Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: hookem41 Hole #5 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Tough round

1    8/16/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads were all concrete with plenty of room for any shot type. The signage was great, and it even had really good signage on trees leading you toward the next tee, which made navigation a breeze. The course provides a variety of shots needed and good distance variation. It makes good use of the water hazards (if they aren't dried up) and the changes in elevation. All of the baskets were in great shape, and every hole had multiple pin placements. There were plenty of trash cans and benches along the way, and there was a bunch of artwork to be discovered through the round. It was hot, but very peaceful and quiet back in those woods.
Cons: This one is not beginner friendly. There are a ton of very wooded shots that could ruin your day, if you aren't throwing your A-game. Some fairways could use some trimming, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Really beautiful course, and there are two more on site. Bring lots of water in the summer because it gets hot, even on this very shady one. Definitely worth the time to play if you think you have the experience, but be warned: the sign at the first tee is no joke. This one gets tough pretty quickly, and it doesn't really let up. Also it is a pretty long walk with trails winding you all through the woods, so be prepared for a hike.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gold Course

1    3/9/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very tough course with a lot of trees, which is good for improving your game. Well thought out and has numerous holes for every shot. Concrete tees and pretty well maintained 'fairways', as well as seating pretty regularly.
Cons: Tough course. Not meant for beginners or people who don't feel like being frustrated.
Other Thoughts: The hardest of the three courses at Lindsey. There are very few true open shots on this course, and if they are open then there's some sort of catch to make it difficult. Play this course to improve your game, but only once you can already throw at least 300 with some control.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/9/2010   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great for the big arms. Long fairways and it really makes you pick that exact shot. You can't just get up there and boom it to the basket. You have to mix power and accuracy.
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to scramble on. Def a beast to take on alone. With a partner I was able to get plus 2 but alone not so good.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  best course in east tx.

5+    1/28/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: discgolfdonkey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: concrete tee boxes , multiple pin placements, pro level course, beautiful fairways, course stays dry , plenty of shade, very challenging. world class course.
Cons: hole 3 is the only hole that gets semi-wet, every other hole stays dry when it rains thanks to the sand.
Other Thoughts: short placements 55-60 real good score, long placements par 63 one of the hardest courses in all of texas. strongly advise playing this unique course. some people complain it's too hard and too wooded but you just have to learn new shots and lean on good placement shots.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A great Course

1    7/18/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really great course. It took everything I had to make it through with my dignity. I think I hit every tree in the park and some across the street as well. The most best park yet. It will test you physically, and mentally. It is way above my skill level but I had a really great time playing the course. I don't have a 200ft straight shot , which would be a great asset at this park. The corridors are very small. If you live close you owe it to yourself to make it out there and play it.
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about the course just a couple of signs were down to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: even though it is in the shade take plenty of water, it is still hot out there right now. good luck, I am sure you will enjoy it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A real doozy!

1    7/1/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A truly challenging course beginning to end. The tee boxes and baskets are very nice, and arrows make navigating between holes easier. If you like pushover courses, don't play here. In my limited class of the most difficult courses with Idlewild in KY, and the three courses at the PDGA headquarters in GA. I had a high score, but I wouldn't change any of the holes. A super disc golf course!
Cons: A couple of the tee signs did not accurately represent the pin positions. I stepped in quicksand trying to grab a disc on the edge of the creek. Over my skill level, left me muttering a few times.
Other Thoughts: If you appreciate a formidable challenge to your game, check this one out. If not, Lindsay Park has 36 more holes to offer which I didn't play, but assume would offer a bit more playability to the average player.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Out Nucking Futs FUN!

1    6/2/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. This is a very tough course, but for me, that is an attractive quality. There are tons of older trees here making this setting rather tranquil. For the hottest part of the day this is the course you want to be playing. The heavily wooded and shaded hopes can knock the temperature down quite a few degrees. There are all kinds of shots and disc navigation needed to play here. The pin placements are in rather clever spots on many of the holes. The multiple pins can really change things up a bit. Many of them, will even change the layout from lefty to righty holes and vice-versa. The few creeks and well made bridges make for some nice risk/reward choices. The tee pads are big concrete slabs and well placed. There is some great seating and trashcans at many of the tees. The tee signs have the usual footage for both pin placements and there are lots of small next tee signs posted to really help you find your way. The park has portable restrooms at the parking lot.
Cons: This course is not beginner friendly. The tee signs do not show you where the pins are. Some poisonous plants (ivy, sumac, oak,...) around, but that is at most of shaded courses in the DFW area. That is all I can think of.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is outstanding here. This is tough and so much fun. This is worth a drive from just about anywhere. You have to love that this course has a stone monument with some tournament winners and years listed on it. The fact that there are 3 courses in this one park makes for a great outing. This is however the cream of that crop. If you like it difficult and figuring holes out like puzzles, this is your place!

Extra notes: The wildlife inside this particular course is rather intense. I saw many snakes, lizards, and other reptiles as well as the regular garden variety furry little varmints. ;) So just keep your eyes open. The locals call this the "Dogwood Course". It even has a warning sign at the beginning stating that it is a professional course and not meant for beginners. This sign matches the sign from the Dogwood ball golf course. It is obviously some kind of inside joke that we are all now part way in on. ;)

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The "WARNING" sign says it all...

5+    4/7/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park is home to 3 quality disc golf courses, with Dogwood being the most recently installed (and thus having the newest baskets, tees, signs, etc).

Let's start with the basics: Spacious concrete tees on every hole, new DisCatcher baskets, multiple pin placements on almost every hole, benches on many holes, "next tee" signs where needed, several restrooms and port-o-johns throughout the park, plenty of parking space, and a bulletin board with an overhead view of the courses.

Well-thought-out and VERY challenging design...this course will test even the most experienced of players with it's tightly wooded and sometimes epic-ly long fairways. Hole 1 is moderately wooded, but is the most open hole on the entire course, so don't let it lull you into a false sense of security...the punishment begins on the very next hole :) Aside from the ever-present trees and schule, many of the holes incorporate sharp doglegs, elevation, low ceilings, and a winding creek as additional hazards.

The holes that stood out the most to me were 3, 4 and 17. Hole 3 plays through a high-ceiling, narrow tunnel with a slight right-to-left turn for the first 350'-375' before turning sharply to the left for another 80'-150' (depending on pin placement) over a creek. Hole 4 has one of the most beautiful fairways I've ever seen...after the initial 90-degree right dogleg that's only 100' from the tee you're greeted with yet another long tunnel-ish shot, but this one is flanked by walls of giant old-growth pine trees! Throw in some small trees in the middle of the fairway, a slight uphill climb, and a guarded green, and you have a recipe for a possible 5 or higher score if you aren't careful. Hole 17 is what I would call the signature hole, although it isn't one of the heavily wooded holes (which is what Dogwood is all about). It incorporates a moderately open fairway that curves left-to-right and runs slightly downhill over 400' before turning back left to a heavily protected green with a creek behind the pin...this is my favorite hole on Dogwood because of the multiple elements incorporated (elevation, trees, water, guarded pin).

The sandy soil on most holes drains very quickly after a rain (hole 3 being the only exception I can think of).

Although the warning sign at hole 1 states that Dogwood is "only recommended for highly skilled golfers", I found many casual players enjoying the course as much as myself...all in all, playing Dogwood has the potential to be a very humbling experience, but the smart golfer who can keep his or her disc in the fairway will be happy with the outcome.
Cons: At this point, some of the fairways (especially recently added long pins) still need significant trimming for them to be considered "fair" in my book. A prime example of this is hole 9 in the left pin (not sure if it's considered long or short), where the limbs hang only a few feet off the ground in spots, turning even the best drive into a lay-up 3.

Navigation can be a little tricky in a few spots where "next tee" signs aren't immediately obvious...when in doubt, look for orange marks on trees, and follow them as best as you can.

In retrospect, some of the holes seem a *little* redundant in the short pins...however, the long pins make up for this fact.
Other Thoughts: I gave Dogwood 4 out of 5 orangeish, oblong, disc-shaped things....I feel that with a little more trimming and some more detailed signage, it could get 4.5 out of 5.

With the addition of the Dogwood course, Lindsey Park now seems to have it all (in terms of shot variety) and is a great spot for a full day of golfing.

Keep an eye out for some awesome local artwork on the trees...holes 3, 10, and 14?. Unless, of course, you're freaked out by evil clowns :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip dog

1    4/2/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 296  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Complex,trees are daunting,very tight lines thru heavily wooded fairways, Comparable to Gateways more difficult holes and Mohawk(Blackhawk) in Tulsas holes if you added some elevation.This is one of the top three Hardest courses i've ever played.Don't get me wrong though there are plenty of birdie opportunities here to be had when the placements are in the short.In other words you better bird the shorty holes here.Gotta love that Pine and sand.
Cons: Showed up without proper rest and tried to play all three courses in a day.Bring extra brewskies its dry out there.I was rolling an extreme amount of times,don't get me wrong i only put it in the cons box due to the fact that they didn't work so well,it felt like it was the only safe throw.
Other Thoughts: Lyndsey Park alone is now a genuine full day excursion.Heard a seven over is the best round recorded here so far.....ouch.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 dogwood

5+    1/23/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: pimpcapnc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lets see i rate in my top 5 favorite courses just because of the difficulty and how it makes me play harder than other courses. be prepared to use shots that you usually wouldnt use because you will need it all. first time or two can be rough
Cons: i HATE hole number three tee box!!!! i like the old tee box better. other than that its great

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.