Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #24
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
What a place!

1    11/26/2016   4/9/2017
Review By: EdMiller
Played: 39  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful place.
The combination of challenges is incredible.
The tunnel shots are some of the toughest I've seen.
The mountain shots are amazing.
Cons: It's a little scary to have discs flying at you from seemingly nowhere. There are nets in places to help, but I heard "FOUR" a lot.
Other Thoughts: I drove 45 minutes one way to get here and it was well worth it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

DeLaveaga Park

1    12/9/2016   1/14/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 108  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads with notches carved across

Has tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Has a bench at every tee pad if I'm not mistaken

Has multiple basket placements for most holes

Has some mandos

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Park is exclusive for disc golf

Nice scenery

Well-maintained

Porta potty
Cons:
Course design and flow could use improvement as there are some holes that have intersecting fairways

Long 29 hole course can be demanding and intimidating to those not ready for a challenge

Baskets are hard to locate on some holes - need flags or bright paint

Some holes require blind shots - recommend a spotter

Many opportunities to lose discs abound here via rollaways, blind shots, tree catching - recommend backup discs

Needs more next tee signs - recommend a course map for the first-timer

No variety in pars - par 87

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with players

Pay to park but worth it
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging 29 hole course in Santa Cruz that I enjoyed playing while vacationing out here. I would have never known about this course if it wasn't for Central Coast Disc Golf - thanks guys! I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the Friday morning that I played. In fact, I was bummed to learn that the baskets for holes 2, 17, 25, 26, 26a, and 27 were removed due to drainage projects and area rejuvenation until March 31st. Making the best of it, this course is a hard one to play while raining. Losing your grip on throwing wet discs can be frustrating enough where there are plenty of crooked trees on tight enough fairways to deflect into a nearby ravine. Or maybe it's the approach shot that hits one of the many exposed tree roots and rolls away down the mountain. Or perhaps the death putt that doesn't find the chains but the abyss instead. After playing this course, I understand how Dela became a verb. After watching the pros play this course from the Steady Ed Memorial Masters Cups, I have profound respect for them more than ever. In my opinion, the course falls short of being perfect. As listed in my cons, number one con for me is the intersecting fairways for some holes. I have played almost 100 courses at this time and only a handful of them have this con. With a park this large, one would assume that there wouldn't be any intersecting fairways. The Mach X baskets were in great shape to play with but most are hard to spot from the tee pad with the trees in between and with all the various basket placements. Some of the holes could have used more next tee signs to direct flow - thankfully I had my course map from DGCR to refer to throughout the round. With the course having varied elevations and lots of trees, some holes such as holes #12 and #15 require blind shots. Many opportunities to lose discs abound here via rollaways, blind shots, tree catching so one should prepare to part ways with a disc. No variety in pars as the par is 87 (29x3) - definitely a technical course where many holes are challenging enough to par despite their distances with some being arguably tweeners. The tee signs appeared to be old and could use updating but I didn't list this as a con - the old signage is somewhat appealing and gives this course character if that makes sense. Playing in less ideal conditions on that day, I saw very few players braving the elements. I understand how this course can be crowded though given how challenging and fun this course is to play. If you're in this area, you should play it as it's very unique.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

New Pay to Play Course on the Ball Golf Couse

5+    8/3/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 84  Reviewed: 28
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All the pros have been mentioned in other reviews.

I would like to add that they have added 18 holes to the ball golf course and are soon to open them to the public. The DG will play on the ball golf course concurrent to th e ball golfers. As of the date of this review, 8/3/16, I was told they are still a few months out from going live. They have played a couple of tournaments on the ball golf course and permanently placed 18 baskets. I can't wait to play the ball golf DG course.
Cons: Poison Oak on the existing DG course. Stay on the fairway, and poison oak is not much of a challenge, but stray a bit off course, and BEWARE!
Other Thoughts: The course club has done an excellent job keeping this course up and improving where necessary. Mult pin placements make for a different course each time played.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course!

1    3/30/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: JBrew012
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great mixture of fairly open, long holes as well as tough shots with obstacles.
Cons: Some of the holes were difficult to locate from the tee pad.
A few of the correct tee pads were difficult to locate.
Other Thoughts: I saw that this course was extremely popular, so when I was on a road trip in the area, I had to give it a go. It was a blast. There were some open shots, but some technical shots as well. The great thing about the technical shots though is that the woods on either side are clear enough on the ground that you can easily spot a disc if you make an errant throw. Good course for beginners and more advanced players. Fun course!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Respect the DeLa

2-4    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 55  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice new MachX baskets in each hole
-Large cement teepads with good grip on most holes
-Great variety of holes, very few seem similar
-Challenging, some may find it too difficult but I thought it was just right, not for beginners.
-Great views of Santa Cruz and the surrounding forest, not just on the signature Top of the World hole
-They sell discs at the golf pro shop on the road coming up to the course. They also have a shipping container set up at the course where they sell discs and they guy running it was very nice and knowledgeable.
Cons: -A few crossing fairways, which really bothered me since it's such a large course, it seems they could cut it down to 27 holes and avoid these crossings, but at the same time it might end up leaving a long walk between some holes.
-At least one teepad that was very small.
Other Thoughts: One thing I don't consider a con personally, but could go either way for others was the extreme elevation on a lot of holes, this is definitely a good hike. I enjoy the exercise and playing in Northern California that's usually the norm. The crossing fairways really bothered me, but I'm not sure what the best way to eliminate them would be. I went on a Saturday midday and it wasn't too busy, but we did have to wait on those in front of us a few times and for somebody to shoot on the crossing fairways. Overall this course lives up to the hype. You have to play it smart, know how to shape your shots and use the spin of your disc for good placements. I tried to be brave on a couple holes and ended up in the canyons along the fairways. I didn't lose any discs, but I gained a nice poison ivy rash. The poison ivy is easy to avoid if you stay on the fairways or at least don't go too far off them. The Kitchen and Top of the World holes are in my top 5 holes played and they're on the same course. I've played other top of the worlds but they pale in comparison to this one.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2013   1/4/2015
Review By: Chuckhuckaba
Played: 101  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2015
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A challenging course, but very fair. You need to execute a variety of shots to score well. Good mix of short and long holes. Not a bad hole on this layout. I'm from Michigan, so this course resembled some of the Northern Michigan courses I play back home. Very friendly locals, who are helpful when guiding you through the course.
Cons: None really, other than it was very busy when I played. That should be expected on such a nice course.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 ONE OF THE BEST!

1    12/11/2013   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Excellent variability
*Multiple pin positions
*Almost every hole has elevation changes
*Good people
*Great challenge, good variety in difficulty
*Very established course, well designed
*Variety in style of holes
*Discs for sale, clubhouse is a shipping container
*Weather is always nice
Cons: *Pay for parking
*Could lose discs easily on some holes (sheer drops, dense woods, blind shots)
*Some excellent skill required on some narrow, canopy covered fairways
*No maps available (take a pic of the map on the bulletin board)
*No bathrooms near when you get far out
*Outhouses only

Other Thoughts: The cons are really subjective, as the $2 parking is a pittance to experience this amazing course. Prepare to make a day out of playing this course, Bring food and water, which you can get from a mini mart on the way to the road leading to the course that also has a nice selection of discs. Everyone is nice and even though it is challenging for beginners, my friend who was a newbie didn't seem to mind since this place is so amazing. "The Kitchen" puts you on a precipice where you throw from one platform to another 100ft down, you need some accuracy here, if you miss you prolly just lost your disc! You may want a spotter for some holes. Some holes are wide open, some are through thickets where you have to throw super straight. Sometimes you will be throwing blind, over gulches, up and down, the variability is amazing. Truly memorable and a must for any enthusiast! World class.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/13/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Twgallagher2
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautifully laid out course with tons of variation. It offers challenging shots but will reward you with birdie opportunities for great shots. Probably the best course I've ever played.
Cons: Can get a big sluggish if you get stuck behind a large group/ inexperienced group.
Other Thoughts: Get there early and bring water to drink!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I <3 DeLa

5+    6/14/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course with all kinds of shots. Depending on what pin position the baskets are in there can be quite a bit of diffrence in how you have to shoot the hole. The greens are fast and dangerous, but that makes you think about your shot that much more. There are 27 holes here and none of them seem the same. You will need to bring your A-game to shoot well out here.
Cons: Paying to park kinda sucks, but it helps keep down the jerks out there. The top of the world shot while fun is dangerous as it plays over a few other holes, and if it's overthrown bad enough you can end up in the parking lot. The course also gets prety crowded on the weekends, especialy in the summer.
Other Thoughts: There's a guy in the parking lot who sells discs sometimes, I've gotten some great deals from him. The shop as you are coming in by the ball golf course sells discs as well, but their prices are much higher.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Once Wasn't Enough

1    4/19/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging in so many ways. If you've never played it, and this was my first go at it, it's everything you've heard. Tee box views that will blow you away. Blind shots, uphill and down hill. Good friendly help and locals.
Cons: Glad I had a guide! I did grab a map of DeLa from the Bolf course, just down the road. Still, course knowledge is so important. Beware of Rollers and skips on certain holes. Them's some steeeep canyons! Garbage cans lacking but servicing them could be pretty taxing. Carry out what you brought in. Watch out for the police, they have mountain bikes too.
Other Thoughts: I was on vaca for a week. Had played down the coast at Waller Park once and Heilman 4 rounds in two days. (I'd like to thank this site very much for the guidance!) De LaVeaga was my last stop before heading back to Sac.
Blew my mind! Some out of this world shots. The Kitchen on 12 was intimidating as all get out. Hooking up with a player who knew the course was so invaluable. Thank you Kari Rose and Fumi!
The crew maintaining the place take a lot of pride in what they do and the Pro-Shop/Snack bar guy is as helpful as can be.
Time to plan a camping trip in the area with the friends that got me hooked on this game.
The 3 hour drive, one way, will require more then one round.
BTW- You have to pay to park. $2.00. Don't overpay (like me) thinking the extra goes to the course, there is a donation box on the 1st hole for that. DOH!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.