Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 311ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
No signs, high grass and cacti, Oh My.

1    6/12/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 59  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - baskets in decent condition

- plays close enough to a loop

- there's the occasional bench and trash can, and a port-o-john at the parking lot, as well as a kiosk/donation box near #1

- nice mix of distance and good use of available elevation
Cons: - inconsistent tee pads - some are concrete, some are rubber pads, some are natural.

- inconsistent signage- most holes are just a post w/ number. one (15) has an actual diagram and info. after 18 you're on your own.

- navigation - A map is a necessity the first time out and even with it I got turned around a couple times. Luckily there was a helpful local out also. I also couldn't even locate 25-27. It can get a little confusing as some of the fairways get a little close to each other and, as it's a plain w/ few trees, some of the baskets for other holes are visible near the one you're aiming for

- I played in early June and the brush was getting high enough to hide discs very easily. Couple that w/ the cacti that's present and things can get downright prickly.

- not a great variety in shots needed or open bombs vs technical shots. Most are grip 'n' rips.
Other Thoughts: a lot of mndiscg's review from 2014 still seems pretty spot-on for me personally. That said, I feel like in a different season the course would be completely different - maybe even fun. As it is though, w/ limited shade, high temperature, high grass, cacti, and confusing initial navigation, this course was a challenge to say the least. Bird's Nest kicked my ass my first time here but I think it's definitely worth repeat trips. I can't wait to try it out in winter. Not for the faint of heart though, and I wouldn't call it a beginner's course

#1 is a fun top-of-the-world-ish shot near the only water that could possibly come into play. 9, 14 & 15 are also nice holes w/ good distance making good use of the trees in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/13/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: 00greenwj
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes

long shots with lots of variety

Cons: poorly maintained, currently covered in waste high grass that eats discs. barely playable.

cactus everywhere on the back back 9
Other Thoughts: Hopefully it gets mowed soon. might be best played in winter.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: ksctrail
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a decent course needs some maintenance
There is a decent mix of long and medium range shots. There are a few holes with trees surrounding the pin and a few holes with some elevation change.
Cons: the course is overgrown with weeds. The course layout is difficult to follow. The markings to the next tee box and the pin placement are missing.
Other Thoughts: I was told that the course has not had the proper upkeep this year due to attention being focused on the restructuring of Johnny Roberts course. Hopefully, the course will have better upkeep after the reopening of Johnny Roberts.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not much going on here.

1    8/30/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long open shots with not much chance of losing a disc.
Holes are all in pretty great shape.
Cons: Boring. Only two elevation shots, 1 & 3, everything else is pretty much grip it and rip it.
Easy to get lost on the course with no directions or helpful arrows.
Other Thoughts: I'm noticing here in Colorado people who play courses feel no responsibility to care or maintain them, too bad. This course would be good if the people playing it helped out and made the holes more interesting to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Distance Variety

1    8/27/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lot of hole variety. There are a few that thread the needle and a few that are just long. The course does the best it can with most of the built in obstacles (trees and rocks, ect.) Other than 18 the pins are mostly dead red off of the tee box. You will need to being your best game to do so but birdie is possible on 80% of holes.
Cons: The course is not very fluid in some areas. If I wouldn't have taken a picture of the map leaving the first tee we would have missed a few holes mid round. There are many well tread paths that will normally lead you to the next hole but they can be decieving your first time out.
Other Thoughts: Take a picture of the map your first time out. everything is pretty clear but the paths will lead you astray if you don't have an idea of which well walked path is the correct one. Its very dry terrain in the summer so remember to bring good amounts of liquids.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent with potential

5+    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large variety of distances
-Quite a few different pin placements for the holes that get changed up pretty frequently
-Many of the holes give you a chance to just let you rip the disc but you also need decent accuracy to score well on this course
-Good use of the trees and elevation that is available on the land
-Trash cans and benches throughout the course
-Nice big concrete teepads on the first 18 holes
-Map of course and information board at the first hole
-Good DGA baskets
Cons: -Very very easy to lose a disc on this course as during the summer months the grass and other underbrush at the course grows rather high and it can be pretty difficult to find your disc at times
-This course has no tee signs except on one hole, there use to be stone tiles with the hole number on them but many of them are either shattered or just missing now.
-The flow of the course can be a little difficult to follow ( since many of the tiles with hole numbers are gone and not at the holes it can be a little difficult knowing if you are throwing off the right pad your first few times playing, and navigation after hole 18 can be pretty hard to follow at times.)
-Every hole after hole 18 has dirt teepads which if there has been a lot of moisture can be full of puddles and nearly unusable
-Parts of this course can hold a lot of water and if it has been wet recently, the course will be really wet and muddy
-It seems like there is always at least one hole closed for one reason or another (When I was there last they had 7 different holes closed with the baskets for all of them pulled, so they were unplayable).
-Bring lots of water as there is not a lot of shade on the course and if it is a warm day it can get pretty hot out there
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is a lot of fun but has some major flaws that if fixed could majorly improve this course. If you are looking for a course to play this one provides quite a few fun holes and is worth the drive to check it out. I believe the best times to play are either in the fall after some of the grass and weeds have died out or in the spring before the grass and weeds have had a chance to sprout.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Birds Nest: Flat & Long

5+    5/10/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very flat course with a decent amount of trees. It requires many long shots, but is not very technical, and does not require a large variety of shots. There are a few fun shots which require tight negotiation through cottonwood groves. The back-back 9 is my favorite part of this course. While it is underdeveloped, it has a majority of the courses challenging shots. I enjoy coming here on a calm day in winter, spring, and early-summer.
Cons: I have been there many times where parts of the course are shut down due to flooding or construction. Last year (2010), 3 holes were closed due to flooding for a majority of the summer, and this year (2011) 4 holes are closed due to construction. In late summer YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DISC. No matter how good of a discer you are, the tall grass and more likely the thousands of tiny bushes will swallow a disc at some point. I have had a few rounds which took an extra hour or so due to so many lost discs within the group. Also has the ability to get extremely windy.
Other Thoughts: With the back-back nine adding up to 27 holes, Bird's Nest is a great place to have a reasonably long day on a course that is not too hard, but requires a good amount of long throwing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Playin the Nest

5+    4/9/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The folks who run this course are always making nice improvments every year. Good mix of long and short with some tight tree shots.
Cons: They have some rock circles that are OB if you land in them. Not a big fan of that because a lot of them you cannot see off the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the good work! My North West Denver Metro. course of choice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Day

5+    6/27/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice peaceful course. The entire park is for throwing. So no need to worry about non-disc golfers. Very dog-friendly(Please clean up after your pet). Great baskets on every hole. Good Tee boxes. There are tons of different pin placements and they are used on a regular basis. The extended 8 holes with the seasonal A and B holes. But when you're done with the 26 holes and you're looking at the walk back to the car well there's one more basket (Practice Basket) to complete your 27. Some good elevation changes on holes 1, 3, 4, and 5. Well placed baskets next to hills and trees for those tougher shots. Some short holes and some meaty big ones so bring your arm and make sure to stretch that bad boy out cause you'll need it.
Cons: The rock formations that are "water hazards" in the middle of the fairway? I mean come on. They really need new signage, broken pieces of rock and marble don't cut it for a course that asks for donations. Watch out for those big groups there on the weekend.
Other Thoughts: Really a great course just to go chuck it! Enjoy this one as it is pretty much in the foothills and a beautiful sunset. Bring water. Pack it in, Pack it out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 64  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course to break in a new distance driver. Makes use of landscape the best it can with how open it is. This course seems more challenging than it should.
Cons: The rock circle OB markers are difficult to see and gauge from the tees. This favors people who play the course regularly. Navigation is a bit lack.
Other Thoughts: Not the best beginner course, and with the other courses within 20 minutes I would not go out of my way to play this one if I didn't get to the others first. Worth the stop if you already have them done.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.