Hastings, MI 
Winding Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #6 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Another Bag And Go Course!

1    9/1/2017   9/2/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Winding Creek is a Christian summer cap/retreat center. There are lots of cabins and travel trailers around. The disc golf course starts across the little street from the cabins and plays off into the sunset. The course is mostly in grasslands but later does get into the wooded area. The signs are white PVC posts with the hole # and distance on them. There are no tee pads nor is there any evidence of any. I think the crime scene has been wiped down. The baskets are some temporary, single chain model. Some have a extended pole on top with a ribbon or something flying. That helped on a couple of holes.

# 1 is a 255' throw around a large tree. There is a sign on the basket pointing to # 2. Thank you. # 2 is 367' down a mowed fairway that's not very wide. The grass here was not horribly rough. # 3 plays 300' up the hill where the big cross is. 4 & 5 then play through some narrow fairways with some nasty rough in places. # 6 is 305' throwing blindly over a small hill. # 7 is 285' down a narrow mowed fairway with tall grass on the sides. # 8 was kind of a cool look playing 238' up a small hill with the basket barely visible. Then # 9 plays 425' with a narrow fairway back to your starting location
Cons: As usual, I have to ask? Who are you building this course for? Is it for the Christian families who have never played before? That family playing with one borrowed disc each. They will never play again after scratching the hell out of their arms and legs here. I doubt if they thought it was great fun searching for little Johnnie's errant throws on every hole. If they are the intended target audience, then put in simple little open holes with no chance of losing/or having to search for their disc.

No tee pads.

Narrow fairways with tall grass on sides.

They didn't return my calls.
Other Thoughts: Just another lost soul who has lost their way and designed a disc golf course that no-one will want to play. It's a little too long, the fairways are a little narrow, the grass rough is just long enough to be a pain in player's behind and the stickers are sticky and sharp and just not pleasant. When you add up the total campers and divide by the campers who actually played this course, then multiple by the campers who returned a second time for more punishment, you'll probably get a big Zero. The course is not getting much play. But I was able to add one more bagged course to my total

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Winding Creek, where's the water?

1    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic--nice course plays through a field and weed patch (literally) of a christian summercamp/campground.

Baskets--apparently homemade? look like old school mach 14's with deeper more straight sided baskets. Flags mark the baskets and this is very helpful in places.

Teesigns--it became apparent that the tee signs "pointed to" the basket when I got to number 4, which I threw to the basket for 7 on.
Cons: Navigation--navigation here is rough. I threw to the basket for 7 from the 4th tee (which the basket is in the weeds apparently). the tee signs "point to" the basket but this is tough to follow at times also. there are a couple of "next tee" signs on some of the longer walks.

Teesigns--1x8's on pvc driven into the ground with "tee #" spray painted on them. no distances are given and I forgot to get them via GPS.

Rough--on the deep weedy holes 4-7 the rough is IMPOSSIBLE to find discs in and the fairways (as you can see in my pic of #6) are about 4ft. wide. Best of luck.

Variety--the open holes are SUPER OPEN, the deep weedy holes are SUPER TIGHT that's all I have to say about that...

"teepads"--non-existant, rutted up grass, not even a "skid mark" not played much I guess.

Upkeep--the grass in the field is pretty long and there are a lot of weeds that are big enough to knock your discs around. keep your stuff high in the fields to avoid this. Plenty of garbage in the field and the weeds.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on 4-7 or you will lose discs here.

I made and posted a map to help your navigation

I had no issues playing here, I contacted per the site and was very cordially invited to come out and play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with beautiful land

1    11/4/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: david_hedstrom
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variation of holes, uphill and downhill bomb, good use of land and obstacles. Long and short holes. 9 hole course that plays through rolling hills. Baskets are homemade but are totally legitimate. Look like Chainstars but are a bit smaller leaving less margin of error for putting which in my book is a pro because you just have to be more accurate, they catch great. The course designer has obviously played golf before because the tees utilize all the elevation and challenge the course has to offer, pin placements are great and also utilize the rolling hills to have blind holes and some holes tucked near and behind trees. Adequate signage w/ distances on most of the tee signs. Course flows pretty well, only issue right now is the walk between holes 6 and 7.
Cons: Natural pads but I wouldn't expect there to be. Long walk between holes 6 and 7.
Other Thoughts: I had very low expectations for this course and I was very pleasantly surprised. If you are in the area playing Hammond Hill and still want to play a little more golf call ahead and make a trip out here is just a few miles out of town and is a fun time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center