Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Challenging and Fun

2-4    5/10/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: Calebexnihilo
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Played this course a couple times and plan to hit it a few more
- Good variety of open, long throws and some tight wooded throws.
- Just about every hole is pretty long throw. No easy birdies here.
- Couple of creek hazards, but none we were unable to fish the disc from.
- Love one hole on the back half that has you throwing over a long field of wildflowers.
- Markings and baskets are good
- Good shade for most of the course
Cons: - You will see one or two holes where there is a tree almost directly in line of throw from tee box... and it is beaten up. One in the party will inevitably hit that tree. Ha
- One or two navigational issues, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: - I find the wooden frame around the throw at hole 3 hilarious. Forces a more accurate throw to start and someone usually hits it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A tough fun round

1    5/22/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge variability
-Beautiful
Cons: -Tough Navigation
-Change of layout makes the ending confusing
-Very tiring because of the hills
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (4/5): This course will really make you work, and punishes missed lines. The few wide open holes are long. Most holes have the opportunity to hit trees fairly soon off the tee, which would guarantee you a bogey. Birdies were practically impossible for me on most holes because of the combination of distance and obstacles. However, I found that a well placed fairway driver off of the tee left me a manageable upshot. If you're conservative on your drive, you'll give yourself a lot of pars. If you want birdies you'll have to get aggressive, and run the risk of lots of bogeys.

Maintenance (5/5): Grass is cut very short. The pins are in perfect condition, as are the teepads. The brush seems to be cut back frequently. The tee signs are great! Very informative about distance, location, and out of bounds.

Variability (5/5): Even with my general strategy of throwing safe layup shots off of the tee I was required to throw a ton of different shots. Turnovers, S-Curves, hyzers, low skips, etc. If the wind had been right I would have thrown a couple of tomahawks/thumbers too. The elevations changes and obstacles really forced me to consider what my best option was off of the tee, which made for a really fun, technical round. I would imagine going for the birdies would have increased that even more.

Flow/Experience (1.5/5): The flow of this course left a lot to be desired. The multiple pin locations for the majority of holes will add a lot for replayability, but makes navigation a pain. There were multiple instances where several pins could reasonably be the pin I was supposed to be shooting at, so I would have to walk all the way to the pin to check the number to make sure it was the right one. To add on top of that, they have removed hole 8 and construction has changed the layout of 18. This caused me significant confusion as a first timer playing alone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course not too far from Downtown Dallas

1    3/7/2017   3/12/2017
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate level course set in a mixed use park.

Baskets - 20 grippy DGA baskets. 1 basket per hole as well as 2 practice baskets. Had no issues with spit outs. There were 3 pin placements per hole.

Tees - 1 grippy concrete tee per hole. However, course seemed to be going through construction so hole 18's tee was natural.

Variety - This course had a great mix of holes that varied from short and technical to long and open using elevation as its obstacle. Most of the holes were medium length but there were several on the longer side which was a nice bonus. There were no heavily wooded holes but there were moderately wooded holes as well as water hazards. The water hazards were a creek and a small pond. They were shallow when I played so it wasn't much of a factor.

There were a few blind shots due to elevation but there were large flags sticking up out of the baskets.

Signs - There was a course map at the start, as well as signs at every hole that had a map, distance, par, as well as next hole.

There were benches at a few of the holes but exactly where you needed them. There were also a few trash cans throughout.

Course was clean with exception of 8 in the brush beyond the basket.

Easy to navigate.

Options for food and drink nearby if needed.
Cons: Alternate tees on each hole would be a game changer. I think it could take this course to a 4.5 out of 5. All of the long holes could use a shorter hole. The rest of the shorter and mid range holes could use an added tee to change the lines on the holes.

There were a few next hole signs. However, this course could use several added signs after a few of the holes pointing you in the right direction. After 4. After 5.

Construction took out hole 17. So for hole 17, play from original tee of 18 to basket 17. There is a temporary tee for 18.
Other Thoughts: I did notice an extra tee next to hole 16 pointing to the tee of hole 17. No basket though. There is room to expand this course by a few holes. Perhaps splitting up hole 13. A hole between 16 and 17. Splitting up 18.

I really liked this course and would highly recommend it. The elevation really made it stand out. Being from Indianapolis, anytime elevation is added to a course, I really enjoy it.

Added tees, signs, and a few more trash cans would take this course to a 4.5 in my opinion. Ideally I would rate it a 4.25 but that was not an option.

If I return to the Dallas area, I would more than likely visit this course again and would recommend it to anyone in the area. It was about 20 minutes away from the DFW airport if you are staying in that area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

1    10/1/2015   10/1/2015
Review By: hopalong
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Lots of different kinds of shots, uphill, downhill, long, short etc.
Cons: Difficult to find hole 5 or 6 despite some signage. A short walk down the road is where you'll find it.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play again!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    9/7/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Turner Park is in a hilly area with scattered trees, several park roadways and a small creek running through it. The course layout utilizes these features very well placing baskets near roadways, the creek and on slopes that punish overthrows and inaccuracy very well.

Holes 1 and 2 are the most open holes on the course with no trees that come into play as I recall. And yet, ob sidewalks and roadway on 1 and brush past the basket on 2 provide challenge to start off your round.

Hole 3 has a basket on a slope with ob danger past and to the left (the direction of the slope) to make you wary of an overthrow from the tee.

Hole 4 follows with an uphill throw through a gap between or around trees and then then next few holes take you across the small creek, up hill, across the creek bottom, downhill, back up hill, and so forth. The elevation and creek has been used exceptionally well and this is a very fun course as a result.

The tee pads are the longest that I have ever played on. They are overkill on many of the shorter holes, but that's certainly nothing to complain about.

There are only two truly open holes (1 and 2). Every other hole requires some shot shaping, often times with a low ceiling to work with. There are also some very long holes, including a 1000+ finishing hole when the basket is in the log position, which it was when I played, and a long downhill, turnover hole that ends with a small island green.

There is virtually no repetitive feel to any of this course. The variety, elevation, use of the creek and challenge of the holes make this a course that I highly recommend if you are in the area.

This course is also very easy to get to off I-30, being only seconds away from the interstate.
Cons: There are multiple basket positions which are usually not visible from tee. The signs provide no indication of basket position and makes the information on the sign useless if you are not familiar with the course or don't scout ahead on most of the holes and there are a lot of tees from which the baskets cannot be seen.

Hole 18, in the short position looks like a really fun hole. In the long position, it was a bit of a slog, especially on a day in which the temp was near 100 degrees.

I'm not a fan of the "island" green on 16, but I also didn't let this factor into my rating because you can lay up and safely get on the green. If you want to go for the putt, you are risking some strokes. It's a little gimmicky, but I have seen far worse. This hole, despite the mandos off the tee, begs for you to throw toward oncoming traffic on your second shot.

The only other criticism that I have of this course is that it approaches garbage dump status with all the trash all over the course. I certainly hope this was only because I played on a holiday weekend, but the course condition note at the time of this writing worries me that it's like this a lot. Just a beautiful views can make a course a bit more fun to play, all the trash can be a downer.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this couse, but my round was made longer by the need to scout almost every hole. I'd love to have this as a local course and highly recommend it to any travelers.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 185  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 9.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a perfect city park for disc golf. There were very few other park users to contend with, and the elevation changes were big. Every hole has some elevation change, and nearly all of them have some trees to contend with.

The design here was really good. I can't even think of all the great holes, but here are a few:

Hole 7 was one of the shortest holes, but it had three distinct routes to the basket. The forehand route is tight but might get you closest. The hyzer or straight route is easier but requires a tricky uphill skip to get close. And there is a thumber route. The basket sits on a steep hill.

Hole 6 had some great pin placements within the roly poly valleys.

Hole 13 was maybe the best, a downhill huge drive through a gap with a late turn, and then another full throw to the basket uphill. I was pretty pumped to get a 3 on this.

Hole 16 was a blast, a huge downhill bomb. I was a little confused by which basket to use (I think there were two options), but I went to the island green that reminded me of a hole at Mile McIver used in the Beaver State Fling.

Water came into play on a few holes.

The tee signs were old but good, showing the various pin positions and distances.

Navigation was fine, but I'd recommend having the map.
Cons: Ants! The course is unforgettable, but the ants made double sure I'd never forget this day. Ouch. Be careful where you stand and where you put your bag.

This course will thrill intermediates. It might not challenge top tier players like other courses. There were worse criticisms.
Other Thoughts: This reminds me of Waterworks and Swope in Kansas City. What a fun course. Not a single hole I didn't enjoy.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Elevated Course

1    1/26/2014   1/26/2014
Review By: WaterHole
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I think this course is pretty well laid out. I was able to navigate fairly easily with the signs on the tee pads. This is a very challenging course both in DG and in hiking. This is one course that will always bring you back and make you want more.

Even with multiple roads bordering the course you don't "feel" like you are in the city.
Cons: Really couldn't think of any at this time.
Other Thoughts: I would advise that make sure you are well rested for the hike you take throughout this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 "Hot" Course

1    8/24/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 107  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 14.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course with plenty of variety to keep you coming back for more. This course has literally everything you could ask for in a course. First and foremost it has elevation which having played in Mobile the last couple of years was a huge plus. Nearly every hole incorporates some sort of elevation adjustment be it from the fairways themselves or even just the putting green. Each hole feels like a new one, meaning you don't ever really throw the same shot twice. You will need every shot, and likely disc in your bag in order to score well. The course itself is well maintained with nice tee pads and accurate tee signs using satellite imaging to help with pin location. There are multiple pins for most holes if you like that sort of thing, though this course in my opinion would be just find with a single set. Plenty of natural OB with creeks, and park roads again add to the challenge of the course. There are also bathrooms on the course near the first few holes with a gas station across from 16 which is a nice bonus for a bathroom break or quick stop for a beverage during those hot rounds.

There are a few true par 4s and even the 18th is a borderline par 5 which is always a nice addition to the game.
Cons: Its Texas, and its hot. I played this course during a relatively "cool" Texas saturday morning and it was a solid 90 degrees. Bring water and protect yourself out there. For those players not in at least decent shape a full round out here will test your stamina. This is 18 holes of some real elevation change.

From a specific hole point of view the only issue I really have with the course is around the back few holes. 13-15 are in very close proximity so a heads up is necessary during busy rounds/tournaments. Even 18 can become problematic with 14 and 15 on the second shot when the pin is in the long. This is only a minor con though.

All and all there really aren't too many flaws with the course. The big thing I would point out is it is not beginner friendly. This is a long course. Based on the scores most people have posted this is not one you're going to run out and score low unless you're on your game.
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity of playing this course during a weekend getaway to the Dallas-Fortworth area. It had been YEARS since my last golf experience in Texas and I'd forgotten just how many courses where in the area. The reviews I found for Turner are what turned me to this one over the myriad of others and it did not disappoint. I also brought with my my friends who I Was visiting and my wife, non of which are avid disc golfers. They agreed it was a very nice course, but the consistent complaint they had was the length of the course. By the 13th hole they were all pretty tired.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 87  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has very nice teepads and baskets. Very nice course layout with great signage.
Cons: No real cons here. Only thing that could be a con would be the high amount of traffic this course gets.
Other Thoughts: Great course, another must play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 impressed

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 76  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *maps on every hole
*great use of park space, designers did a good job of keeping throws away from baseball field and kid area park
*concrete tees
*Baskets had high flags to help spot
*multiple pin settings
*great use of elevation (forcing shots down, then having to throw up a hill)
*well shaded, always a plus for texas courses (that means alot of tree so some may consider a negative lol)
*scenic park (but it looks like in winter may not be so pretty)
*appears to have had alot of thought put into course
*very well maintained and mowed
*two convient stores located at 16ish area, incase you need a refil of a drink
*stairs and bridges between holes....this is great that somebody took time to do this.
*fun factor
*pro and beginers can both play and have a challenge on this course.
*the rolling hills really make the course a truely nice course.
*most of the park is just for disc golf
Cons: *transition between 4 and 5, there are maps at every hole, but for a first timer can be confusing
*i feel like the "epic hole" or "trademark hole" (the hole or holes that may define a course)was missing, but there were 3 or 4 holes that could of been just not quite there. that being said this has the biggest selection of great holes i have played on with probably 14 or 15 of them being well above good.
Other Thoughts: *18...really....871 feet in long setting? up hill slightly before going down hill on the back end? this was close to the epic hole i was talking about but needed something else.
*hole 12 almost had the epic feel, but i think the creek needed to be a little more wide and deep as it almost circles the entire hole
*overall probably one of the top courses i have ever played
*park north of hole 1 (behind tee pad, not to parking lot to side of hole), if you park west..you will have a long walk back from 18

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.