Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: hookem41 Hole #13 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach (Long Position)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Not as tight as advertised.

2-4    4/25/2017   4/25/2017
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 70  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the more technical and wooded course on this three-course complex. It starts directly across the parking lot near the practice baskets and, after hole one, immediately goes into a bottom woodland area for a number of technical, but fair, holes. The warning sign is cool, but overstated, and is probably just to keep first-timers from making the mistake of playing the most difficult course in the park.

If you like woods courses, I don't see how you won't like this one. There is a wide variety of hole lengths, varying degrees of openness and shot variety.You'll get to throw your drivers and putters on tight holes and the same goes for some holes that aren't so tight. There are uphill and downhill holes and a number of holes in the bottom area guarded by a creek that runs through the course.

There are also a combination of par four holes with discrete landing areas in doglegs as well as longer straight holes that you can try to reach with your driver. Many holes have multiple routes to the basket and this is true on some longer and some shorter holes. The tightest fairways are on shorter holes with longer holes having wider, though still tight for their length, ones.This is just a very well thought out course with virtually no repetition. It has trees, elevation changes and water and there just really isn't much more to ask for IMO.

There are benches at many of the tee boxes and all holes have concrete tees. There are multiple pin positions for variety and several mandos, all with drop zones that are marked on the tee signs. Tee signs are good and on my latest visit there were navigation arrows posted on many of the holes.

All creek crossing have bridges and the course appears to be very well maintained and cared for. This is one of the cleanest parks that I have played in.
Cons: Navigation can be a bit of a challenge. Pay attention to the tee signs. After the first hole, there is nothing pointing the way to the second tee and it is not visible from the first basket. There are several other places where this occurs, although there were some temporary navigation arrows pinned to trees in many places.

Some of the signs are misleading. For example, hole 17's sign shows a straight line from tee to basket when it the basket was actually on a right-turning fairway. You cannot tell from the tee which basket is in use and the use is not necessarily consistent throughout the course, i.e.,, just because one basket is in the "B" position doesn't mean any of the other baskets are in the "B" position.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Park is a great complex and this course is head and shoulders above Blue in quality.

You will need to take your water with you and there are no bathrooms on the course. Also watch out for the poison ivy, it is everywhere. Learn to identify it and leave it be.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Diamond, Dogwood or Gold, it rocks

1    11/19/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 376  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 29.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Marked
Cement Tee Pads
Well defined Fairways
Baskets are in decent shape
Bridges over most of the ditches
most holes have 2 pin positions
Cons: could use a direction sign to hole 1, but after that I found the rest of the course quickly
A couple of the holes don't have "good" lines to the basket, you have to throw and prey. Only reason I didn't give this course a perfect 5.
Other Thoughts: Are you up to the challenge?

I wasn't

What a course, good shots are rewarded, bad shots are punished for sure. I proved that today

A good mix of shots throughout the course, but not any of those boring wide open shots.

If you like courses that are bomber wide open fairways, play the Red or Blue course and skip this one, but if you are up to a challenge, go for it.



5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Tough Course

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well designed, signage for navigation, challenging but fair, beautiful surroundings, well maintained
Cons: Signage at each tee pad detailing the hole could be better
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course. Very challenging but rewards good play. There's a seasonal creek that runs in and around many holes, but no large bodies of water. The dense foliage offers enough challenge without having to worry about that. This is a course worth traveling to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads on every hole, most holes with Long and Short pads. Immaculately maintained with trash cans and benches at each hole, bridges all in good repair. An absolutely beautiful nature walk.
Cons: None, really. Too far from where I live in Dallas??? :-) Anyhoo, gonna make this a regular.
Other Thoughts: This course is difficult but not the monster it is made out to be. You definately need a strong arm and a finesse arm to be at your best. It is wooded, but not tighly so--Coyote in Cedar Hill is much more densley wooded than this. Errant shots are not a problem--not a lot of difficult underbrush for them to hide--but beware the creeks! There are stickers, but they are minimal as the grounds are very well maintained.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great Course

1    7/18/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really great course. It took everything I had to make it through with my dignity. I think I hit every tree in the park and some across the street as well. The most best park yet. It will test you physically, and mentally. It is way above my skill level but I had a really great time playing the course. I don't have a 200ft straight shot , which would be a great asset at this park. The corridors are very small. If you live close you owe it to yourself to make it out there and play it.
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about the course just a couple of signs were down to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: even though it is in the shade take plenty of water, it is still hot out there right now. good luck, I am sure you will enjoy it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip dog

1    4/2/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 292  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Complex,trees are daunting,very tight lines thru heavily wooded fairways, Comparable to Gateways more difficult holes and Mohawk(Blackhawk) in Tulsas holes if you added some elevation.This is one of the top three Hardest courses i've ever played.Don't get me wrong though there are plenty of birdie opportunities here to be had when the placements are in the short.In other words you better bird the shorty holes here.Gotta love that Pine and sand.
Cons: Showed up without proper rest and tried to play all three courses in a day.Bring extra brewskies its dry out there.I was rolling an extreme amount of times,don't get me wrong i only put it in the cons box due to the fact that they didn't work so well,it felt like it was the only safe throw.
Other Thoughts: Lyndsey Park alone is now a genuine full day excursion.Heard a seven over is the best round recorded here so far.....ouch.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 dogwood

5+    1/23/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: pimpcapnc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lets see i rate in my top 5 favorite courses just because of the difficulty and how it makes me play harder than other courses. be prepared to use shots that you usually wouldnt use because you will need it all. first time or two can be rough
Cons: i HATE hole number three tee box!!!! i like the old tee box better. other than that its great

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tylers got a gem, and it's harder than diamonds.

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All wooded, technical and long. I have never seen so many 550 and 600 ft. wooded holes before. I don't know how long this course is. If I had to guess I would say around 7000 Ft.!! Easy to navigate... easy to navigate in Tyler? Yes!!!! Thanks to Chalos13 for all of the navigational tips, but they are no longer needed. There are next tee arrows that you can't miss. New tee signs and concrete Tee pads. It appears that the local Tyler group knows what they have here and pay a lot more attention to having this course traveler or 1st timer ready. The course was not busy today on a overcast day with the temperature a smooth 67 degrees. A father and son playing the blue course helped me find the 1st tee and told me that this course is really hard and said that they gave up on hole 6 and told me good luck as if I was about to go into battle. I soon found out why. This course will challenge even pro level players and rec players like me will be happy to par a few of them. The fairways are well defined(The time of the season may have contributed to this).Only time will tell if it will continue to be well maintained and have well defined fairways once all of the leaves return. A creek comes into play on several holes with the baskets close to many of them. Tricky but not unfair landing zones. There are many semi straight shots that are long with multiple routs to many, which adds difficulty and options to them. Watch out on hole 7. The basket has a creek around the back of it, but discs were retrievable today. Extremely secluded. The only time that I heard traffic was by hole 13s basket. Don't worry, you go right back into the woods for 14 and soon can't hear anymore signs of civilization. Just like a brand new shiny toy waiting to be played with. This is a wooded golfers must play. It is by far better than the blue and red courses unless you don't like heavily wooded courses. Plenty of trash cans and benches to rest, and you will need it unless you are in great shape. The shot selection is what stood out to me more than the pin placements, which were not bad themselves. 54 holes in 1 spot. Plan a day at Lindsey, but play the gold 1st as it is longer and more of a workout than the other 2. Another fun ass Tyler course, unless the difficulty ruins it for you.
Cons: Not beginner friendly. No open bomber shots or across the water shots(except for the creek shots). Can't think of any more, if I do I will update my review.
Other Thoughts: hole 1 takes you into the woods and 18 brings you out, the rest are in the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.