Winston-Salem, NC 
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great casual/beginner course

5+    10/3/2017   10/3/2017
Review By: nexusben
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great location for disc golf. It's not a ridiculously hard course no matter your skill level, and it's a lot of fun for anyone.

- Located not too far from Winston-Salem area
- Clean park with generally nice people
- Playing alone on a relatively empty day you can play the entire 18-hole layout in under 30 min
Cons: - Compact layout leads to a lot of close play
- Parking situation can be tight on weekends
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, this isn't a very challenging course, but it's a ton of fun. I play here 2-4 times a week if not more.Highly recommended!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classic

1    8/11/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: New013
Played: 169  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Horizons is an oldey, a course of yesteryear, it's like time traveling to a time long long ago for people who are not that old as this course surely is. To truly understand a course such as this you have to get in the shoes and knee high socks and short shorts of the people of that bygone era.

First, they were frolfing with legit frisbees. Just like the iPhone and the internet and pewdiepie; they had no friggin clue what a Shryke was. So the holes are all short, so short in fact 300' holes here are par 4's.

Secondly, just like old ole Avery Jenkums they wanted less trees so the grass meadows are dotted with old growth trees which sparsely create multiple lines for you to enjoy. If you don't like multiple lines throw a hyzer every time, Avery approves.

Thirdly, this is a great course for people new to the game or who just aren't that good to come have fun and chuck stuff around.

Fourthly, they added three new holes with more trees in the way if that's your thing.

Recap: Short holes, multiple routes, open holes and less open holes. Three new holes.

Equipment - They recently poured giant concrete pads bigger than some of the holes. Older baskets but they work better than those at the Ledgestone.. am i right? Informative tee signs that let you know the basket you're throwing to is definitely one of the 10 you can see.

Atmosphere - Quaint little area full of grass, one sweet tree, other trees, two red barns and smiling faces.
Cons: Layout - All the holes are short. They're kind of cramped in together so navigation can be an issue if you're new and can't read signs to good. Not a ton of variety, it's a lot of throw whatever shot you want and miss 4 trees.

Equipment - One of the pads was broken negative 1 review point.

Atmosphere - Sam Mowles passed awful gas on the barn hole.
Other Thoughts: I've been awake for a very long time so excuse the format of this review. I'm not giving Horizons a 2 because I think it's bad and not worth playing, that's just kind of where it fits in with other courses I've reviewed.

It's a great course for new people, families or just to have some fun throwing discs. The historical factor is super cool and honestly to be that old and in such great shape is a miracle in itself. Definitely worth hitting if you're in the area. Below is a numerical scoring some people seem to want.

Parking: 6
Sweet Trees: 1
Red Barn Quality: 10
Duos of Chuckers playing super slow: 400
Bambi meadow beauty: 8


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great confidence builder

2-4    9/11/2012   10/13/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a shorter course that really allows for you to work on your approach game. It's a great confidence building course. I was able to fine tune my game and become a lot more familiar with my fairway and midrange discs. The putts are fairly simple and you can post some pretty ridiculous scores. If you've gone out and played some tougher courses lately and gotten beat up, get out to Horizons and get your groove back.
Cons: It's short and some of the tee pads are short, don't whine about it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Oldest Course in NC

1    3/21/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 106  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs, benches and concrete tee pads on every hole. The tee pads are a little short, but not a big issue on this course.
No blind tee shots, good use of the limited elevation here.
Well maintained, the grass was cut to a good level the day I was there.
All the baskets are in good shape.
Trees on the property were used well, to make you shape shots. No thick woods to frustrate anyone, just old growth trees.
Cons: Not too many, several of the fairways were parallel, up and back. I imagine there could be a lot of overlap on busy days or tournaments.
Kind of a pain to get to (north of W-S), but not the course's fault.
Other Thoughts: Some Disc Golf history here, the oldest course in North Carolina. This explains the short tee pads, short holes and overall condensed space this course is on. If timg had ratings by Course Category, this would get a 4.5 or 5.0 in the Family/Beginner Category. Great course to bring a Newb or the little ones.
Since this course is over 30 years old (probably older than some reading this) they would have built it with freestyle frisbees in mind, hence the short distances. The holes average just 236' each and I'll bet you can see 16 of the 18 baskets from the parking lot!
There are four Par 4s here, not really necessary, the longest is just 300' downhill, wide-open. I'm not even counting that as my first eagle!
I wasn't expecting a lot when I came here, I heard it was short and easy. But it was fun to play, for the history of DG and to work on your upshot and putting game. All NC DGers should play this at least once, to see how the game began here and how far we have come in course design and length.
It's too bad that Winston-Salem hasn't been able to add another course over the last 30+ years, especially after being the trailblazers in the state!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Horizons

5+    5/26/1999   5/26/2016
Review By: PlaynDoc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: my first course. the form wants me to add additional wording to help other players. well, here's some info --> go play it. you won't be disappointed
Cons: too far away from where i live now.
Other Thoughts: only-one-in-my-life, hole-in-one, hole 16. witnessed.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

It's Perfect For What It Is

5+    5/4/2016   5/4/2016
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 47.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2016
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As the oldest existing disc golf course in North Carolina, Horizons is the ultimate solely Red level, Recreational, beginner and old timer friendly course that will call for a variance of directional and distance discing.
Well laid concrete pads may be considered too small by some, by today's standards, but for hole lengths, they are more than adequate, as they are well mulched and have additional, level run-up/step-up space behind them. The DGA Mach 3's, with the number plates on top are in great shape and call us yonder to yesteryear when most all baskets were of that make. They, too, are nicely landscaped, with much mulch. There's a few places, where a dim eyed old man would appreciate the bright yellow band of a DISCatcher, but I still like these baskets a lot.
With the relative closeness of holes, and the big, readable, informative tee signs, navigation is a breeze, even for a half blind old man like me.
Great use of the tree stand (can't quite call it a forest), other trees and tree lines, the barn, as well as the limited elevation differentials available, present a well varied 18 on a relatively small allotment of land. There are some close proximities between some baskets and OB's like the parking lot and the park road, but I perceive this as a Pro, as that necessitates use of careful consideration when driving to, approaching or putting at these targets, adding to the challenge of what many would consider too easy, short and open. Though it is a relatively short and open course, Horizons can bite you and bogey you if you take her for granted, as I did on #9, finding a tree right in front of me, for which I really wasn't looking and landing my second shot behind another majestic, mature hardwood, blocking my putting path to save par. A missed putt, off the basket can roll a ways away, as I saw happen to a fellow on #4. A slightly wide or long shot can put you past the split rail fence or on pavement and penalize you. Horizons is a very well maintained and manicured course in a wonderful, multi-use county park, with no interference or interaction with those other activity areas. A couple of benches and several trash cans are good amenities. Close by restrooms and water fountain are great ameneties. The box beside the bench at Tee 1 is pretty much always filled with well designed and detailed score cards. And you can eyeball your parked car from pretty much everywhere on the course, except for the 12 green/13 tee area.
Cons: The four holes par rated at 4, for an overall schematic of 58, which in essence, relegates the course to Green level status. Ignore that, play all Holes as Par 3, and Horizons is a GREAT congenially competitive Red level course. As well as I played today, I can't, in good conscience, consider it a 12 under round. Just like as badly as I played the last time I was here a month or so ago, I can't score that as a 2 under round.
There are some close proximities between a few fairways, particularly going back and forth through the tree stand, as well as between a couple of baskets and next tees. But as this is more of a controlled placement type of course, rather than an unleashed power layout, it is of little concern. But for safety's sake, you can always wait an extra moment while the players ahead of you clear the next tee and be watchful and mindful of errant shots from neighboring holes and yield right of way as necessary. This course is too enjoyable and quick to play anyway to be in any type of that much of a hurry
Other Thoughts: I've many great, good memories from playng here over the decades, though none of them are of aces made or witnessed, though it would seem that Horizons could be considered the consummate ace race course. I almost got to see one on 18 today, but he hit the basket and it fell to the ground for a drop-in deuce. I won the Silver Medal here in the 2003 State Games, but had to listen to my girlfriend of the time rag on that, as she won the Gold in the Women's Division. She shouldn't have, The only reason she did was because the TD forced a 16 year old, good player of a girl out of the Women's Division to play with two teen aged boys in a three person Juniors Division, where she finished third/last for the Bronze. She would've earned Gold in the Women's Division by about eighteen strokes. I've always felt badly for that little girl, as she really was good, shooting right around par, and driving the green on #12. And she was good company in my group the first round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Clean, short, fun. A classic

2-4    2/21/2016   2/21/2016
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 56  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 10 years ago, I would've rated this course much higher, and I can understand why the hole lengths are so short. When this course was designed and made (80's) that was the distance you could throw...the lengths were appropriate.

However, for today's standards, this course is a fun, beginner friendly length, but doesn't offer much in the way of a good challenge for the experienced player.

That being said, I still think this course is fantastic!
Clean, friendly atmosphere park, with a well maintained course perfect for introducing a new player, a newer player working on their game, or the experienced player polishing their game.

Although the course is mostly open, there are still preferred lines, and plenty of penalty for error on this course! If you don't take it seriously, it can lead to pars that should've been easy birds.

As i mentioned above, the park is always clean (little to no litter! Take note Charlotte area players...) and well maintained. The park is somewhat on the out skirts of Winston and helps keep the park quiet and serene. Although it can get crowded during peak hours, I've never had a less than enjoyable time playing Horizons

Cons: The layout of the course is a bit crowded. The fairways tend to run parallel to each other and there are several baskets close to Tee boxes. On a busy day, or with an inexperienced player, this could potentially pose a hazard. Just keep your wits about you, not a major turn off, but not ideal.

Tee pad length. Another minor con, and somewhat nitpicking, but the tee pads aren't very conducive for a proper run up. Although most holes are within stand still reach for the experienced player, I still like enough tee pad to work with.
Other Thoughts: Horizons is a great fun, short length course with some added "cool factor" due to its age.

Not quite a "championship" level course, but great for the newer player, or introducing new players. It's also great fun to play as a break from the grueling Charlotte courses

The park is located in a quiet rural-ish area, has a great dog park across the street (for the wife and kids to take the dog possibly?) and has been around forever. What's not to like?

If you're passing through, or looking for a change of pace, this is an excellent option. Just don't expect long crushing drives and difficult tight fairways

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for All

1    8/8/2015   8/8/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Horizons park is a solid, short eighteen hole course situated just outside of Winston-Salem. The hallmark of this course is accessibility...meaning that almost anyone could have fun here. Most holes are in the range of about 250ish feet with relatively clean lines. There are a few trees in play for almost every hole, but not a single line I would consider tight. What that means for Horizon Park is that anyone from beginner up could come play a quick, enjoyable 18 hole round.

All holes have nice signs, concrete tee pads, and baskets are all numbered and in very good condition. Many of the green complexes and areas around the tees are freshly mulched and the landscape really looks like it gets a lot of TLC.

My favorite hole was hole 14 which forces a neat anhyzer (RHBH) around a big red barn. That was definitely a pretty shot.

Evidently this is the oldest course in NC...it is really cool to see old classic courses stand the test of time (though I understand it has had a few re-routes along the way).
Cons: The most obvious con is the length. Most of the holes are short and that made for a bit of monotony in the middle of the round.

There are a few places, especially from 14-18, where navigation is a bit tricky because a lot of holes are in close proximity.

When crowded, players definitely need to have a heads-up mentality due to the cramped nature of some of the holes. A few tees and baskets are a bit close and stray discs definitely can become a problem.

A few of the baskets, noteably 8 and 18, are very close to the parking lot, whereas 13 plays by a road. That could be difficult for beginners and I never like to see people's cars and roadways in play due to safety concerns.

I noticed the parking lot was marked OB on the tee sign for 17, a hole where it doesn't really come into play. I would have liked to see it marked more clearly on other holes where the parking lot and roadways were a more direct obstacle.

The tee pads are very short...it would be nice if they allowed for a bit of runup. Luckily, many have nice mulched areas around them which helps extend the pads to some degree.

Some of the holes on the site are marked as par 4s, but realistically everything here should easily be a par 3, even if the course is aimed at beginners.
Other Thoughts: I played just before a round of the NC Junior Championship here. It was really great to see so many juniors and parents out enjoying the day. I think this course lends itself nearly perfectly to a juniors tournament, and hope the local scene continues to support play like that.

I was on the fence here between giving this course a 2.5 and a 3. I made my call based upon the fact that it is in impeccable shape and I really did have a fun time. It is not necessarily a destination course, and the difficulty level is pretty low, but it is simply a fun place to come throw discs and relax.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Horizon

5+    5/22/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: waltny
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean and well kept
Wide open spaces with little worry of losing a disc
Cons: Tee boxes too close to baskets
Some fair ways nearly overlap
Some very short holes
Other Thoughts: Fun place to play other than a league night.
I only broke out a fairway driver for holes 12 and 13, otherwise I would say a US, stable/neutral, OS mid along with a putter is all you need.
Not very technical, but a few shots I needed a healthy anny to flex back to park it through the trees.
I got rather confused on where basket 15-17 were after coming off basket 14 as the land markings seemed a little off the first time through.



2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

1    4/12/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: Fox-17
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Clean location
- Great for beginners
- Varied length of holes
- Clear tee and Pin locations.
- Nice gentle elevation changes
Cons: - Stray flying disks could present a problem, if large # of people are playing, (not much room between holes).
- Some may find the layout to be too easy/straightforward.
Other Thoughts: I went up here on a whim, and glad I did. I found it very enjoyable and allowed practice on power/trick shots (without fear of losing a disk) yet still gives a bit of a challenge. This is the first DGC in NC, so the layout is setup to attract people to the sport.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.