Disc Golf Center
Battle Creek, MI 
Irving Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: mcintosh105 Hole #17 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 225ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
I Wouldn't Think About Playing Irving By Myself The First Time!

1    8/28/2017   8/29/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1100  Reviewed: 1050  Exp: 39.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had been forewarned about Irving's navigational challenges so I was hoping to be able to tag along with someone or at least, follow a group. I walked up to # 1 just as a group of three were leaving. It didn't take to much disc golf savvy to see that two of these players were newbies. The third member looked as though he had played a few rounds. Well, they ended up inviting me to join them. I figured it was better than trying to navigate this maze of numbered and lettered holes alone. I knew I was in some trouble when I mentioned the lettered holes and was met with some blank stares. I don't think they believed me and they had played here a few times. An on-line map would be most helpful.

The course starts right by the parking lot. There is a practice basket as well as a large course bulletin board and a picnic table. The park kind of had this slightly neglected run down vibe. I wasn't overly impressed with the course at first but later found prettier, nicer parts. The course has excellent colored tee signs with a picture of the hole, decent concrete tee pads and Chainstars and some other blue models.

The letter holes are mixed in with the 18 regular holes. The course has an nice mix of open park type holes and more technical throws in the woods. There is nice elevation for your playing enjoyment and challenge. We played the first 7 holes before playing C and D. There are some challenging throws here. # 6 is 360' with the basket up the hill through a small window. C and D both are short but uphill throws. # 13 forces you to throw around the pond although it's not a real challenging route. # 17 is a fun downhill run.
Cons: Even playing with folks who had played the course before, we were still guessing at times. The 18 numbered and 9 lettered baskets is a bit confusing and there is no on-line map available.

The park has a ghetto feel in places. Some trash and some geese. How about shooting the trash and picking up the geese?

There are places where you could throw into the street and some walking paths criss cross the course. Be aware in both arenas.

Other Thoughts: This is a solid city park recreational course. I don't think it's necessarily beginner friendly. It's probably a little too much for them. And it's probably just a little too short and tame for advanced players. Not many places to launch epic drives. I wish they could clean up the navigation somehow and get an on-line map printed. The course could benefit from a club presence which could maybe get a few needed issues improved such as next tee signs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2015   9/18/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 217  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Irving Park DGC boasts 27 holes ranging from flat, open, park-style holes to technical exercises that make the most of moderately wooded elevation. Letter holes are interspersed fairly randomly with the numbered holes. The layout allows for just the numbered holes or a mixture of both. While working its way through a multi-use park, the course avoids most other activities (a walking path comes into play on the first several holes but shouldn't be too much of an issue during play).
- The wooded holes do a pretty good job of elevating this course from "one-dimensional park course" to "balanced and fun." There's enough variety with the elevation, the wooded sections, the more open areas, a bit of water scattered here and there (albeit without any true water carries or real danger) to keep things interesting. Some holes are short aceruns while others will make even experienced players work a bit harder. Nothing approaches "super challenging" but there are some solid golf shots here.
Cons: - This course is fairly bare bones when it comes to amenities. If you require perfect tees, Google Earth level accuracy on tee signs, next tee markers, benches, etc...then this is NOT the course for you. There are a ton of tee signs that are missing or inadequate. Not much (if anything) in the way of "hey, some lettered holes are hidden over that way" or "next tee signs." I actually kind of enjoyed the challenge of finding the lettered holes, because the course is decent enough in layout to not make it a super hassle or anything. I did not locate A and B (I realized too late that they were interspersed almost from the beginning) but found C on out...some people are going to HATE trying to track these down without a guide and signage. F was especially weird.
- Tee pads were a mix of short concrete tees (serviceable enough if a bit "pygmy") and lumpy rubber mats (which did the trick for my round but could cause issues in non-ideal conditions).
- A bit of trash scattered about and goose poop in several areas. I can deal with most course issues; but man, I just really dislike having to two-step it around lil' piles on the fairway. Only affects a handful of the holes closer to the water.
- There are a couple of spots where the course plays awfully darn close to some busy roadways.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I liked Irving Park well enough. The park is fairly pretty in places, while a little bit trashy in others. Battle Creek has a nice enough downtown area, and the surrounding buildings add some visual interest to parts of the round. The wooded, elevated holes made this course.
- Typically, having to "track down" 9 holes that aren't labelled is going to piss me off. For some reason, I liked the challenge of finding them on this course. It never felt like I had to walk crazy amounts to locate anything, and every time I took a guess as to the next tee, I seemed to get it right. So, despite a really terrible lack of signs, the flow's pretty darn intuitive.
- FYI, I don't believe the listed course info re: distances, water, or hole number is correct. Also this course could really use pictures (I didn't realize it only had two or I'd have gotten some during my round). Some local needs to get on it and update course info and pics!!
- With all the "warts" I wanted to rate this course at 2.5-discs; however, there was just enough variety, elevation, and wooded holes to make this a 3.0 because of the 9 extra lettered holes. Some decent tees, signs, and a juuust a lil' love in a few areas and I see this course threatening to crack into 3.5 range.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a map would be EXTREMELY helpful

1    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 300  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a multi multi use park in "inner city" Battle Creek. a much nicer park than the surrounding area. you are sharing this park with a lot of non-DG'ers please be wary of this!!

Teepads- although there are at least three different types of tee pad here (concrete, rubber mat, dirt) they are all of decent quality. The concrete is nice and level and the rubber mats are in good repair.

Challenge/Variety- for a short 24-hole course, the variety here is pretty impressive. there is a little of everything here to help you stay entertained.

Elevation-- used very well where it's available.

Water-- not really a factor except for a hole or two. there is a couple of larger ponds and a smaller spill way that come somewhat into play but errant throws should be fairly limited.
Cons:
Routing/Nav-- Horrible. not knowing where the lettered holes are, or what order they will appear makes this one a bitch to figure out. next tee signs, a map, or an accurate description of what order holes will appear in would be immensely helpful. I knocked a full disc off for this as it is just downright frustrating to navigate at times.

Upkeep- I know this is the inner city but the trash is out of hand. there are currently four tires (yes, tires) surrounding the trash can on the first tee, welcome to the ghetto.

Baskets- the chain stars are GREAT! the disc-king's are awful. they have little tines that stick above the rim of the basket that kicks your disc out on a good putt that may just be over the lip. annoying to say the least. they are blue, which stands out a bit.

Other Thoughts: there is some greatness here and there is certainly room for improvement. all in all an enjoyable round!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a great course, many long shots that are in the open and also in the woods, front 8 are rubber tee pads, the rest our cement tee pads. Signs are everyhole sponsnor by differnt business. baskets are good.
Cons: its hard to think of cons on this course, every hole is well placed out.
Other Thoughts: very clean, some holes had benches where u can take a break. Every hole u can par, and even some holes are aceable, I played lastnight and birdie and par the whole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/25/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 97  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-rounded urban park course. Has a majority of flat, short-to-average length holes with moderate tree density, as well as some dense wooded holes. Has some water holes, but only two or three in which losing a disc is a possibility (13 is the most hazardous).

Has quite a few holes with elevation changes (Holes 6, 11, 16, 17, 18). Excellent new photographic tee signs will hopefully start a trend. Custom baskets work well. Also has navigational aids. Free course.
Cons: It's hard to find this course if you aren't a local (Emmett Rd entrance, across from Kellogg C.C.). No disc or convenience stores nearby, and there are limited routes to the south and west. Like Begg Park, some holes come a bit close to residential areas, but these are still decent holes. Not exactly a country-club setting, and this course in general lacks super-long, challenging, or epic quality holes.
Other Thoughts: Has low level/squishy grass areas similar to Riverside Park in Grand Rapids, but the park had no flooding issues in spring 2011. Average, somewhat aged rubber tees are slippery at times but still much better than grass.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 new course

1    8/23/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety, mix of open and more technical shots with some decent elevation changes and a water hazard or two.
One hole's basket appears to be 20 ft. from the water, but because of a hidden hill and road, it is actually about 100 ft. from the water!
Well maintained and mowed park. Tee signs. Beginner, family friendly.
Good new type of baskets, small target zone but doesn't spit out.
Cons: Dirt tees. Lacking in challenge and length. Navigation may be difficult the first time, but surely not impossible.
Other Thoughts: Someone please update the course info. and directions if you know how to, as the ones I wrote to add this course are not GOOD. Thanks.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center