Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: hookem41 Hole #18 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach (Long Position)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
 1 of 3 Quality Courses

1    4/3/2018   4/14/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 142  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are three quality 18 hole courses at Lindsey Park, each with their own color-coded baskets. I loved that. And they were all DiscCatchers in good condition.

The gold course is the lengthiest, most difficult, technical, and wooded of the three. I met a local, crazybuffaloguy on this site, who let me play with him for his daily round.

Holes are long and challenging. Lindsey Gold will chew you up and spit you out. But overall, they are pretty fun. Hitting your lines on a tight, wooded course is one of the most rewarding things in disc golf.

Tee Signs are pretty accurate, pins can be in A or B position. Tees are concrete, and seem to hold up well.

The first several holes are great, and a good introduction to your round. The first one is fairly open, but then you get into the woods. They were probably my favorite holes.
Cons: I agree with previous review Qikly about the repetition of many of the holes. It makes the more unique ones seem that much better, but the long straight shot is prime here. I played with a Guy who comes out pretty much every day, and he threw pretty much the same shot on most of the holes. There are a lot of holes finishing right, making the RHFH, or long anhyzer shot your primary drive/approach.

Luck is going to heavily factor into your score. Crazybuffaloguy, with his curated lines and years of experience on this course, said his scores can fluctuate by around 15 strokes some days depending on the kicks he gets. That could make this a more exciting course, but I think it just makes it more frustrating, when you throw exactly how you want to, and get a crazy kick. That happened to both of us.

Navigation can be a little tricky. If I didn't have a partner who knew the place like the back of his hand, I would've made a few wrong turns.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Gold is a great course, and this park is a destination place. Of the three, this was maybe my least favorite, but that is not to say it is the worst. Lindsey Gold is a great course, and does a service to Tyler, TX by being there. But with such a high rating, I was expecting so much more. There just wasn't anything about his course that made me go, "ok, wow. this is nice." And that's what I expect when I see a course over 4.0.

I am very grateful to crazybuffaloguy for playing this course, and the first 12 holes of the Red course with me as well. Made my day that much more fun!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal, but fantastic!

1    11/11/2017   11/16/2017
Review By: Funky Dave G
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easy to find next hole - lots of signs

Covered most of the way

Nice concrete pads & solid baskets

Trashcans & benches everywhere
Cons: Maybe too many trees...

Not so much this course, but the whole park has a sticker problem, so don't bring your dog... they will be miserable. Again, not so much on Gold, but everywhere else in the park it's super bad!
Other Thoughts: Don't bother playing the other 2 courses at Lindsey. Just play Gold twice. It's so hard, but I'm sure scores will come down with more experience on the lines.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not as tight as advertised.

2-4    4/25/2017   4/25/2017
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 100  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2017
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the more technical and wooded course on this three-course complex. It starts directly across the parking lot near the practice baskets and, after hole one, immediately goes into a bottom woodland area for a number of technical, but fair, holes. The warning sign is cool, but overstated, and is probably just to keep first-timers from making the mistake of playing the most difficult course in the park.

If you like woods courses, I don't see how you won't like this one. There is a wide variety of hole lengths, varying degrees of openness and shot variety.You'll get to throw your drivers and putters on tight holes and the same goes for some holes that aren't so tight. There are uphill and downhill holes and a number of holes in the bottom area guarded by a creek that runs through the course.

There are also a combination of par four holes with discrete landing areas in doglegs as well as longer straight holes that you can try to reach with your driver. Many holes have multiple routes to the basket and this is true on some longer and some shorter holes. The tightest fairways are on shorter holes with longer holes having wider, though still tight for their length, ones.This is just a very well thought out course with virtually no repetition. It has trees, elevation changes and water and there just really isn't much more to ask for IMO.

There are benches at many of the tee boxes and all holes have concrete tees. There are multiple pin positions for variety and several mandos, all with drop zones that are marked on the tee signs. Tee signs are good and on my latest visit there were navigation arrows posted on many of the holes.

All creek crossing have bridges and the course appears to be very well maintained and cared for. This is one of the cleanest parks that I have played in.
Cons: Navigation can be a bit of a challenge. Pay attention to the tee signs. After the first hole, there is nothing pointing the way to the second tee and it is not visible from the first basket. There are several other places where this occurs, although there were some temporary navigation arrows pinned to trees in many places.

Some of the signs are misleading. For example, hole 17's sign shows a straight line from tee to basket when it the basket was actually on a right-turning fairway. You cannot tell from the tee which basket is in use and the use is not necessarily consistent throughout the course, i.e.,, just because one basket is in the "B" position doesn't mean any of the other baskets are in the "B" position.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Park is a great complex and this course is head and shoulders above Blue in quality.

You will need to take your water with you and there are no bathrooms on the course. Also watch out for the poison ivy, it is everywhere. Learn to identify it and leave it be.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond, Dogwood or Gold, it rocks

1    11/19/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well Marked
Cement Tee Pads
Well defined Fairways
Baskets are in decent shape
Bridges over most of the ditches
most holes have 2 pin positions
Cons: could use a direction sign to hole 1, but after that I found the rest of the course quickly
A couple of the holes don't have "good" lines to the basket, you have to throw and prey. Only reason I didn't give this course a perfect 5.
Other Thoughts: Are you up to the challenge?

I wasn't

What a course, good shots are rewarded, bad shots are punished for sure. I proved that today

A good mix of shots throughout the course, but not any of those boring wide open shots.

If you like courses that are bomber wide open fairways, play the Red or Blue course and skip this one, but if you are up to a challenge, go for it.



6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great piece of property... Poor design

2-4    11/17/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 107  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.1 Years
6 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is located on the grounds of beautiful Lindsay Park. This facility is home to two of my very favorite courses in Texas with Cedar and Hickory being wonderful and varied. This course has great signage, teepads and some beautiful forests to play through. For being so deep in the woods it is well kept and you can tell the club puts alot of time into it.
Cons: For all the things going for it, there are double those wrong with it. The idea of a fairway is thrown out the window on this course. The natural flight of a disc is completely disregarded and landing zones are paltry and mis-placed. This is a classic example of more trees equals better course, which is so wrong and so bad for our sport. What makes me even sadder is people really believe this is a "hard" course. It's not hard it is poorly designed, it is an "equalizer" course where players of all skill levels can shoot similar scores because skill has very little to do with how you do out here. I want to make this clear, I respect and admire the work done out here and the place has potential but in its current state it has a long way to go before being called a "destination course".
Other Thoughts: I've played this place twice in tournaments and both times I was astounded by how poorly this place is designed. Play Red and Blue if you go there, you will have a blast and don't waste your time on "Gold" it's much closer to Tin.

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Whole Lotta' Trees

1    12/14/2014   12/14/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of those courses that needs to be played several times to really get a feel for it. Unfortunately I was travelling through the area and only had a chance to play it once. So this review is from the perspective of a travelling Disc Golfer.

This is obviously the toughest of the three 18 holes courses in Lindsey Park. The difficulty comes from the fact that every hole is in a forest of trees, and the available fairways are tight and punishing to errant drives.

Each hole has an excellent concrete teepad, and typically two available basket positions. There are good tee signs at each pad and a marker that was supposed to indicate the basket position (blue or red) but in several cases the basket position didn't seem to match the marker.

The tee signs indicate the direction to the next hole and there are many "Next Tee" signs in the woods as well. These were helpful as the woods are thick and the direction to the next hole was not always obvious.

Good variety of hole lengths from 230' to 535'. There are three par 4 holes which require an accurate drive to a landing area, and then another to the pin for any chance at birdie,or even par.

On some holes getting off of the fairway will leave you with a reasonable path to the pin, but on others you'll pretty much have to pitch out to the fairway to continue. A good overhand would come in useful for some of these holes.

Not a lot of elevation out there, but enough to offer up some good uphill and downhill drives. The area is carved up by creeks and drainages which offer some abrupt elevation, often around the baskets.

Hole 18 finishes with a drive over a "Cemetery" which has a large tombstone listening tournament winners. You'll recognize a few big-time pro names on here and I'd have loved to see them play this course.
Cons: The vast majority of holes require a blind drive from the tee. That is, you cannot see the basket from the tee box. Or, in the case of Hole 14, the basket that you can see is actually the Hole 12 basket, surprise!! Having a spotter or walking ahead is needed for first timers to even know where to throw.

The tee signs, while very nice, seemed inaccurate to me on several holes. Holes that appeared from the map to require a right-fading drive would sometimes end up with the basket to the left of the fairway, and vice-versa.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course, but one that I would like to play over and over again. Repetition on the course would certainly reveal the best available lines and would eliminate much of the guessing that I was forced to do as a first-timer.

Hats off to the Rose City Disc Club for installing and maintaining three very nice courses in Lindsey Park.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Woods Golf - Tests Extreme Accuracy

1    4/25/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 172  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park offers a tremendous amount of disc golf with three 18 hole courses on sight, each widely varying in difficulty. The Gold course is easily the toughest course in the park and is one of the toughest courses that I have played. The amenities are great with plenty of parking space, water fountains, and bathrooms. The course is greatly taken care of as well with very nice concrete tees, DISCatcher baskets, and plenty of directional signs, bridges, benches, and trash cans.
Other than bookending holes 1 and 18, the course is set entirely in the dense woods.

This is a very beautiful setting, playing through hundreds of enormously tall trees and a creek that winds through numerous holes. The creek made for some fun risk/reward play (holes 2, 3, 6, 12, and 13) and adds to the challenge of an already frustratingly hard round. There were multiple times where I was faced with the decision to either go for the basket from the other side of the creek and risk getting a tree kick into the water, or lay up and play it safe. I also enjoyed playing on the sandy, but hard ground. This allowed for a lot of generous skips.

Definitely one of the toughest courses I have played, Lindsey Gold presents very tight and specific lines hole after hole. There is a pretty good distribution of distances and considering the tight lines in the woods, adding another hundred feet feels like a huge difference on some holes. There are 7 holes <300 feet, 5 holes 300-400 feet, 5 holes 400-500 feet, and 1 hole >500 feet.

My favorite holes were the ones that offered more than one lane either off the tee or on the way to the basket. The holes that best represented this were 2-4, 7, 10, and 12. The front half was more enjoyable to me with the creek in play and having multiple lanes on more holes. Holes 1 and 18 give at least a little variety out of the woods, and the multiple pin positions that most holes have add variety to the course as well.

One of the things that impressed me most about the course was how minimal the chances were of losing a disc, despite how densely wooded it was. I don't know if the course designers have done a ton of maintenance thinning out the rough or if the woods are naturally set like that, but you shouldn't spend too much time searching for discs if you go off the fairway. For you score, however, you definitely want to stay on the fairway.
Cons: -The biggest downfall of the course was how specific most of the holes were. Because the course is so tight, the holes generally played along one specific lane. If you didn't hit the line, you had to pitch out from the rough back on the fairway and throw until you did hit the line. For about half of the holes, there wasn't much to it other than that. While I definitely enjoyed the type of holes presented at the course, it would have been nicer to play more holes with multiple lanes, especially off the tee.
-For numerous holes, many shots off the tee felt very similar. There were a bunch of times I stood on the tee looking at either a super tight straight fairway or a slightly wider straight fairway. Depending on the tightness of fairway and length of the hole, I generally either threw my understable mid or understable driver. This stretch is most common in the middle holes and felt almost painfully repetitive.
-The tee signs show both pin positions, but would be a little more helpful if they were more detailed. For instance, it would be nice if it pointed out that 18 has a deep ravine right before the pin rather than just showing a brown spot. My fault for not checking out the hole before I threw, but I lost a disc down there because I did not see the ravine from where I threw. Not a big deal at all, but the tee signs could be a little better.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Park truly offers something for everyone providing three courses with vastly different levels of difficulty. I recommend also playing the Blue course as it offers a tremendous variety of wooded and open holes and even has some holes with major elevation changes. The Gold course is definitely one of the hardest courses I've played, so come play if you want to test your accuracy.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Straight-up

1    4/25/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 165  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 8.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lindsey Gold offers a truly advanced-level challenge in a gorgeous wooded setting that is well-groomed: while the rough is thick enough to punish errant shots, losing a disc is rarely a fear. Carved out of the woods, the course challenges you to hit very unforgiving windows and lanes; there's rarely any room for error. If you're looking to test your control and accuracy, you've come to the right place.

The best holes on Lindsey Gold provide memorable challenges in tight quarters, such as the intimidatingly long and tree-studded anhyzer of hole 4 and the tight shot over a creek bed with multiple obstacles on the approach of hole 2. The relatively more open holes 1 and 18 provide a different feel and some elevation. Variation is largely in short supply, but when it does appear it's very effective.

Few city parks offer more disc golf than Lindsey does: three 18s of widely ranging difficulties, terrains, and looks give you a lot to do on your visit. Together, the three courses offer something for every golfer, from the absolute beginner to the top-level pro.

Concrete tees are great. Multiple pin positions. Amenities are on site and parking is abundant. For as many holes as there are in such a prominent park, there's virtually no conflict between disc golfers and other park goers, which is very welcome. I didn't have to contend with a single pedestrian on my Friday afternoon visit. Can't go wrong with a shaded environment in the Texas heat.
Cons: Lindsey Gold is one of the least varied courses I've ever played. First, the environment itself never steps down from tightly wooded, outside of the bookending holes. This in itself isn't a problem, but it places a pressure on the design to create variation that it unfortunately doesn't achieve. Many of the holes play straight and tight, including an incredibly self-similar stretch from holes 9 to 13 or so in which you're throwing the same disc on largely the same line. There are exceptions to this that are effective and welcome, but by the end of my round the course had become very repetitious.

Partly this is due to Lindsey Gold's lack of a mental game. The predominant tightness regularly gives you one look and line off the tee, with few and often only minor exceptions. The result is that there's little to think about and rarely any risk versus reward to weigh: you see your shot, you attempt it, and you either hit it or you don't. There aren't many places where you can push for birdie or lay up, or take multiple, equally feasible routes to the basket, or recover from an unfortunate kick off a tree or a badly executed drive. Many of these holes have only one possible play through, and the extreme tightness of the windows and lines can punish even great shots: anything less than the ideal will often send you scrambling. It's not a question of being hard so much as it's a question of maintaining interest by providing a rich, multivalent experience. I feel like a greater change of pace and possibility is required here to make the course truly special, though the potential is certainly there.

Lindsey Gold entertains a relatively high luck factor. Approaching many of the tree-guarded pins threatens to pass from challenging into poke and pray, especially on the occasional blind shot. I can appreciate the push for a challenging course, and that everyone has a different interpretation of where challenge ends and random begins. For me, Lindsey Gold crosses this line at too many points.
Other Thoughts: For as highly rated as it is, I had hoped for more variety and a more interesting mental game at Lindsey Gold. It does tightly wooded very, very well, but doesn't have much else to offer. It's like a bar band that only knows a handful of tunes: after you catch on to the repetition, it's all you hear. With some tweaking to create more diverse lines the course could be really special. As it stands, I wouldn't recommend Lindsey Gold in itself to anyone unless they were looking to gauge the capabilities of their control game. That said, with all else on offer in the park, disc golfing and otherwise, it's hard to discourage someone from making a visit.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Tough Course

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well designed, signage for navigation, challenging but fair, beautiful surroundings, well maintained
Cons: Signage at each tee pad detailing the hole could be better
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course. Very challenging but rewards good play. There's a seasonal creek that runs in and around many holes, but no large bodies of water. The dense foliage offers enough challenge without having to worry about that. This is a course worth traveling to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Caliber Beast!

5+    11/18/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is referred to as the Dogwood course locally. It is a true test of accuracy and distance that will challenge even the most seasoned professional disc golfer. It requires every shot shape in the bag; dogleg left, dogleg right, straight shots, even a chance at an overhand or two. Excellent use of elevation where possible, as well as water when possible (even though rain is necessary to fill in the creek beds). Every hole drains like a champ because of the sand, except for number 3. This is an amazing hike through the woods, with benches and trash cans everywhere. A true championship caliber course with concrete tee pads on every hole, as well as short and long pin locations on every hole except numbers 4, 10, and 17 (all true par 4's). With several tournaments being held here now, there has been touch up trimming done, along with a significant amount of trees removed making every hole fair with it's line(s) to the basket.
Cons: I wish it had better signage, that's it. Zero significant cons here. Yes, it is not "beginner friendly" and the warning sign at the first hole lets you know that. It's not a joke. If you miss your line and hit a tree, it's possible the punishment could outweigh the crime. You just have to be accurate. The rough is very rough in several places and you will have to pitch out in some situations. This is also a true test of your mental capacity to have a short memory and flush bad shots or bad holes.
Other Thoughts: It's cart friendly, so take em. It takes you way away from the parking lot with no chance to refill any water bottles mid round, so take what you need with you. Extra water in the summer is necessary, it's brutally hot, but still the most shaded of the 3 courses at Lindsey Park. I've got par on the short pins at 58 and 64 on the long pins for the Dogwood. Please use the trash cans, the local club has to do all the maintenance except the mowing the city does. Lindsey Park is an incredible place to play disc golf with 3 very very good courses in one place. Check it out soon!!!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.