San Angelo, TX 
South Concho Park Share
Uploaded By: cad614 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
ug, did not like anything about this course

1    4/26/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 345  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 29.2 Years
Pros: lets see
It has baskets
it is somewhat marked with posts
some of the course was mowed
does have a couple of interesting holes
Cons: VERY long walk from 18 to 1 tee.
Grass was knee high with STICKERS in some areas. I was pulling them out of my socks for the rest of the day
Other Thoughts: 4th course of the day, I had already played the 3 short 9/10 hole courses.

I printed out a map of the course from this page, it helped me a little, but the course has been redone and map is almost useless.

Original hole 1 is gone, you have to walk all the way to old hole 2 that is now hole one.

After playing 3 short courses with tee pads, it was funny to see the 18 hole course having dirt tee pads. The tee area is marked with a board in the ground and a tee post with the hole number on it.

Highlights of the course

Most of the holes are wide open throw it hard, but keep it out of the road and loosing it in the river. Hole 3 was a fun hole, nice throw though the woods with a double mando. Hole 4 actually is not marked with a post, but has an actual tee box with a fake grass tee.

Hole 5 is another double mando making you throw though the thickest part of the trees instead of the easy left to right or right to left shots you will want to take.

Then you get to hole 7 though 12, you righty hyzer out on any of these holes and you loose your disc. Hole 12 is a VERY narrow fairway on the side of a hill. You have OB road on the right and loose your disc at the bottom of the hill river.

Hole 15 was intersting. I thought the basket was stolen because there was a flag on top of the hill in the fairway. No, the basket is around the corner and down onto the side of the hill in a small pocket near the river. Scary shot and tough if you miss your putt. I was too scared of loosing my putters and wound up taking a 5 double putt here.

Hole 18 was interesting. 2 mandos marked on the same side of the fairway to keep tournament players from throwing into the playground area. Sorry, nice hole, but rec players don't play mando's and will still throw right into the playground. the hard part about this hole is trying to keep your disc from skipping across the fence line running down the very narrow fairway. yea, I took a double OB 6 on this hole as I hit one of the trees on the right and kicked off into the rough, 2nd shot into the rough, 3rd shot almost into the road near the basket and hit my longest put of the day to save the 6.

Would I play this course again? Never. Enough said.

 

1    7/20/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 166  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: I appreciated how difficult this course can be. The baskets were nice and the course was easy to navigate. After hole 11, cross the street and under a tree you will see hole 12.
Cons: The course is a little long. I also hated how the majority of the holes throw right along the river. I enjoy a good risk/ reward shot but not on every single hole. The grass was high on almost every hole that there was no skips. Hole 13 throws right by hole 16's tee pad. If there are multiple people playing the course like during a tournament holes 13-16 are very overlapping. Also, hole 18 throws right beside a playground. There is a mando to try to avoid that but still.

 

2-4    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 70  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14 Years
Pros: Great course. Baskets are in great condition. A lot of open/big arm shots on this course with some technical shots mixed in. OB can get a little hairy, but tha makes things interesting.
Cons: This course will pretty much eat one of your discs, the OB water on this course is very unforgiving. After a couple water holes it can be frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Great course, another must play if your in the area.

 Really fun course

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 182  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 22.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course that plays along the concho river. All of the course equipment was in good shape when I played and I didn't have any trouble navagating the course. Lots of risk reward shots, especially on the putts. I had several that I layed up from 50' just because I didn't want to putt it in the water. Lots of risk reward on the tee shots too with OB on numerous holes.
Cons: Course had a lot of tweener holes, that is holes that aren't par 4's but you really can't 2 them. At least from my perspective as an player that throws 350-400'. Probably could have better singage to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 6:30 in the morning and there was zero wind. I imagine I would have hated this course if the wind was up. It would be easy to put a lot of discs in the water. That said I bet this makes from a great tourney course.

If you are traveling through the area play this course. It's worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interm. Player: Difficult course esp. near the water. Really liked the length. Big arm throwers seemed to hate it but for those who can't throw +400 this is a good course.
Cons: Watch out for #11. OB is going to happen most of the time and you'll loose some plastic. I like some danger but half the course is a bit much.
Other Thoughts: Overall good course and was a good addition to 2011 "Crush on the Concho"

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not "great" but still, pretty good

1    7/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: BewareOfPenguin
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
Pros: This course starts out pretty straightforward and gets more interesting as you play into it. The #4 basket is located in the shade of a really large tree. A nice break on a hot summer day. Holes #6-9 are in close proximity of the nearby river. A bad throw will land your disc in the drink real quick and it looks like fishing for discs would be rather difficult. Hole #11 is a bit devious. You have to contend with a telephone pole guy wire and a slope near the basket that drops off toward the river. I really enjoyed the tunnel shots on the last few holes.

It appears that the course is set in a decent neighborhood. Also, there's isn't a ton of other things in the park that would attract a multitude of people that might get in the way.
Cons: Not big on dirt tee boxes, especially with the rain that the area has been experiencing lately.
Other Thoughts: Not the most technical course I've seen, but certainly enjoyable.

 

1    8/23/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, Awesome job San Angelo for another new course and most challenging course yet. Not a heavily used park at all which will make for safe play as well as quicker play. A very good use of the land provided. I do hope to see hole 3 a Par 4 some day soon? But long holes, short holes, open holes, and canopy holes. Even a nice tunnel mando shot to finish up with. 5 or so holes hug the river with one hole that is just sick, like something straight out of Pebble Beach, or like landing a plane on a city street surrounded by water. 6 out of 6 on my card through out off the tee. Fun Course!
Cons: I have never been a fan of natural tees. Hope to see that change. First tee has the distance on the pole. That too would be nice on all. Could use a few more trash cans. When 2 of 3 above happen then I will give it 4.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play some dubs tourney action out there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice try!

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 34.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a pretty good attempt to put a championship caliber course in a park without enough room.The first two holes are out of a normal throwers range so after the 80 to 100 ft up shot take your par. Hole three at 694 ft is a decent par 4. Street ob 10 ft from the pin is kinda close on a hole that is already dificult. Hole 4 is under a neat pican tree. Five is cluttered with power lines not much of a hole. Six, 7, 8, and 9 are down the side of the river and this is where you will lose some discs. Very difficult to retrieve discs here. I think this is where some shorter holes would have fit with less chance of getting wet. The back nine has less distance but some small tunnel shots. The park is clean and the residents don't seem to mind discs landing in their yards.
Cons: The back nine has two par 2 holes that are too short and open. The tee marker posts are sometimes in the way of a right angle walk up. Holes near water with slope to water caused me to play safe, putts can easily bounce off rim and roll to water. On at least 4 holes the best path is over the street.
Other Thoughts: This is their best course yet but still not the ideal park or land.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.