Marble Falls, TX 
Westside Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: FallenOak Hole #6 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 1st to review the 18

1    3/6/2018   3/8/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Tee signs on every hole (tee signs are on the short red holes on the original 9)
Cement tee boxes on every hole. Most of the original 9 have pro tee box too.
Great shots though the woods in the new 9 holes
Cons: Not a good course to play if it is muddy or raining.
Other Thoughts: One of the better small town courses I have played. The front side (holes 1 to 6, then 16 to 18) are the original holes designed by John Houck. Played by themselves, you have a relatively open long course when playing the longs.

There are several memorable holes in this section. Hole 1 has a HUGE tree that fell over many moons ago, but kept growing.

Hole 3 is a fun little shot over some small hills.

Hole 4 is a trip, basket is hidden behind a very large tree that is also blocking your shot. From up on one side of the creek down across the creek. Fun little hole from the short.

Hole 6 is also memorable, you tee off from a hill across the creek along the railroad bridge.

Next you follow the well marked signs over to the new holes on the other side of the tracks. Here you have several tunnel shots some long, some short along the railroad tracks.

Then a short walk over to a few holes coming back. Great use of the hills on some of these holes. There is a section that is listed as private land and you are suppose to follow the walking trail between two of these holes.

Longer walk to hole 15, crazy little left to right hole, down then up a small hill. I didn't see a good line.

In all, with the new 9 holes, I think this course is well balanced and fun to play. Sure there are a few longer walks between holes than I like, but they were not that bad compared to many courses I have played.

Would I play here again.

Actually, I think I will be playing her again. We want to visit Marble Falls again and do touristy stuff, I will have this course on my list of must plays. It is a fun course with a wide variety of shots.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great use of the creek

1    5/27/2017   6/2/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -makes great use of the land available
-tee shots and putts force you to make decisions, great risk/reward
-lots of tough greens: drop-offs and creeks
-tough windows off the tee on 3, 5, 6
-long and short tees on 6 of the 9 holes
-large, concrete tees
-great Houck tee signs: distance, par, detailed map
-discatchers in great condition
-bathrooms and water fountain on site
-lots of parking
Cons: -the bridges across the creek are useable but not great, the first few are large wooden poles and the later ones are stepping stones
-if the creek level is high the creek near 6-9 can be uncrossable
-most of the long tees are just longer in distance
Other Thoughts: Westside Park has lots of space for 9 holes. A creek runs through the perimeter of the park and every hole except hole 1 plays near it or alongside it. You tee off over the creek on holes 3-5 and 9 long, you cross it mid-fairway on hole 6, and it is very close to the basket on holes 2-7. Some areas along the creekside have a sizable drop off on the bank.

The day I played the creek was mostly dry on the first 5 holes. It would have made decision making on those holes much more complicated if the water level was higher. The creek was flowing a bit deeper on hole 6-9 but it doesn't come into play as strongly on those holes.

There are 2 large concrete tees on each hole except 3, 6, and 8, which have 1 shared tee for the shorts and longs. Each of the 15 tees has an excellent tee sign with distance, par, and a detailed map. Holes 2, 7, and 9 are par 4s. They are on the short side, especially from the short tees but they're not gimme birdies either, especially with the baskets very close to the creek on 2 and 7. Hole 9 has more trees in play mid-fairway than the other par 4s.

In true Houck fashion, there are a couple pretty tight windows off the tee, especially on the long tees. You might have a 10' gap right in front of you on the shorts, but it's 40 feet out from the long. His par 4s require good placement on the first shot and a well planned and executed 2nd shot. I really like holes 3-6; they're planned perfectly around the creek.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course from both sets of tees. If you happen to be out this way, it is a must play. The family can enjoy the park if you have them in tow. There's a playground, a basketball court, grills, and bathrooms. One of the better 9 hole courses I've played. Some better creek crossings would be nice but I imagine they could be easily damaged if the creek floods.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cute course, hampered by flooding

1    11/4/2015   11/5/2015
Review By: sommelier73
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out, nice baskets, concrete tee pads. Loved the island hole (#3). Good mix of technical short holes, and big bomber holes. Par is very generous. Signage is excellent.
Cons: Some of the holes were inaccesible due to the water (we had some flooding recently here), and those that had bridges were just fallen logs. I'm not a fan of those kinds of crossings. Would have been nice to have an indicator on each tee sign where the next tee is in relation to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Played here after not getting out for a couple of weeks, so I was seriously in withdrawals and ready to throw at just about anything. This cute little 9-holer was just enough to satisfy my need to throw, while offering some interesting challenges as well. I didn't enjoy the challenge of trying to figure out how to cross the many, many streams, but I understand that during the drier season it isn't as bad. Par is generous with any hole over 400' being par 4. I would recommend this course for a young, agile beginner to inermediate player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Westside Park

1    7/22/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice size park for a 9 hole course.
Nice large teepads.
Two tees on 6 holes.
Great use of park available.
Bathrooms.
Plenty of parking.
Several hole bring creek into play.
Cons: Few holes need mowing.
Only 9 holes, but most have 2 tees.
But not much difference to lines. Mainly distance.
Other Thoughts: Playground Basketball and activities for the family.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed 18 Holer

5+    11/27/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My original review in 2013 was titled "Well Designed 9 Holer) and rated the course a 3.0. I've played this course dozens of times since, but just played the new 18-hole configuration for the first time. The original 9 holes (now 1-6 & 16-18) play around a city park. Typical mowed turf and trimmed up mature trees with no underbrush. Creek is in play on several holes. Water level varies widely with rainfall.

The new 9 holes (7-15) are in a much more wooded area, and are made up of shorter, more technical holes. It is great to start and finish out in the more open area, with the tighter holes in the middle.

You'll drive with everything from putters to distance drivers, and having both BH and FH skills are a big help, especially on the tighter wooded holes.

Large concrete teepads are great. Six holes offer two tees (red and blue). Excellent signs at start of course and at each tee position, with helpful navigation signs throughout.

Discatcher baskets in good shape.

Hole 3 requires a shot onto a raised "island" green and Hole 4 drives across the creek to a hidden basket at the tip of a peninsula created by a bend in the creek. The Hole 6 drive requires a carry across the creek. While short, these holes are among the more interesting on the front of the course.

A few baskets are set at the edge of the creek, so some risk/reward comes into play. If you run a putt and miss you may end up wet or at the bottom of the creek bank. On some holes it is 10' - 15' down to the creek.
Cons: Several of the holes (1, 2, 16, & 17) offer wide open drives and little challenge in the way of obstacles.

On several occasions rainfall has made parts of the course difficult/impossible to play. The course crosses back and forth over a creek several times, and when water is high the crossings can be tricky.

Modest elevation change available at the course. Hole 6 is a downhill drive across water, and several of the woods holes use ridges and small hills for challenging basket placements.

The wooded middle of the course is still new, and the designers have been cautious with tree removal. That being said, a couple of holes could be opened up a bit more to be "fair".
Other Thoughts: Large parking lot and adjacent restrooms are a plus.

While none of the holes play particularly close to the playground or picnic tables, there could be some delays or pedestrian issues on a busy weekend.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course when maintained

5+    8/21/2016   6/28/2013
Review By: A Wise Engineer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees

- Nice Signs

- Restrooms

- Nice mix of distance and precision

- Multiple Tee Boxes for most holes

This course is a decent 9-hole course that is a good fit for amateurs and experienced disc golfers alike. It has a nice mix of long open fairways and challenging obstacles. I live just down the road and have been enjoying this course since it was built. Hole 6 is by far my favorite hole whenever conditions are good.
Cons: This course used to be extremely nice when it first opened, but has been hit and miss since then. Occasional lack of maintenance leads to sticker burrs and tall grass sometimes around holes 6-9. When the creek is flowing from rain holes 6, 8, and the blue tee for 9 can become inaccessible due to the crossings being washed away or underwater. Some opportunities to lose discs around water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Overall the design of this course is nice for a 9-hole. Definitely worth a play if you're in the neighborhood but be careful. Just navigating the course can be dangerous depending on the condition.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a play, if you're in the area

1    5/23/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 169  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 23 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course utilizes some of the unique topography and trees in the park to provide an experience that is varied in look and challenge. The course tests distance, accuracy, and provides several strategic decision-making shots.

The signage, tee pads, and ease of navigation get high marks. The two sets of tees compliment each other well in accomodating players of a fairly wide range of skill levels and variety for the locals.
Cons: As a previous reviewer noted, some of the water crossings are a little precarious. It greatly surprised me to see two creek crossings on elevated logs in a public park. Locals told me that a friend of theirs had fallen and blew up her knee from one of the crossings.

From hole 3's basket, the walk to hole 4's tee crosses immediately next to hole 2's basket.

Hole 1 offers a left to right shot and a right to left shot. The right to left shot has a stand-up bbq grill in the middle of the shot, which is only 20 ft. away from a picnic table.

Hole 8, unfortunately had several trees die which had provided the only challenge on the hole and now it's a wide-open dinker.

The creeks are disc-eaters :(
Other Thoughts: Be a kind disc golfer: leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed Westside. Friendly locals to great signage. The first hole is about 30 yards from the parking lot by some enclosed fence. This is a 9 holer that has shorts and longs. The tee pads were in great condition and so were the tee signs. The tee signs were excellent they were typically Houck tee signs with an accurate map and distance. The DiSCatchers were in great shape.The course used all the elevation that was possible. There was a mix of short technical holes to a little bit of room to stretch arm. There was even a blind shot on hole 4.
Cons: There really isnt too many cons except from tee pad to basket. What I mean is the crossing to progress throughout the hole such as Hole 5 was a little scary walking across the telephone pole. You are extremely high. Also, Hole 6, where you cross the wooden planks in the water are a little wobbly. And after hole 7 going to 8 to cross the creek you have to walk on rocks that are pretty spaced out. I had no problem but I imagine someone who is older may have trouble or someone who may have balance issues.
Other Thoughts: This was an awesome course. The navigation was easy and some really exciting shots, I only played the shorts but I imagine playing both the shorts and longs would make the course a very good 18 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'm not a fan of Houck design.

1    9/27/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great signs. Big enough cement tee pads.
Cons: Typical of Houck designs in that if you want to score well play safe. Drop offs behind baskets encourage safe layups. Creek near baskets-don't run at for fear of ob. One dimentional holes-one route. Short holes are too short, I threw putter from standing. Grass was very long. A few rather long walks to next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park with high ground and some elevation but the course is in the flood zone.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Houck did it again!!!!

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Lead pipe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The design of the course is perfect for the land that was alloted. Has great holes that include some par fours. Great tee boxes for both red and blue along with detailed tee signs.
Cons: IT'S ONLY 9 HOLES!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Drive out there... Grip and rip... Play both boxes.. Call it 18.... Awesome...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.