Houston, TX 
Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long/Green Tee: Basket is around the building on the left



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Decent neighborhood course

5+    10/25/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Decent property with lots of trees from which to make some short, but challenging and interesting holes. Two heavily wooded holes are tough for any level player, four more open holes can be easy birdies for Intermediate players. Dual tees give a different look at each hole and enhance the course's playability. Good beginner course with very low chance of losing a disc. Nice tee signs with distances marked, numbered baskets, and "next tee -->" signs help navigation; but with the online map here it's impossible to get lost.
Cons:
Budget InStep baskets are single chain and shallow tray. Hole #1A's fairway is precariously close to the church building and windows, although church has stated they're not concerned with breakage it still makes you nervous taking the shot. Watch your footing: there's a few rough patches including a recessed old sprinkler box that has caved in.
Other Thoughts:
The course was completely redesigned in October 2009 with the help of a professional course designer. If you played in early October or before give this course another look.

Not a destination course but a decent little neighborhood course.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

5+    1/13/2010   9/30/2009
Review By: allen
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a short course but it is indeed pretty difficult because it has a lot of trees!! This course got me on several holes with its many trees. I shot a 56 (par is 54) which i was pleased with at this grand opening tournament.
There is finally an up to date course map which helped me navigate this course better.
I played it through 3 times which made a nice 18 (I played the green tees, then brown, then green again).
Cons: This is only 6 holes but like I said, there are another 6 alternate tees and if you play through 3 times its a decent 18.
Heads up, the baskets are as advertised, InStep, lower budget baskets (I did not have a problem with them...just be advised).
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun out on the course, I will definitely play it again soon...especially if I'm in a time crunch, it is a good location and a quick 6 only takes about 20 minutes!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 204  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Surprisingly good distance
Good use of trees
Cons: Too many holes cross each other. I think this would be a course that would be well served by fewer holes, a lot like BridgePoint.
Play is dangerously close to the building and windows on 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Distances on the tees would be nice
Baskets need double chains
"Next Tee" markers near the baskets would help the flow.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Finally Up to Par

5+    10/25/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: Adam281
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Completely redesigned! Six holes, all with alternate tees, fits this course so much better. The A & B tees are clearly marked with painted posts, and distances have been added to each tee box as well. Baskets are now dug in and numbered. Two holes are heavily wooded, which adds a nice touch of difficulty. There are no more crossing fairways, and no more multiple use baskets and tees. Brand new course map now available online as well as printed copies up for grabs by tee box 1A.
Cons: Hole distances may be too short for some players, but with all the trees, I find this to be a challenging finesse course. Baskets are budget quality, but they get the job done. If it has rained recently, you might want to bring some mosquito spray. There have also been some reports of poison ivy in the wooded areas.
Other Thoughts: As one of the course designers, I have really tried to listen to the comments and reviews of MDGC, and I am proud to reintroduce the new and improved course. If you were dissatisfied with the old MDGC, please come back and give us another shot. And if you are a first timer... welcome!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Seriously?

2-4    6/5/2010   9/18/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 117  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located on about 5 acres of lightly wooded lawn next to a church. Initially the church put in a pretty poorly thought out 9 hole course on the property but it has since been redesigned as a 6 hole course with alts. The new layout makes the most of the fairly limited space but is still mostly a pitch and putt course.

Stand out holes include #2 with the basket located in a cage of pine trees and #5 where you drive down a narrow tree lined path.
Cons: The amount of space is the main con for this course. The holes are all very short and tightly packed together. Hole #1 shoots blind around a church building and #6 could really use a bit more clearing out. The InStep baskets are a poor choice too; while they are acceptable as a back-yard practice basket they are not course material.
Other Thoughts: The new design is a vast improvement and the tee posts are great. The course would really benefit from better baskets and a bit more clearing out on #6. This course seems ideal for playing casual rounds of disc golf with people new to the sport.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.