Saint Clair Shores, MI 
Brys Park Share
Uploaded By: MisterJ Hole #4 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 183ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Blah-but there's lots of ace runs so I got that going for me...which is nice

1    3/8/2019   3/8/2019
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 86  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Set in a clean multiuse park
-The stone tee markers are easy to see and very professional looking
-Tons of ace runs so there's that...
-The Mach baskets are definitely weathered but in great shape.
Cons: -Super duper short and pancake flat.
-This really isn't a 24 hole course. More accurately, this is a 12 hole course with alternate tees or a course with a set of longs and shorts.
-Where you tee off of concrete tees they are very small.
-Some of the tees are located on the asphalt path that circles the park. Hole three seems to be the most problematic with its rather downhill tee. Just felt wonky. Also didn't really care for how these tees make use of an existing path.
-Since there are no numbers on the baskets there was one spot where it was a little confusing on which basket to throw to which was #5.
-11 and 23 are the exact same hole. Sorry but that's just cheesy.
-In a number of cases these holes desperately need next tee signs or something like that. Overall the navigation wasn't truly horrible but it wasn't fantastic either.
-7 is terrifyingly close to a wall with a VERY busy highway on the other side. Newbie grip locked throws are going to be very problematic if they sail over that fence.
-5 and 17 are also a little problematic with the neighboring houses and their fences.
Other Thoughts: Brys is just a little park with a ace run layout. Nothing terribly challenging at all here and rather ho-hum for any serious player. I really like how whoever put in this park was able to raise the funds for such nice tee signs. However, instead of spending the money on those they should have spent more money on installing larger and more concrete tees. Also with trying to shoe-horn so many holes in such a tight space you get a course like this where ace runs abound and lacks challenge. This really ought to be a a 9 hole course with dual tees. Even with doing that it will still be a very short and easy course. It would be a fantastic place to introduce people to the game and playing ace-races but not much beyond that.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Aces Wild

2-4    9/16/2017   9/17/2017
Review By: mrclc
Played: 429  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brys Park is a lot of golf in a little space - with all the benefits and challenges that come with it. The seminal east side favorite shoehorns 24 ace run holes into a well-traveled neighborhood park, providing a round that will entertain players of all skill levels. Located conveniently off I-94 (the course abuts the freeway), Brys serves as an oasis in a disc golf desert, nearly 20 miles away from the nearest course in a well-populated area of metro Detroit. The design is simple, straightforward, and fun, stressing putter and midrange control with the opportunity to run nearly every hole. Who doesn't love ace runs? Play Brys once a day and you'll be a master of the short game in no time.

Despite only playing to 12 baskets, the 23 pads are just different enough to make it seem like you're playing 24 holes instead of just front and back tees.

The park itself is very well maintained - nice and clean with mowed grass.

The tee signs are pretty cool granite pillars that only give number and distance, but a diagram isn't really necessary due to the compact nature of the course.
Cons: There is potential for an inconsiderate golfer to hit a pedestrian here. Brys is a popular park for walkers, and receives a great deal of foot traffic on the path that plays near, through, and around the course. At peak times, half the challenge in the round is finding a window to safely throw. As with all courses, mutual respect between golfers and non-golfers is critical. I'll stop short of calling the design dangerous, as there are no blind spots in the park, but extra consideration to other park users is essential here.

Obviously the design is a bit limited, so you won't see much reason to bust out anything beyond a mid. If you're looking for a challenge, you came to the wrong place.
Other Thoughts: Brys Park plays host to one of Discraft's largest Ace Races each October, cementing its status as a premier ace run circuit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tuesday Night Golf League Guys Were Great!

1    7/26/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was definitely a busy park when I played it on a Tuesday evening. Between the Tuesday night league and countless walkers, the park was jumping. The local league guys were friendly and helpful, often letting me jump ahead of them. The walkers were OK, but it's best just to be extra courteous to them.

The park isn't very big as it's wedged in between houses, the freeway and some other houses, I think. The course has 12 baskets and 23 tee pads (two holes share one tee pad) so it's listed as a 24 hole course. The concrete pads are fine and each of the holes has these interesting granite, tee signs. They stand about three feet tall and have the hole # and distance. I hope they withstand the vandals. I believe they are stout enough to withstand most anything some drunken teen could throw at them.

The course is recreational, all the way. About 10 holes are under 200' and there are maybe 6 topping 300'. But in spite of it's short length, the course is just enjoyable with Ace ops everywhere and well placed basket placements. Although the park is almost completely, what little elevation there has been used to it's max. There are just enough trees as to add to the difficulty. This would be a mostly forgiving course to bring that beginner to as there are only a couple places where one could lose a disc.

Cons: Recreational length and challenge.

Walkers and other park users are always around.

With 23 tee pads and 12 baskets, there are many times when two groups are throwing at the same basket from two different pads. You just have to be courteous, patient and be thinking safety.

Backyards could catch a few discs on 2-3 holes.

I guess the freeway (I-94) could come into play on one hole.



Other Thoughts: I can't say enough nice things about the Tuesday night league local guys. They were friendly and didn't mind letting me play through a few times. I was trying to sneak the entire 24 holes in before dark but ended up skipping a few in the end. I was mighty appreciative of the locals as I feel their league should have priority over us walk-ons. I have seen clubs try to close their course on league of random draw doubles nights.

I like this little Course. I might have a little trouble with the constant stream of walkers (strollers might better describe lots of them). But in the end, I would buck up and try to be a good neighbor.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little city course

2-4    11/17/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 34  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic - very nice charm to this, I like the setting in the city, very different.

TeePads/Baskets - The baskets were fine, little short. The tee pads could use work, but more pro than con.

Signage - Nice signs, can't ask for much better on this little area.

Fun - this is tough, depends on what you are looking for. If you want a quick time, a little challenge, little risk, this is kinda fun. I had fun here, only stayed 30 minutes, 12 holes, more than that it would be a con I think.

Locatability - the park is easy to find, maps to it area easy, and signage and map inside is great, print it.

Maintained/Bugs - no bugs which is great. And it is nicely maintained park. The walking path where some launch tee's are from need maintenance.
Cons: Challenge - this is not going to even show up as a blip on any challenging course list. I can hardly say there are much of technical shots, but you can work some stuff out here. Don't come here for the challenge though.

Variety - this is one of the bigger downfalls, no challenge because not much variety. It's a park, there and back. A few small hills, some trees here and there. Not much variety of shots nor water. But I loved the Wall shot where if you screw up and release high, its going onto the expressway.

Congestion - I went in November and there were still a number of other disc golfers. I believe walkers or soccer or baseball would be trouble as well.
Other Thoughts: Whats holding it back from higher rating - this is pretty much the max it could get, its locked in space, multi-use park.

Kid Friendly - definitely kids would love this place.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - definitely older crowd or less active would like it too, short walks, not much hikes up and down.

Rookie Friendly - definitely rookie friendly except not to learn tough shots.

Average Player Friendly - some average players just wanting to get out might like this if they are in the area.

Pro Player Friendly - a pro may want to come to work on something, but not to do the course as is. They would have to do a safari, play to 3 from 1, or work on a specific skill no laid out as such, be creative, otherwise this would be an absolute waste of time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5+    7/18/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: Kennygooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2017
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 24 holes, good for beginners, good for working on short game. not many obstacles on most holes. They have started adding wood chips to some of the wetter areas which helps a lot
Cons: Sometimes walkers and joggers get in the way. There is a soccer field in the middle of the course but that rarely causes issues. Some holes are too short.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Play this course weekly

5+    1/30/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: TheDiscGolfStore
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes in roughly 2 hrs.
Great for short game work.
Baskets are in excellent condition.
Tee pads maintained in the winter.
Park maintenance is consistent.
2 portable bathrooms.
After 12 holes you at the parking lot and can decide to resume playing or call it quits.
Parking lot has more than enough room.
Park is clean and well respected by the local disc golf community.
Cons: Walkers during summer months from 5pm-7pm. They are oblivious to disc golf.
Tee pads are short.
Tee pads on walking path should be moved and properly constructed.
Other Thoughts: This course has amazing potential and will continue to be improved upon. The city has been very receptive to suggestions and modification proposals.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Like the back of a Volkswagen.

1    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 317  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. a large walking track dominates the park but joggers seem to have a great rapport with discers. Do Not Scale the fence on the north side of the park. most houses have a deal with a local disc shop and will return them to you!! Very cool "service."

Teesignage-- look like tombstones BUT they are all huge and have accurate distances. There is a map on the kiosk at the start but it's nearly illegible.

Teepads-- whether or not it's a concrete teepad or the walking track they all serve their purpose. the teepads are a bit short. the walking path pads are painted white and can by slick when wet.

Baskets-- all present and accounted for. In good repair.

Routing/nav-- pretty easy with the exception of the holes on either side of the soccer field. never a question what basket you're throwing at as most holes are really really short.

Cons:
Challenge/Variety-- the challenge factor is low here. holes are short. dual tees aren't really necessary as the looks aren't that different. there isn't a ton of variety here, it's a true pitch and putt course.

Other Thoughts:
There are some really really good vibes here. The joggers relationship with discers. The houses returning discs from over the fence. It's a nice community project for sure.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East Side Dive

5+    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: Cantolope
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: East Side Location. Easily accessible from I-94. Closest DG to the Pointes. Great holes for practicing Putt and Approach and Acing. Open Field for practicing drives
Cons: Human Obstacles, Freeways, Tight Fairways
Other Thoughts: This course provides wonderful opportunities for practicing Putt and Approach, as well as Ace Racing. (Most shots are below 225') however I've lost more than one disc over the wall onto I-94 and gotten more then a few angry glares from the "joggers".

Front half of the course (physically, not the front nine itself) plays smoother then the back due to I-94 and the density of joggers.

Soccer field separates front and back of park, it is perfect for practicing distance driving.

Park open into the late evening, recommend arriving later in the day as joggers tend to clear out around 7-8. There are numerous streetlights inside the park to help illuminate your game as night falls.

Nearest disc golf store is Play It Again Sports at Nine Mile and Gratiot in Eastpointe. (Limited selection)

National Coney Island, Wendy's and Gasoline located nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice small course

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 55  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice tee pads and signage.
-variety of shots.
-not many people there when I played.
-obstacles around the course (houses,highway,baseball fields) make it challenging.
Cons: -locals were horrible. stuck behind a large group with coolers who seemed to purposely move slow and not let us pass.
-disc could land in highway.
-dont see the point in having it a 24 hole course.
-one basket for 2 tee pads doesnt work out too good.
Other Thoughts: the course was nice to play and I would love to play again if in the area but it was kind of ruined by some local kids. maybe next time I play we will see how it turns out and ill change it but first impressions always last.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  DANGER WILL ROBINSON

2-4    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: ChampionMonarch
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Close location for some people.

-Super short holes decent for working on putter skills.
Cons: -Holes between 100 and 250 feet

-24 tiny holes jammed into a space more suiting for a decent 9 hole course, with a huge field left untouched in the middle of it. Terrible layout.

-"Alternate tees" less than 20 feet from original tees, making the "back 12" nearly identical to the front

-Short wall fails at stopping errant discs from flying into the busy highway below and causing major accidents

-6 foot fences make retrieving errant discs from backyards a hassle

-Course designer questionably uses walking trail as tee pad on several holes, causing conflict with walkers.

-Several holes go over the walking trail in various places; it seems the designer didn't realize that people walk on the path.
Other Thoughts:
If you've never been disc golfing before and aren't sure what to expect, this might be a decent place to go and fool around. Other than that, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE PLAY THIS COURSE.

For how small this park is and how misappropriated the land is for optimal discing, there is a lot of walking from one hole to the next. Waay to much land wasted and left as excess.

This is by and far the biggest waste of space ever dedicated to disc golf. I am abhorred, appalled, and deeply disturbed to have witnessed such a travesty to such a great game.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.