Cottage Grove, OR 
North Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #6 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 6


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Bring Your Rabbit's Foot

1    9/26/2017   9/27/2017
Review By: Not McBeth
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variation in holes
-Not much foot or bike traffic on the park's paths, so you basically have the place to yourself
-The "Ace Pole" by the first tee is a nice addition
-The fairways are mowed (when grass is involved in the hole)
Cons: -I titled this review as I did because you'll be lucky to navigate this course w/o an additional hour of wandering around, jogging to baskets to check the hole numbers, and looking for your disc in the ditches and/or thick foliage. The layout makes zero sense, and the map I had from the pdga website was very wrong.
-Poor or absent signage. The few signs there were were drawn on a piece of paper and stuffed in a flimsy plastic sheath, although even some of these were not attached to a sign board or post, and their accuracy was iffy at best.
-Your guess is as good as mine as to what par was on at least 6 holes.
-Some of the holes have no possible line to aim for, and you're left hoping to avoid all of the trees and bushes on your first shot, and then hoping you have a line for your second shot to the basket...assuming you've found the basket by then...
Other Thoughts: I have no idea how this course is so highly rated. I'd seriously rather play Stewart Park in Roseburg or the course in Oakland. There is potential, but the layout is so poor that I'd automatically give it a 3, even if everything else was perfect.
Either way, it was free and it's always a good day when you're out on a course.
Oh, and a few tips. If you're on the tee box on hole 3, don't aim at the basket in the middle of the field in front of you, that's the basket for 16. The basket for 3 is in the treeline on the right, and you need to walk and find it before you throw.
Also, when you've finished 4, walk on the paved path back toward the tee box for 4, and the tee for 5 will be around the path's bend to your left.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Grove

1    5/24/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: Ocastra
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Lots of change up on the holes.
Enjoyed some of the more unique holes that make you make some risky decisions.
Fairways where clear and well mowed.
Variety in distance.
I enjoyed the holes with non-standard height baskets.
Water hazards always make for more interesting risky shots.
Cons: Unforgiving on holes 13/15 if you stray from the paths.
If the wind blows in the right direction you get the smell from the water treatment plant.
Some holes go over a bike/walking path and some people would stop to watch the discs while they where in the line of fire.
Other Thoughts: Normally play at Dexter with my buddies, we will definitely come back to The Grove often.

 Scruffy but fun

1    7/4/2014   11/17/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park that's mostly flat. A small hill comes into play for a few of the wooded holes, adding a little bit of variety. There is a decent mix of more open field type holes and tighter technical shots. There are some interesting lines to hit with low ceilings and lurking rough, even some of the shorter holes will still challenge better players.

The drainage ditch is nasty, but it does add some risk/reward decisions on a couple holes where you have the choice to risk getting wet by going for the two or take a safer shot without the birdie in play. There is some length variety, with a few of the open holes that are long enough to throw a driver and plenty of reachable but tricky shorter shots.
Cons: The park is pretty scruffy, with nasty thorny rough and gross water in the drainage ditch, That's not a big deal, but it does take away from the aesthetics of the course, and the rough is bad enough that less accurate players might get pretty frustrated (and bloody!). A lot of the more technical shots turn left, it would have been nice to see a little more variety in line shaping required, especially since it seemed like there was room and opportunity to do that.

The alternate pins change things up quite a bit, it would be nice to see a little better signage though that made it a little easier to figure out which position was in use and how to approach the hole. There are some next tee signs, but there are a few more places that could use them with some funky navigation. The walking path doesn't seem too busy, but it cuts through several holes and can be a safety issue on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find the rough a little punishing, but the course is a reasonable difficulty level overall for most newer players. Experienced players won't find quite enough variety to be a good overall test but there are some interesting challenges. This isn't a bad place at all to stop if you're passing through on the 5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Underestimate This Course...

2-4    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The best use of the property given
- Used most discs in my bag
- Trees, elevation, water, ditches, & raised baskets...
- Good new signage on most baskets
- Benches at all teepads
Cons: - Lack of garbage cans
- Some holes with no signs
- Spotters absolutely necessary on some holes
Other Thoughts: I will start out by saying that, for the land that they were given to use, the people who made this course did a very creative job. It is not Milo McGiver, but given a bunch of property next to the Cottage Grove sewage treatment plant, spot up job.

This course is of the type where groups of holes have a similar layout, yet every hole really has it's own identity. The most notable holes:

Hole 3: Around 200 feet. Either go through a tunnel around 5 - 8 feet wide, or do what everyone else and the teepad says: go left, which is an anhyzer/hyzer flick bomb for RH players, or a backand hyzer bomb for us LH guys. I have never seen a hole like this at another course.

Hole 4: 370 foot shot straight across water (winter)/tall grass marsh in summer.

Hole 5: 300 foot low right to left shot, with ditch/stream on the right. Low ceiling, tricky shot both right or left handed.

Hole 7: The most ridiculous 90 degree angle (right to left) hole I've ever seen. I'd pay $20 to anyone that birdies this hole. Love it.

Hole 8: Signature hole. Funnels from open to closed (trees) from the teepad to the multiple basket positions. Pretty hole.

Holes 9 & 10. Tricky tree placements between teepad to basket, which makes for creative disc choices and shots. Low ceilings.

Holes 12 - 15: These holes are a complete change in landscape from the rest of the course. They most remind me of the elevated wooded holes at Dexter. You definitely need spotters on both 12 &13 if you don't want to chance loosing discs, both extreme uphill and downhill wooded shots.

Hole 17: Elevated tee to equally elevated basket, about 340 feet away, no trees.

I live in Corvallis, and from time to time, like to get out of town to different courses. This is one of my favorites, maybe more than Dexter. Any course that offers an unique, individual challenge at each hole, even without being the most scenic, is great in my book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/14/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 61  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: Really like the layout and the use of the natural obstacles. Uphill, downhill, lefts, rights it has every shot in the book. It was dry when I played but there is water that comes into play on 4, 5, 6, & 8. Nice and clean grounds. Concrete tee pads. And the Ace Pole is a great touch!!
Cons: No water. No bathrooms except at tee 1. Water is a possible disc eater so be prepared. Not all holes have complete signage.
Other Thoughts: All in all I enjoyed my day/2 rds.
Lots of OB to increase difficulty.
I'd make the hour drive again.

 Up and comer

1    8/10/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shot variety
Dedicated disc golf park
locals are manicuring the course every day it feels like a DG mecca
Cons: Right next to the town treatment facility
I had a tweaker ask me if he could borrow my discs. But other than that no complaints here. Water on the right of hole 7 or 8 is a garanteed lost disc.
Other Thoughts: I showed up on a tourney night about 4 hours before the event. A local played with me and shared all of the courses history with me. He told it like the town has dedicated this park to disc golf, I don't know if he was right. But it sure feels like they have carte blanche out there. Basicly a very fun course which has a little somthing to challenge you on every hole. I will be stopping here every time I am passing by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course neer Eugene

1    6/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 135  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A well designed course with a nice variety of holes, some lefts, some rights, uphill's, downhill's, and shots from one raised area to another.
- Concrete tee pads
- Drainage ditch runs along some holes making another challenge to the course
- Hole distances range from short and sweet to very long in the longest positions
- Nice variety between wide open holes and tightly wooded ones.
- Some holes have multiple routes that you can choose to go for the basket.
- I think the raised baskets like on hole 2 are fun and add a bit of danger to your putting
- Ace pole near hole 1 is a great idea to keep people from tagging baskets and signs when they get an ace
- Most of the holes are ace-able, but require some good distance and a very controlled shot
- Multiple pin positions on some holes
- Some benches around the course
- There are easy spots to make quicker loops if you don't have time for the whole course
- Close to I-5
- Raised basket on hole 2 causes you to really have to think about your putt
- Garbage cans around the course
- Multiple tee pads on some holes
Cons: - No tee signs on most of the holes
- When you are going from hole 4s pin to hole 5, the closest and most obvious tee box is actually hole 11, follow the path to the right to find hole 5. A good reason to have a guide for this course.
- Blackberry bushes make up a lot of rough around the course
- Non disc golfers walking through areas of the course, though most seemed to welcome the disc golfers as we have cleaned up that park
- Waste treatment facility can cause quite a stink on a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: A great 18 hole course between Eugene with Dexter, and Roseburg with Whistlers Bend. Though both of those are better courses Cottage Grove is still a challenging and fun course and well worth a stop if someone is traveling through the area. From what I saw there is also a lot less traffic on this course than Dexter. The holes are all pretty fun with a nice variety. There are open holes, tightly wooded holes, a nice amount of elevation change, short holes, long holes, and a good amount of lefts and rights. You will need your whole bag of tricks to shoot well out here. It starts and finishes in a field without a lot of trees, but then when you get to the back part of the course there are a lot more trees. Near the end you also end up working your way up and down a tightly wooded hill. With some more work this could be one of the best courses in the state. It's really a course that beginners and pros alike can both have fun on. With solid signage around both for tee signs as well as next hole signs this course could easily be a 4.

If you can't find a guide for this course then make sure to take the map that's here on the site. It will help immensely.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A solid Oregon course

1    7/28/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Bwells18
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It isn't Dexter. Now, North Regional is definitely not better than Dexter, and if you want a world class course you should head there. However, North Regional is a nice break from playing the same course over and over again.

- The course is extremely efficient. Each hole maximizes the minimal space allotted for the course.

- The forest holes (12-15) are a nice break from the flat and give the course a nice, somewhat rustic feel
Cons: - Call me odd, but I'm not a fan of randomly raised holes. Hole 2 is the prime example of this.

- Odd smell from the waste water treatment plant on occasion.

- No water or bathroom on the course

- The course is common recreation area, so throw with caution
Other Thoughts: A solid course overall. I would recommend it as a stop if you are in the area, and I would even recommend it for all you Eugenians who are tired of Dexter and despise Westmoreland. The course is a great example of how to maximize unused land to the public's benefit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: plastic cannon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good mixture of open/wooded holes.
-great quality baskets.
-concrete tee pads
-good mix between long and short holes.
-good local crowd.
Cons: -short tee boxes on a few holes.
-next to a water treatment plant. can get smelly.
Other Thoughts: all in all a really great course. you can get two rounds of 18 holes in in about 3 hours. plays fast. there is a "ace post" by hole one to display aces that have happened there. the local crowd keeps the place pretty clean, and there are trash cans on the course should you need them. i play this course about once or twice a week and love it. there is also glow golf out there quite a bit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eugene Area Alternative

5+    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 25.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete tees
-Good baskets
-Good variety
-Par 4's on two holes in long setting
-Multiple pin placements for most holes
-Water in play on several holes
-Ace Pole!
Cons:
-Plays along a multi-use recreational path
-No bathroom or drinking water
-Some tee pads are a little short
-No tee signs on most holes
-Not a beautiful park

Other Thoughts:
The course at North Regional Park is the best thing to happen for disc golf in the Eugene area since Dexter was built over ten years ago. There is finally another 18 hole course in the area to give players an alternative to just playing Dexter as well as take some of the pressure off of that course. And "The Grove" is a worthy alternative. It is a very fun course with some unique holes and a little bit of everything from tight and technical to air it out big. Plenty of birdie opportunities and plenty of punishment for missing your line, including o.b., water, and areas you really don't want to go.

The course was designed and installed on a very accelerated timeline from most installations and it probably would have benefitted from a play-in period to test the layout and configuration. Still, it is well laid out and has a pretty good flow, especially considering the odd shape of the park space available, which is mostly along a multi-use bike and hike trail. The shape of the course is long and narrow, with two "loops" - one at the far end of the space and one in the middle - and several holes bringing you out from and back to the parking lot.

Hole 3 is a short but sharp left -right hole unlike any others I can think of in the State. Hole 4 requires carrying seasonal water or going the long way around for a safer par. Even when it is dry, the wet area is o.b. and has some dense disc-eating grass. Hole 5 is a short left-right with seasonal water all along the right side and trees on the left. All three of these holes can be birdied, or your whole round can be ruined. I like that!

Hole 8 is probably the signature hole of the course, especially in the longest setting, when it is a par 4. The long pin is tucked into a small landing area with a creek on one side and dense blackberry, willows, and brush on the other. It takes a good placement drive, and a great upshot to yield a putt for three.

Holes 12-15 are probably my favorite part of the course with the holes situated on a forested hill away from the multi-use path. Thes holes are short but tight and fun up and downhill shots which once again can yield birdies or pain for inaccuracy. Hole 17 is a unique hole which tees off a huge round elevated teepad and throws over flat ground to a huge mound of what I think at one time was fill material. Just one tree on the right side of the fairway, but a very fun shot to bomb at the pin. Hole 18 is a long open shot to bring you back to the parking lot with an o.b. fence off to the far right and some trees along the length of the hole to punish bad placement. In the long setting it is also a par 4.

This course has a lot of replay value and is very fun. Because of the odd shape, the multi-use path running through most of the course, and the not exactly beautiful setting it isn't an awesome destination disc golf course overall. But it is definitely worth a stop, very convenient to I-5, and for the locals who had only one 18 hole course to play for over 20 years it is the best thing since sliced bread.

One final note: this course was built, funded, and maintained all by volunteers, local club members, and the community. It was and is a lot of work by a few people and is a great example of disc golfers pulling together.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.