Disc Golf Center
Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park - East Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #12 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice Variety

2-4    2/21/2016   2/22/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 43  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice variety of hole layouts (short, long, lefty, righty, open, wooded).
- Baskets are in decent shape. I don't know if they meant them to be this way, but the baskets have an ombre look to them (white top fading to black bottom), looks pretty cool.
- Course is located in a public park in such a way that you don't have to worry about errant discs hitting walkers or children.
- Fishing and playgrounds nearby so it's great for families.
- Multiple pin locations on a few holes.
Cons: - I don't have any big complaints to speak of, maybe just update the baskets.
Other Thoughts: - Hole #14 (The Monster) in the long position should really be a Par 4. At 720', it takes two pretty good drives with distance drivers to be close enough to have a long look for par. Carding a 4 on this hole is pretty good. Carding a 3 on it is pretty incredible. Carding a 2 on it is virtually impossible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    11/8/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course.
Friendly locals.
Great use of land.
Unique holes.


Cons: A lot of trees were cut down and piled up.
The missing or half missing trees made the course a little ugly.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a really fun course. The course was a lot more fun than it seemed like it was going to be.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Still Oklahoma City's best

5+    7/8/2017   7/11/2015
Review By: armiller
Played: 104  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes are well designed in a park where they don't feel like they're out of place; even though there's a walking path, you're never throwing over it and I've never run into unsuspecting park users on fairways.
-Plenty of variation and challenge; birdies are very possible but only if you make your shots
-Concrete tee pads with hole names engraved on them
-Well-maintained (never long grass, trees are trimmed)
-Long and short pin locations on 16 of 18 holes. I personally have more fun when they are set long, but shorts are sufficiently challenging. For holes where one pin location is clearly superior (especially 9), the local guys leave the pins in the tougher locations the vast majority of the time.
-Nice little practice area with a practice basket; also an open area away from the course if you want some fieldwork time
-There's a port-a-potty near the parking area

Some favorites (hole numbers updated for new "East" layout):
1) "The Hork" - A blind, hard right to the long pin, with some initial brush/tree danger; this is a challenging birdie requiring a great RHBH anhyzer, a great RHFH hyzer, or (if the trees are back) a tough overhand
2) Another fairly short blind hole with a more open RHFH or RHBH anhyzer line; the short pin is on a significantly elevated mound, making ace runs a risk/reward decision
5) No ceiling, but mature trees in the fairway make even the short pin tough; the long pin is 30-45' inside an excellent enclosed green with a challenging approach. This is a good example of how the holes tend to require a perfect drive AND long putt to birdie, and this one frequently requires a brilliant upshot just to save par, even with a decent tee shot.
7) Shooting across a usually dry creek bed; get under some low branches but keep it high enough to fade right toward the long pin, nestled in among a guardian tree and some bushes
8) "The Floater" - requires a good right to left fade or skip to get under some low branches toward the basket; another nice, challenging green
10) One of the longer drives; in the long position, it's another great placement behind some bushes and nestled in among mature trees; unless you can throw 380' accurately, you'll have a tough approach even after a successful drive
12) Across a creek again: uphill tunnel shot that needs to go straight
14) "The Monster" - this is a very long hole (~700' in long); test your distance from the tee but make sure you have a window for a second drive; to complicate matters, it's another tough green with a ceiling and trees guarding against the hyzer approach

I could really include every hole! Probably my favorite feature of the course is that almost every hole has a particular challenge, character, and feel. There's a particular thrill while playing a course where 16 or 17 holes are possible 2s, yet I still never finish under par. This is definitely the course I miss most when I'm away from Oklahoma, as it has a character I haven't seen in any other course.
Cons: -The big one: it can be extremely busy on weekends or evenings. I generally try to play at less crowded times.
-There's a walking path that winds through the park, only possible to hit on 6, 8, or 9 with shanks. Designed well so as not to be hazardous. Hole 3 is a blind shot and I worry that an unaware park goer might get hit even though I haven't heard of it happening in at least 50-100 rounds; a good "clear" yell is a must.
-Baskets are good overall, but a couple are starting to seem less catchy (thin chains) and would benefit from replacement.
-Navigation/signs: course flow is logical and most signs still have holes, but first timers might be able to get lost (one advantage of it being so busy is that there's always someone to ask or follow)
-the lack of homogeneity between the 5 new holes and 13 originals kinda annoys me (different baskets, and no concrete tees on the new holes)
-most of the new holes aren't particularly hard to par but are almost impossible to get a two; I'm still mixed on these new ones, though they do add to the course and ought to only get better with time
-Just one set of tees; I really don't care about this, but just an FYI
-Can occasionally be muddy and mosquito-ridden after heavy rains and flooding in wetter spring seasons
Other Thoughts: **UPDATE: Dolese now has "East" and "West" courses. This review is for "East," but stems from my take on the original 18, which has DGA baskets instead of the 18 new holes with yellow-banded Disc-Catchers. These 18 also have concrete tee pads with hole names in granite. Many times I still play the original 18, and other times I play all 36 or pick and choose. The new holes are a nice addition to be sure, and make very good use of previously unused park space. They do tend to have a different feel because they have very narrow lines or don't seem to have a possible golf shot to get to the basket. They're still a bit raw in terms of both fairways and tees. The East course starts on the original hole 3 and goes through 15, using 5 new holes to make 18. The West course, on the other hand, includes the 5 original island holes and includes 13 new holes on the west side of the park.**

Many courses feel like someone put baskets in a park wherever they would fit, but Dolese feels like the park is designed to fit the disc golf. This is a credit to the local DGA and the course designers, who managed to use parts of the park that have still not been encroached upon after all these years. Dolese captures the essence of disc golf, requiring skill in a variety of shots and encouraging players of all levels to improve all aspects of their game. Although not particularly beginner friendly, it will punish all kinds of rookie mistakes but not so badly as to prevent beginners from enjoying their round. At the same time, it demands excellence from the best. Beginners and experts alike will return to make the shots they missed and recreate their successes. I no longer hit the "off the tee" trees that I used to, or make the same newbie shanks on more open holes, but I'm not sure I've ever finished a round under 54. It's a well-designed course, one where my game has grown the most, and one that keeps me coming back for more.

I usually play by myself, and I've met tons of local players on this course. Often, I tag along with someone else who has way more experience and throws way better, and I have consistently learned something from them about discs, technique, etc. from my initial days as a rookie until my current status as an intermediate. The local disc golf community seems more active here than at any other course in the Oklahoma City area, and it's clear that local skilled players and open level guys (and gals) prefer Dolese to other OKC courses.

In short, this is the original "can't miss" course in the OKC area. Now that it's a two for one, it's even better.

Feel free to PM me for ways to improve my review!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the City

2-4    2/7/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good Concrete Tees
Good Baskets
Benches at every Tee
Practice basket near Hole One
Decent Navigation
Good Fairways
Good Variety
Some Left, straight, right
Decent elevation change
Good Distance Variety
Good for RHBH, RHFH, LHFH, LHBH
Some challenge without being hard
Good risk/reward
Quick round
Good for beginners to advanced
Work on mids, drivers, putting
Multiple pin placements
Great use of the land available
Mostly good technical holes with a few chances to stretch out and crush your drivers.
Lots of fun
Loved the couple of elevated tees
Imaginative names for each hole (Nice touch)
Ample parking
Pavillion near parking good for Tourneys
Friendly locals

Favorite Hole(s): #5, #12, #15
Cons: Needs new tee signs bad
The signs that were there are vandalized
Needs a few directionals (2-3, 15-16)
Some tee pads were small (No big deal, they were big enough for me)
Some erosion problems need attention
Could use better walkways across the creek in a couple of spots
Could use more trashcasns
Usually is very crowded (The reason is that it is the most fun course in the city).
16, 17, 18 seem repetetive

Not very many cons, just a fun course
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course in the city. Well worth the stop if in the city. Also worth a drive of a little ways if it has been a while since you played here. Bring a few buddies and play a while. You won't regret it.

Swing by D Mart just East of the park entrance. They have a huge selection of innova discs and a good selection of Dynamic Discs, along with some used discs.

My reviews are weighted heavily toward "fun factor" which this course has a lot of.

PM me and let me know how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE IT

1    10/25/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park. The holes are unique. I threw a multitude of shots which is always fun.The tree leafs are turning and really added to the setting on the cold blustery day I played. Still really enjoyed it even with 25 mph winds.
as mentioned below the holes are set with the longer tee to basket lengths. The granite inscribed with the tee hole #/name on each pad is a nice touch.

If I had to sum it up in one word I would say the course is FUN.
Cons: I really cant think of any. I suppose the tee signs could be updated and maybe directional signs from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: This time of year its a beautiful setting. The poison ivy seems to be minimal and the changing leaf colors on the trees make for a wonderful sight.

In my short time playing this is easily my favorite course to date. Cant wait to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 beware they are on the long tees

5+    10/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: losdizzel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As i said in the tile long tees .every year they change them to the long tees in october .Makes for a way different course more challenging
Cons: as i read in other comments they do need new signs ,keep eye on that disc at some holes gets scary in them woods
Other Thoughts: all ways alot of players so be patience

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course for Sure!!!!

1    3/17/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout and scenery is excellent. Very fun course to play and offers good difficulty. Tee-Pads are nice with good length.
Cons: Holes are a little on the short side except for the "monster". You rarely need a driver! If you haven't played this course before it's very difficult to navigate and the signs are horrible. Course needs new baskets and signs.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees and lots of wind!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great park in the middle of OKC

1    7/22/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 101  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes. You have some holes with great wide open shots that allow you to practice your big armed shot. There are a good number of wooded shots that allow you to work on your accuracy. And there are even some fun elevated shots. This course is also smack dab in the middle of the community, something that I have always enjoyed in courses in the city. That could be a con for some people though. There are plenty of trash cans throughout the course, and the baskets and tees are well marked with signs. The course overall is well maintained.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2, and 15-18 are all kind of packed together in about an acre area at the beginning of the course. The rest of the course is well spread out, but those holes are kind of cramped (can be especially annoying if there are some terrible discers there, because you would need to be on the lookout for some wild discs). If you don't already know where the beginning of this course is, it could be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, my favorite of the three I played in Oklahoma (I also played Paul's Valley Flightline and Griffin Park in Norman). Was a great park with a lot of locals out there playing on a Friday night. There is even a gas station nearby with a proshop inside of it with a GREAT selection of discs. If you live near Oklahoma City, which is actually a great disc golf city, you HAVE to check this course out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still My Favorate

5+    3/23/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park maintained pretty well. Mostly friendly people that play the course, some really good locals out. The holes are routinely changed up to keep the course from getting stale. There is a good combo of lefts, rights, shorts and longs to keep to you on your toes. There is some beautiful scenery to play in now that everything is greening up.
Cons: There seems to be a growing trash problem, the local DG groups do a great job cleaning up when they can but the public needs to be somewhat more helpful on this. The city could also put some extra trash barrels out. With the warmer weather starting to peak out, there is also an increase in non-dg incursions into the course so be careful when you drive!
Other Thoughts: That greening up that I was talking about brings up a another point to the dg people playing the course. There are loads of places to loose your discs when it foliage gets thick and venturing out into can result in some poison ivy rashes. Watch those drives! Also, just a note for everyone out, remember the disc golf courtesy of letting the smaller groups and solos play through if they are nipping at your heels. It makes for a great course when everyone is getting along with each other.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in OKC

1    3/15/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-technical
-easy to follow(especially with course map link)
_
Cons: -can get crowded woth newbs
-located in youth park
Other Thoughts: Thsi is the best course in OKC. Well maintained and a must for anoyone in the OKC area.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.