Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #7 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket To Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Great Course not too far from Downtown Dallas

1    3/7/2017   3/12/2017
Review By: ajbova
Played: 106  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate level course set in a mixed use park.

Baskets - 20 grippy DGA baskets. 1 basket per hole as well as 2 practice baskets. Had no issues with spit outs. There were 3 pin placements per hole.

Tees - 1 grippy concrete tee per hole. However, course seemed to be going through construction so hole 18's tee was natural.

Variety - This course had a great mix of holes that varied from short and technical to long and open using elevation as its obstacle. Most of the holes were medium length but there were several on the longer side which was a nice bonus. There were no heavily wooded holes but there were moderately wooded holes as well as water hazards. The water hazards were a creek and a small pond. They were shallow when I played so it wasn't much of a factor.

There were a few blind shots due to elevation but there were large flags sticking up out of the baskets.

Signs - There was a course map at the start, as well as signs at every hole that had a map, distance, par, as well as next hole.

There were benches at a few of the holes but exactly where you needed them. There were also a few trash cans throughout.

Course was clean with exception of 8 in the brush beyond the basket.

Easy to navigate.

Options for food and drink nearby if needed.
Cons: Alternate tees on each hole would be a game changer. I think it could take this course to a 4.5 out of 5. All of the long holes could use a shorter hole. The rest of the shorter and mid range holes could use an added tee to change the lines on the holes.

There were a few next hole signs. However, this course could use several added signs after a few of the holes pointing you in the right direction. After 4. After 5.

Construction took out hole 17. So for hole 17, play from original tee of 18 to basket 17. There is a temporary tee for 18.
Other Thoughts: I did notice an extra tee next to hole 16 pointing to the tee of hole 17. No basket though. There is room to expand this course by a few holes. Perhaps splitting up hole 13. A hole between 16 and 17. Splitting up 18.

I really liked this course and would highly recommend it. The elevation really made it stand out. Being from Indianapolis, anytime elevation is added to a course, I really enjoy it.

Added tees, signs, and a few more trash cans would take this course to a 4.5 in my opinion. Ideally I would rate it a 4.25 but that was not an option.

If I return to the Dallas area, I would more than likely visit this course again and would recommend it to anyone in the area. It was about 20 minutes away from the DFW airport if you are staying in that area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grand Prarie

1    11/25/2016   11/25/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 64  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice course that plays all around a city park. There is a good deal of trees and elevation, as well as a creek in some places. It utilizes these features very well. There really aren't any holes that play completely wide open, you have trees on most all of the holes, with big hills being the obstacles on others. it's not ridiculously wooded (Like Coyote or Z Boaz), but there are key trees to work around on every joke, even the really long ones. You have to shape your shot on every tee.
There's are really nice metal bridges anywhere that you have to cross the creek. Lots of parking.
Cons: Navigation is not always very clear. There are good tee signs and a map on each tee, so you can usually find your way around, it's just not always intuitive. When the pins are in the longs, the long holes are stupid long, so be prepared for that.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well-kept, challenging course with lots of hills and some trees.

2-4    7/30/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2017
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large variety of shots with holes that are of varying distance (from 180 ft. to over 1000 ft.) though most are a standard 3-par length.

Course is very well-designed. You never feel too far away from the parking lot.

Accurate tee markers, tee pads are a nice size and kept clean, holes are easy to see/find and often have flags coming from the top so players can see them over hilly areas.

Cons: Some holes can be slightly difficult to find. Luckily, each hole has a map of the entire course located on the tee marker.

Due to Turner's difficulty, newer players might want to try someplace else until they're able to throw their discs reliably. I played this course before I got the hang of my throwing form and it was absolute hell.

Not tons of tree coverage, so you'll want to go in the morning/evenings during the summer months.

Pin placement is subject to the course maintenance people, so you don't get to choose whether you the play short, medium or long pins.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best disc golf course I've played in the DFW area (alongside Grapevine, Trophy Club, Leonard L. Woods and Denton).

The signature hole probably has to be the 18th. It can be over 1000 ft. when the pin is in the long placement, 870 ft. for medium, and I think it gets significantly shorter from the short pin. I also really enjoyed the 16th, which is a straight shot downhill to the pin.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, longest drives I've seen

1    12/7/2015   12/9/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 23.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2016
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Turner Park is one of the oldest, if not the oldest disc golf park in DFW and it's still all about little hills & valleys. This course is wide open for first 4 holes, then you enter the wooded glen around a narrow but surprisingly deep, clear creek. Turner has the best steel bridges (in DFW) to cross said creek and you'll need them. Hole #10 crosses the same creek 4 times! Little Creek is narrow but only 2-4ft deep, so you can easily get your disc after you've 'washed' it in the creek.
Cons: If you DO NOT want a long walk work out, this course is NOT for you! Hole#18 at the long set, is 1000ft !! Holes #13-17 are all over 400ft and they too are up and down hills. That Said, I loved this course.
Other Thoughts: I went back to play Turner. It's a great course well laid out. I still love Hole #7 with the shaded, green grass valley (with a 24ft drop then back up 18ft.) #7 is only 207ft in the short set. Ao it's Ace-able. When we were there, #7 was in the long set, protected by trees and nobody hit an Ace.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging

1    10/1/2015   10/1/2015
Review By: hopalong
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Lots of different kinds of shots, uphill, downhill, long, short etc.
Cons: Difficult to find hole 5 or 6 despite some signage. A short walk down the road is where you'll find it.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play again!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Challenging

1    9/7/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 64  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Turner Park is in a hilly area with scattered trees, several park roadways and a small creek running through it. The course layout utilizes these features very well placing baskets near roadways, the creek and on slopes that punish overthrows and inaccuracy very well.

Holes 1 and 2 are the most open holes on the course with no trees that come into play as I recall. And yet, ob sidewalks and roadway on 1 and brush past the basket on 2 provide challenge to start off your round.

Hole 3 has a basket on a slope with ob danger past and to the left (the direction of the slope) to make you wary of an overthrow from the tee.

Hole 4 follows with an uphill throw through a gap between or around trees and then then next few holes take you across the small creek, up hill, across the creek bottom, downhill, back up hill, and so forth. The elevation and creek has been used exceptionally well and this is a very fun course as a result.

The tee pads are the longest that I have ever played on. They are overkill on many of the shorter holes, but that's certainly nothing to complain about.

There are only two truly open holes (1 and 2). Every other hole requires some shot shaping, often times with a low ceiling to work with. There are also some very long holes, including a 1000+ finishing hole when the basket is in the log position, which it was when I played, and a long downhill, turnover hole that ends with a small island green.

There is virtually no repetitive feel to any of this course. The variety, elevation, use of the creek and challenge of the holes make this a course that I highly recommend if you are in the area.

This course is also very easy to get to off I-30, being only seconds away from the interstate.
Cons: There are multiple basket positions which are usually not visible from tee. The signs provide no indication of basket position and makes the information on the sign useless if you are not familiar with the course or don't scout ahead on most of the holes and there are a lot of tees from which the baskets cannot be seen.

Hole 18, in the short position looks like a really fun hole. In the long position, it was a bit of a slog, especially on a day in which the temp was near 100 degrees.

I'm not a fan of the "island" green on 16, but I also didn't let this factor into my rating because you can lay up and safely get on the green. If you want to go for the putt, you are risking some strokes. It's a little gimmicky, but I have seen far worse. This hole, despite the mandos off the tee, begs for you to throw toward oncoming traffic on your second shot.

The only other criticism that I have of this course is that it approaches garbage dump status with all the trash all over the course. I certainly hope this was only because I played on a holiday weekend, but the course condition note at the time of this writing worries me that it's like this a lot. Just a beautiful views can make a course a bit more fun to play, all the trash can be a downer.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this couse, but my round was made longer by the need to scout almost every hole. I'd love to have this as a local course and highly recommend it to any travelers.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great course, tons of fun, but a hell of a walk

1    7/26/2015   7/26/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Pretty much everything
Cons: -Pretty much nothing
Other Thoughts: I know it is a short review, but sometimes when a course is great you just let it be. I'm a newer player, and overweight, so this course really challenged me physically. Can't wait to go back and play it again.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Turner Park

5+    3/15/2015   5/15/2015
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes abound in this great 18 hole course. Multiple pin positions do make for different shots. Some of my personal favorite holes- Hole 2- great wide open shot that is deceptive, OB road on your right and woods behind the basket - a precise shot is more beneficial than just airing this one out, Hole 3 - low ceiling downhill with a possible skip- definitely aceable but the trees make for some great lines and strategy- pin is on a slope and will make you pay with a long roll out if you miss this putt. Hole 7- one of the very few holes in which a thumber or tomahawk is possibly the best line from the tee- You will want to throw this one multiple times it is very rewarding to throw - as the trees grow it will become harder and harder another rollout on a bad putt and your birdie will become bogie on this hole. Hole 10 has a line to the basket over a stream that snakes through the fairway takes precise placement to get your disc up by the basket from the tee. Hole 16 is really challenging if the basket is on the island- mandos keep discs from going out over the road and trees create real obstacles to airing it out over the creek. Hole 18 favors the longer arms but is pretty taxing for me after playing this course.
Cons: When there is a lot of wind this course is really difficult- Holes 1,2, 4, will have the wind throw your disc at parked or moving cars, in the street or parking lot. It is a part of this course but you have to play something stable or the wind will turn your disc over and send it into oncoming traffic. Don't park by hole 1's basket.
Other Thoughts: It is a fantastic course, the design is excellent, and it is really challenging, a good work out and you will use every shot in your bag. Great fun-

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 182  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 8.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a perfect city park for disc golf. There were very few other park users to contend with, and the elevation changes were big. Every hole has some elevation change, and nearly all of them have some trees to contend with.

The design here was really good. I can't even think of all the great holes, but here are a few:

Hole 7 was one of the shortest holes, but it had three distinct routes to the basket. The forehand route is tight but might get you closest. The hyzer or straight route is easier but requires a tricky uphill skip to get close. And there is a thumber route. The basket sits on a steep hill.

Hole 6 had some great pin placements within the roly poly valleys.

Hole 13 was maybe the best, a downhill huge drive through a gap with a late turn, and then another full throw to the basket uphill. I was pretty pumped to get a 3 on this.

Hole 16 was a blast, a huge downhill bomb. I was a little confused by which basket to use (I think there were two options), but I went to the island green that reminded me of a hole at Mile McIver used in the Beaver State Fling.

Water came into play on a few holes.

The tee signs were old but good, showing the various pin positions and distances.

Navigation was fine, but I'd recommend having the map.
Cons: Ants! The course is unforgettable, but the ants made double sure I'd never forget this day. Ouch. Be careful where you stand and where you put your bag.

This course will thrill intermediates. It might not challenge top tier players like other courses. There were worse criticisms.
Other Thoughts: This reminds me of Waterworks and Swope in Kansas City. What a fun course. Not a single hole I didn't enjoy.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenges In A Fun Layout

2-4    7/11/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + I appreciated the great use of natural terrain and elevation changes.
+ The tee boxes were solid and comfortable
+ Some of the baskets had tall flags for visual markings
+ I liked the challenges of the trees and tight tunnels that were made naturally (it probably is less challenging in the Winter I assume since its less growth)
+ Enjoyed the 860+ft Hole 18, not because of its length, but because of the challenge it posed through the terrain changes
Cons: - directional markers between basket and next tee box (possibly use painted or arrow shaped paver stones to direct players) so that you know which way to go on your first time playing it

- Holes #5/#6 ground markings and concrete arrows NEED to be repainted. I ended up performing loops to the wrong tee boxes before I saw the very faint arrows on the ground. Contrasting bright/dark paint every month or so won't hurt.

- tee sign vandalism sadly
- trash and waste at the tee boxes and around Hole #12's creeks sadly
- flag markers for some of the baskets would assist
- possibly create a system to let throwers know where the basket is placed at so newcomers (like myself) do not have to walk 3/4 of the fairway to find it... then walk back to their tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall, no course will ever be perfect or maintain that standing very long since there is a critic everywhere (like myself), but I really enjoyed this course.
It was recommended to me as I passed through the area and according to locals I shot very well for a first time player (-2 to +2) on the first rounds.
It was hot and windy and this park allows you to get some lift from the wind and the shade from the trees.
The elevation change and the natural trees, etc. make it fun to play.

Stay accurate, throw consistent, and make placements stay and you will have some good rounds here.

*definitely coming back next time I am in the area*

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.