Middlesex, VT 
Wrightsville Beach Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #8 (Taken 9/2016)
3 / 149ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Weekday after work fun

1    7/22/2019   7/28/2019
Review By: Rainbowjon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: decent mix of shots and terrain. 4 tees per hole. front 9 holes more flat in the woods. back 9 were more up and down hill shots with a couple of flat areas mixed in.
big parking area plus the hidden parking lot off route 12 just up from entrance.
cost of 4.50 is decent for 18 holes
decent traction on the course despite alot of pine needles on course when it rains

Cons: really wet when it rains. some of the holes being so flat do gather alot of puddles. There is granite steps that you can walk on. wear decent footwear
Other Thoughts: overall a good woods course. mixture of hole lengths and shot varieties needed is a nice touch.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

1    8/2/2018   8/2/2018
Review By: david sunoo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great fun course , has a little wonderland feel to it. With 4/5 tee positions it's great for the pros and beginners , having this beautiful beach to jump in after was way worth the 4$ each it cost us. Nice bathrooms changing rooms a small shack to rent discs and buy drinks. I really enjoyed this course.
Cons: Gravely small not flat tee areas. Honestly this is the only problem of the course I think, slightly uncomfortable tee areas.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly Fun Course

1    7/28/2018   7/28/2018
Review By: Jakenewcomb44
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super fun course. Makes you feel like a pro on some holes. Almost all the holes are woods holes, and some are really short, but none are too tight to be a pain in the butt. Some great chances to put up some good scores, maybe even an ace or two. A couple of holes are very scenic.
Cons: A little short in spots. I started playing on the white tees because they were the middle tees on the first hole and I usually will play middle tees if three tees are available. As I worked my way through the course I quickly realized that I should have been playing blue, if not gold. It's a short course, and not really that tight. If you have any ability at all, play the gold tees.
Other Thoughts: Wear appropriate footwear on this course as there are some steep grades to traverse.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You need to play here!

1    7/23/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: schenckc13
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a great course with a lot to offer all player and all abilities. Super aesthetic and fun. Tons of different shots; ups, downs, rights, and lefts, and even a glorious water hazard with an awesome view of the lake. The woods are great, not too tight, and the open fairways let you rip some drivers!
Cons: Tee boxes could use some updates and the course weaves in and out of some holes which isn't great, and there's a break between the front and back half with the parking lot in between, but that really doesn't affect the overall pros of the course! Other than that it's awesome!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wrightsville

1    9/24/2016   9/24/2016
Review By: 2 Chainz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long drives, variety of elevations throughout the entire course made for enjoyable playing. Woods were cleared and easy to navigate. Tees and chains were well marked. Really enjoyed the course layout and the reservoir with rolling hills. Not a lot of tall grass to lose a disk in. Easy to get immersed in the playing and surrounding scenery.
Cons: The sign at the course clearly said $2.50 and when we went to pay the guy said $3.50. Worth the price, but the increased price gave a bad first impression. Also the yardage was not marked on any tee.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course but it is hard on a college budget and won't be able to play it every weekend.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    9/21/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: JabbaTheFunk
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of fun holes that vary in their difficulty. Elevation plays a role in a lot of the holes which provides a challenge. There are four different tees (Gold, Blue, White, Red) for each hole which allow you to choose which difficulty you would like. Attached to the bottom of each basket is a wooden arrow pointing to the next tee which is very helpful. The course is cheap to play and well maintained. Some holes have excellent views There is also league play there which consisted of a good group of people and was fun to play.
Cons: The tee pads are gravel and some of them could be are not in the best shape. Some have divots and some are a little short. There are no signs at the tee pads to show the hole layout or the distances which would be nice.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course @ a Great Facility

5+    8/27/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: jspring
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Lots of pros! The course is simply fun to play and asks players to throw many different shots, right, left, long, powerful, short, and with touch. Good blend of uphill and downhill shots and open and tightly wooded. A mix of easy Par 3s that are "must gets" with difficult Par 3s where a 2 would gain you a stroke on the field. There are also three Par 4s out there that add to the variety of this enjoyable course.
+Hole 3 and 14 are beautiful signature holes that blend seamlessly with the land they are on. Near perfect design IMO that makes it seem like the land was forged for this purpose alone. #3 is one of my favorite holes in all of disc golf.
+The course is part of a locally run, multi-use state park. This means it gets great maintenance attention. Everything looks crisp and buffed out when I play. It also means there are other non-DG users. This is a PRO because the course is designed so well that I haven't seen any issues between disc golfers and other park users. Well done, smart design.
+This is a course with 4 tee pads on every hole (some times shared) which is a system I love and believe is a great help in growing the sport. Reds for beginners, whites for intermediates, blues for advanced, and golds for pros.
+The other amenities the park provides are great. Really nice beach for swimming. Great reservoir for boating. Picnic tables and pavilions for outings and tourneys. Great parking. Bathrooms are there too.
Cons: -Tee pads are not great, but not bad. They use a nice mix of crushed stone that packs well when maintained. Some need to be made slightly larger and some need to be re-leveled and re-packed. I have seen them in great shape and not so great shape so I think it depends on the proximity of prior maintenance. The pads are very playable, but just could be improved.
-Closes at dusk. Sometimes I have felt rushed because the attendant locks the gate. I get why, its just not a Pro when you are traveling to get there and need to be out or get locked in.
-There are a few design quirks but they only a few! Hole #1 is super beautiful, but a tweener. I think it is supposed to be a Par 4. That is the case on a few of the par 4s. There are also a few holes where lanes aren't clearly defined. You are left wondering what the correct play is when there are lots of small gaps. Potentially a pro, or non-con for some players, but IMO there should be a fair lane that gets you a desired result on every hole. I'm thinking about Holes 5 and 17 here. Very nit-picky as I don't dislike those holes, but think a few tweaks would improved them immensely.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I play fairly often and never get sick of. Lots of fun shots that will inspire you to come back and play, or to throw more discs.
Very friendly staff and course designer!
Cheap! Definitely worth the small fee to play!
Consistently improves through time. I know that feedback is taken seriously and acted upon. I expect it to earn a 4.5 rating from me someday soon!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time

2-4    8/18/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: rcj333
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When you are in central VT you typically hear about Smugs, North Calais, Center Chains etc, But Wrightsville is a great course in its own right. Maybe not as long as Brewster Ridge or North Calais, It is a fun and interesting course that will appeal to a wide range of skill levels. Good use of terrain and great mix of holes. Very well maintained with nice gravel tees. Played from Golds and Blues and had a great time. Mixed experience level groups will have fun as all 4 tees are well marked and in site of each other.
Cons: Getting from hole to hole is easy if you pat attention to the little arrows on the baskets. You miss that you may get confused. Tees on occasion felt a little short, but not a huge deal. Also signage was a little light. I like basic idea of where the hole is and distance. All these were minor cons in my book.
Other Thoughts: The crew there does a great job of keeping this course in great playing condition. Plenty of other stuff to do at Wrightsville as the beach is right there, they have bbq stands, and you can rent boats. You really can make a day of it with the family and friends

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wright on...

5+    11/4/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Beautiful setting. Plays around scenic Wrightsville Reservoir with some great views, particularly from #2 basket (when the leaves fall) and all of #15.
+Good use of natural features and elevation. Plenty of shot variety off the tee.
+Wooded but fair with clean, makeable lanes.
+Caretakers keep the course clean and well-groomed. For the most part the rough is pretty tame and its hard to lose a disc here.
+Short and sweet! Several ace opportunities but your driver(s) won't collect dust either.
+Sandy swim beach is a great place for kids or a post-round dip in-season.
Cons: -Can be very wet seasonally. Caretakers do a good job mitigating this with many installed timber bridges and stepstones but a poorly placed shot may result in mud-stuck boots.
-Natural and stone dust tee pads are in good condition but it would be helpful if many of them were expanded.
-Distances and/or hole layouts at each tee would be helpful (mostly a first-time problem).
Other Thoughts: RHBH players will complain (with reason) that it favors lefties and righty flicks but there are more than enough straight shots and righty hyzers to make up for it (like bombs on new #5 and #17).

The water is more of a backdrop than an obstacle. It doesn't really come into play unless you implode on #15.

Wrightsville has enough unique holes to make it really fun to play. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area or inclusion in a DG road trip with some of the other great courses in central / northern VT.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quintessential Vermont Course

1    8/10/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very clean course and as well maintained a course as I've run across in a long time.
- Fun for players of all levels. We brought my cousin who has never played disc golf before and the course was easy enough for her to pick up how to play, but challenging enough for my father and I to enjoy playing.
- Course plays at varying lengths. With 4 tee boxes to choose from on most holes, if you want to play all 18 holes, but only have an hour, it is possible to play using the red tees.
- Mostly wooded, but open enough where you aren't frustrated by hitting a tree on every throw.
- Good mix of elevation and flatland to play on.
- There are definitely a few holes that are aceable. New to disc golf and looking for your first ace? This might be a good place to start.
Cons: - There are a few places that get pretty wet and muddy. Even after it hadn't rained for a few days, when we played there were some muddy spots on the course. I can imagine it gets pretty wet out there after good thunderstorm or a few days of rain.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing any course in Vermont, but having spent a great deal of my youth in Vermont, I can tell you this is exactly what I would expect a Vermont course to look like. Good mix of hills, trees, and even some dried out wetland areas. I really enjoy playing this course and don't mind paying the $2 to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.