Houston, TX 
Windwood Presbyterian DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 One of Houston's Best

2-4    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Caleb
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Cemented Tees (except few holes on back)
-Wide variety of hole types, calls for variety of shots used.
-Clean
-Score Card availible w/ map of course at check in.
-Check in keeps shady characters at bay.
-Practice hole.
Cons: -Few Missing T-Boxes on back.
-2 holes play over a flood plane can be messy if it rains.
-1 hole plays by a man made bayou and a pig farm which can be unpleasant if you don't keep shots in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It can be challenging for beginners but more advanced players shouldn't have too hard of a time playing this course. Either way, it's still fun to play.

The front 9 plays through a wooded area and follows along a creek that comes into play many holes which calls for accurate shots. The Back 9 stretches out and calls for more distance than accuracy. There are some elevation changes which is a rarity in this city.

I encourage everyone to check in with the office out of respect for the church and for the children's safety. (You only have to check in when kids are there 8-5, after 5 it's free game. TAKE YOUR ID IN) They give you a score card and a map with hole distances, which helps navigate the course.

The back 9 is a bit messy and even more so after it rains. They are still working on some holes on the back 9 and are developing a pond on 17 that can make that hole more fun and difficult. The few tee's w/ no cement are still marked and is easy to find a decent place to tee from.

The practice tee is in the back after hole 18 by the soccer fields.

Park closer to the soccer fields to cut down on your walk after 18.

This is easily one of the better courses in Houston and I will be a returning player.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    5/3/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1256  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, very enjoyable round with a nice challenge but not overly frustrating.

Tees. Nice concrete tees (on nearly every hole).

Baskets. A practice basket at the beginning, all baskets are in good shape.

Parking/Amenities. Check in at the school keeps out the sex offenders, no worries of being molested on this one. Large parking area, score card and pencil provided.

Not Crowded. Though this course is getting more popular by the day, it is still rather quiet out there. Location, difficulty, and the need to check in probably keep a lot of people off the course, most people playing are rather serious players, no riffraff, no crowds.

Clean/Well Maintained. Very little trash, well manicured fairways, and well maintained grounds all make for an eye appealing experience.

Variety of Holes. Each hole was a welcome change from the previous, with several nice ace runs, good risk/reward shots, large variety of shots and line shaping required, yeah not many straight up anny shots, but I'm not going to complain., none of the holes are terribly long though they may seem longer because of the difficulty.

Good use of water. Water comes into play on several holes, though it isn't terribly threatening most of the time. The stream meandering past several holes can eat discs, but if you know where it went in you should be able to find it, the retaining pond wasn't much of a threat, unless you have an unreliable/shank of a drive.
Cons: Not For Beginners. May be overly challenging for a beginner with some of the narrow fairways and water, also, if I was introduced to disc golf on this course I would be sorely disappointed when I found out that most courses are not this nice.

A poor throw may end in a lost disc. Yeah, this is true on most any course I suppose - but the thick rough and water make it more likely here if you're attached to any specific disc.

Yeah, it's a bit of a walk from 18 to the parking lot, we found the soccer fields a good place for a Long Drive Competition (this is where I injured my knee, obviously won't hold that against the course, but a point of note for myself).
Other Thoughts: A great course, very enjoyable, nice challenge, not overly frustrating, I wish I wasn't 1500 miles away or I'd play it more often. Thanks SpringDGLover and ThePatrick for a great round

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: linkbhg
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 69 Not
Pros: Varied course with lots of water in play. Really like the shots that open into the retention ponds.
Cons: The creek can be intimidating.
Other Thoughts: Not so much a con, but i really was having an "off" day to play a new course.

4 of 73 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Houston

2-4    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 59  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
22 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course is located right off a main highway, and very easy to find and get to. Some elevation change, and tricky pin placements, along with tight technical holes, and wide open, "rip it" holes make for a wide variety of shots in one course. Practice basket on site, and great concrete tee boxes. Maps and score cards are provided by the Church. Great place to spend a morning or afternoon playing disc golf with your friends, or a great place to meet new friends. People there were very friendly, and it had great parking. This course caters to Pros as well as Rec players.
Cons: Not much bad to say about this course. The walk from 18 back to the parking lot is about 1/8th of a mile. There are a few places on the course where its really easy to loose a disc, and some places the course is a little hard to navagate with out a map from the Church.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is one of the must play courses in the Houston area. If you live in the area, or just visiting, you gotta check out Windwood. This is not a course for true beginners, but someone with at least 3 months or more experience playing will have a good time here. This course is quicky becomeing one of Houstons gems. I would recommend bringing some "trash discs" or floaters for holes 8-10 since they have a creek very close to the holes and its easy to loose a disc. I shanked one in the creek on #10.

22 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    4/23/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Bekavee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice and tight on the front and large on back side. Water can be navigated. Number 2 can ruin your day. As can 16.
Cons: The pig farm smell. 17 is a mudhole. The walk from 18. I refuse to play the pig farm and 17 after a rainstorm.
Other Thoughts: This place is still a work in progress, but is very high on my list. I heard they are going to put in three more holes. Would like to see some more pathways put in on the back side for errant throws. 17 is basically a marsh and your gonna get muddy.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 surprisingly good

1    1/31/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 427  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 18.3 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -front nine is pretty technical, it has semi-tight fairways with fairly punishing rough and well guarded pins. Hole 2 is a good example of this. The hole is probably 250' straight and 150' left well guarded by several trees. The rough on this hole is also nasty if you hyzer out before the turn into the basket.
-front nine also has a lot of risky pin placements with large drop offs and water on some. A good example of this is hole 7 where you have to throw a high, tight slow hyzering shot (rhbh) to get across the creek and up the hill to get to a pin, with roll aways and jail possible around the pin. And holes 8 and 9 also have precarious layups to the basket with the creek less than 10 ft behind the basket. 9's dangerous shot is off the tee, while 8's is an approach shot.
-the majority of the back nine has a different feel than the front. It opens up considerably into a wooded, mature grove and it adds more distance. The terrain plays a bit flatter since the creek is no longer in play. Most of the holes are easy 3s with deuces available for the longer arms and a couple for the shorter arms (hole 13)
Cons: -Course plays a bit biased to the rhbh player. I can only think of a couple l-->r holes. This is basically because of the fairly simple design of running along one side of the creek with the creek to the left and then back along the other side, again the creek on the left.
-Navigation is a bit of an issue, we figured it out fairly easily with 5 players, but it could be more difficult with less players who haven't played too many courses.
-Hole 12(?) is a good hole (long anhyzer shot along a drainage ditch) but it doesn't have the infrastructure (bridges across the drainage ditch) to make it memorable in a good way. It pretty much just left us frustrated with wet feet.
-18 ends a long way from the parking lot. And the only time you are close to the lot is at hole 1, and you are fairly close after hole 11.

Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. I think it is easy enough for rec players (and church members, Sunday schools etc.) to have a good time playing, get interested, and improve. And for int and adv players, it is still challenging enough to be fun. I would consider this course to be a work in progress, but when it's done, it'll be a very good course. I think we ranked this course 5th or 6th on our 11 course Houston trip (9 in Houston area, 1 in Nac, one in Little Rock AR), which is saying a lot considering it's almost brand new and we played the best of Houston.


19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for those wanting more advanced play

5+    9/4/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: ROCthrower
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of wooded and open shots. There are some great risk-reward mid-range shots where if you miss your disc will end up wet! All in all the holes are well thought out, well marked and all have cement pads.
Update: Be sure to check out the new back 3 holes to make this a 21-hole course now. There are 2 great OB risk/reward holes, easy for lefties but a bear for everyone else! Hole #20 gets anyone prepared for the Shawshank course by having an island hole which you have to land in the cut grass or else you're OB! Great design and great fun!
Cons: The pig farm has quite an unpleasant stench when you come around to hole 14.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to grab a map and scorecard! Also check in is necessary on the weekdays, which is simple and easy. If you live out in the North Houston area and are looking for a good course where you can really let loose and play, then I'd highly recommend this course for you. Most of the courses in North Houston are short and tight, and only play well for beginners.
Update: Every Saturday @ 9am there is a mini-tournament. $10 to play, $5 goes to the pot and $5 goes back to the course to help with the upkeep! Hope to see you out there!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One of the most fun courses around.

2-4    1/13/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course which is great exposure for our sport considering there is a school on the property with plenty of kids enjoying the "Frisbees" I really enjoy the atmosphere of this course and the Church that has been nothing but helpful when it comes to hosting tournaments
Even though most of the holes can be 2'd the scoring spread is very good in the sense that there are many chances to also 4 an easy hole by making a dumb mistake...CREEK! I initially thought this was just an easy birdie course but in the last PDGA event a 1000 rated round was right around par much to my surprise.
Anyway Windwood is a great place to play on the NW side of Houston and is one of my favorite courses in town.

No longer "Pros"....course overview from my perspective.
Hole 1- 285ft or so with bushes on the left and a ditch if you go too far- Pretty much need to birdie.

Hole 2- Probably only 270ft in a straight line from the tee but this is actually a good three and nearly undeuceable. Throw your drive through a gap 25ft away and nestle in the landing zone 230-240ft away (making sure to avoid the rough long and especially short as you will have few looks to the basket.). From the landing zone it is about 100ft to the basket with a large anhyzer gape or smaller hyzer line to the pin.


Hole 3- One of my favoritesI A 315ish hole where you need to aim left and play either a tight S or late right turn. There is a large ditch short of the pin and scrubby trees behind leaving those who throw long with tricky putts/

Hole-4 280 or so down across a drainage area with the pin sitting on the other side on a 15ft upslope. This hole gets tricky since long shots skip away leaving you with a long comeback putt with a steep dropoff if you miss. Landing short means a tough uphill putt (usually windy) with misses having to hit tough 3 saves,

Hole 5- Short (220ft) shot where you just need to throw straight and soft down the middle allowing your disc to hyzer 10 15ft at the end and you are parked. Go long and you have a steep ditch (15-25ft putts with the chains 5ft above your head)...DON"T GO LEFT.....why would you ever go left here (reasons: throwing a driver that skips left into the creek) Don't throw a driver on this hole!

Hole 6- 275ft low hyzer ( I actually suggest a driver here. :P.

Hole 7- Very tough birdie for being under 300ft . The drive must flex before a large tree and fall back left. Tough to control distance and lift from the wind. Wall of trees 25ft behind the basket.

Hole 8- short 230ft hole with a creek close on the left. There are both a RHFH/LHBH route high and left and a low hyzer line to the right.that leave longer putts on average looking at the water.

Hole 9- Hole nine is a <200ft hole with the creek very close on the left. I advise throwing a slow disc to the right of the basket allowing the hill to slide the disc down). Even "bad" shots usually have a shot at 2.


Hole 10- 330ft right down a beautiful tunnel fairway (not super tight) with a bush 40ft in front of the basket narrowing the fairway on the left.

11 and 12 were also nice being 430 and 390 with a slight anhyzer flex needed to get the birdie.

Hole 11- 425Ft over the drainage areas to a narrowing/protected green. Nasty rough on the right starting 150ft short of the basket.

Hole 12- 375ft hole that calls for a punch/turnover shot to get to the pin or a very wide sweeping hyzer that plays much longer than 375ft. Surprisingly hard to get a deuce on this one.

Hole 13- "Pig Hole" 510ft with a large ditch to the left of the 35ft fairway. The ditch isn't OB and a drive long and left leaves a decent look into the basket.

Hole 14. 375ft Slight hyzer...or wide anhyzer defined by large groups of trees.

Hole 15- 375ft Hole where the wide hyzer seems to be the best option. They just planted a large amount of small trees down the fairway that make getting a good look for a putt harder/luckier.

Hole 16- 400ft hole with two options...Wide anhyzer over an Ob chain-link fence or a punch straight down the right hand side of the fairway that slowly hyzers at the end of its flight.

Hole 17- 395ft hyzer that must fade before a large pine tree 300ft away or risk goin OB in the "lake" short of the basket.

Hole 18- 415ft up a hill and then slowly sloping back towards the basket. Trail on the right was OB at the last tournament but usually played as casual/

Hole 19- 475ft hole with a fairway alongside a baseball field. The fairway curves to the right with the outfield fence. Long grass to the left is played as Ob making long drives risky.

Hole 20- Island hole that is around 240ft with a 30ft radius (60ft landing area) . Go to concrete drop zone if you miss on the drive.

hole 21- 365ft wide open hyzer with a small ditch running to the right of the basket...small wooden bridge 20ft long of the pin.
Cons: Limb on hole 12 should probably be trimmed to allow for a higher ceiling.

"Pig Hole"- I'm just not a fan of this hole under the current OB rules (way too easy to just throw left VS going down the "fairway"...I wish the Ditch and beyond was still OB.

Hole 15- Small trees really make it a poke-and-pray as you hyzer into the basket.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great addition to the Houston area and hopefully the HFDS will try and run some clinics for the kids and church members and see if we can get them hooked.



I have this course as a 3.8....so it rounds up to a 4. (would have chosen 3.75 is it was an option.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Christmas Round

1    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice design using typical boggy Houston terrain.

Good mix of short tight shots and big open shots.

Well placed markers pointing you to the next tee box.
Cons: Some maps of each hole at the tee box would be helpful for people new to the course. I played alone on the first few holes and had to walk a few and back track so I knew which shot to throw (hole 2 is a good example of this)

For RHBH throwers, it seems very difficult to end up anywhere but the brush on the right or the pig farm smelling drainage on the left.

Natural tees are in pretty good shape now but could easily get trenched out with regular play.
Other Thoughts: With some minor tweaks, this course will be in my favorites list. Thank you very much for putting in a nice 18 holer in NW Houston!

UPDATE: I see a lot of the problems I mentioned have been addressed. I can't wait to play there again the next time I'm in Houston.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Just What Cypress Needed

5+    12/22/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 107  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Located just east of 249 on Spring Cypress Road, Windwood is in an ideal location for disc golfers starved for a course since the privatization of Oak Meadows. But luckily location isn't the only thing this course has going for it. Situated on an excellent piece of property behind Windwood Presbyterian church this course is the product of a dream and tons of hard work from some pretty devoted individuals. I honestly can't say I've been around a course that has gotten so much positive attention so quickly. If that's all the good I had to say about this course, it may just be enough for you to go play it, but wait there's more.

This course has teeth and in a good way. It is balanced with lefties and righties in mind. There are tunnel shots like 10 and challenging bombs like 11. There are water hazards and up/downs through trees. There is utilized elevation here people!! Something almost never seen on Houston courses. When I first laid my eyes on 7 I had to shake Scott's hand (course co-designer) and thank him for finally giving me a cage on a cliff. The variety of shots on this course are quite good and some of the earlier problems (repeating holes) have been rectified.

As far as course infrastructure goes, it has improved tremendously. The cages are good, in great condition (I think they are DGA Mach 2's). The teepads are now almost completely concrete with 17 being the only one not finished yet (this hole is having a pond put on in it so the tee position is yet to be finalized). The teesigns are wood posts at the foot of the teepads and I love there positioning. I have heard too many horror stories of guys tripping and hitting wood posts on drives so their placement is appreciated.
Cons: As far as I know there are no alternate hole configurations and with this land they could conceivably have quite a few. Bring your Deep Woods Off, Off smoker and a Mosquito net on days after rain as this course becomes a swarm on warm wet days.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people thought the day Oak Meadows closed to the public, that disc golf would be dead in Cypress forever. Well not anymore, this fantastic labor of love has breathed new life into this starved area of town. Doug, Scott and Windwood Church itself need to be commended for this great new course. This place has come a long way in a short time and is looking tremendous. If you live in the area (meaning the entire Houston area) you owe it to yourself to play this course it's that good.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.