Rock Hill, SC 
South Pointe High School DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Somewhat a-okay!

1    7/18/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I was driving down the country, planning to play a few of the school courses before Roc Hill Singles. Meanwhile, I'm on my way to West End and I drive through road construction. Traffic was so stopped up as if every resident of Rock Hill were trying to go to the same place. The entrance for the church course was blocked, so I drove through a couple ol' neighborhoods and find a high school that may just be bigger than my college campus.

-The campus is SO pretty that, you think a dope 18 holer would be in order here. But there are only 9 baskets. Starts off typical with a 227' putter shot beside the school building. Basket is on a drop off, so it's not as easy as you'd expect. #2 is a fun hole over the road that takes you to the staff parking lot. The baskets for holes 3 and 4 are currently missing. But the tee signs for 3 and 4 are not, so I thought of what's now the third hole as a hole with three tee pads. You can play hole 3's pad to 5's basket, or play 4's pad to 5's basket, or just play the original hole 5.

-I enjoyed the elevation changes on holes 6 and 7. Hole 6 is beside the ball fence and up a 20' hill. Short hole, but is interesting. Hole 7 was my favorite because it is a lengthy par 3, but significantly downhill and has lots of roller potential. Not an easy 2. Tee sign says it's a par 4, but it's definitely a par 3.

-The Roc Hill disc golf club holds monthly tournaments and I feel that a modified 18 hole layout could easily be arranged here.

-Nicely kept, and very well taken care of. You can tell that there is a great student body there. There are also "next tee" signs.
Cons: -I have to disagree with the previous reviewers on how it's easy to navigate. Well, in a way. It took me forever to find the first hole. From the Visitor's Parking, you have to walk around the school building to get to hole 1, as it is on the other side of the building. I took approximately 8674927424* footsteps to get there. But that was my problem, I didn't walk toward the building to get there, I walked straight ahead from where I parked and the first basket I found was 5. I think an arrow pointing you to hole 1 would be nice.

-I think the designer had a temporary case of the Schwartz's when he designed hole 8. It could be longer, as I think that the basket could be further down the hill and to the right, as it is open in that area. Could be a killer 400 footer for the upperclassmen to practice on. But instead, it's a bland 244' downhill putter shot with the basket not yet all the down the hill. From the tee, you see a great idea for a signature hole that simply does not exist because the basket is 150-200' short of where I think it should be.

-Holes 9 and 10 are filler holes. Both are boring, as they are under 150'. To the Fresh meat, these holes are for you! Thing about 9 is that you see the tee from hole 8 because it's 400' straight of hole 8's tee. And the tee could easily be pushed back in the area where I said would be a great idea for #8's basket. #10 is just a long putt for me, and it's sandwiched between a tennis and ball field. Pssssh!

-Sorry, but #11 is pretty goofy. It's sandwiched between a fenced field and hole 1's fairway and plays along a sloping hill.
Other Thoughts: -It's definitely a more promising high school course because of holes such as 2, the options you have for your third hole, and then holes 6 thru 8. But the last three holes are just boring and take away the fun.

-The school is really nice. Kinda wish that I went to high school there, because mine didn't have a course. We had a club but no team because there's no school course in Gaston County to compete at. With a school this big, I'll bet that the course gets many of the students interested in giving the game a shot. And the hole quality here is more than good enough to get them further into the game. Course is wide open, so if you like woods, you should probably just play Boyd.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable 9-holer. Too bad it's an 11-hole course.

1    11/22/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Point High offers a mostly very-good 11-hole layout. I really enjoyed the course through the first eight holes. Sadly, the course stumbled at the end.
- By local, school course standards, and most 9-hole/short course designs, this is an above average course through the first eight holes. I'll get to the closing holes in the cons, focusing solely on the good here.
- There is some really good variety, with great use of the slight elevation and a variety in the hole lengths. Throw in a couple creative hole layouts, and I was really impressed.
- #1 and & 2 are both good downhill baskets. #1 is mostly a flat shot until you get to the basket, which offers a risk of discs sailing past the basket, or rolling down the hill. #2 is a downhill tee shot, throwing over a school service road. This is a fun hole to throw a couple discs on. #8 also offers some similarities to these holes, with its downhill layout.
- #6 is a good, up shot to a basket on a hill. It's listed at 198 feet, but with the elevation plays a good 50 feet longer than that.
- #7 is the course's longest hole at 344 feet. It's a relatively open hole, with woods on the right. The biggest obstacle here is the lack of a natural tee area.
- I'll also throw out #4 as an intriguing, fun layout. It's a 168 foot hole with the fairway going through an opening in some trees, to a dogleg right basket. To the designers' credit, they took advantage of the only cluster of trees in the area to make a good layout.
- Course is easy to navigate. Once you find the first hole, which is behind the school building, to the right of the tall, black stand used for the band director, it's easy to make your way through the course. There are even a couple next tee markers. That said, one or two more could be used to make it even easier.
Cons: There are a couple throw away holes here that take away from the course's overall quality. In a sense, they're not even needed because this is an 11-hole course. So one has to wonder, why the sense of trying to squeeze in a couple of dogs?
- The two worst holes, which are completely dreadful are #9 and 10. The holes play in the space between a baseball field and tennis courts. Both are short - 124 and 140 feet respectively. And neither offers any obstacle. You play a couple of challenging (relatively) holes, then get to two pitch-n-putt holes that have no reason for existing. Eliminate those and somehow make #11 a longer finishing hole. #11 was somewhat boring as it was, which may be simply be the stink-factor of the prior two holes. But, adding distance would create an added challenge.
- Speaking of added distance, I think #6 could be even better if the tee pad was pushed backed. You have a decent walk from #5's basket to #6's tee, so why not make the uphill shot even a little tougher. If they're willing to allow a long walk here, why not pull #9 & 10 and allow for a long walk there as well?
- I did have a somewhat hard time finding the tee for #7. A sign would help. But, what's worse is the tee area itself. The ground isn't flat. You're throwing on the top of a hill, so the ground is sloped. That makes it hard for any realistic run-up, especially when you're paying so much attention to your safety.
Other Thoughts: South Pointe High is a good nine-hole course if you eliminated holes #9 & 10. That's not even just by school standards, but in comparison to all 9-holers (or 10, 11 & 12 holes) I've played.
- This course makes for a fun play and can be appealing to most skill levels. Beginners will enjoy, and I think mid-levels will enjoy playing this course a time or two.
- This is a great course for practice. There are some open areas where you could play safari holes and really crank some big drives.
- After the first eight holes, I would have rated this course a 2.0; however, with as bad as #9 & 10 are, and how blah #11 is, those holes do knock down the course's overall rating. Still, at 1.5, it's an average 9-holer-esque course in my book. I'd play here a lot if I lived close by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 South Pointe

2-4    8/21/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: freakinback
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Longest hole is 350 feet. Has a bunch of short holes.

There is some use of elevation.

Course is well marked and it was easy to find my way around.
Cons: This course is very open with trees in play only on hole 4.

Hole 9 was overgrown with weeds.

No trash cans or benches.
Grass tee pads.

Lots of red clay.

Some of the rough was very over grown. Took me a while to find a disc thrown into four feet talk weeds.
Other Thoughts: I liked hole 8 the most. I threw on hole nine and from the hole 8 tee. I thought the distance was off. Turn out 8 is hidden do to a drop in elevation.

Saluda Trail Middle School course is right around the corner.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 South Pointe HS

1    7/13/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 115  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and foremost this is an EDGE program course, which means great exposure to disc golf to students, and that's a great thing.

There were no really long holes, with only one being over 300 feet at 350, and two others between 275 and 300, so every hole could be an ace run.

The course makes decent use of the land, with good use of elevation as it plays around the baseball and softball fields. Hole 4 was probably my favorite hole as it's the only one with any trees in play.

Navigation is mostly straight forward, with a decent walk between holes 5 and 6, which is well marked with next tee signs on the outside of the fence of the baseball field, with the tee being at the left field corner of the field. Also hole 10's tee wasn't initially obvious for me to locate, but it's along the fence of the softball field.

There is another course located at Saluda Trails Middle School, which is very close
Cons: The biggest con here is the relative ease and simplicity of the course. There's not much to challenge a decent player here. It's short and open. Bring lots of sunscreen.

The baskets weren't in the best shape when I was there, with many seeming to be missing the inner set of chains, and some were getting a bit rusty. They may be in the middle of being replaced, as I'm aware that there was an issue with some of the chain supply at Innova recently, which they are replacing rusted chains on DISCatcher Pros. One of the baskets had weeds growing up through the bottom, and the tee for hole 7 was almost overgrown
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this a destination course, but it's worth playing if your in the area and need a fix, or if you want to up your courses played total, especially when combined with the nearby Saluda Trail Middle School course.

There are no trashcans on the course. There were also no benches around, which aren't really needed, and the tee signs simply had hole numbers and distances, which is all they really needed. The nearest store for water/snacks is about a mile up the road, and there are no restrooms available on the course. I did try the water fountain near basket #11, and it was not working, but it was probably cut off for the summer. Depending on when you're there, you may be able to access water/restroom facilities inside the school..

And lastly, when school is in, the course is closed to the public.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.