Arden Hills, MN 
Bethel University DGC Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #4
3 / 240ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

1    9/29/2019   9/29/2019
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 413  Reviewed: 244  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bethel University is a course I've been wanting to play for awhile now. I'm SO glad I finally got the chance. This is the best course I've played in the Twin Cities so far (haven't played Bryant Lake yet). There are excellent concrete tee pads on every. These are all plenty long enough, level and grip nicely. Many holes, about 2/3's I'd guess, have two tees per hole. What's nice about these is that most drastically change the way the hole would be played. Some of the longs are a few hundred feet behind the shorts while others are aimed at the pin from a completely different angle. The baskets are Mach 3's that are in great shape and catch just fine. Hole 16 had 2 baskets for the hole. One in the short A position and another in the way longer B or C position. All holes had at least 2 pin positions per hole with many having 3 per hole. This is always awesome to see and adds to the replay value here. The tee signs here are some of the best I've seen in awhile. They feature a very nice looking hole map showing any OB and tree lines. It shows both tee locations with the yellows or golds being the longs and blues being the shorts. It shows all pin positions with distances to each pin from each tee, which is a nice touch. They also have the pars listed for each location and there is a next hole arrow on every hole as well which makes navigation pretty straightforward. There are tee signs on every tee pad as well, not just one or the other. The course is free to play and open to the general public. The course is also open year round which is always nice to see. The design for this course is top notch. You'll be required to throw all different types of shots to be successful here. You'll need to be accurate as well. There is water in play on a couple holes as well. The elevation here is pretty drastic in spots, well most of the course really. Lots of undulating hills throughout the course. And the course itself is just very visually appealing. It's very clean and mowed beautifully. Gorgeous piece of property.
Cons: There honestly aren't many cons here. One potential issue would be you have to throw over a road on hole 18. But if you're careful It's a non issue really. Another thing worth mentioning is that the rough can be THICK in spots, like hard to even pitch out thick. This isn't necessarily a con per se but staying in the fairway is paramount here. One other thing is that it's not designated which pin position is currently in use. I know this is nitpicky but it would be nice, especially on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely fantastic course and is worth a round if you're anywhere near here. While I haven't played all the courses in the Twin Cities yet this is the cream of the crop so far. It's not a great place for beginners but if you're intermediate or above you will absolutely love this course. I loved every second of my round here on a cold, windy and rainy fall morning. It was my 400th played course and was worth waiting for to play. I'd highly recommend this place . I can't wait to come back and play in ideal conditions and there is absolutely no doubt I will. Great design and Phenomenal course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The best kept secret in the Twin Cities

5+    7/10/2018   7/10/2018
Review By: iceberg707
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely incredible and I think one of the best in the state. It has recently begun gaining traction as more and more tournaments have been held here. The course is open to the public even though it is on university grounds. That being said however respect that it is a religious university and keep it clean.

Onto some specifics:

Concrete tee pads - short and long pads
Super well maintained course
Signage with pin locations
Great hole variety - a few bomber holes, some technical shots, and a few easy birdies
Pin locations move just frequently enough to keep things interesting
Super Scenic Course
Water holes that are not obnoxious in difficulty
Cons: Getting to the course parking lot can be a pain if its your first time
Not maintained in the winter, but still playable
Can get pretty muddy after rain/snow
Occasional group of college students relaxing on the course during the school year
Other Thoughts: The faculty really care about the course and are always making improvements. Overall this might just be the best free to play course in Minnesota, just treat the course with respect so everyone can enjoy it for years to come!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

1    6/7/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: Rotala
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2017
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.Concrete teepads (most holes have long and short locations)

2. Multiple pin locations for variety (some holes have multiple baskets)

3. Very well maintained

4. Allows for variety of shots (roller on hole 4 worked for me, bunch of forehands, etc)

5. Nice elevation changes

6. Tee signs and signs pointing you to next tee pad
Cons: 1. Tee signs are laminated paper stapled onto a wood plank. I appreciate the effort though!

2. Would be nice to know which pin locations are being used.
Other Thoughts: I definitely recommend this course for North metro.

The app only has it listed with 10 holes on the scorecard. Everything is par 3 except long tee/pin on holes 3 and 15.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 full 18

2-4    4/20/2017   4/20/2017
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 233  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of distances, flight paths, and plenty of elevation changes, which is unique to Minnesota (especially Metro) disc golf.

If you haven't played the new layout, you have to. The holes they added (3?, 4, 5; 10, 11, 12, 13, 14) are fantastic.

Many holes are true par 4's (3, 5, 15) and some of the 3's are difficult to par (14).

Water comes in play on holes 7, 10, and 12. Maybe on 5 if you throw a goofy shot. Wind can/will play a factor, plays along 694 and under power lines on a few holes.

For the most part, tee pads are plenty long, and in some cases, ridiculously long.

Multiple pin placements are cool, a few holes have multiple baskets (3 and 15 today).

Very clean property. College Campus with strict rules, so no alcohol or tobacco or other stuff.

Pack it in, Pack it out.
Cons: No tee signs. Use UDisc for pretty accurate distances.

No signs for next tee; could get lost on a few holes; best played with someone who has played or walked it once.

No garbage cans.

Slippery today; it did rain quite a bit yesterday though. A few spots on hills could use staircases.
Other Thoughts: If there were signs, and even 3 garbage cans, this would easily be a 4.5 rated course. Lack of those is fine in this setting, on a College Campus with a code of conduct for their students.

I am wary of the day when this course has too much traffic, I could see the baskets getting pulled or layout adjusted during school year if knuckleheads take over.

If you play, and you absolutely should, keep it down, be polite, hold off on your drinky drink and smokey smoke, and please pack it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Expansion Job

5+    3/2/2017   3/10/2017
Review By: drscholl14
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: They did a great job expanding this course to 18 holes. There is a lot of variety requiring different shot shaping and length. Tight lines, a couple bombers, some ace runs, and a couple holes with water. Mostly wooded holes with 2 holes playing on the shores of a small lake. Extremely fun course.
Cons: -Still some rough spots on the new holes which is to be expected. Should improve with increased play.
-Signage needs to be added as there is none currently. I'm guessing it will be added at some point.
-A couple tee boxes are in rough shape and the new ones didn't get textured and can be pretty slick in certain conditions.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the already quality Twin Cities course list.
-This course is located on a private college campus. Also this is a dry campus so keep that in mind. Do not ruin this course by throwing cans or garbage all over the course or it will get shut down rather quickly. Respect the college's rules so this course will be here for a long time.

 All about Disc Golf

2-4    10/1/2016   1/20/2017
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 172  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is now an 18 hole course and has been lengthened. There are a lot of variety of holes and no two holes feel the same. The new 8 holes are a great addition to the course.
Cons: No signage. There are also a lot of students who sun bathe in the fairway when the weather is nice. There are not many trash cans if any so pack what you bring. No alcohol allowed on campus.Some holes feel like you are in a secluded area while some actually play through walking paths along the campus.
Other Thoughts: If you want to try something different on your way to BRP, stop by and try this course. You will be rewarded with great disc golf. This is a very fun course that rates up there with any of the great course in the twin cities if disc golf is all there is to a course. With a few amenities like signage and trash cans, it would make for an excellent disc golf experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Now 18 holes

1    8/22/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: owenrae
Played: 122  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course with some elevation, water hazard, good mix of long and short technical holes. They are just about done pouring the last of the concrete tee pads for the additional 6 holes (two left I think). There are long and short tee pads on 5 or 6 of the holes. The additional holes have added greatly to the challenge of this course. The designers did a good job in adding the holes and keeping the flow pretty good except for holes 9 and 10. Hole 9 is original hole 7 I think and plays the same, however hole 10 tee is right next to 9 throwing in a 90 degree different direction. So you play hole 9 then walk back to the tee and play hole 10. If the course is not busy it will not be an issue but if there are multiple groups I could see this being a log jam area. Probably not going to happen as it is never very crowded.

In any case new holes 4 and 5 play on a nice hill and hole 5 is playing down a pretty good slope. To the left is the lake so you need to watch the fade of your disc. New holes 11 nd 12 are on the very north end of lake Valentine. Hole 12 is throwing right past the lake on your right - a potential spot to lose a disc. New hole 13 has the interstate fence running on the left side of the fairway so it you let your disc fade too much to the left you will lose it over the fence and in some very heavy weeds - doubtful to be found again. New hole 14 is through a newly cleared space in the woods. The long tee throws over a valley but there is heavy brush off the fairway and the fairway is still pretty rough with weeds and ruts. As they keep mowing this I imagine grass will grow in.
Cons: If you don't know the layout there are some tee pads difficult to find. No signage at all on the whole course except for basket numbers on the new baskets. A map at the beginning or tee pad signage would be a great addition and I would rate it a 4 instead of 3.5.
Other Thoughts: Parking in the lots of the north village dorms puts you at the first tee and the 18th hole. I don't know Bethel's policy for playing the course. My daughter is a Bethel student so I play there when visiting her.

There are a number holes that either throw over a marsh area or the hole is located right next to a marsh so the risk of getting your feet wet is decent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course with Bad Layout

5+    11/15/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: joh3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bethel is a challenging course with a nice mix of open and wooded holes, elevation changes, and one water hazard. There are some holes with multiple tees and baskets. It has never been busy and despite the fact that it is private nobody will bother you as long as your respectful to the grounds.
Cons: The layout is terrible - backtracking to get to the next tee and lots of walking in between holes looking for tee boxes if you don't know the course. Some of the holes have two baskets, but they are not marked on the maps which is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Course could be spectacular with a little bit of reorganization of the tees and baskets.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Truth

1    6/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: DH Harwell
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of space to park. nice scenery, nice concrete Tee pads..that's about it.
Cons: very confusing..no posts or signage. like any other park, you'll have to follow somebody or just try to figure it out..
The hole alongside of the lake is wet..And the Pin placement is too close to the lake. should be relocated. A few of the holes have no Tee pads..or just buryed just way to far back in the woods.. searched all over for a couple!! over all...too much wasted walking just to get to the next Tee.
Other Thoughts: Could be a nice park. need posts and correct map. course needs complete reconfiguration..Or just stay away..

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite 9 holers

5+    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 381  Reviewed: 366  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Variety, for as crowded as the rest of campus is, this course is fairly spread out and contains all kinds of shots. Uphill, downhill, open, wooded, left, right. You are also unlikely to hit any students except maybe seminary ones.
-Not too crowded as only students are supposed to play it.
-Nice big concrete tees
-Nice baskets with numbers on top facing the tees
-Trees and grass are nice, it isn't played enough for them to get too damaged.
-Multiple tees on every hole. May not be the easiest to find if you don't know the course.
-It was the perfect level of a challenge, not too much that you are frustrated to no end but not that it was boring either.
Cons: -No signage but it isn't that hard to follow, especially after you play with a student a few times. There are a few weird walks in there though. Could use a map or some on-course signs. Even one right at the start would be nice.
-typical MN summer issues of poison ivy and bugs can arise
-Could lose a disc on a few holes. Especially that one that runs along the lake. 4, maybe?
Other Thoughts: A friend of mine attends school here so I get to play when I visit him! Make this a day trip and head north to Blue Ribbon Pines! This course is different from the typical publicly owned or pay to play courses. I highly recommend it.

DURING THE SUMMER YOU CAN JUST GO ONTO CAMPUS!! THEY MIGHT BE MORE STRICT DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.