Saugatuck, MI 
Shore Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #18 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 295ft.   4 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun and different!

1    9/28/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: mr_ruxbin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: Very cool course. Has an excellent mix of wide open throwing and woods. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course and I believe it will become a must play anytime we visit the west coast from now on.
Cons: Could use slightly better signage to direct you to the next tee, only on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: Great mix of trees, open shots and elevation changes. Very fun, even for a beginner.

Shore Acres Provides Challenges For Better Players!

1    8/30/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shore Acres Park is a large park next to the mansion. The parking for the course is in the lot in front of the little church. There is a kiosk and benches at the start. Almost every hole throughout the course has at least one bench and oftentimes two. # 3 has a protection wall built to protect players from long throws on 7. The concrete tee pads are nicely long (like 14' long), many are extra engineered with extra support and some have bark in front for follow through. Many holes have two baskets which I find a little confusing since it's not consistent. The tee signs show routes for both white and gold. I think the gold have Chainstars and the whites ????

The course probably plays at an intermediate level. There are lots of solid holes but no one hole really got me excited. I couldn't pick a signature hole. There are five extra alternate holes. The group I was following played these three after # 15 and then the last two after 18 including the tepee hole.

# 12, plays 277' to a basket set among three large Oak trees. It's just a very pretty hole.
Cons: I happened to begin my round just as a group of locals were beginning a doubles round. So I was able to follow them. I would not have liked to navigate this course solo.

Many solid holes but none really memorable.

Wind could be a factor.

I'm not a fan of putting in alternate holes and of having two baskets on 2/3 of the holes. I found the whole operation a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a challenging course providing excellent competition for intermediate and advanced players. I think it's a little overwhelming for beginners and recreational players.

Shore Acres has a wonderful mixture of hole types (uphill, downhill, Ace runs, open bomber and tight and technical) and also changes from open to wooded and back to open. There is so much great golf here to be played. I

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    10/18/2015   10/19/2015
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate to Advanced level course. Shorter baskets could cater to beginners. Could is challenging for all skill levels. Course is set in a multi-use park where bikers and walkers are present.

Baskets - Most holes had 2 Chainstar baskets per hole. 3, 6, 7,9, and 17 did not have a second basket. There is a long (pro) short (intermediate). Baskets caught great and provide extra variety. There was also a practice basket as well as an extra hole alongside of hole 17.

Tees - One large concrete tee per hole. Even though many had sand on them, they were grippy. Hole 2 had an alternate rubber tee.

Signs - Nice billboard at start of course listing rules and had a map. I printed one out before coming. Each hole had a wooden post that listed the distances of each basket, as well as a directional map for the basket locations. Accurate for the most part.

Variety - Everything from short and tightly wooded holes to long downhill bomb throws. Every hole had some sort of obstacle (elevation, trees, fences, etc). There were only 5 holes that were truly flat (5, 7, 11, 12 and 15). Every other hole on the course had an elevation change that added to the challenge. Great mix of hole types: Technical holes blended well with long bombers. Accuracy and approach shots are key here. Course went back and forth from being open to wooded to open and ended with an uphill wooded shot. Every hole at this course was different which really stands out.

Elevation - I will give this a separate category. I am from Indianapolis where elevation changes at courses are not very common. This was an added bonus.

Wind factor - Being so close to Lake Michigan, wind can make or break your day. Be prepared.

Navigation - With the exception of a few holes, course flowed pretty well. Without a map this may have been a challenge.

Extremely scenic course. Leaves were changing color when I played and it was very peaceful. Brought my fiance and she spend the whole time taking pictures.

Well maintained - There was a bench, if not 2, at every hole listing the group or person who sponsors the course. Most holes had buckets for trash/cigarette butts. The entire park was clean and well maintained.

Started and ended on a positive note. The iron course sign sets the tone and hole 18 completes it.

Not too far from the highway/town. There are food/beverages options not too far away if needed (especially during the summer when a few of the holes lack shade).

If in a time crunch, it is possible to play a 9 hole loop. 1, 2, 8, 13-18.
Cons: Not many cons for this course. Pretty much had everything except water hazards!

Course was very crowded when I played (2 PM on a Sunday). There were several groups of 4 or more players. Had to wait at several holes. Fortunately the folk were friendly and let me play through!

Navigation was tricky at a few spots. Some of the longer baskets are closer to different holes. From 2-3: I first saw the tee for 8. From 8-9: I first saw the tee for 13. Having a map helped. Improved signs as well as signs pointing you towards the next tee would greatly improve the course.

A few of the baskets are close to the next tee. I was standing on the tee for hole 3 and someone overshot hole 7 and went right over my head. Long basket for hole 14 is close to the tee for 15. A small safety issue but a con none the less.
Other Thoughts: This was a very solid course. There is not much I would change. Normally I prefer if courses have 2 tees per hole to cater to different skill levels. Having 2 baskets per hole took care of that. If the course had improved signage and alternate tees (concrete, rubber, or natural), course could easily be a 4.5 out of 5.

With the course being as busy as it was, a second course in the Saugatuck area would make this course less crowded. There are several courses within a 30 minute drive.

I was in town for a vacation and this course really hit the spot. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area or anyone visiting Saugatuck (a nice town if you have never been). I don't often get up into Michigan but would love to come back to play this course (as well as some of the other courses in the area).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course on Michigan Dunes

1    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2015
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: •Great Layout
Very good use of elevation, wooded and open areas, guard trees, left-to-right and right-to-left holes, short and long holes.
•Very Well Maintained
Local DGC performs upkeep, signage, pads, baskets and very nice hand-made benches at each hole. All baskets were in great shape and most holes had a second basket (they are currently about half way through building a second 18 hole course)
•Well Groomed
Tightly trimmed fairways, some tall rough, but not overbearing, heavily wooded holes still maintained and playable. Clean, textured concrete pads in good condition.
•Good Signage
Map and scorecards at the 1st. Good signage at each hole with most holes having two baskets - both marked at the teepad.
•Trash Cans on Every Hole
No trash to be found at this park whatsoever besides the occasional cigarette.
•Friendly DGC
Ran into two locals from the DGC cleaning benches, picking up trash, cleaning tee-pads and removing graffiti. Both invited my girlfriend and I back for that night's Glow Round while we were in town on vacation
Cons: Very few and very minor cons;
•Slightly Crowded
For as much room as this park uses, there are multiple overlapping holes. Pin 7 shoots within feet of pad 3. Pads 4 and 10 are on top of each other causing some crowding. Nothing bad by any means, but, a bit crowded.
•5-6 VERY Tight Woods
3, 4, 7, 11, and 18 are wooded, but have good paths for a challenging line. Holes 5 and 6 are so tight that there is no way through the trees without pure luck. Could use a couple trees removed to create a hard line in from one side or the other.
•Slightly Confusing
We did get lost on two holes trying to find the next pad. Didn't lose much time, but, a couple more signs could help newcomers.
Other Thoughts: Overall, in my top 5 Michigan courses. Challenging, but, not discouraging - great variety of hole types (L/R, R/L, Elevation, Open, Wooded, Long, Short, Grass/Sand) - VERY well maintained - Trash Cans/Bench on every hole - Good community in the area, lots of players cheering on players on other holes and grouping up to speed rate of play.

I really enjoyed this course for the layout, challenge, scenery (small cactus, sand dunes and a '20s mansion overlooking the course) and the upkeep performed to this park.

Would definitely recommend if you're able to get out to the south Holland area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Variety

5+    4/10/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: Robo Bug
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of long and short holes, with excellent use of trees and open fields, located near Lake Michigan and the Felt Mansion. The local league looks out for both the course and the mansion, keeping the area well groomed with newer signs, benches, and now alternate hole locations to boot. :)
Cons: Being near Lake Michigan usually means you'll be dealing with significant gusts of wind from time to time, but don't let the practice basket's environment scare you off. It gets a little less windy as you go.

Also, Tuesday nights are league nights, and the league is HUGE!!! They start around 4:00 PM and will go far into the evening, and though the league is pretty nice in general, they will consume the course with over 80 members. So if you're looking to squeeze in a quick round on a Tuesday night, I'd suggest heading to Macatawa Greenspace in Holland, MI.
Other Thoughts: This place only gets better with time, and with the dedication of the Shore Acres League. I currently live an hour away from the course, but my wife and I drive up to it for league night every week because of the love and care the league members show for the course. If it wasn't for them, we'd probably head over to Kalamazoo.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice enough

1    8/20/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A number of well-designed holes makes this course a bit above average. It contains a nice balance of woods (precision) vs. fields (power & control). A bit of elevation change on a couple of holes was nice as well. Kind of cool teeing off on hole #1 on the lawn in front of a mansion.
Cons: Pretty, but not amazing. The way it's named and where it's located gave me hopes of tee pads with stunning Lake Michigan dune views. Unfortunately, that doesn't happen. Also, they need a course map at the start, or paint a bar of each basket to point the way to the next hole.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tuck into Saugatuck for the fun of it

1    8/17/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 246  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 13.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-designed course that's both challenging and very fun to play.
• Discplay: Wonderful variety and balance across pretty much every facet of the game.
+ Nice mix of short/med/long holes.
+ Well balanced between left, right, straight, and more complex fairway shapes.
+ Changes pace from open to wooded a few times - nicely avoids feeling repetitive.
+ Elevation's a factor on about 10 or so holes with an assortment of uphill, downhill, rolling and flat holes, plus sloped greens coming into play on a couple of holes that otherwise play kinda flat.
+ Many holes allow for multiple routes, but still has a few that have only one or two ways to get there.
+ One set of tees with alternate pin locations. Both sets of pins are ID'd on the tee posts with black and yellow routes and distances. Hole 10 has both baskets in the ground...does a great job of guarding the short Ace Run.
+ Does a good job of accommodating a range of skill levels.
+ Punishes bad shots fairly - doesn't clobber you for missing by a bit (but you could get some nasty tree kicks).
+ Has many holes that favor well placed tee shots over distance. You're better off making sure you hit a landing zone to set up a nice approach to some of the well-guarded baskets as opposed to trying to get some extra D off the tee. Another 20'-30' added to your upshot shouldn't be a problem if you've set up a good look, but if your tee shot leaves a less than desirable look at the pin, being closer won't help. This is a course where you could play two rounds and really end up with significantly different scores, depending the placement of your tee shots. There are also some holes where big D can be rewarded, possibly netting deuces where noodle arms can only hope for a 3.

• Equipment: Baskets in decent condition. Tee signs were simple, yet effective, with hole #, as well as color coded routes and distances to both pin locations. Concrete tees were occasionally sandy, but in good condition. Everything seemed quite well-maintained, didn't see much trash anywhere.

• Routing/Nav: Quite good for the most part - two of us made our way around in short order having never played here before. There are a couple of spots you could proceed to the wrong tee, or follow what seems like a path to the next tee, (only to find it's really a bike trail), but the good news is the map is accurate and the tee markers let you know if you arrived at the right (or wrong) tee.

• Aesthetics: The scrubby nature of the coastal flora combine with woods and open fields to provide a setting unique from anything I've played to this point. I found the change of scenery from field to woods to coastal scrub interesting and thus added to its eye appeal - very pleasant, but not stunningly beautiful.

• Memorable holes: I'll remember more holes here than I will from most courses, but these really stood out for me: #'s 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10,17, 18, and 14's just hard to throw only one disc on. Feel free to make your own list. I really liked both pin placements on #10. Wish I could have seen more of the alt pin placements on the other holes... they were in the yellow position for my round.

• Extras: Benches at every tee.
Cons:
• A few holes (8, 9, 10) were bunched a bit closely together - off target shots could affect other players. These are good holes, so I see why they did it... but I'm not sure they couldn't have arranged them more of a safety margin while still retaining their character.

• Chainstars catch great but can be tough to spot in shadowy woods.

• Hole 6 seemed a bit poke'n'prayish - more luck than skill.

• Watch out for sandspurs... not nearly as bad as some plants, but the little buggers can wipe the smile right off your face.
Other Thoughts: Shore Acres strikes a great balance between leaving you frustrated and having a smile on your face by doing both of them quite well. My son described Shore Acres as having "holes with a lot of character," ...I'll agree with that. Very solidly designed course that's so well balanced, there truly is something for everyone here. Many of the holes here seem straightforward enough, but there's more to them than meets the eye. Plenty of interesting lines and variety to keep you engaged the entire round - every hole feels distinct from the others.

• Wind can certainly come into play here.

• Map shows water in play on 14...I have a feeling the low lying bowl is typically swampy during the spring, but there wasn't a drop in sight when I played.

• Seemed pretty well secluded from other park goers during my visit, but it's not completely disc golf dedicated land - there are some areas where you might need to wait for a walker or jogger to clear out of range - it wasn't much of an issue, but I suppose it could be on a busier day with more traffic in the park.

Definitely an excellent course, mostly because of the wide variety and balance across all 18 holes. Not a course I'd describe as "epic" or "intimidating," Shore Acres tests your skill while being very inviting. It has a feel all its own, and I highly recommend it. Pairs well with Macatawa Greenspace (about a 20 min drive) for a great day's discing that's a refreshing change of pace and scenery from typical Michigan courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Can Be Here All Day

5+    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: nothing but chains
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The hole locations makes it very challenging on a few holes.
Some very hard tee shots involving you to curve your disc around trees.
Some wide open holes as well where you can just chuck as hard as you want with nothing in the way.
Everything about this course is amazing.
Great way to hang out with friends and do something that is time consuming and free!!!
Cons: Bring water.
Other Thoughts: Don't expect to be good if it is your first time. This course is very hard for a first time discer

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Discin' in the Dunes!

5+    10/13/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2016
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic use of the existing landscape and topography.
- Awesome tee pads. Finished with just the right roughness for that perfect grip. A little sandy on some but that's just the nature of playing in a setting like this.
- No one hole looked like another. Great variety of open, tight and ridiculously narrow shots.
- Not brutally long but some long holes in the mix to keep the big arms happy.
- Nice use of risk/reward. Errant shots are punished here but not horrifically so. Many of the holes place value in accuracy over distance.
- Fun. Every hole was just plain fun.
- Great course to bring beginners. As I already stated not an excessively long course as to not frustrate the newbs too much but still interesting for the pros.
- Trash? What trash? Very nicely kept up park. Trash cans throughout.
- Benches EVERYWHERE. Sooo nice after ambling up and down some of those sandy dunes.
Cons: - When I played there this park was BUSY. A lot of non-dg'ers were walking the trails that criss-cross many of the fairways. Definitely some safety hazards present here so pay attention to the activities around you.
- Navigation needs to be improved. No next tee signs and a course map is sorely needed. At the first tee. The posts with the hole information are nice and all but it was still a little confusing where the basket is located. Along this item I noticed there were some areas marked off with white paint. Is that OB? No idea. So some more detailed maps at each tee box would be handy because the white lines could not be seen from the tee.
- #9 and #10 are just too close together IMHO. People teeing off on the #9 tee could easily make it to the #10 basket in the gold position with a slightly of course RHBH shot. I know, it's kind of a picky con but get over it. ;)
Other Thoughts: What a great course. Certainly not your run of the mill professional caliber monster with 1k' long holes but definitely a riot to play. One thing to keep in mind here is the wind. Not a con mind you, but just something to be aware of this close to the lake. The wind coming off the lake can be brutal.

I think if the navigation was tidied up a bit this is certainly a 4.0 course in my book. I will definitely be back and play it again. If you are in the area check it out. Certainly worth the time and effort to play here especially with all the touristy towns nearby including, Saugatuk, Holland, South Haven and Saint Joseph. Just a great area to hang out and visit.

UPDATE: This course is a great example of what a good club can do for a course. They just recently had a cleanup day and with all the little landscaping fixes I just had to come here and adjust my review to 4.0. Way to go folks keeping this course great!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Uninspiring golf.

1    6/19/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Great location near Lake Michigan.
-Very long course.
-Beautiful
Cons: Confusing layout. I'm still confused by the signs. There are multiple baskets per hole?

Chased out aggressively by a league wanting to play two hours before league play began.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a local. As an outsider looking in, I really can't recommend someone come here if they're not a local. I didn't think the local players were nice at all. I was there hours before their league play started at 6pm and I was still receiving negative comments from members of the league (no idea the league name. Blue shirts.)

Add to this the confusing nature of the course and it's a clear "do not recommend" to those who aren't already regulars. The course itself is good, but the overall feeling of being there was very negative and hostile. To be clear, I was not playing during league time and there were a lot of other non-league players there.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.