Houston, TX 
Windwood Presbyterian DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #20 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Its wooded alright

5+    5/26/2017   5/26/2017
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 38  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice challenge overall
-One of only a few courses on the NW side
-Plenty of parking
-Friendly staff upon check-in. They seem to like having DG'ers out there. Make sure to do so before 5 on the weekdays, after 5 just play.
-Some cool shots for Houston. Decent Elevation changes around creek.
-Best marked Practice Basket in town.
Cons: -Bridge is washed out past hole 4. You will have to cross near the drainage pipe.
-Its hard to see a lot of the pins now in Summer from the TeeBox.
-Overgrowth on holes 5 -8
-Lots of death putts
-easy to lose discs here. Almost did a few times in the trees alone, not to mention the creek.
-Hole 2. That hole sucks
Pigs on 13. Smells worse than a port-a-john
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course overall. Somewhat difficult which is nice as a challenge but not for beginners.

I played this course a bunch in 2011, 2012 and just went back for the first time in a while yesterday. I would say it was a better course before. The bridge is gone cutting off the other side of the creek. Overgrowth makes life difficult in hitting gaps and finding discs. Its a fun track but I wont rush back when there is NCC or Spring Valley somewhat nearby.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/7/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: benjamin3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality Baskets

Bridges to walk over the creek
Cons: Limited hours of play (since it is on private church property)

Some holes are poorly designed

Not kept up very well. There were a few times when i landed in good spots in the fairways, but the grass was so long i had to search for my disc for a while.
Other Thoughts: About 1/3 of the holes seems to be "filler". It works but it's not great.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Church Property course yet

1    1/4/2017   1/5/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 352  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 29.2 Years
Pros: Cement Tee pads
PDGA approved baskets (A lot of private church courses have home made baskets)
Tee signs, while some were not perfect, all where there and readable.
Very wide arraignment of holes taking everyone out of your bag.
Cons: Some of the holes are rough in that they are not mowed very often or at all.
A few holes are very close to the creek, with recent rains, these were dangerous holes to play.
Along with the creek being a little high and muddy, there was a lot of water on several of the holes, my shoes did get soaked by the end of the round.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course and fun to play.

From short technical holes, to long power shots, this course has a little of everything.

First off, RESPECT the fact that this is a private course that is free to play, check in with the office if you are playing on a week day before 5pm, they only want to know who is on the course for security reasons (they are a school too)

2nd, do not bring Beer or other substances not acceptable to a church. It is a simple request of the church, if you have a problem with it, play one of the many other courses in the area.
Hole 1 tees off near the street and is your typical easy simi wide open shot.
Hole 2 is a dogleg right, it is the opening before the ditch, don't overthrow, it is not an easy comeback.
Hole 3 is a nice long turnover. You hyzer out, your in a ditch that does hold water if it has been raining.
Hole 4 is a longer shot across the drainage pond, which today had a lot of water in it.
Hole 5 you need to cross the creek and the hole is going back towards the main street. Risky shot as there is a ditch behind and the creek to the left of the basket.
These back 3 holes have not been mowed this year and the grass is pretty tall.
Hole 6 is another shot like 5, just longer.
Hole 7 has a lot of risk rewards, the basket is across the creek, short shots will be in the creek, but there is some space to land not in the actual creek.
Holes 8 and 9 are risky with the creek being high. Both are hyzer shots.
Hole 10 is a nice tunnel shot, don't hyzer out or you are in the creek.
Hole 11 is a long open shot across the drainage pond ditch with the basket back up into the trees.
Hole 12 is a long hole with a couple of options on how to approach the basket.
Hole 13 is a long hole down the drainage creek with the basket up past the tree line. There was water in the ditch today and I had to wade to get my shot that hyzered out on the other side of the ditch.
Hole 14 is shorter than the sign says, nice little anhyzer.
Hole 15 is another anhyzer shot, although you can throw over the top for a hyzer.
Hole 16 is a long anyhyzer shot or layup your hyzer for an easy 3
Hole 17 is a true risk reward shot, if you think you can throw 350, go for it, hyzer over the pond. If you are a chicken like me, lay it up past the pine trees to get your easy 3
Hole 18 is a longer defined fairway shot with areas of rough to stay out of
Hole 19 is either a big hyzer over the baseball field, or anhyzer around it.
Hole 20 is a space filler, simple 240ft hole with not a single obstacle in the way. Worst hole on the course.
Hole 21 is also wide open, but 366ft towards the main office building with a little drainage ditch in front of the basket. (only spot with no water ironically today as I was in the ditch for an easy bird)


  First Course for me

2-4    8/16/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: MJanert
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Front desk has a map/scoreboard for personal use
-Practice/Putting basket on hole 1 with distance markers
-Easy to navigate
-Concrete tee pads
-Ladders to get over fences
Cons: -Yes, there was a pig farm across the ditch, but it shouldn't bother you too much
-Hole 13 is right on the back edge of the pig farm which has a ditch in the middle. It's very narrow and if your disc does land in the ditch it's very overgrown and its quite swampy in the middle
Other Thoughts: It's a great course that starts easy, get's pretty technical quickly, but then eases up with wide open shots at the end. It appears that a lot of planning and effort was gone into designing the course. I understood the course was a little difficult for beginners, but I went anyways and still had a great time; nothing that can't be managed. If you're looking for a great course in the area this is definitely worth checking out.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A must visit course

5+    5/7/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: Fett2oo5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll start from the beginning:
- Practice basket is right up front with distance markers (footstones), a bench, bag pole and instructions for a fun little putting game.
- There is a map of the entire course before Tee1
- First Tee and Pin is in plain sight.
- Holes 2-10 are gently nestled throughout the woods. Each requiring a different strategy but not forcing you to stay with a single throwing style.
- A creek winds along the first half of the course. Brand new, well designed and well built bridges were installed this week.
- Professionally built benches and great bag-poles abound.
- Hole sign on every tee.
- Trash cans spread throughout.
- 11-21 open up to wider fairways and add some distance, while each hole remains different than all the rest.
- The local Boy Scouts and designer/workers have put a lot of work into this course with the benches, bag-poles, bridges, maps, tree signs, and fence ladders (in case you throw it over a fence they've provided ladders for a safe traverse)
- Whoever manicures the grass will sometimes cut the grass at different heights as well! OB has tall grass, thicker grass on the sides of the fairway, and short grass on the fairway. (This isn't always the case but it is a very nice perk when it does happen) And just shows how much they care for the course.
Cons: The church has a pig-farmer neighbor behind the campus across a drainage gulley. So when the wind blows toward the church the back 2 holes kind of smell bad. I don't mind it though.
You can tell when funding is a little tight, sometimes it will go 3 or so weeks without being mowed.
If there is a hard rain 1 or 2 days before you go expect a few holes to have some water on them. So #4 and #11 fly over a retention area, but don't fret, there are stepping stones to get you across with dry feet.
Other Thoughts: The Pros FAR out-weight the cons on this course. This is a must visit for any Disc Golf player. Even if you only play it once, you gotta check it out!

2011 summer there was a harsh drought for this area. Trees were dying everywhere, including here. They've painstaking removed the dead trees and debris. And early this spring (2013) they planted dozens of new trees to replace them.

Pictures need to be updated for this course, a lot of care and improvement has happened in the last year.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Going to Church

2-4    3/7/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 88  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 24.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained and challenging without being brutal. Does not favor one type of throwing technique. I did a mini road trip to Houston and I played this place twice because it was so enjoyable. An example of what a disc golf course can be.
Cons: Nothing really.....you need to be careful around the creek with baskets positioned precariously but this adds a more cerebral aspect to play.
Other Thoughts: Thank you Windwood

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/4/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: adudek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great landscape. Indeed the grass is cut and the course is well kept. All pads are cement. This course really long holes as well as the occasional shorties. There is a creek that runs through the course(4-10). There are 10 foot drop offs around these holes. Heavily wooded also where a shot off the fairway could make or break your par attempt. The creek is not very wide, but is deeper than waste high in some areas. Definitely lost a disc in the creek. Went in after it and was unsuccessful in finding it, but pulled up another disc. Nothing dampens your spirits more than losing your disc and just when you think you have found yours, you pull up another disc!!!
Cons: no alcohol allowed on course because its on church/school grounds. I happened to go on the windest day which stunk. If you happen to throw your disc in the woods, there were a lot pricker bushes. My legs came out of that course with some major scrapes. I really disliked the smell around holes 11-15 because you shooting next to a crapy looking farm/junkyard or something.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course. Holes 19-21 were very open and even managed a few birds. There are some holes that have tall grass and some standing water in random areas. I loved the idea that if you threw your shot over the fence the local boy scouts made ladders to get over safer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is one of the most scenic courses in Houston as it goes through a forest and over ponds you almost forget you are on a church at time.
-The course is very well maintained. The grass is mowed weekly and it is quite apparent that the people who maintain the course really care about the dignity of the course.
-Almost no shots off the tee are the same. At this course there are chances for aces #4, dog leg lefts, long 500+ holes at #13, and short technical shots that if played incorrectly can end up with a wet disc.
-Every hole except #14 has long concrete tee pads. They also have installed benches and bag posts at each hole.
-The course is easy to navigate. The tee signs are top of the notch
-There is a bit of elevation change on some holes, which is something you will not see in Houston very often
-The baskets are very new and just had a few more chains added to catch putts better

Best holes: #4, #11, #20
Cons: Cons on this course are really just small nit-picky things.

-This is quite an intimidating course and could discourage beginners. The brush is ruthless and an errant shot can mean looking for your disc for quite a while.
- A few of the holes go over a retention pond which at times could mean that it is flooded after a good rain, the creek that a few holes play around can also get really high and swallows discs like no one's business.
-A few of the holes have a bad design. #2 is a 250' drive and then a 90 degree dog leg left and about another 100' to the hole. And hole #13 is a 450' narrow shot with the basket perched to the left.

Worst holes: #2, #13
Other Thoughts: This is the destination course in Houston. It may be the second best course if not the best (behind Texas Army Trail) within Houston city limits. The combination of different shots and challenge factor makes this course one that has to be played.

It also is a free course but dropping a few bucks at the donation box on Hole #21 should be worth the experience of playing here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of Best Courses I've Played

5+    5/19/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: g00p
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very technical course
Variety of open drives and tight wooded controlled sections.
Terrain elevation changes
Well maintained
Cons: Mosquitos due to being near creek
If you don't have a floating disc you will end up having to get in the creek.
Other Thoughts: I have NO idea why people complain about losing discs in the creek, unless they have no concept about buying a floating disc. I use my wonderful Innova Dragon on holes 4-10 and never have lost a disc since I started using it. The creek poses a good challenge for control and with the floating disc you won't lose it. If you use a regular disc be prepared to get wet unless you have perfect control.

One of my favorite courses. Thanks Windwood Church!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great place but the creek scares me.

2-4    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: rodeo_cwboy
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the variety in the hole types. From difficult creek hazards to wide open grip it and rip it. As a LHBH, it makes it very interesting on hole 2 alone. My worse hole possible. Also, as a beginner with only 4 months under my belt.. I strive to aim these challenges head on. love it and look to perfecting my skills every week.
Cons: THE CREEK!!!! I hate it. I have lost 4 disc there are ready.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.