Lebanon, IN 
Longley Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: burdphil Hole #18 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 Great Layout / Design

2-4    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Kramer
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced - There were a mix of short tech's and long drives, trees come in to play for almost all holes. And a sprinkling of short easy shots to keep your attitude positive.

Clean Lanes - They took some time clearing out debris to make sure that you could get a run for Aces. Not to say that every hole was open, it still requires some imagination and hitting the line.

Nice Pads / Baskets.
Cons: Looks like the Park could be busy with Ballgames and Soccer Matches. The course winds around a lot of these fields. Some of the course is also a walking trail? (or used as such by Locals). Good to spark interest, bad if you bang the head of a spectator on a grip lock.

Land was mostly flat. The elevated green (15) was only a difference of maybe 3'.
Other Thoughts: I would play again, just for a course to have fun. The Alts they set up are beasts for Tourneys. (the one is a basket set upon a 25' mound). Locals are great to help promote the sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely balanced course

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 243  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 30.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great bomber holes

Winds in and out of woods

Balanced lines and shots

Nice pads
Cons: Drainage problems

Could use more detailed signage

Not much elevation action
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, diverse course.

You wind into, out of, and through trees of varying density the entire 18. The pins are placed well, when in the relative open, to shape lines with the random cover. There are A LOT of low ceiling shots. Some of these have substantial distance. There are a few 400+ft holes to lay into.

Many of the pins are somewhat guarded. The fairways are very fair and well defined throughout. This course hits most every distance and angle. I needed distance drivers, fairways, mids and p&a's. I used a great mix of discs off the tee's...pretty much used every disc in my bag.

I mentioned the drainage problems. Clearly, it is early Spring and the rain has been plentiful. Even still, some pins and pads were under water. I expect mud, but some areas were at least a foot deep. No big deal, just something you should consider with the weather.

You should bring a map your first time out. Its not real difficult to navigate, but I did refer to the map more than a few times.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice variety

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 151  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of great things about this course. 18 new discatchers with alternate pin placements. Concrete tees for the longs (short tees are currently marked with a red stake). Teeposts with current laminated signs which are going to be permanent eventually.
The course offers a good mix of wooded and open holes, short and long holes, and left turning and right turning holes.
Cons: No practice basket, I don't recall seeing trash cans or benches. hole 13 plays close to the horseshoe pitts and hole 17 plays along the fence of the baseball field.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the layout and variety that this course had to offer. The first three holes play into, out of, and through the woods. Then you get to holes four and five where you get to let your arm loose onto a more open fairway. The next few holes play through some defined fairways with brush along the edges. And then you head back into the woods for a few more holes before coming out for the last 6 holes which play through mature growth. I really like how the course allows you to get your arm warm with the shorter/more technical holes before playing the longer open holes.
In addition, the wooded holes are fair, there are defined fairways. However, some are still tight, you just have to hit the right line.

This course is just off of the interstate so if you are driving through, you should definitely stop and play. There is a playground for the kids as well as a few other park ammenities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My First Course

1    11/14/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: Chalks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm brand spanking new to disc golf, the addition of this course to my hometown got me started and I'll tell you what, I'm glad of it. I've really gotten hooked on the sport fast (and already spent too much money on discs). So, this is definitely from a beginner's perspective:

I love the variety in the holes. The first 12 (with the exception of #4 and maybe #5) take you through fairly heavy wooded areas, especially #2. Most of the holes are straight shots, but there's enough obstruction that you need to be creative, or at least pay attention to where you're throwing.

For a new player, there were a few holes that were very difficult. I found #9 and #11 the most challenging. My favorite holes though are #8 and #6. The former is simply gorgeous, there's definitely a "tunnel of trees" as the other review said, and it is quite tranquil. It requires a very straight shot to get any sort of decent score on it. #6 is just plain fun. It's the least straight of all the holes and it's behind what looks like will be a beautiful garden come spring with a few low hanging trees around.

Once you get through to #12, everything else is pretty much unobstructed by more than a couple mature trees. I feel like the change from wooded to open field happens at just the right time to keep you from getting bored/frustrated. So, the last six holes are a pleasure, you really get to just let loose and throw your discs good and hard. Of these, I think #14 is my favorite. The hole is between two mature trees next to the tennis courts (high fence, no worries about interrupting a tennis match) and gives a little bit of a putting challenge after a good throw.
Cons: I'm new, and sometimes my hand decides to throw my disc somewhere entirely crazy. This was a problem on #17 and #18 as they are both near a road and parked cars. Fortunately I didn't hit anything, but it would be very easy to with one wild throw. Also, on some of the holes (especially #7... I think) I threw into some brambles. It wasn't much fun retrieving those.

The tee for #7 (I think?) is behind a shed, out of sight. It took me 2 playthroughs to actually find it. #9 has the same problem... it's waaaay off down a path, not intuitive at all. Once you find it, it makes sense but finding it that first time can be tough.

I feel like the holes are all a little bit short. I don't have much trouble getting a hole in 4 shots (5 if I have a fit of beginner-itis), and my side-arm throw doesn't get nearly the distance that I know it could. It takes me 2 throws to cover the entire distance of the longest hole, and I know my throw is weak. I may change my mind as I get better though, I don't really know.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I feel really lucky to have had this my first course. It's great! I hope others enjoy it as much as I have.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice layout

2-4    4/26/2010   10/13/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 219  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 discatchers with alt. placements. Amateur and pro tees. Very nice layout,flows hole to hole well. Starts out playing into and out of woods on the first three holes. #4 long and open. #5 long and open until the last 1/3 of the hole,becomes a tough putt. A warning of things to come,going into the woods. Tight fairways,your choice of throwing into a low ceiling or high,if I remember correctly, #6,#7. #8 I'll call it the "tunnel of trees shot"...beautiful,Signature hole? For some reason that hole just hit me as peacefull. #9 takes you back into the thick woods. Technical holes for the next handfull of holes. Coming out of the woods you play around mature tees with no brush and cut grass. I believe to the right of hole 13 fairway a horseshoe pit with benches. I'm not sure if anyone plays horseshoes anymore,so no real worries about hitting anyone. Plus a nice area for a break,shade and benches. The next few holes are teeing off or throwing to mature trees with no underbrush. #16 you tee from mature trees into an open field toward the south end of the tennis courts, the basket is on a very small mound for a little upshot, good use of the land available.

Cons: A few cons; I thought that since this course is close to the interstate that road niose would be a problem,surprisingly it's not..... It's the firing range! I think it will be a problem during tourneys? You really notice it back in the woods. It seems like your about 50 ft away from it when your on #10,11,12. #17 COULD be a problem if you go over the fence into the baseball field. No water holes or terrain changes.
Other Thoughts: ••update•• played again 4/26/10. The pro concrete tees with perm. Signs are installed. Am tees marked with short numbered posts and filled with mulch. Still needs atleast a few benches and trash cans. A resident from the apartments was letting his dogs play around #16 basket. Careful he was playing fetch with a disc,they could go for yours! He also told me about a rumor of another 18!? One or two directional signs from #9 basket to #10 tee still needed. Overall,I have to say that it's not a "destination" course like camp cullom. But, it IS a MUST play if you are in the area. Bring in clean fill dirt to have mounds for the alt. Pin placements.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.