Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #1 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Nice Course

2-4    5/5/2018   10/9/2018
Review By: Forgot My Clubs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course that is big and technical with good elevation changes. Long holes and plenty of trees makes for a challenging round.
Cons: Can flood in a couple of spots. Water can be much deeper than it appears in some of the water holes
Other Thoughts: Not the cleanest, but decent.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Course for the Area Given

5+    5/12/2018   10/7/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 29.8 Years
Pros: Several long challenging holes
Good tee pads
Good signage
Good elevation changes
Lefty friendly :)
Cons: Some holes very close to road or too close one another
A little too open on many of the holes
Dangerous drives on a few holes if there are people there in playground area
Right next to heavy traffic and roads on several holes
A couple roads cut through the course and have to be crossed
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times since right after it opened. I find it very LHBH friendly and not very popular with a few of my RHBH dominant friends. The course utilizes the space given pretty well, but it seems like the holes are all mashed on top of each other and there is no space or woods separating the fairways. Also, you definitely feel like you are in the middle of a small park in the city as you are right by traffic on several holes. Not a place to escape civilization but does play decent as a course. A few of the holes are meh, but I do really enjoy several of the others and it is worth giving this course a try.

Good COurse

1    7/14/2018   7/14/2018
Review By: 34blast
Played: 33  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of hills and trees
Variety
Not too easy or too hard
Nicely mowed
Good tee pads
Not too busy
Cons: First timers like me will have a couple of navigation issues without UDisc or somehow who knows that course but not too bad
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, maybe a tad hard for beginners. I really like this course and will be back for sure. They must have cleaned it up because I didn't notice any trash anywhere.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Trash Everywhere!

1    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: netbeui22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Holes are very well thought out, and concrete tee pads.
Cons: Construction on 8 and 17 would be fine if the rest of the park were clean. Trash was everywhere!
Other Thoughts: I used to really like this course but was really disappointed! It really seems like no one is keeping this park maintained anymore.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Fun

2-4    5/10/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: Calebexnihilo
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Played this course a couple times and plan to hit it a few more
- Good variety of open, long throws and some tight wooded throws.
- Just about every hole is pretty long throw. No easy birdies here.
- Couple of creek hazards, but none we were unable to fish the disc from.
- Love one hole on the back half that has you throwing over a long field of wildflowers.
- Markings and baskets are good
- Good shade for most of the course
Cons: - You will see one or two holes where there is a tree almost directly in line of throw from tee box... and it is beaten up. One in the party will inevitably hit that tree. Ha
- One or two navigational issues, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: - I find the wooden frame around the throw at hole 3 hilarious. Forces a more accurate throw to start and someone usually hits it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A tough fun round

1    5/22/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge variability
-Beautiful
Cons: -Tough Navigation
-Change of layout makes the ending confusing
-Very tiring because of the hills
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (4/5): This course will really make you work, and punishes missed lines. The few wide open holes are long. Most holes have the opportunity to hit trees fairly soon off the tee, which would guarantee you a bogey. Birdies were practically impossible for me on most holes because of the combination of distance and obstacles. However, I found that a well placed fairway driver off of the tee left me a manageable upshot. If you're conservative on your drive, you'll give yourself a lot of pars. If you want birdies you'll have to get aggressive, and run the risk of lots of bogeys.

Maintenance (5/5): Grass is cut very short. The pins are in perfect condition, as are the teepads. The brush seems to be cut back frequently. The tee signs are great! Very informative about distance, location, and out of bounds.

Variability (5/5): Even with my general strategy of throwing safe layup shots off of the tee I was required to throw a ton of different shots. Turnovers, S-Curves, hyzers, low skips, etc. If the wind had been right I would have thrown a couple of tomahawks/thumbers too. The elevations changes and obstacles really forced me to consider what my best option was off of the tee, which made for a really fun, technical round. I would imagine going for the birdies would have increased that even more.

Flow/Experience (1.5/5): The flow of this course left a lot to be desired. The multiple pin locations for the majority of holes will add a lot for replayability, but makes navigation a pain. There were multiple instances where several pins could reasonably be the pin I was supposed to be shooting at, so I would have to walk all the way to the pin to check the number to make sure it was the right one. To add on top of that, they have removed hole 8 and construction has changed the layout of 18. This caused me significant confusion as a first timer playing alone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course not too far from Downtown Dallas

1    3/7/2017   3/12/2017
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate level course set in a mixed use park.

Baskets - 20 grippy DGA baskets. 1 basket per hole as well as 2 practice baskets. Had no issues with spit outs. There were 3 pin placements per hole.

Tees - 1 grippy concrete tee per hole. However, course seemed to be going through construction so hole 18's tee was natural.

Variety - This course had a great mix of holes that varied from short and technical to long and open using elevation as its obstacle. Most of the holes were medium length but there were several on the longer side which was a nice bonus. There were no heavily wooded holes but there were moderately wooded holes as well as water hazards. The water hazards were a creek and a small pond. They were shallow when I played so it wasn't much of a factor.

There were a few blind shots due to elevation but there were large flags sticking up out of the baskets.

Signs - There was a course map at the start, as well as signs at every hole that had a map, distance, par, as well as next hole.

There were benches at a few of the holes but exactly where you needed them. There were also a few trash cans throughout.

Course was clean with exception of 8 in the brush beyond the basket.

Easy to navigate.

Options for food and drink nearby if needed.
Cons: Alternate tees on each hole would be a game changer. I think it could take this course to a 4.5 out of 5. All of the long holes could use a shorter hole. The rest of the shorter and mid range holes could use an added tee to change the lines on the holes.

There were a few next hole signs. However, this course could use several added signs after a few of the holes pointing you in the right direction. After 4. After 5.

Construction took out hole 17. So for hole 17, play from original tee of 18 to basket 17. There is a temporary tee for 18.
Other Thoughts: I did notice an extra tee next to hole 16 pointing to the tee of hole 17. No basket though. There is room to expand this course by a few holes. Perhaps splitting up hole 13. A hole between 16 and 17. Splitting up 18.

I really liked this course and would highly recommend it. The elevation really made it stand out. Being from Indianapolis, anytime elevation is added to a course, I really enjoy it.

Added tees, signs, and a few more trash cans would take this course to a 4.5 in my opinion. Ideally I would rate it a 4.25 but that was not an option.

If I return to the Dallas area, I would more than likely visit this course again and would recommend it to anyone in the area. It was about 20 minutes away from the DFW airport if you are staying in that area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Grand Prarie

1    11/25/2016   11/25/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 76  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2017
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very nice course that plays all around a city park. There is a good deal of trees and elevation, as well as a creek in some places. It utilizes these features very well. There really aren't any holes that play completely wide open, you have trees on most all of the holes, with big hills being the obstacles on others. it's not ridiculously wooded (Like Coyote or Z Boaz), but there are key trees to work around on every hole, even the really long ones. You have to shape your shot on every tee.
There's are really nice metal bridges anywhere that you have to cross the creek. Lots of parking.
Cons: Navigation is not always very clear. There are good tee signs and a map on each tee, so you can usually find your way around, it's just not always intuitive. When the pins are in the longs, the long holes are stupid long, so be prepared for that.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well-kept, challenging course with lots of hills and some trees.

2-4    7/30/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2017
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large variety of shots with holes that are of varying distance (from 180 ft. to over 1000 ft.) though most are a standard 3-par length.

Course is very well-designed. You never feel too far away from the parking lot.

Accurate tee markers, tee pads are a nice size and kept clean, holes are easy to see/find and often have flags coming from the top so players can see them over hilly areas.

Cons: Some holes can be slightly difficult to find. Luckily, each hole has a map of the entire course located on the tee marker.

Due to Turner's difficulty, newer players might want to try someplace else until they're able to throw their discs reliably. I played this course before I got the hang of my throwing form and it was absolute hell.

Not tons of tree coverage, so you'll want to go in the morning/evenings during the summer months.

Pin placement is subject to the course maintenance people, so you don't get to choose whether you the play short, medium or long pins.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best disc golf course I've played in the DFW area (alongside Grapevine, Trophy Club, Leonard L. Woods and Denton).

The signature hole probably has to be the 18th. It can be over 1000 ft. when the pin is in the long placement, 870 ft. for medium, and I think it gets significantly shorter from the short pin. I also really enjoyed the 16th, which is a straight shot downhill to the pin.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, longest drives I've seen

1    12/7/2015   12/9/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2016
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Turner Park is one of the oldest, if not the oldest disc golf park in DFW and it's still all about little hills & valleys. This course is wide open for first 4 holes, then you enter the wooded glen around a narrow but surprisingly deep, clear creek. Turner has the best steel bridges (in DFW) to cross said creek and you'll need them. Hole #10 crosses the same creek 4 times! Little Creek is narrow but only 2-4ft deep, so you can easily get your disc after you've 'washed' it in the creek.
Cons: If you DO NOT want a long walk work out, this course is NOT for you! Hole#18 at the long set, is 1000ft !! Holes #13-17 are all over 400ft and they too are up and down hills. That Said, I loved this course.
Other Thoughts: I went back to play Turner. It's a great course well laid out. I still love Hole #7 with the shaded, green grass valley (with a 24ft drop then back up 18ft.) #7 is only 207ft in the short set. Ao it's Ace-able. When we were there, #7 was in the long set, protected by trees and nobody hit an Ace.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.