Saint Clair Shores, MI 
Brys Park Share
Uploaded By: MisterJ Hole #7 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 168ft.   3 / 142ft.   3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Tuesday Night Golf League Guys Were Great!

1    7/26/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was definitely a busy park when I played it on a Tuesday evening. Between the Tuesday night league and countless walkers, the park was jumping. The local league guys were friendly and helpful, often letting me jump ahead of them. The walkers were OK, but it's best just to be extra courteous to them.

The park isn't very big as it's wedged in between houses, the freeway and some other houses, I think. The course has 12 baskets and 23 tee pads (two holes share one tee pad) so it's listed as a 24 hole course. The concrete pads are fine and each of the holes has these interesting granite, tee signs. They stand about three feet tall and have the hole # and distance. I hope they withstand the vandals. I believe they are stout enough to withstand most anything some drunken teen could throw at them.

The course is recreational, all the way. About 10 holes are under 200' and there are maybe 6 topping 300'. But in spite of it's short length, the course is just enjoyable with Ace ops everywhere and well placed basket placements. Although the park is almost completely, what little elevation there has been used to it's max. There are just enough trees as to add to the difficulty. This would be a mostly forgiving course to bring that beginner to as there are only a couple places where one could lose a disc.

Cons: Recreational length and challenge.

Walkers and other park users are always around.

With 23 tee pads and 12 baskets, there are many times when two groups are throwing at the same basket from two different pads. You just have to be courteous, patient and be thinking safety.

Backyards could catch a few discs on 2-3 holes.

I guess the freeway (I-94) could come into play on one hole.



Other Thoughts: I can't say enough nice things about the Tuesday night league local guys. They were friendly and didn't mind letting me play through a few times. I was trying to sneak the entire 24 holes in before dark but ended up skipping a few in the end. I was mighty appreciative of the locals as I feel their league should have priority over us walk-ons. I have seen clubs try to close their course on league of random draw doubles nights.

I like this little Course. I might have a little trouble with the constant stream of walkers (strollers might better describe lots of them). But in the end, I would buck up and try to be a good neighbor.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not a bad little city course

2-4    11/17/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic - very nice charm to this, I like the setting in the city, very different.

TeePads/Baskets - The baskets were fine, little short. The tee pads could use work, but more pro than con.

Signage - Nice signs, can't ask for much better on this little area.

Fun - this is tough, depends on what you are looking for. If you want a quick time, a little challenge, little risk, this is kinda fun. I had fun here, only stayed 30 minutes, 12 holes, more than that it would be a con I think.

Locatability - the park is easy to find, maps to it area easy, and signage and map inside is great, print it.

Maintained/Bugs - no bugs which is great. And it is nicely maintained park. The walking path where some launch tee's are from need maintenance.
Cons: Challenge - this is not going to even show up as a blip on any challenging course list. I can hardly say there are much of technical shots, but you can work some stuff out here. Don't come here for the challenge though.

Variety - this is one of the bigger downfalls, no challenge because not much variety. It's a park, there and back. A few small hills, some trees here and there. Not much variety of shots nor water. But I loved the Wall shot where if you screw up and release high, its going onto the expressway.

Congestion - I went in November and there were still a number of other disc golfers. I believe walkers or soccer or baseball would be trouble as well.
Other Thoughts: Whats holding it back from higher rating - this is pretty much the max it could get, its locked in space, multi-use park.

Kid Friendly - definitely kids would love this place.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - definitely older crowd or less active would like it too, short walks, not much hikes up and down.

Rookie Friendly - definitely rookie friendly except not to learn tough shots.

Average Player Friendly - some average players just wanting to get out might like this if they are in the area.

Pro Player Friendly - a pro may want to come to work on something, but not to do the course as is. They would have to do a safari, play to 3 from 1, or work on a specific skill no laid out as such, be creative, otherwise this would be an absolute waste of time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 watch for pedestrians and I-94

1    11/26/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 19.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Cement tees, Chainstar baskets, well mowed, ample parking.
- Well designed to test every type of shot, even some fairly tight shots using just the few available trees.
- Design doesn't always allow you to just hyzer around obstacle, have to maintain some accuracy and distance control.
- Location- saves anyone on the East side a lot of time to get to the nearest course, 1 mile from my Grandma's house.
Cons: - Walking path (obviously can't do anything about it) in play on every hole, have to wait for joggers. Hopefully people won't cause a problem and get the course pulled, time will tell.
- Houses too close on some holes, easy to flip over a fence- and stupid golfers will trespass and cause problems with the community. Holes designed to prevent this as much as possible though.
- I-94 could come into play.
- No signs yet, but tees labeled with #'s, map at board.
- Some long walks, necessary to traverse a soccer field though.
Other Thoughts: Small course packed tight into busy park, good for the local disc golf scene, if the 'casuals' can behave themselves. Dual tees makes for 24 holes and each tee is at least a different shot/length.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 small but close to home.

5+    11/12/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: davidkzoo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Only course on the east side.
Cons: Walking path. People are constantly stopping and asking what i am doing with frisbies. apparently some people were not blessed with common sense. one lady asked me if the baskets were squirrel feeders...how a basket would feed squirrels, i will never know.
Other Thoughts: i wish golf courses did not have walking paths winding through them. another good example of this is riverbends park. that place is notorious for idiots walking in your way as well.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.