Marietta, GA 
Southern Poly State University Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #4 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Over the retention ditch and up the hill straight ahead



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Course caretaker needed

1    11/27/2016   1/4/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 141  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.223 Rating) The course is in need of some love.
- CHAINS - All the baskets still seem fairly new with the exception of hole 5, which had apparently been hit by a tree limb according to a prior review.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The school grounds were also very clean despite a lack of garbage cans along the layout. I didn't notice any areas that had significant overgrowth.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a one exception. In the event that the currently dry retention pond is filled, then yes, it's possible.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 in under an hour.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, moderate amount of trees, no overgrowth and no water hazards in play, if retention pond is dry.
- GROW THE SPORT - no doubt will this course aid in growing the sport by offering easy access to learn the game at a beginner friendly course on campus.
Cons: The course has a ways to go
- UNIQUENESS - Below average. Most shots are either open or threw moderate spaced pine tree lines. I will add however, some may find playing in a more urban setting with buildings in the backdrop, as unique. For instance, Hole 2 is a bender around a corner of a building.
- ELEVATION - Really not that much. I played 2 other nearby Georgia courses on the day I hit this course and this one had the least amount of elevation change and use. Total elevation change is not much more than 25' throughout the entire layout. In Retrospect due to the lack of elevation, the course will work good for those that like to have the disc golf stroller caddie.
- CHARACTER - The course is really just baskets and is void of all course character items. No seating, no map, no community board, no trash cans, no tee signs, no practice basket. no just about everything. There is a concrete table near the last hole.
- TEES AREA - All 9 of them are dirt, not the end of world, but, to make matters worse, the tees were apparently marked by only wood blocks according to the pictures. I only found one wood block along the entire layout. On a few of the holes I found a piece of wood anchored into the ground. Needless to say, finding the tee box is a huge issue and did my best to improvise according to the map provided on DGCR.
- NAVIGATION - Hole directions were non-existence. I spent a good 10 minutes looking for hole 1 tee and just improvised as best I could with my map.
- BASKET AND TEE SEPERATION - There are numerous occurrences where the basket and next tee are perilously close. Several times they are separated by less than 40 feet.
- DIFFICULTY - Below average, and thus not much of a challenge to advanced players as they should have no problem breaking par. Intermediate and Rec players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish around even.
- TIME WAITING - This course plays threw a part of the campus. You will have shots that bring the pedestrian paths around campus into play. You will be forced to wait some times.
- PARKING - Being on a campus, the lots all indicate the need of a parking permit. I fortunately played on a Sunday and felt safe just parking wherever. So parking could be an issue on week days.
Other Thoughts: An unfinished course for those attending Kennesaw. I would be hard pressed to recommend going here unless you're a student or employee in need of a quick practice round or if you feel the need to play every course in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

So much potential!

2-4    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: WhaleParty
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice and quiet disc golf course on University Property. The baskets are nicely laid out and the trees provide a bit of a challenge. This course would be a beautiful beginners course if a few small improvements were made.
Cons: No parking! I'm pretty sure every time I've played I've parked in permit only parking. I haven't been harassed about parking but I haven't played on a weekday.
No tee pads on this course, instead the tee are marked with small yellow markers in the ground. Many of these tee pad markers have been broken or are missing. Many tee spots are not marked or very difficult to find!
Other Thoughts: With a little bit of tinder loving care, new tee markers, and markers to the next tee point, this course would be a very nice 9 hole course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kennesaw State University

2-4    5/29/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 116  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Natural tees were flat and fair to drive from

Good mix of open and wooded fairways with some elevation changes

Well-maintained

Had whole course to myself on a Sunday evening
Cons:
No tee signs

Some of the tee markers are no longer present but there are some worn areas in the grass - refer to the pictures to find the actual spots of the tees

No next tee signs - can be confusing to the first-time visitor

Course design needs improvement - hole #9 tee is in hole #4 fairway and hole #9 basket is almost in hole #6 fairway

Nasty rough in the retention ditch on hole #4
Other Thoughts:
Southern Polytechnic State University consolidated into Kennesaw State University in 2015. This is a nice recreational course to practice on. You'll get a chance to throw some bombs as well as work on your short game. I recommend coming out on a weekend as I haven't seen any players out here, very few students, and parking won't be an issue. Be careful not to throw your disc into the sewer opening on hole #1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/4/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: Codiferus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Simple course.
-Very fun.
-Lots of variety, some holes are straight forward while other might take a while to figure out.
Cons: -Only 9 Holes.
-Tees can be hard to find but there are marker, but they are small and on the ground in the dirt/grass. Good luck, definitely bring a map.
-Students can get in the way a lot. (Play on weekends to avoid this.)
-Hole 4 has a thick shrubbery pit that if you aren't careful you can lose your discs in.
-Lots of trees.
Other Thoughts: I live on campus and have played this course more than 50 times so I might be a bit biased.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth the trip

1    7/7/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its a course,
it has Disc Catcher pro baskets
Cons: the layout crosses over itself multiple times.
the tee pads are hard to find on all holes and I'm convinced completely missing on a few.
there is no signage about the hole or hole info
Other Thoughts: a few hundred bucks in paint and signage would make this a really fun rec course. there are miles of Sidewalk and patios surrounding the course so there would not need to be any new construction or concrete just paint visible tee pads for each hole on the already existing concrete. and a few arrows pointing to the next tee pad. But as it is now don't bother driving more than 10 min to get to the course its Its a waste of time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 needs some love

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: dbern
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ok little place if you can walk there. And decent for folks at the college to learn the game.
Cons: I walked around confused the entire time and almost left a couple times even though you can pretty much see all the Baskets when you first drive in. It is because there are almost no markings for the T boxes at all. There looks like maybe there used to be some sort of markings for some but I never found anything for a few.
Other Thoughts: With a little love it could be worth playing...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 That'll do

1    12/21/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 161  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a run-of-the-mill 9 hole course. There are elevation changes, hard left doglegs, straight shots, short shots and decent length uphill shots that can take a longer disc to reach (No 4). Trees are in play here, adding to the variety. This course is situated right near I75 and can be an easy get in and get out course or a one or two rounds over lunch course which is great for where it is. Good use of the available space.
Cons: Tee signs/pads are severely lacking. 1-4 have no marked location and 5-9 have some wooden stakes and noticeable wear spots in the dirt.
Several holes have no definite line. There is simply a starting point and an ending point with trees in the middle. You do whatever you want.
Being on a college campus, parking and tickets for not permits can be an issue, especially when school is in session. Check the SPSU website for updated parking maps or call their number if you can't figure it out.
Other Thoughts: The map is very nice to have on hand since there are some blind shots and lack of tee locations. Keep an eye out for pedestrians, though there are "Watch for Discs" signs around the course put up by the student council and SPSU. An easy course to mark of the list, and a little fun too. Definitely not a destination course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was not at all crowded. Not from the area but it didn't appear that many people had played this course

Couse plays through a small forest of trees making you use a few varieties of shots

Nice baskets for a campus course
Cons: Dirt tees

No tees signs whatsoever making it difficult to navigate

Course plays through several residence halls so be on the lookout for foot traffic. I played this course in July so there weren't many students on campus, but I could imagine the area being heavily crowded during the fall and spring school semesters.
Other Thoughts: Bring a course map. This course was extremely difficult to locate tees. Good thing I had my phone to located a course map which made things a little easier.

I doubt I will go back to this course as I'm not from the area and there are many course in Georgia where the fun factor would far exceed this.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient & Quick

1    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 101  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is conveniently located just off I-75 near Marietta and the Cobb Galleria area, which is a major employment/lodging center within the Atlanta area -- making this one of the most viable lunchtime courses around Atlanta. To that point, it's also a very quick play.

The course is in a decently nice setting with large pine trees, rolling hills and plenty of shade.

Not crowded, played at 12pm and nobody on/near the course except us.
Cons: We had trouble figuring out where to park, and misplayed two holes even with the map in hand as the tee markers seem to have disappeared. Dirt tees, no tee signs, two holes where the basket you can see from the tee is not the correct hole ... so expect to misplay it.

The course is very short, making it appealing to raw beginners or a decent practice course. Most holes rack real fairways, with a few (e.g. hole 9) that are just throw and hope. Several safety issues with blind holes playing adjacent to walking paths that are on the RHBH side.
Other Thoughts: This course serves it's purpose as a place for college students in the adjacent dorms to play. It would have been nice to see the land used better, but it's OK as is. I will be back for a quick lunchtime round, but only because it's the only place i can possibly play at lunchtime due to its location.

Do not go out of your way to play this course, you will be disappointed.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to slow down...

2-4    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for working on your short game. Layout, baskets
Cons: It takes a minute or two to find the beginning of the course, and some hole 2 turn to left is blind and on a sidewalk. Watch out for students!
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is short, but does require a variety of shots to get the job done. It also is laid out well for the limited space.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.