Asheville, NC 
UNC Asheville DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 4/2010)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Six Quick Fun Holes

1    4/8/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 188  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice pleasant little course perfect for a few quick holes between classes. Although short, there is good challenge, good balance and a good use of elevation change. A fine course for skill developement. The rough is rough, but not punishing. After getting started properly the flow is pretty easy to follow, with baskets visible from the tees, and next tee visible from most baskets. The baskets are like new Discatchers. The tees are nice grippy rubber mats on plywood. I'm told that next week another 12 holes will be installed - a big positive!
Cons: This is a single track course with one teepad and one goal per hole. Although there is a small pond to the right of hole #2, it won't come into play except with an extremely errant shot. Perhaps a tee could be developed to put that water into the mix. There were no signs, no toilets, no benches, no trash cans, no practice basket. The tees are only 4X8 - OK for downhill, but small for the uphill drives. The mat on tee #2 was torn off and in the weeds. Some other tees were showing wear also.
Other Thoughts: I used a map printed from DGCR, but it really wasn't needed. This is a course for developing skills, not for experienced big arms. But although short, there is enough uphill elevation to allow a bit of stretch for the future serious hucker. If you are rated over 900 you will seriously kick yourself for missing some dueces. Being on a college campus there are bathrooms in nearby buildings, and six short holes are OK without benches, but it would be nice for the visitor like me to have that info posted somewhere. If this were an 18 hole course I would give it a slightly better score, but the primary short comings for me are the similarly short hole lengths, and the lack of amenities. If the new added holes have some length variety, and some signs and benches are added, this course could get a considerably better rating from me.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    2/26/2012   2/18/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - It's a decent little course...probably just a warmup for most people.
- Each hole has it's own challenges.
- The rubber tee pads are OK as long as they are dry.
Cons: - No tee signs.
- No scorecards.
- No map (but a map really isn't necessary, so not too bad of a con).
- Rubber missing from #2 tee pad.

Updated to add: There is an extreme HEAVY carpet of poison ivy starting in April/May. On nearly every hole if you don't hit the fairway you will be in poison ivy! #6 is the worst.
Other Thoughts: I recommend playing this course starting at #5 (you can park pretty much right at the tee which is a parking space itself.)

There is definite room for improvement. I know that UNCA has plans to expand this course in the future. I don't know when that will happen with all of the budget cuts they've had to do recently. For me, if they just expanded to 9 holes, added tee signs and score cards that would be enough to bump it up to a 3. If it were a full 18 with a few more wooded holes to rival Richmond Hill then it would be an easy 3.5 for me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Surprized

2-4    1/6/2011   1/7/2011
Review By: topflight
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 28.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is right in the middle of a college campus. Quick play, fun shots, some challenge.
Cons: 6 holes. Limited space available. some signs/ directions misleading. one tee box missing the rubber mat.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was a bit leary about playing a 6 holer. I got there and did find that I enjoyed the course, although short and a bit up and down. I played three times - different score each round - I got tired by the third. last time i did math 3 times 6 is 18 right. pretty cool.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick fix six

1    11/21/2009   6/7/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Elevation changes on every hole. Three holes have significant differentials of 22 to 30 ft. (4 Up/ 2 Down)
*Baskets on slopes. This adds challenge because of the potential for roll aways.
*Fairways are well shaped
*Map. Online. It's average but essential for finding your way.
*The course will draw more college students into this great sport.
Cons:
-Navigation! Do NOT attempt to play here without the map or a guide because you'd have a lot of trouble finding the tees.
-No tee signs! This makes it hard to navigate.
-Lots of poison oak
-Terrain feels kind of scruffy. This is probably because of lots of thick scraggly shule in many places, but even the grass is patchy.
-Fairway variety is low. Too many straight holes. (4 Straight/ 1 Left to right/ 1 Right to left.)
-Length variety is low. The length of the holes were all pretty similar
-Tees were just a bit too short.
-Few amenities. The course is still new, but other than the map there are no restrooms, no score card, no warm up basket, no benches, no trashcans.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)

My favorite hole- 5. A down then back up shot over a valley that had an elevation drop of 24 ft. (It took me a while to find the tee, though. It's one of the parking spaces in the parking lot.)

If you see tee 5 in the parking lot then it would probably be easier to just start there.

For more information about navigating the course go to "UNC-A course navigation".

I usually feel dissatisfied after playing 6 hole courses, and UNC-A was no exception. It's like going to a restaurant and being served a plate with only 1/3 of a normal portion. Just as you're getting into it you've finished. I wanted more. I know there are limitations, but, like Oliver Twist, I'd like to ask the designers, "May I have some more please?"

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

To have my reviews delivered to your Inbox join the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews" . More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are also available there in the Files section.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fast 6

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 97  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 15.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, quiet, wooded campus course. Good use of land. All baskets are set on sloping greens. This turns an easy up-shot into a roll away. I like this! It makes you think about how you want to land your disc, not just where. Nice new Innova DisCatchers.
Cons: It's over too quick! There are only 6 holes currently but plans are in for a full 18. I can't wait! The tee pads are too short length-wise for me.
No benches.No tee signs but you dont necessarily need them as there is a path to the next tee already beat in.
Other Thoughts: #5: start here. Parking lot shot. Short downhill shot through large trees. Pin set on hillside facing thrower. Trail behind pin leads to #6.
#6: Short, slightly uphill shot to pin set on sloping green left to right.Heavy shule on right. Select large trees to navigate on left. Next tee is left up hill to keosk area. Look for #1 tee sign & head down hill to #1 tee pad.
#1: Med length, slightly downhill shot.Sloping fairway runs left to right. Heavy shule to right. Two large trees frame the pin. Next tee is to the left & then downhill around to the right.
#2: Med length drive fade slightly uphill at finish to pin. Eco-pond on right side. Do not go into the pond for any reason.
Pin set on sloping green left to right. Next pin straight to road.
#3: Med uphill shot that plays long because of severe elevation change. Low ceiling branches snag discs. One large tree to the left & a group of small trees to the right help guard the pin. Run up onto this tee pad is good. Next tee is left & down the hill.
#4: Another medium length shot that plays long because of elevation change. Steep uphill shot with basket fade right. A couple large trees gurd the left side fairway. A group of small saplings guard the front of the green.
Pin is placed on roll away hillside. Next tee is up the hill in the parking lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 6 hole course

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: Dano
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For 6 holes I really enjoyed the course. Some might think the holes are too short but elevation change on several holes adds enough for me to require a driver. Most holes offer more than one possible route with enough obstacles to fairly punish bad shots. The course is on the UNCA campus and there were alot of peope around but the course is out of the way enough that not too many people were walking thru the course (my experience).
Cons: There is not much in the way of signage but finding the next hole was not a big problem. I liked the tee pad design but they are a little short for me and most did not have even ground behind the pad to make a easy transition. It is only six holes. I know there are plans for a complete 18 but I wonder where they are going to put them. I would imagine it will require a walk and that is when they will require better signage. One pad was a parking space and people will park in the space. I just stood between the cars so it wasn't a real big deal but with no sign it is kind of problem if you are not familiar with the course. When summer comes the rough is going to be pretty rough but hopefully with more play and some work it will be managable.
Other Thoughts: As I said it is only 6 holes but playing it 3 times worked for me. Parking is an issue but I parked in the Botanical Garden's parking lot at the far end of the lot by the exit. If you cross the street and turn left over the bridge you will see a path by the creek. Follow the creek and you will find the tee pad for hole #2, not a far walk. Starting on the #2 works with the flow of the course. No parking hassles with campus security. I am looking forward to more holes. I am sure my rating will increase

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good little new course

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 560  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 18.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
I was almost going to wait to play this... But, my 'play everything' mindset made me go... Glad I did.

Pros:
-Good shots with great use of elevation. Holes 3, 4, and 5 stood out the most... with Holes 3 and 4 have significant elevation gains (the pins being 15' and 30' feet above the tee), and Hole 5 having a good size elevation loss (25'). Holes 1, 2, and 6 were decent shots, definitely not bad shots.
- This would be a great place to learn. The fairways are FAIR. The gaps are medium to open in size, and the holes are not terribly long, but not terribly short either. All the holes are probably between 180'-250', with the longer holes being uphill... making them feel like 310'.
- This course is going to help expose a lot of students to the game of DG... and with Richmond Hill down the street, this will be a good spot to hone their skills. I hope everyone takes advantage of it, giving the University reason to develop the course further.
Cons:
- Weekends only... Unless you want to get a ticket for parking in the Parking lot (or you're a student). I never saw a machine in the PL to get a 1 day pass either. And, I can't really fathom another way to get there; it's not like you could park out on the street and walk in (bus or bike... maybe?). After 5:30 and Holidays are free too.
- Tee-pads. The tee-pads were just a little too short. And, since the dirt behind a few of them was sloping, it was awkward to start off the back.
- No Signage. However, it's not really needed once you get past Hole 2. All the pins are visible from the tee-pad, and most of the holes have trails leading to the next tee.
- Only six holes. I know there are plans to make more holes in the future... but, as of now it's hard to commit to going there except for the desire to bag another course. And, since it's close to Richmond... that would be easy to do.
Other Thoughts:
- Park in lot across from Zeiss Hall... Take a moment to examine some of the layout from above... this will help navigation later in the round.
- To find hole 1... walk out of the PL and down the sidewalk to the left and across from Robinson Hall. Look for Hole 6's basket... then the Campfire Circle... then walk down the hill to a grassy fairway... tee-pad under some trees.
- To find Hole 2... walk down the grassy trail 50 yards and around a bunch of bushes and dirt mound to the right.
- Because it's only 6 holes... and there are no signs... I have to rate it a 2. It's almost a 2 though based on shot quality alone... and, with tons of room for improvement... (and knowing the guys in charge of making it happen)... I could easily see this course move up into the 3.5 - 4 range.
- My Score: -3

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

1    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 19.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, very nice rubber tee pads. Tight fairway shots that will definitely punish a bad drive.
Cons: No signage, Hole no. 1 hard to find but from there the course flows naturally. All the holes are fairly short.

There is massive underbrush EVERYWHERE! I lost two discs in six holes to the jungle just off the fairway on nearly every hole (although 1 and 6 were the worst, and incidentally where I lost my discs).
Other Thoughts: This is a very new course, and in time I hope it will get better. There are plans for a full 18. Before adding new holes I think they need to spend some time doing something about the underbrush. It's hard to like a course that eats two of your discs over the course of six holes, but the hole layouts themselves weren't bad, although hole #2 should definitely be longer. There's a lot of underutilized room behind the pin. Still, for this course to compete with its almost-next-door neighbor Richmond Hill, it's going to take a lot of work.

As the rest of the holes are put in and more work is done to the course I'll update my review, but for right now, just go to Richmond Hill instead.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.