in good repair. stupid innova baskets.

Routing and nav--easy as the next teeposts are basically right on top of the previous basket

Hole 7-- the only bright spot in this other wise abysmal course.
Cons:
everything else.seriously.

challenge-- there is a 30' hole, 'nuff said. during the winter, this hole is literally a putt through a gap in the trees. All other holes are super short and aceable.

Variety-- course actually uses available topography decently... but being so short, it's not really a huge plus

Teesigns-- non-existant. there are posts with sharpie written numbers... that's about it.

teepads-- non-existant. muddy I'm sure.

hole #9-- wtf? there has to be a better way to get back to the parking lot. 200' of no fairway to 200' of decent fairway... I guess I don't get it.
Other Thoughts: this course is relatively awful but it's another course bagged!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worst... course... ever...

1    9/15/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + 9 Innova baskets

Cons: - Awful tee placement
- Tees themselves are pukable! Trip City :)
- No signage - only vandalism
- Gangsters (or "gangstas")
- Hole 6 is ridiculous - you may as well not throw
- Plant life overgrown
- Bugs up the wazoo
- With the exception of #9, every hole should be designated a par 2 and then removed from the course, and the baskets donated to a real course somewhere
Other Thoughts: I wanted to show my good friend and his girlfriend real disc golf and this course was the closest to them and a niner, so why not? I'll tell you why not! The course is overgrown, vandalized, unmarked, tiny, overly simplified, and boring. The only thing about this course that smells of real disc golf is that there are trees and grass and Innova baskets. Maybe this would be good for weak and small and timid disc throwers, children, and maybe for someone who has 20 minutes to kill, but other than that you should just avoid this course. Who wants to throw from a "tee" that's made with 4 inch tall pieces of wood in a big square? Very lazy. You're never throwing far, so you don't have to worry about run-ups or whatever, but it's very annoying. If you don't heed my warning and avoid this course, but still actually want to unleash a good strong throw, throw from right by tee 1 to the hole across the field. You'll probably lose a disc, but there is an open field to throw in. For that matter, why even come to this course? Maybe you have a death wish and aren't afraid of all the gangstas being shady in the parking lot... Anyway, there are good baskets here, but simply having baskets doesn't justify giving this course any '# discs out of 5'. This course isn't worthy of the 9 Innova baskets.

UPDATE: After playing so much in the last year, I've decided to re-rate this. It's not worth 1 disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 decent for quick games

2-4    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -baskets in good quality.
-pretty cleared out, no brush or anything along course.
-fairly empty when I played.
Cons: -needs better signage.
-got confusing around hole 6 as to where the basket was.
-tee pads are in rough shape.
Other Thoughts: When I first got there I was confused as to where hole 1 was (towards the back of the parking lot.) It was a pretty easy course but no major problems with it such as broken baskets, brush or trees in the way, etc. I was able to play 2 games in about 45 min which is good not knowing where to go your first time. Overall it is a great begginner course and a course to play multiple times if you are on a tight schedule. I would come here again if I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Here ya go kids

1    4/29/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for working on puts
Makes u feel like a pro
Easy navigation
Propably won't lose disc
9 ends right at the beginning to 1 for easy continuation
The short cut through hole 6
Cons: Short fairways
Tiny dirt tee's
Mostly flat
No real challenge
No par list (had to look up on this site)
Other Thoughts: Great for lil kids and good for working on ur short game. But an over all disappointment, there's good 9 hole courses and this is not one of them. It would be a better course if there were more obsitcles to throw around and were longer. And I don't see what eveyones deal is with 6 I aced that hole

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 FOR CHILDREN AND BEGINNERS

5+    6/28/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good for very young and beginner players.
- Takes less than 30 minutes to get through the course.
- A good short game/putt practice course.
- Easy aces if you practice enough.
Cons: - Not very tidy
- Lots of woody areas that seem to be "hobo holes"
- Animal skeletons are littering the high grass and wooded areas. Be careful with kids.
- Poison ivy is also out there.
- Fairways aren't kept up as well as they could be.
- Hole 6 is a bit confusing because the basket is actually left of you from the tee, but you see the basket to hole 8 right in front of you through a clearing.
- MOSQUITOES!
- Careful with the berries out there if you have children that like to try things.
- Tees are just dirt patches with a 2x4 barrier around them.
Other Thoughts: I only play this course because it's only a 2 minute drive from work or home for me. This is a mediocre course for improving your short game and your putts. The only real challenge on this course is trying to finish hole 9 in 3. If I have the time, I'd rather head across town to Goldenrod DG Course for a better challenge.

Overall: Not worth a trip to play unless you live close by.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 You Must Be Under THIS Height To Play This Course

1    10/31/2010   3/19/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
It takes less than 30 minutes to play.

It is free.

Baskets are brand new.

Most holes have lines to work for both RHBH and LHBH players.
Cons:
Ridiculously short holes. Only hole 9 has a reasonable challenge.

Barely half the land available was used. Completely flat.

Roughly defined dirt tees with no signage aside from hole number.

YMCA workers on site seem to have no idea that it exists.
Other Thoughts:
Apparently, this course was designed to introduce very young children to the game. I can see what they were going for here, but I believe they missed the mark terribly. The course seems to forget what its purpose is as the round wears on.

For example, the 30' hole may be a challenge to a 6 year old, but any technique they learn to master the hole will be useless for their game as they become adult. On the other hand, hole 9 has no real workable fairway, and with its (relatively) gargantuan length, kids will have little hope of effectively playing it, period.

While creating a course catering to kids is admirable, it is important to keep the focus not only on making it playable, but having the lessons the course teaches be useful as we progress as players.

This course has a nice piece of land with beautiful trees and challenging rough, and plenty of room for 9 pitch and putt holes. However, the current design is a hodgepodge that leaves you wondering if watching a Family Matters rerun would have been time better spent.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Putter round at best

1    8/15/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 428  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New Innova Discatchers
-No other activities in this part of park

This is a very short course across the parking lot from the YMCA. The first tee is along the fence near the corner of the parking lot. Marked by a wood pole. Good for small children, people who are just learning the game, or putter practice rounds.
Cons: -Short is an understatement
-No public bathrooms
-Natural tees
-Fairway not mowed
-Poison ivy

This course is not for anyone looking for a challenge. We stopped to break up the ride through Michigan to stretch our legs without playing an entire 18 hole. My wife loved it because she cannot throw very far yet. She felt good about her score. The fairways were not maintained at the time we were there.

I am a borderline Novice/Rec player and the only time I threw anything other than my putter was hole 9. I overthrew the basket on 6 of those holes. It's that short.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a good course to take small children to but not a stop to see kinda course. If you are looking for a place you can play a round in 10 minutes, look no further. Would be good for learning how to throw your putter off a tee but no need for drivers here. This course was designed with beginners in mind.

If you wanna stretch your legs on a round trip this would work, but not worth going out of your for.

Also, if you play this, hole 6 was designed and a mando/high hyzer route that turns basically a 180 from where your standing. Poking through the woods for 25 feet for the duece is not how the hole was intended to be played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/10/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: shane35007
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is perfect for a lunch round. The course is short and the pin placement is fun. Especially the 4th and 5th holes.

The first three holes are nice and open, allowing a player to work on curving throws.

The 6th hole, which many have commented on, is fun, because it's a silly layup shot or one that can be tackled with a "boomerang" toss.

Right now the course doesn't see much traffic, so you can play a couple discs and work on shots.
Cons: Last season there was a bit of poison ivy in the woods that are left of fairway on Hole 7.

Pierson Rd debris and lazy people produce litter on the course.

Dead deer bones by 1st hole basket, is a a kid magnet

Left handed throwers (like myself) might be killed by the 9th hole.
Other Thoughts: A trash can or two added would be great.

Look forward to the possibility of expansion.

Glad to claim this as my "home course"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Flint YMCA

2-4    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 111  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short and sweet. A nice course to help with the short game. Quick and fun course that is worth playing if its in your area.
Cons: Im not one to find faults in courses.I love the game and everyones take on putting a course together.
Other Thoughts: Its only 20 miles from home and will be playing this one many times to come. Also hole 6 is truly a short and odd hole that i NEVER expected.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.