Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 295ft.   4 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Brookside

2-4    6/4/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice elevation changes
-Good variety of distances
-Scenic area
Cons: -Sometimes have to deal with waist-high grass in the lake bed
-Not the greatest part of town
-Easy to lose your disc on a few of the holes (especially hole 1)
-Several of the holes (1, 6, and 15 come to mind) really favor lefties. This isn't a con per se, but it definitely punishes people who like to throw RHBH.
Other Thoughts: I really wish the designers had made more use of the elevation changes provided by the lake bed. It only comes into play on a few of the holes (3, 4, 18, and possibly 17). Hole 10 is long and fairly easy to birdie...just be careful not to land your disc up in one of the short trees. Those things are prickly. I ripped the skin off my arms climbing up to retrieve my driver.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice long course

2-4    4/10/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot more holes with good length than any others in the area. It's nice to be able to have the chance to rip it a few times on a course, especially when these longer holes are not all wide open. Brookside offers a nice mix of some open holes across a flood plain and holes through scattered mature trees. The course also calls for a nice mix of shot selections, with lots of holes that turn both ways, and some straight ones mixed in.

The few holes that play in the part of the park with elevation changes do a nice job of making use of this elevation. I really enjoy the shots from one side of the flood plain to the other, both up and down.

The majority of the tees are nice concrete pads that seemed large enough, and were in good shape. The couple tees that were not concrete were at least level and clearly defined. Most of the signs were also intact, and had distance and par for the hole.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is the navigation issues. There are three places where the next tee is not at all obvious, and requires a fairly long walk. As some previous reviewers stated, these walks would not be bad at all if they were clearly marked and easy to follow. There were also some signs that were missing, and this was in a part of the course that had obviously been changed at some point, leaving some confusion in the layout.
Other Thoughts: This course will test many different parts of your game, and makes for overall an enjoyable round. I would agree with the other players who have said that this and nearby George Washington Park make a great pair, and between them you will really feel like you've used almost all your different shots.

The course is not in the nicest part of town, but neither I nor anyone I know has had any issues playing here, and all the people I've met on the course (including many non dg players) have been friendly.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2012   5/7/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 259  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a longer course with large mature trees and a solid design given what there is to work with in the park. It makes good use of the few available trees to shape some of the holes. About half the holes are medium length (275-325ft) and the rest are longer (350-600ft).

There are some big elevation changes on a few of the holes at the start and end of the course which is around a man made drainage area. There are some of the most fun holes on the course.

The shot variety is good, there are a few holes that force turnover shots and some other with multiple routes through the trees. The trees create a low ceiling on some of the holes which adds to the challenge here.

There are walking paths and roads that come into play on a number of the holes. After playing a tournament here it seems they only play the roads as OB, not the walking paths. That's worth mentioning as it's not really noted on the signs.

If you've got a big arm you'll have fun out here trying to get your birdies. The course is beginner friendly because it is so open with little rough to worry about, but as previously mentioned it is on the long side.

There are two great par 4 holes holes here which I always like to see on a course. Hole 1 is the first par 4, a 600 ft turnover shot with rough on the right and OB road on the left; great starting hole. The next par 4 is on hole 16. The elevation changes as you approach the basket make it a fun but tough hole.

Water and restrooms are available at the large tan building about a 1000ft past hole 8's basket. On a hot summer day it's definitely worth the walk to get water since that's the only place it's available near the course.
Cons: The park and surrounding area is not in a very nice part of town. While I've not heard of anything bad happening to golfers here, I would not recommend playing here by yourself later in the day.

There is a walk from 4-5, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15. I didn't have much of a problem finding the next hole the first time I played here, but it wasn't obvious either. Signs pointing to the next tee would be a welcome addition. ***UPDATE*** It appears there are some small arrows pointing to the next hole but they don't stand out well.

The course can get a little muddy, especially the bottom of the dry lake bed, when it rains but that's pretty normal for a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth checking out when you're in Indy. George Washington Park is just couple miles away and these two courses compliment each other well.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Don't be SCURRED!

5+    4/1/2008   4/24/2009
Review By: btank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I LOVE this course, by far the best in Indianapolis. Great variety of shots, you'll get a good workout, spaced enough that you rarely have to wait, privacy if you need that sort of thing, don't think anybody will mess with you for drinking a beer or two.
Cons: Run down part of town.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the neighborhood scare you, but I'll just say its in an area where the people prefer basketball to frisbee golf.

They are used to disc golfers there all the time, since this course is so old, so they won't mess with you.

But take my advice:

If somebody calls you "cracker", LET IT SLIDE!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside

5+    10/20/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, wide variety of shots and elevation changes, its a great course
Cons: it is in a pretty bad part of town, I wouldnt reccomend playing by yourself, one of the tee pads is dirt... other than that its great.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played it, Make sure you do!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Most Interesting in Indy

2-4    5/31/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: NoChinDeluxe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Giant dried up lakebed which offers some crazy shots of a cliff into the basin. Large steep-banked creek winds throughout and will swallow discs whole if you're not careful, but is pretty easy to avoid.
Cons: Rough neighborhood that almost makes it not worth playing. Poorly marked course and some holes are difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun because of the lakebed, but doesn't really offer anything that Washington can't give you. The neighborhood is pretty sketchy and I've had some nervous moments there with questionable characters hanging around. I always go play with a small group. Most holes are pretty straight-forward without many obstacles other than slight dog-legs are single trees that are generally easy to avoid. I'd rather play Sahm than this course on most occassions.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park

6/3/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of different types of shots, some very fun elevation changes, minimal chance of losing discs, pretty park and terrain with some very long holes. Few people on weekdays.
Cons: In a rough area, can be difficult to find next tee on certain holes, they require you to walk over a bridge and out by the road. Not too many shots in the woods, but there are many trees around.
Other Thoughts: I like this park a lot, my two favorite holes in Indy are at this park. I love the elevation changes on 3, 4, and 18. Gotta check this park out if you are in Indy. Very fun.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Enough

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2009
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course has many options and the temp. course they sit up at the Checkered Flag Open is pretty good. It has plenty of differant shots and some fun elevations.

The flood plan it plays through can lead to some interesting roll aways if you don't think about your landing. There is a great mixture of holes on this course that makes it a pretty fun course to play.
Cons: Kinda in a Ghetto! I was cussed at just for looking at someone walking by.
Other Thoughts: I would ONLY play this course during the tourney. I wouldn't go out of my way to get there.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside Park, Indianapolis

5+    9/26/2005   5/26/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very large course, full 18 holes. Nice variety, good layout, nice usage of trees and levee as obstacles.
Cons: Located in rough part of town. Holes 3, 4, and 18 require going onto what is basically a floodplain. Can be very muddy depending on the weather.
Other Thoughts: I lost my disc golf virginity to this course many moons ago and have continued to return for more each and every summer. You shouldn't leave here disapointed (unless you throw your disc into the creek off the first tee and lose it, which I have done and have seen done more than once), 2nd best course in Indy, George Washington Park (less than 5 miles away!) being the best.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 interesting

1    7/12/2006   3/4/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2009
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: nice layout, good distances from the pro tees. the park in general is in good shape, multiple tee pads on some holes etc. Baskets seem to be in great shape.

some holes are wide open and others have trees which help keep it fresh. distances are good as well, not a pitch and putt course by any means.
Cons: navigation problems, I would have had trouble finding my way around if it hadn't been for tournament play. had to continously ask a local how long some holes were because the signs were damaged at the time.
Other Thoughts: I played it during a tournament so it had a different configuration than what it normally did. I didn't notice any problems other than navigation and sign damage. I haven't been back to the course in over 3 years so I should probably get back there and give it a more solid review.

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.