Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6
3 / 413ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4

5+    9/29/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: JRock Santa Cruz
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What more can be said? An icon. Challenging holes, mixed elevations, striking views, long holes, technical holes, legendary holes.

If it's not on your bucket list, it ought to be.
Cons: Crowded on the weekends. Alternately, if you're a first timer and arrive on a quiet weekday morning, it can be hard to spot some of the baskets from your tee (Such as 2, 7, 12, 14, 15.)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home!

5+    11/14/2016   2/22/2017
Review By: PapaRick1959
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of varied holes and shots.
Not overly punitive for a beginner.
Super affordable (only $2 per car to park)
Sweet views and ocean breeze
Pace of play even when crowded is good
Cons: A couple of holes criss cross each other
#13 should really be a par 4
Other Thoughts: DeLa is the mecca, the original! and the best!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Iconic

5+    7/27/2015   6/17/2016
Review By: Wasp
Played: 63  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Amazing, iconic course.
-Difficult
-Variety of shots
-nice scenery
Cons: Really dusty at times, but really no complaints.
Other Thoughts: Go there and play the course. One of the best courses in the country. It's easy to see why so many pro's grew up in the Santa Cruz area playing DeLa all the time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Whole New Respect for Disc Golf!

1    7/19/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 14.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have seen this course played many times on Youtube but actually playing it was humbling. I couldn't believe how much harder the holes were than they looked with the pros playing them. So many of the lines are pretty tight that the pros make look more open as they so easily hit the gaps that are hard to hit if you aren't of their skill level. Just take hole 1, that looks pretty flat online with the pros getting up into the tree line...it takes a pretty long throw to get it "up" there...way harder than it looks.

This course provides a lot of variety to the holes with plenty of length to make birdies hard enough to get and plenty of times you are going to need to shore up your "getting out of trouble shots." I think I had 2-3 birdie looks the whole round and only got one on the "gravity" hole. The kitchen hole played a lot shorter than I thought it would and was easily birdiable.

I really liked that there weren't too many mandos or too many OB lines as the holes had plenty of space between them. The only real overlap/danger was how the top of the world shot (which is spectacular) played over a few fairways and into the parking lot, even to the proshop if you threw too far off course. We were standing in the parking lot and someone skipped one of the parking lot to within one foot of black acing the portable basket the proshop had out at the corner of the parking lot. That would have been an amazing shot if it had gone in!

The elevation was quite a challenge, especially if you aren't use to it. You really have to plan your shot to keep from getting rollaways as best you can. You also had to watch out for poison oak in the rough...main thing is keep it in the fairway as best you can! Hard to manage if you hit a tree but just playing conservative, throwing straight and keeping it on the fairway is a good way to go.
Cons: - The poison oak was a problem
- Blind shots - while these are fun and would be fantastic if you played this course a lot...it got a bit old having to walk a few hundred feet to see the pin on a good number of the holes.
- Top of the world proved a bit dangerous to a few fairways and the parking lot.
- A bit busy but that was a good thing as we had people in front of us to follow.

All of that is VERY minor...still a 5 star, top rated, must play course!
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course! I cannot say enough good about this course and would love to play it again. This course would only get more fun the more you play it as one would be more familiar with the pin placements and where the drop offs and OB's come into play. Also thankful that the park is spacious with plenty of room to fit in all the holes without posing a danger to other players or park users. Too many courses try to jam holes in too tight...this is NOT the case here. Each hold pretty much stands alone which is not usually the case.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Epic and legendary

5+    6/25/2009   6/26/2015
Review By: dgyp
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging with no end. many hours of disc. feeling of acomplishment once you finish. beautiful views, weather layout. mix of holes.
Cons: far too popular for me to play much anymore. one group per hole.
Other Thoughts: I used to play this course a couple of times a month but cant get to SC like I used to. Learn here and you can play anywhere. epic epic course!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 World class course.

1    2/13/2015   2/14/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. Nicely wooded. Extremely well kept. (It's not overgrown with weeds). Pro shop. Practice green. Great baskets. Great tees in size and quality. (They're like 10 ft by 5ft). Great hole signs. Easy course to follow due in part by the map of the course they give. Scorecards. 29 holes. Challenging but still enjoyable. Variety of shots needed. Surprisingly not overly crowded. Free besides the parking fee. (So bring a bus full of people and split the 2 bucks:). And of course hole 27. I mean come on that beast is epic.
Other Thoughts: I left the cons blank because this course is really about as close to perfection as it gets. A lot of professional disc golfers play here. Play the course it's well worth the 2 dollars spent on parking.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I got DeLa'd

2-4    8/17/2013   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love the elevation changes, the tight lines, the difficult terrain, the number of baskets, the history, the scenery, and the challenge in general. This course is absolutely worth playing if you're even close to being in this area.
Cons: I've only got to play it twice... that's the only con I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Play this course if you get the chance. It's something you can't quite put into pictures or videos and just have to experience for yourself.

Bring some extra discs, this course eats them alive. Also bring you good shoes, this course will put your boots, and your body, to the test with it's demanding 27 hole layout. You will not have any leftover energy once you're done with a round at DeLa.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/1/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: ThrowinGhost
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very Challenging, you need every shot in your bag.
Varying pin layouts get changed pretty often and the overall feel of the course is altered significantly.
Cons: Crowded during the weekends and afternoons, but it's Dela so it's somewhat expectd: get there early.
Other Thoughts: What else can be said about Dela. It is my personal favorite course because of all the shots that are necessary to get through it. The tournament layout is especially difficult, but that only adds to the challenge and fun of the course. If you are in the Monterey/Santa Cruz area, then you owe it to yourself to go play this course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 santa cruz

5+    4/5/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 28.1 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I consider this the best course i have ever played. Everyone knows about Dela, huge distances, unique layouts, Top of the world. Like i need to say more
Cons: Its Dela, so huge crowds, its something you have to deal with, so you might as well just sit back and enjoy the experience.
Other Thoughts: Better pay the parking, they will ticket you

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome !!

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2013
Review By: DonnyO
Played: 1065  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 43.8 Years
0 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: De Laveaga Disc Golf Course is one of the most highly rated disc golf courses in the world. It is famous for its inspiring natural setting, as well as for its uncompromising challenge
Cons: You will get a few overpar strokes if you don't pay attention to every shot.
Other Thoughts: Scenic , Beautiful course.

0 of 21 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.