Ukiah, CA 
Low Gap Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #1
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 

2-4    8/27/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 135  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lot's of variety, some holes are realy open, others are tightly wooded. There are left's, right's and holes that go straight ahead
- Elevation change on allmost every hole
- Fun downhill shot on hole 16 with great views of Ukiah
- Lots of drinking fountains
- Some ace-able holes
- Risk / reward shots on a few holes
- Friendly locals that enjoy showing new people around
- Lots of other things to do in the park other than just disc golf
Cons: - It can be a little hard to find hole 1's tee if it is your first time out here
- Right next to the local high school, so there are usualy kids around drinking and smoking.
- Broken glass all around the course, probably due to the high school next door
- Roll away potential on a couple of holes, but this just makes you play it smarter
- Other park users can get in the way on some of the course
- Signs are getting a bit old and could probably use updating.
- Could use some alternate pin positions
- Can get a little crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: A fun little park in the city of Ukiah. It starts off easy and tends to get harder as the holes progress. There are some great views of the city of Ukiah from hole 16's tee.

The park itself is used by many diffrent users, and has just about everything from playground to archery range. I offten see groups of high school kids hanging around the course as it is an open space right next to the school.

Low Gap is a fun course overall and well worth visiting if you are traveling through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    8/3/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: jtiedemann6
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length
Changes in elevation make you be careful or else you'll end up downhill on another hole or in the archery range
Definitely a wide variety of shots
Has concrete tee pads
A couple water fountains if you forgot to bring some
Cons: Needs new tee signs
Bad throw on Hole #18 could result with your disc being in the dog park
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed playing this course. Definitely my favorite around Mendocino County. Locals are very friendly, so if you need any advice, feel free to ask.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/14/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-lots of elevation change, but none were ridiculous.
-good amount of trees and underbrush, but still fair.
-good progression of difficulty
-7, 9,15 and 16 are awesome. just go see for yourself.
-the couple locals we talked to were stoked to have some newcomers to the course.
-i've never seen so many drinking fountains (very good, cold water)
Cons: -multi use park that looks like it gets crowded (we went on an overcast saturday and it wasn't too busy)
-broken glass absolutely everywhere. it doesn't seem too hazardous because its all stomped into the ground, but its ugly as hell and gives the otherwise nice forest a grungy feel.
Other Thoughts: it seemed there was a spce for every activity you can imagine in theis park. at one point some dude with a crossbow came over the hill to ask where the archery spot was. 1, 2, 3, 16, 17 and 18 are the only holes where non DG traffic could slow things up.

-I think this is about as good as DG gets as far as a well used, close to town park. As with most courses i've played, the people were very cool. all stoked for us to be playing new courses.

-we played here, South Lake Mendo, Willits KOA, and Highland Springs Reservoir over the weekend. I highly highly recommend this for a 2-3 day roadtrip. 4 great, uncrowded courses pretty close together with lots of great scenery and camping. (check out Jackson Demonstration State Forest if you really like camping and don't mind driving a bit. free camping in huge sites)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Low Gap

3/5/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: m_butler
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the progression, hole 2 is harder then hole 1, but easier then hole 3. The elevation changes are what make the course dynamic, good for all skill levels as well. Many ace-able holes, and many not. Predictable*, you always now what your gonna get at LG. Tall cans, smell of devil's lettace, and a good time.
Cons: Predictable, the course is always the same. Unforgiving, hole 8 is a very easy +4, if you are not careful. Elevation changes cause blind shots to roll and become property of the DG knomes.
Other Thoughts: Home course, a near ace about ever third time I go, but only got 1. #16, 8/4/07, I never liked this hole untill that day. Don't forget to stop by Wendy's, on Perkins for the 99 cent menu, after a round!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Low Gap Park

2/1/2008   2/6/2008
Review By: Shrek
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes, making some shots challenging. beautiful scenery, and all concrete tees.
Cons: very left hand dominant course. could be a pro if you are a lefty, or have a mean forearm shot.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, but I like to think i've been pretty objective. come play, we always love out of towners on the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hello

11/5/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice wooded area

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.