Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
The Nasty Nest. Home Sweet Home

5+    6/20/2017   6/20/2017
Review By: ZachTuthill
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and tons of hole placements, including several alternate and tournament baskets.

Holes of every distance and shots demanding every type of throw.

Designed as a Disc Golf park.

You can frequently find John Byrd puttering around and he's always down to shoot the breeze, if not throw a round with you.

Wildlife. A family of Golden Eagles inhabits trees on the North border, and I've seen Baldies and several varieties of hawk as well. I've seen Fox, Coyote, and even a Tiger Salamander retrieving a disc from the "lake." I've never encountered a rattlesnake, despite it seeming like prime territory, and do not believe they live here.

Cons: Weather. In the windswept western suburbs, storms move quick. The Nest is a MASSIVE course, and if you don't pay attention to those sketchy clouds above Boulder, you'll be running half a mile at a full clip trying to protect your iPhone from getting wet.

This course eats discs. Johnny B does his best with the grass, but most of the time it's pretty long. In addition to this, discs here frequently hit and roll up to 60 feet in any direction, regardless of how it was coming down. The result is that even skilled discers who think they know where a 350 ft shot landed might find it 20 minutes and 50 feet later in a sage bush.

Navigation. If you don't know the course, I can see it being tricky. The sheer length of some holes and distance between tee pads can make you question your target. Random bonus tee pads and arbitrary spare baskets probably don't help.

People know about it now (see below).
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and I tried not to be biased. But here's my experience with the course I've played the most. I grew up on the nearby westwoods golf course, and in 2005 we stumbled upon this raw, unfinished idea of a disc golf course on a massive and barren piece of desert that the city didn't care about. The appeal for us was to use the secluded parking lot to hook up with our girlfriends and smoke hookah and such. Eventually, however, we purchased discs and decided to learn the game here, which in retrospect toughened us up and helped our game. Playing Bird's Nest was basically committing to a couple hours in scorching heat getting beat up by the course. A course designed by a man with a lot of ambition, few resources and a wicked game. We loved it then and still do.

Although upgrades and expansions were painfully slow, they did indeed happen, and as of 2017, Bird's Nest is a Mecca for tournaments, families, massive groups, etc. While I wholeheartedly support the mainstreaming of disc golf, I can't help what my friends and I are. And what we are now at Bird's Nest are the guys discreetly discussing how to politely play through your family. The guys who, unimpeded, could manipulate this course to fit any time constraint or player skill level. But trying to keep a round fluid while simultaneously playing through less skilled players on every hole is tricky. I've found myself scratching my head after two hour rounds that have somehow stil felt rushed. Bird's Nest now has the funding, attention and equipment needed to set up a quality experience for pretty much anyone now, and John is working hard to make that happen. Now that the public is aware of it, tournaments are being held almost weekly, and the city even boasts about it on its website. This course is an example of disc golf becoming part of Colorado culture and recreation, and I adore that.

But another part of me misses playing 36 holes in 95 degree heat and and only encountering one person the entire time. He had no idea this course existed and just happened to see the sign headed west on 64th.

All changes and bias aside, I highly recommend this course to anyone living in the metro area, and anyone passing through. Bird's Nest is only getting better, and if the price of fame is traffic, I'm cool with that.

12 years later

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    4/6/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well marked boxes (until 19)
Varied holes
Practice basket and driving range
Cons: Holes 19+ were hard to follow/not marked
Lots of cactus on 19/20
Other Thoughts: There was no water when I played, so losing a disc wasn't a risk, but could be if wet

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good shoulder season course

5+    5/28/2016   5/28/2016
Review By: PaddyBudz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

Multiple Pin positions from short to long

Good mix of distance and elevation

27 Holes

-Doesn't get too crowded, good for early morning/evening rounds

-right next to a dog park
Cons: Wind - with it being right up against the foothills it can get windy

Soupy - The course is in an open space/flood plane so during the rainy season and mid spring when it is wet the course can and does flood from time to time making certain holes unplayable

lack of signage - it looks like at some point in the past there were t-box signs showing pin positions and distance but they wore out or were vandalized and tore down, now there is no signage and it is all LOS or just knowing where stuff is from playing before

navigation on the top 9 - non-existent, so unless you've played it before you won't know where to go

grass can eat discs when it is long

wide open, so you can throw sky high shots without much penalty
Other Thoughts: Like other reviewers said even though APEX puts their name all over it they don't do anything for it. John Bird (the designer and course manager) does everything from mowing, to moving baskets to other course maintenance. So if you want the grass mowed and play the course more than once or twice a year throw a few bucks in the donation box.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/21/2016   5/21/2016
Review By: Beardface
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long Course
-Varied Shots
-Lots of Fun Obstacles
-No Pedestrians/Multi Use
-Relatively Intuitive Layout
Cons: -Can be Crowded
-Easy to Lose a Disc
-Potential for Marshy Wet Areas
-Lots of High Grass
-Holes 19+ need some serious love
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today with no info except a cell phone photo of the map at the kiosk near the parking lot. The course flows pretty well if you take a second to orient yourself between holes, and has some interesting shots throughout.

I spoke a little while with the course manager, John Bird, and learned that this course is entirely maintained by donations. Grass is mowed when there is enough money to by a few tanks of gas and sharpen the mower blades. Most of the cons every review listed would be improved through more funding, so I encourage you to donate!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    10/24/2014   10/24/2014
Review By: livin_tll
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun and long course. Good for just hucking it without having to worry about obstacles. Follow the paths in the dirt to find the next tee or pin.
Cons: Can be windy. Often. Confusing the first time.
Other Thoughts: Not many trees. Good and bad

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I would nest here if I were a bird

2-4    6/21/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: nannermonkey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Great course for locals
- Easily accessible for regionals
- 27 holes!
Cons: - Lots of marshy areas with tall reeds on a number of holes
- Can get crowded
- Not too many trees
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the better courses I've played in the Denver Metro region. You can bring your dog to the next-door dog park for canine socializing before or after!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Metro area

5+    6/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very long tees, hard to loose discs (unless the weeds are thick), course layout is fun and spread out
Cons: not well marked, takes a long time to play
Other Thoughts: This course is great at the right time of year- when the weeds are dry. the length of the holes makes it challenging

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest, Sept. 2013

5+    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Can utilize almost any disc in the bag if so desired, and ample chances to practice with longest drivers;
- Rarely crowded;
- The upkeep, especially on the first 18, has been good since early August: mowed grass and baskets are moving positions;
- Several occasions call for an over-the-tree-or-bush throw;
- Big concrete tee pads;
- No non-players to worry about hitting;
- Short holes near the middle of the course provide a few birdie chances for most players;
- Wind conditions can vary;
- The first hole is a downhill launch and screams "birdie."
- It's a quiet course;
- The light around sunset is usually great, as is the view of the foothills;
- Easy access - parking lot is big and close;
- Dog park next door.
Cons: - The course calls for few accurate/tight lines;
- All fairways are straight;
- Almost no reason to use a left-to-right throw;
- Might be hard to navigate for the first time without a guide or a map (go left after hole 2; follow the "road" East after 6).
- Terrain is rough in spots, including spiky things that will poke through shoes, esp. on holes after 19;
- Very limited signage, maps, distance markings;
- Few places to rest, and there's only one bathroom (at the entrance).
Other Thoughts: - It's a long course with no running water, so bring water;
- In its current configuration, I'd contend that at least three holes should be par 4.
- Drop into Golden afterwards and try one of their new breweries, or good ol' Golden City.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Birds Nest!

5+    8/15/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dedicated Course for Disc Golf
- Wide Open Fields to throw in
- Elevation Changes
- Over 18 holes
- Different Pin configurations depending on the season
- Difficult to lose discs
Cons: - Not a lot of shade
- Not a lot of places to sit
- Some holes are not mapped well
- Some holes lack major obstacles
- Can be very busy during weekend hours
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all types of players. For beginners, plan on throwing 3-4 times before reaching the pin, these holes are far!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Front Range Gem

2-4    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of room- there are always other golfers out with you, but there is a great deal of space to work around each other.

Great people- I've been out a lot recently, and everyone I meet lets me tag along when I ask. One cat I played with got a call to return his Destroyer when other players found it in the tall grass. Maybe this is typical, but I was impressed.

Trees and ground cover provide challenges, but there are multiple paths around them. Opportunities for anhyzers, fore-and backhand shots.

Despite the vast area, it is relatively clean. Not lots of trash (I encourage users to pick up a piece or two), and many of the loose rocks have been arranged into nice borders on the fairways.

Relative isolation of the course is coupled with quick access to Golden, Boulder, and Northwest Metro Denver.
Cons: I have not seen any yet, but the eastern edge of the course is low ground, and can be quite wet when the weather is right.

The last 9 holes lack tee pads, if I remember rightly.

Some marble tee markers set out by work crews have been broken up and scattered. Benches at several tee pads have been trashed as well.
Other Thoughts: This course is such a great use of otherwise wasted space. All of the people I've met out here have nothing but good things to say about it.

The first hole is my favorite, with a steep drop to the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.