Houston, TX 
Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long/Green Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Not a bad little church course

1    4/14/2018   4/18/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 982  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow
2 sets of tee (hole 4 longer box is unplayable due to construction)
2 tight holes in the woods
Nice Discatcher baskets were still in decent shape
Cons: Grass tee boxes, would not play here after a rain.
Short holes
Hole one long throws around the building.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course that would be GREAT to bring your youth groups out. That is mostly what Church courses are for, there youth ministry.

This course is perfect for that.

you start off on hole one behind the main buildings. The basket is around the corner of the building. I really didn't like throwing this because if I sawed off my drive, I might hit the buildings windows. Last thing I want to do is break a window. I could see that several people had hit the AC units on the side of the building. It is also a blind shot for bigger arms.

Hole 2 is a nice little shot with the basket behind several tree's. Hit your line right and you have an ace opportunity. Hit a tree and your putting 3.
Hole 3 throw down the road on the left, but with the construction going on, there is a fence directly behind the basket. Throw for the ace, as long as you don't go over the fence, you got a birdie.

Hole 4 I could only find the short tee markers. The longer ones were probably in the construction area. The basket is down in the edge of the trees. This was a good hole.

Holes 5 and 6 throw back and forth in the "Forrest" that looks like it has been recently cleared out. Both made for short technical shots. Ironically, I shot both better from the longer tee's than the short tees on these holes.

In general, this is not a seasoned players course, it is meant to give something for the kids to do in the youth groups.

Would I play here again.

No, not enough holes or challenging enough to play this course again. However the course is perfect for what it was designed for. Getting kids active outdoors with a fun game of Disc Golf.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Don't Think This Is Still A Church?

1    9/21/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The building that once was a church is now filled with ladders and other kinds of construction equipment. I think the church has possiblely vacated the property.

This little 6 hole course occupies the surrounding small piece of property bordering the former church. The property is a lawn with a nice little grove of scattered trees and then a section in the back that's wooded. The wooded section is just big enough to contain holes 5 & 6,

The tees are marked by two 4" x 4" poles. One pole has a house # showing the hole and the other pole has the distance written in Sharpie. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow band. Distances range from 150' to about 250'. There are holes like 1A needing a easy hyser throw around the building. I liked hole # 2 which is set among about 25 scattered trees. Aces are a definite possibility here. The number 3 basket currently has a temporary green construction fence about one foot behind it. The fence makes for a great backstop as long as you keep your shot low.

Hole 4 plays a little longer than most at 236'. It's a mostly straight throw around a tree or two. Then 5 & 6 are the technical holes here with both playing around 160-200' through the trees.

This is a nice little beginner/recreational course. A nice place to bring a beginner but probably a fun little course to chase those Aces.
Cons: Course was boggy on the 3rd fairway but most of Houston is still drying out after the recent horrific floods.

Beginner length and challenge.

No real tee pads but I don't see this course getting too much usage.

Only six baskets but dual tee pads make for a nice 12 hole experience.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you set your GPS to the address here on North Piney Point Road as there is another bigger park called Memorial Park. It all confused me but Houston is having that effect on me today,

Now for my rant brought to you by Budweiser, the king of beers.

I've always wanted to make a trip to Houston and to play all their courses here. Scheduling a trip here just before the floods didn't help things. When I picked up my rental car, the lady informed me that Houston's toll roads do not accept cash or credit cards! For $62 a week, you can activate the pass on your windshield. If you drive through any toll roads without it, the rental company will charge you $17 for each occurrence. Although I'm only going to be in Houston for 2-3 days, they want to charge you for the entire length of your rental which for me is about three weeks. So they want to charge me about $180 for a couple of day's tolls. So I'm going to try and hit a few courses all the while avoiding the toll roads.

There is no way in hell that I will ever come back to this stupid +%^}%^*] money grubbing, rip-off of a city. And I understand that Austin might have the same policy. Michigan was so pleasant and easy to find courses in. I'm heading back up north.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial DGC

1    7/21/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a quick 10-15 minutes round max. The baskets are nice Discatcher and there are multiple tees. Being such a short course navigation is no problem at all. The baskets are strategic placed and make good use of the trees. Hole 2 is placed in a cluster of 5 or 6 trees making you hit a line. Holes 5 and 6 make really good use of the moderately wooded areas.
Cons: As previously mentioned, Hole 1 is way to close to the building. This course probably doesn't get played very much or they would have moved the tee box to avoid building damage. Hole 3 is very close to the road construction. There is a fence 5 feet behind basket with parked machinery.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course that I wanted to mark off my list. It makes for a very quick round if you are bagging a course. Quick holes that are mainly ace runs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 6 hole course

1    11/7/2014   11/7/2014
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful trees adorn this small course adjacent to a church and school.
Nice tee markers (with alternates) and sturdy baskets in place
Quiet, private feel and nice flow
Cons: All holes were under 275 feet but with very nice tree usage.
Hole one put many school windows at great risk!
Other Thoughts: For the amount of space to work with, this is a very well designed course in a very pretty area. I highly recommend it for beginners or those who just want to practice upshots/putts.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Church course

1    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 156  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Quick easy course

2. New Baskets, not the DB 5 Lighting POS anymore.

3. Hole 1 and 6 begin and end near parking lot.

4. For a small six hole course this course actually offers a tiny bit of challenge on holes 5 and 6.

5. Multiple tee pads.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Only 6 holes here.

2. Tee posts are showing their age.

3. Some standing water between holes two-three.

4. Grass Tee Pads. They Are Not Very Worn So No Points Taken Off.
Other Thoughts: Memorial is short fun course that can be played in under 15 minutes. I was able to envision three more holes on the property. It would be a tight fit given that the course is already tight on room. With the addition of the new Discatcher basket in think that this course is bumped from a 1.5 to a 2.

Bring your Midrange and putters as this course doesnt really offer much room to air one out except for hole 3 and hole 4. I held back on those holes but still a nice chance to put some power behind a throw. Not a destination course , but still a fun fast pace course. As you could imagine that with only six holes there is little variety from hole to hole. Hole One Should Be Relocated So That It Doesn't Play So Close To The Building.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/14/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is a very small, short 6 holed course that was put on about 2 acres of land. The entire thing can be played very quickly.

-There are two sets of tees and all 12 tee signs are present and have the length of each hole written on them.

-This course can be very challenging. Andi Young did a great job with pin placements in the few trees that are present. The last 2 holes play in a very small wooded area, where shooting a 2 would be impressive.

-The new DisCathchers are great! It seems as if the old baskets gave people fits with their single layer of chains. I do not think anyone ever comes out here so the baskets should stay fresh and new looking for a long time.
Cons: In my opinion this is just too small of a land area to have a decent disc golf course. The course is probably designed to it's maximum potential but the land is much too small.

As mentioned before the first hole runs very close to the church and I was very cautious and careful not to hit the window.

The natural tees are great and you would hardly think anyone came out here to play this course! And you would think right.
Other Thoughts: This was a course to check off my list but I was impressed with it. This was easily the best <9 hole course I have played. It actually has a bit of challenge involved and can be finished in 15 minutes, if less.

Still, this is not nor ever will be a destination course. This is simply a good neighborhood course and unless you are a course bagger you should just leave this one be as there are much better places to play that are much closer.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Heavenly 6 Holer

1    2/6/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 1240  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Short quick play can be done with 1 round in 15 minutes alone.

2) Beginner friendly but not boring and wide open. These are the types of courses I would be hooked on if I was new to the game because they challenge you to execute shots even though they are short enought o allow you to get some birdies on occassion.

3) Dual tees which is a nice feature on a tiny little course like this.

4) Two posts mark tees both long and short tees and are numbered to help with navigation. Hole # and distance are listed ont he post.

5) Practice Basket is a welcome thing even on a short little course like this.

6) 2 holes are in the dense woods and really create some ticht technical shots, while 4 holes are what I consider to be "park like". They are played on a turfed fairways but they have large mature trees as obstacles too.

7) This is a fun course and you can technically play 12 different holes in one stop if you play both sets of tees.

8) Riser pole on top of these baskets are helpful with the number plate. They are homemade but still do the job.

9) Good design on a small property incorporating some variety. I am sure the church had the intent of having recreation for the people in the church and that was accomplished. I am curious what changed about the course from its original design, because as it is right now they did a great job with the design and implementation of the course.
Cons: 1) In-step baskets will deteriorate quickly due to their manufacturing and that they should not be left out all of the time. The seem ok now, but I would imagine it won't take long for them to begin peeling and rusting.

2) Hole distances do not allow for much distance throws. It is a tiny property I know, but it would have been nice to have one more open longer hole.

3) The area where the underbrush was recently cleared could use some levelling. W eplayed the day after some recent rains and there were puddles all over. A little drain tile or at least some grading of wood chips could make the course much easier to play through this area.

4) It is only 6 holes, no room for more holes at all, this is a packed as they could put it in. This is a negative but it does not lose points because of this in my opinion.

5) No aces were hit and this was part of the reason we chose this course as one of our stops. It was short and it game my wife a chance to make some runs, but noone hit any. Again no points docked for this con!

6) Literally no elevation change on the entire course.

7) The risk of hitting the building on the first shot creates a poor design characteristic. I mean how many beginners throw short and left (right where the building is). I like it because I have control but it is not a good hole for beginners or the wall/windows of the church.

8) Natural tees were actually in pretty good shape. . . probably because noone plays this course. They will wear out over time though so this is a negative.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course, it isn't a championship course but not all courses need to be. It is fun to play and actually has a decent amount of challenge for such a small course. I truly do not really dock a course points because it is fewer than 9 or 18 holes while some do. it is a negative but I cannot take points away from it because of that reason, so my rating may seem higher than others because of that.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    5/20/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 154  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly fun course. If you want casual play with a chance to get an ace, this is the perfect place, and once you come to terms with the limitations of the course you really can enjoy yourself. Plus five and six are a challenge still for most levels to make bird on due the tight lines you're forced to shoot.

Duel tees and a moderate level of trees are about the best thing to look forward to here. Even a beginner level course goes up in my book if I have two options to play from. Plus you can play a round in about fifteen minutes, so this is a good central Houston location to hit on your lunch break.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #6
Cons: InStep baskets suck so badly I don't know where to begin. The midget black sheep of the basket world, these single chain posers spit more than your redneck grandpappy. The crazy part is that they aren't much cheaper than the Mach II baskets, so why anyone would not spend the extra few bucks to have quality baskets is beyond me.

The whopping 1000' course is simply too short to make a competitive round. You'll have to play it twice to get your money's worth. Granted, please understand that this negative is when compared to a normal course. I think the church understood what that their goal was, and that was to have a short family friendly course for the church goers, so these negatives don't matter much in that sense.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: This is truly a beginners course, which is really what the land and church was looking for. Holes five and six give you some tree work, and the others give you a chance to modify and perfect that mid range shot that is so handy. The short flat length is ideal for new players, families, and people wanting some practice. I will say though that six okay holes is a much better idea than the nine bad holes that previously were in the ground. The land is simply not conducive to more than about six holes.

Given the fact that five and six were good holes, and that there are two tee locations, it's gives this place that half star bump from being poor to passable. Just know coming in that you're in for a quick and easy round that is more practice than anything. Ultimately, I will say that the church did about as much as they could with what they had, and anytime you increase the DG density of an area, it's a good thing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth your time

1    3/24/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is very easy to navigate. There is a color printed map op the course right by the first hole. They did make good use of the very limited space and managed to install 6 holes.
Cons: The layout is awful. Whoever designed this course obviously has no understanding of disc golf and how discs fly. Some of the holes have ridiculous lines that no disc would ever hit. The first hole is tucked right behind the church, making breaking a window a definite possibility.

The baskets are crappy instep single chain baskets. Good luck hitting chains from far out and having your disc stay in.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think this course is not worth your time. It is short and boring

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lunch Break Quickie

5+    12/31/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: snotgiggle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Really good use of limited space and much improved from the previous layout. Lots of trees to improve your finesse shots and yet a couple of holes can still have the distance to let you wing it.

- Can be a 12 hole course if you play both A and B tees.

- Well mapped and easy to navigate.

- I've colliding with windows on the first hole and no one has come to yell at me or anything, so no worries it seems if you botch the first hole.
Cons: - Lots of tree stumps in the wooded area, watch your step or you'll face plant in the mud.

- A couple places get pretty soggy after it rains, could stand to have a retention hole somewhere. As this is a church's front yard, not sure how feasible that would be.
Other Thoughts: It's only 6 holes and I usually like to play longer courses than this one as I like a lot of variety and playing both tees at this course doesn't deliver that variety. However, if you need a quick fix for your golfing withdrawals this is a great course to play!

This course is surprisingly challenging for only 6 holes. No punches were pulled in making it as varied and fun as possible.

The designer really pays attention to detail and is open to criticism so I know this course will only get better with time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.